Archive for July 19th, 2008

19
Jul
08

Hijack: E3

If you don’t know what E3 is then you don’t care, so come back another day.

E3 was awesome for me.  I am an Xbox 360 fanboy, I completely admit to it, so you can imagine why I loved E3.  Here were the highlights for me:

Final Fantasy XIII

It was announced that Final Fantasy XIII will be released on the 360, instead of exclusively on PS3.  I love the Final Fantasy games and I was afraid that I would have to buy a PS3 just to play that one game (nothing else on their line-up impresses me, at all).

Earlier this year Square-Enix and a few other RPG publilshers announced some other 360 JRPGs this was great for me but none of them compare to the glory of Final Fantasy.  At the end of the Microsoft Conference they showed the new trailer, I literally yelled Whoa and all the hairs on my body stood on end.  I can’t even describe how excited I was.

I didn’t think such a port was possible, but I think I understand why it was.  We know that Xbox has been trying to get into the Japanese Market for a long time now, what we haven’t considered is that Japanese publishers like Square-Enix want just as bad to get into the American Market.  Unfortunately FF XIII won’t be realeased on the 360 in Japan, but I doubt Microsoft care much about that, it’s America where it has the most success and the biggest market.  But you can see why Square would want to do this deal, the PS3 is not doing very well in America and it also has the lowest attach rate of any of the consoles (attach rate meaning the amount of games console owners buy).  The Xbox has an amazing attach rate.  Why wouldn’t you want to release your biggest game on both consoles?

Xbox Avatars

Yes Microsoft copied another competitor, that’s what it does best.  But as always they take it to the next level and improve on it so much.  Avatars are a cross between Miis from the Wii and, well, Avatars from Playstation Home.  Except they take the best parts of both.  Miis are useless for online gaming, on a single console it’s fun to make your miis but you can’t really use them for much, and lets face it going online with a Wii is painful.  And the Pplaystation Home did actually look good to me, except for the fact that it was exactly like Second Life and Second Life is too nerdy/hardcore even for me.  Xbox Avatars are a perfect medium and they look great, I can’t wait to create mine and see my friends as Avatars rather than germpics.

New 360 Dashboard

Again it looks glorious.  If I hear anyone say that it copies PS3s dashboard or whatever it’s called I will freak out.  It’s completely different and significantly better.  Maybe if Sony was a software company it would have updates like this too.

16:10 Support

This will seem really strange to most of you but this new feature, coming in the fall update, is wonderful for me.  I have my 360 hooked up to my 22″ widescreen monitor, it looks not bad but I really want pixel for pixel display.

Exciting Games

I’ll just list them:

Fable

Spore

Prince of Persia

Fallout 3

Final Fantasy XIII

Star Ocean: The Last Hope

Bayonetta

Too Human

Rise of the Argonauts

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2: Fusion

no pictures yet

Mirror’s Edge

Halo Wars

Lord of the Rings: Conquest

The Last Remnant

Infinite Undiscovery

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed

Darksiders: Wrath of War

Tales of Vesperia

The Sims 3

(in case you didn’t notice I got all of these pictures from IGN, if you haven’t been there I suggest you go, it’s the best gaming site)

19
Jul
08

Hijack: Emmy Nominations

I guess this isn’t completely unrelated to Lost, but I intend to talk about a lot of other TV shows so I thought I should call it a hijack.

We got to see the final Emmy nominations on Thursday, so that was exciting.  I absolutely love awards shows so when these lists come out, I can’t stop talking about them.

DRAMA SERIES:
Boston Legal
Damages
Dexter
House
Lost
Mad Men

Obviously we all want Lost to win, and it really deserves to win.  Buuuuut I also love Dexter and Boston Legal.  Dexter is a stellar show with a glorious storyline, but I think that it is less the show as a whole that is good and more Michael C. Hall, playing a wonderful character in an amazing way.  I am also very faithful to Boston Legal, but if you read my new TV Shows page then you will know that I disagree with Boston Legal being called a drama, so maybe it doesn’t deserve to win.  And I have yet to watch Mad Men, though I intend to this summer.

DRAMA LEAD ACTOR:
Gabriel Byrne, In Treatment
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
Michael C. Hall, Dexter
Jon Hamm, Mad Men
Hugh Laurie, House
James Spader, Boston Legal

This is an epic showdown between Michael C. Hall and James Spader, both play relatively heartless individuals but in very different ways.  I am leaning towards Michael C. Hall simply becuase James Spader has won a lot, and I doubt he even cares.

DRAMA LEAD ACTRESS:
Glenn Close, Damages
Sally Field, Brothers and Sisters
Mariska Hargitay, Law and Order: Special Victims Unit
Holly Hunter, Saving Grace
Kyra Sedgwick, The Closer

I laugh every time I hear or see Mariska Hargitay’s name now, that was the best thing in Love Guru.  I am unhappy with this category, I’m sure either Glenn Close or Kyra Sedgwick deserve to win, but I simply can’t bring my self to watch those shows, they are just too clean and white.  I am terribly sad that Minnie Driver wasn’t nominated for the Riches, last season was her season and her character is absolutely wonderful, I still don’t know how she can do that accent so well.

DRAMA SUPPORTING ACTOR:
Ted Danson, Damages
Michael Emerson, Lost
Zeljko Ivanek, Damages
William Shatner, Boston Legal
John Slattery, Mad Men

Michael Emerson has to win this, it was obviously very close last year between him and Terry O’Quinn with Terry just beating him, this year he has it all to himself.  I like William Shatner, but he doesn’t deserve an Emmy, he is playing a caricature of himself, not a realistic or endlessly intriguing character.  There is a chance that Mad Men or Damages could sweep all the characters, Mad Men has an upper hand since it won quite a few Golden Globes, if I remember correctly.

DRAMA SUPPORTING ACTRESS:
Candice Bergen, Boston Legal
Rachel Griffiths, Brothers and Sisters
Sandra Oh, Grey’s Anatomy
Dianne Wiest, In Treatment
Chandra Wilson, Grey’s Anatomy

I couldn’t care less who wins this one, Candice Bergen is simply a brick wall that William Shatner and James Spader play off of, she doesn’t ass much as a character.  I think Dianne Wiest will win.

COMEDY SERIES:
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Entourage
The Office
30 Rock
Two and a Half Men

30 Rock won last year and it deserves to win again.  The fact that Two and a Half Men was nominated is disgusting, what a waste of room.  How can anything with a laugh track still be considered for an Emmy.

COMEDY LEAD ACTOR:
Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock
Steve Carell, The Office
Lee Pace, Pushing Daisies
Tony Shalhoub, Monk
Charlie Sheen, Two and a Half Men

I guess Alec Baldwin deserves it, but it just seems like he has such an advantage over everyone else.  Steve Carell did better this season than usual, he was more likable.  I think Lee Pace should win just because I love the show so much.  Again with Two and a Half Men, not only is the show nominated but the worst actor on the show is nominated, he is just disgusting, stand up straight and try to make eye contact with someone Charlie, you look like a pedophile.  As for Tony Shalhoub, I think we got the best advice on how to win awards from Kate Winslet in her episode of Extras “Play a mental”.

COMEDY LEAD ACTRESS:
Christina Applegate, Samantha Who?
America Ferrera, Ugly Betty
Tina Fey, 30 Rock
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, The New Adventures of Old Christine
Mary-Louise Parker, Weeds

I would be surprised if Tina Fey didn’t win this, her character is great, and whoever is in charge must be impressed that she also wrote the character too.  Mary-Louise Parker is good too, but I like Tina Fey more.  The other three don’t really stand much of a chance, Julia Louis-Dreyfus has won awards in the past, I haven’t heard any buzz regarding her this year.  Maybe Christina Applegate did something amazing this year, I don’t know, I don’t really want to watch a show just about her.  And luckily the Ugly Betty fad is over so America Ferrera doesn’t stand a chance.

COMEDY SUPPORTING ACTOR:
Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men
Kevin Dillon, Entourage
Neil Patrick Harris, How I Met Your Mother
Jeremy Piven, Entourage
Rainn Wilson, The Office

That would be fun if Rainn Wilson won, he’s extremely consistant on The Office and very self sacrificing.  But probably Jeremy Piven will win.

COMEDY SUPPORTING ACTRESS:
Kristin Chenoweth, Pushing Daisies
Amy Poehler, Saturday Night Live
Jean Smart, Samantha Who??
Holland Taylor, Two and a Half Men
Vanessa Williams, Ugly Betty

Yaaaaay, Amy Poehler!  This is so exciting, I don’t think she’s ever been nominated before.  She is glorious on SNL, and she deserves to win.  If NBC is smart and if Amy is going to star in the new “The Office Spinoff” (it’s not related to The Office at all anymore), then NBC will really promote her and get her to win.  It would be pretty awesome of Kristin Chenoweth wins, she’s just so cute (isn’t she techincally a midget?)

REALITY COMPETITION:
The Amazing Race
American Idol
Dancing with the Stars
Project Runway
Top Chef

I hate the Amazing Race, but it always wins and it always will.  I’d rather see Project Runway win, but I only watch Survivor so I mostly hate Reality TV.

REALITY HOST:
Tom Bergeron, Dancing with the Stars
Heidi Klum, Project Runway
Howie Mandell, Deal or No Deal
Jeff Probst, Survivor
Ryan Seacrest, American Idol

Tom Bergeron is a robot, why do peolple want him to host anything.  Jeff Probst should win just becuase of his glorious questions at tribal council.  I don’t want Heidi Klum to win because I hate her voice.  And I will shoot an innocent animal if Ryan Seacrest wins.

There were a lot more nominations for things like mini-series and technical awards, it’s pretty obvious who I want ot win, just go to my TV Shows page, if any of those shows are nominated I want them to win.

- Izi




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.