19
Dec
08

322 – Through the Looking Glass

322-jack-bridge-01322-group-leaving-beach-01322-beach-explosion-02322-looking-glass-01322-dharma-pit-purge-locke-walt-01322-coffin-jack-locke-01322-alex-ben-group-01322-radio-tower-group-01322-jack-airport-01

Review:

(You may notice that I am reviewing this entire episode instead of splitting it up like I’ve done for the other finales.  I did this because season 5 is starting a week earlier than I anticipated, so I have to accelerate my revlysis schedule slightly.)

There was so much about this episode that was so good.  A lot of the time was full of action and fun, but there was still a lot of great stuff there.  And you really can’t beat the mood of this episode.  Everything is tinged with that sense of danger.  And now that season 4 is over all that potential danger is laid out for us.

Besides the obvious twist, this flashforward was very boring.  But that was kinda the point, it lulls us into a false sense of familiarity and then BANG it throws the show for a loop.  I was considering lowering the score, because compared to the other flashforwards it was pretty weak, but I can’t ignore that the episode was still very amazing and mind-bending, then and now.

Charlies death scene and what happened before it with Penny’s transmission was just too awesome.  I love it when they pull the rug out from under us like that, taking away our hope that Penny was going to swoop in and save the day.  And the inclusion and near reunion between her and Desmond was irresistibly good.

Also the final scene with Jack and Kate is amazing and mind-blowing.  You really can’t beat that, and I don’t think they will try any time soon.

Aaand the part when Jack talks to Minkowski, it just gets better and better.  That conversation is so short and it gives us no info, but the potential is just incredible.

9.5/10.0 Do the finales seem to get better and better the more times you watch them?

322-desmond-01Character Impressions:

Desmond

-I was very concerned when Desmond dove in to go the The Looking Glass.  They really made it look like he was going to die.

Hurley

-I like that nobody realizes that Hurley is gone until he calls Jack on the walkie-talkie.

322-jack-ben-alex-01Ben

-Ben orders Tom to kill Jin.  Pretty crazy.  Why would he choose Jin?  He must have hada reason why he wouldn’t say to kill Bernard or Sayid.

-Patchy asks Ben, “Why would Jacob ask you to lie to your own people?”
Ben replies, “Because this island is under assault from forces stronger than it has had to deal with for many many years, and we are meant to protect it, by any means necessary.”

322-patchy-richard-ben-01

OK I doubt Jacob told him to block transmissions.  I’ll bet he knew that Charles Whidmore was sending people to kill him so he started to line up his defenses.  Unfortunately he was also protecting the island, because it turns out Keamy was pretty crazy and willing to do just about anything to fulfill his mission.

-I think Ben overplayed his hand against The Others.  He almost lost control of Tom, Richard and Mikhail in this episode.  All of them seriously questioned his order and all doubted his authority.

-I love the scene when everybody walks over the hill and Ben is standing there waiting.  He’s got that glorious Ben-look on his face.

322-ben-01-Ben tries to talk to Naomi, he introduces himself but to Jack cuts him off.  What could he have said?  He knew at that point that she was sent to kill or kidnap him, right?  Have I missed something there?

-Here’s an interesting line, “Jack listen to me.  If you phone her boat, every single living person on this island will be killed.”  Uh.. living person?  So all those dead people will be fine, right?  Those ambiguous lines get me every time.

-Poor Ben gets beat to a pulp in this episode.  I hate it when they do that to him, not that he doesn’t deserve it, but it happens too often.

322-sawyer-01Sawyer

-I wonder what was going on in Sawyer’s head.  Kate gets all inquisitive about why he’s so glum and he snaps at her.  But seriously he must have been pretty deeply disturbed.  What ind of reaction could someone have to his situation.  He killed a man he thought ruined his life.  But he had no idea where the man came from and he can’t tell anyone about it.  He obviously expected his life to get better after he killed him but it didn’t.  I wouldn’t be surprised if Sawyer was suicidal after that point.  He volunteers to go “save” Jin, Sayid and Bernard, that was definitely a suicide mission.  He couldn’t have expected to win a fight against them on his own.

322-juliet-01-I really don’t like when Sawyer kills Tom.  Juliet’s face says it all.  I think that the writers feel a need to kill people in finales, who better to do it than Sawyer?

Juliet

-Juliet and Sawyer make up a pretty good team in this episode.

Naomi

322-naomi-claire-rose-01-Naomi knew that Juliet was an Other.  She didn’t quite have the same reaction as Frank and Miles.  But I’ll bet she was worried about it.

-Naomi barely reacts when she sees Ben.  She just looks at the other people seeing what their reaction is.  I wonder if she was considering killing him there, or if she still thought she could kidnap him.

-It was so hard to believe that Naomi was bad.  Both Ben and Locke said it, and even though it seemed likel,y I still didn’t believe it until season 4 started and it was undoubtedly confirmed.

-Somehow the awkward situation that would ensue after the Freighter Folk find out that Naomi was dead never crossed my mind.

322-kate-jack-01Kate

-For most of season 4 I thought it was weird that Jack was calling Kate so much in this episodes flashforwards.  Without that other flashforward to show their relationship it doesn’t seem normal, but it made sense after that.

-I wonder if Kate knew that Jack was suicidal.  She was very abrupt with him, did she think that he would be fine or something?

322-kate-01-Jack tells Kate that Sawyer was trying to protect her.  Then he says that he loves her.  Damnit!  Why couldn’t he have just added, as a sister?  It would have simplified things so much.

-The writers were very tricky about Kate’s pregnancy in this episode.  They hinted at it just enough to make it seem like a fact.

-”Why would I go to the funeral?”  We couldn’t have overanalyzed that line any more could we?

322-locke-01

Locke

-Technically Locke died in this episode.  Or at least it was the first hint that Locke died.

-It was very exciting seeing Locke alive in the Dharma ditch.  Then it was very depressing to see him try to kill himself.

-I was so mad when Locke threw the knife into Naomi’s back.  It was just so out of character for him, and so final.  Also I loved Naomi.

322-sayid-other-01Sayid

-Sayid says that he’s willing to give his life to secure a rescue.  Wow, that’s pretty insane.

-This is the episode where Sayid pulls his most amazing trick, he kills someone with his hands tied behind his back.  That was fancy.

Charlie

322-bonnie-charlie-other-01-Charlie’s experience down in The Looking Glass really reminds me of Y: The Last Man.  Charlie is a lot like Yorick and Yorick spent most of his life getting punched by women.

-Charlie really screws things up.  He tells the girls in the Looking Glass that Juliet is with the survivors now, that could have been considerably more disastrous than it was though.

-I really enjoy it when Charlie is telling the girls down in The Looking Glass that he’s going to die.  He did it in such a mysterious way that you almost feel sorry for them.  It’s the kind of thing that The Others would do to the survivors in previous seasons.  They show up in their camp and act all mysterious spouting all kinds of cryptic lines.
322-charlie-01He also starts to undermine Ben’s authority by talking about him, asking why he kept secrets from them.  Oh how the tables have turned.  (see below).

-Maybe Charlie should have showed a bit more compassion towards Bonnie.  When Desmond points a gun at Bonnie Charlie yells, “No, we need her”.  Maybe he should have gone with, “no, please don’t kill her”, or something else resembling empathy.  Oh well, it all worked out in the end.

-I was very unimpressed with the “Good Vibrations” code thing.  I know that they like to use cultural references, but that was just unnecessary.

322-jack-02Jack

-This episode jumps right into it.  It starts out with Jack on the plane with his beard being all depressed.  He reads the newspaper and rips out Locke’s obituary.

-Jack tries to kill himself and is stopped by a nearby emergency.  What could have caused that? (see below)

-Right before Jack jumps he looks at the sky and says, “forgive me”.  Was that to Locke?  Or maybe to Jacob?  Or God?  I’m betting on Locke.

322-jack-ben-01-Ben to Jack, “Why do you want to leave the island?  What is it that you so desperately want to get back to?”  Good question.  Season 4 really answers that question.  He has nothing left, and he should never have left the island.

-For once I actually agree with Jack’s executive decision.  He was right to let Ben and The Others “kill” Jin, Sayid and Bernard.  I am firmly against that kind of blackmail or manipulation.  When people hold a gun to another persons head and try to make you do something, pretending that you are responsible for their life, that is just awful.  They pull the trigger, they kill the person.  They can’t pretend that you are the person who committed murder.  That’s a firm policy of mine that I hope I never have to follow through with.

322-jack-03-What’s wrong with that other doctor?  He asking about Jack trying to commit suicide in an accusatory tone.  I get that Jack was acting crazy and he was incredibly drunk and drugged up, but you can’t go after a suicidal person like that.  The odds are high that such a gesture will cause the person to kill themselves.

-”We have to go back.”  Could Jack mean, we have to go back in time?  Actually no, he couldn’t mean that, because it’s pretty clear that he has no idea where or when the island is, but could the writers have meant for us to assume that or at least guess at it?  It is a possible reinterpretation of that line.

322-sarah-01Sarah

-Sarah shows up in this episode and I find that very important.  She’s pregnant too.  I really want to know more about her and her boyfriend.  I’m pretty sure that we will find that kind of stuff out in season 5.  Her appearance in this episode could have just been misdirection to get us to think that it was just a flashback.

-Ben actually refers to Sarah and her new man.  Hmm, reminds me of a theory of mine.

322-richard-ben-01Richard

-Richard is very aggressive towards Ben in this episode, and it’s the last time they see each other for a while, not until the end of season 4.  I think Richard was more than happyto get away from Ben’s leadership.

Patchy

-Mikhail thought that those two girls were on assignment in Canada.  Uh, interesting.  Why do The Others have assignments that would take them off the island?  We saw Richard’s assignment to get Juliet, so it could be something like that, but it would be interesting if there were serious missions that Ben put Others up to.

322-patchy-01-Patchy manages to get full scuba gear.  probably from a “stash”.  It’s amazing how many of those “stashes” The Others have.  Could this be lazy writing?

-Desmond shoots Mikhail inthe heart with a spear.

-I don’t know why I should believe that Mikhail is dead.  He’s died before and that hasn’t stopped him.  And keeping him alive would be fun.

Rousseau

322-rousseau-alex-01

-Rousseau is still giving Aaron creepy looks.  What’s up with that?  I think/hope they were just making sure that we knew that she was crazy.

-Rousseau is so maddening.  Jack asks her when the last time she was at the radio tower.  She says when she recorded her message, that’s 16 years ago.  For the love of god, why didn’t she do more exploring?  I really hope she’s lying about that kind of stuff, but it doesn’t seem likely.

-Rousseau says that she’s not leaving the island, “There’s no place for me back there.”  Hmm could that have another meaning?  Could she be from along time in the past?  That would make more sense.  It would be fun if she was from Colonial times or before and she landed on the island.  Here’s hoping.

322-alex-ben-01Alex

-Ben says that he’s delivering Alex to her knew family.  I think this was just his way of punishing her.  By forcing her to see that they had it worse than the Others she was meant to run back to him.  Unfortunately her mother was their and his plan didn’t quite work.

-I love it when Ben introduces Alex to Rousseau, such an awesome moment.  “Help me tie him up”, a true Hallmark moment.

Walt

walt-02

-My theory on Walt’s appearance on this episode is: Walt communicated through time with Locke to make sure that he didn’t give up.  Some people say that it was Jacob or Smokey, but due to the reference to “Taller Ghost Walt, I tend to think that they showed him as an older kid for a reason.  The writers didn’t have to use Walt, it could have been any dead character, but they chose to use Walt and make sure that we notice that he was older.  So I believe that Walt somehow managed to communicate through time to make sure that Locke didn’t die.  This all goes along with my “Walt’s Power” theory where I say that Walt can change the past.

Rose

-”If you say ‘live together die alone’ to me Jack I’m going to punch you in the face.”  My favorite Rose line ever.

Bernard

322-penny-01-”I am a dentist, I am not Rambo.”

-Poor Bernard is so naive.

Penny

-Penny’s call was completely shocking.  And it was one of my favorite things about this episode.  It made the episode.  Just seeing her, combined with everything she said made it wonderfully awesome.

322-jacks-phone-01Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-I figured out this episode was a flashforward before the episode ended.  It was mostly the phone.  At first I just thought it was a props mistake, but I couldn’t stop myself from thinking about it.  And after the midpoint I was convinced.  There was no way they would make a flashback that boring, it had to be a flashforward.  (My friends hate it when I say this, I know that I’m bragging about a really dumb thing, but I can’t help it.)

322-kate-02-I thought that Kate’s “he”, in the future, was Sawyer at first.  But eventually I kinda thought it would turn out to be her old husband (Nathan Fillion’s character).

-I love to watch people’s reactions to the final scene, when Kate walks out of the darkness.  It’s great to relive that moment.  I like to remember what my thoughts were the first time I watched it.  This show is so much fun.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

322-jack-01-This is the first episode with the introduction of the “inability to die” theory.  This might just be one of those things that only I care about, but it seems pretty important.
In this episode Jack tries to kill himself and then a woman gets into a car accident behind him.  This is slightly similar to Michael’s inability to commit suicide in season 4.  He couldn’t shoot himself.  This is part of the reason why I came up with the Jacob is a Magnet theory.  Possibly Jacob caused a car accident to stop Jack.  Possibly he stopped Michael’s car from killing him, possibly he stopped all those guns from shooting.  Very magnetic, eh?

322-satellite-phone-01-I just noticed something, Naomi’s satellite phone has a world map on it, with radar-like lines emanating from the West Coast of North America.  Isn’t that wierd.  All of that stuff must have been done in post-production.  Why would they do something like that?  Could it be that their location is near the West Coast of North America.  No you say, well fine then.  Any other ideas?  Was this just a strange little mistake?

-The situation between The Other and the survivors is turned on it’s head in this episode.  We see the survivors take control of their own fate.  They start to kill the Others, they play their own mindgames, and they even communicate with the outside world.  Oh what fun.

322-jack-coffin-locke-021-At the end of this episode I thought that it was Michael in the coffin, I think we were meant to think that.  I was so sure mostly because of the neighborhood where they had the viewing, It was a predominantly black neighborhood and no one showed up.  Doesn’t that sound like the kind of funeral Michael would have.

-I like the contrast between the scene with Locke and Jack and a gun in this episode and in the season 4 premiere.  In this episode Locke has the gun and he doesn’t shoot.  In the premiere Jack has the gun and he tries to shoot it.

-So what’s the kill count in this episode?  I believe that by the end it’s 10+ Others vs. 1 Survivor (Charlie).  That’s about fair, right?

- Izi

6 Responses to “322 – Through the Looking Glass”


  1. 1 el bocha
    December 19, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    This two parter finale is by far the best episode of LOST yet (I hope).

    ” -I love to watch people’s reactions to the final scene, when Kate walks out of the darkness. It’s great to relive that moment. I like to remember what my thoughts were the first time I watched it. This show is so much fun. ”

    Same here, especially with this episode, and especially with Desmond’s and Charlie’s scene.
    Love the scenes between these two, too bad we won’t get them anymore.

  2. 2 Anon
    December 20, 2008 at 1:30 am

    “Do the finales seem to get better and better the more times you watch them?”

    Yes! Although I’ve watched There’s No Place Like Home wayyy too many times now :D

    “I like that nobody realizes that Hurley is gone until he calls Jack on the walkie-talkie.”

    Yeah, you’d think for such a big guy in a bright red t-shirt…

    “Ben orders Tom to kill Jin. Pretty crazy. Why would he choose Jin? He must have hada reason why he wouldn’t say to kill Bernard or Sayid.”

    He knew Sun was pregnant and knew someone would spill the beans to save Jin.

    “I wouldn’t be surprised if Sawyer was suicidal after that point. He volunteers to go “save” Jin, Sayid and Bernard, that was definitely a suicide mission. He couldn’t have expected to win a fight against them on his own.”

    Yeah, Juliet says something to him like “If you wanna kill yourself that’s fine” but gets interrupted by Hurley driving the van.

    “I wonder if Kate knew that Jack was suicidal. She was very abrupt with him, did she think that he would be fine or something?”

    Probably just thought he was drunk, same with the other doctor and Sarah.

    “”Why would I go to the funeral?” We couldn’t have overanalyzed that line any more could we?”

    LOL, I know. It isn’t very indicative of who was in the coffin either. I didn’t think she disliked Locke enough to say that but thinking back they weren’t very close.

    “Maybe Charlie should have showed a bit more compassion towards Bonnie. When Desmond points a gun at Bonnie Charlie yells, “No, we need her”. Maybe he should have gone with, “no, please don’t kill her”, or something else resembling empathy. Oh well, it all worked out in the end.”

    That always stood out to me too. Very unsympathetic. Another reason I never liked Charlie. Somehow, I couldn’t see Des shooting her though.

    “I was very unimpressed with the “Good Vibrations” code thing. I know that they like to use cultural references, but that was just unnecessary.”

    Yeah, forget Smokey, this was the most unbelievable bullshit they ever tried to push on us. Really lame writing. Also, he just presumes which part of Good Vibrations is the code and just so happens to get it right. LOL.

    “Right before Jack jumps he looks at the sky and says, “forgive me”. Was that to Locke? Or maybe to Jacob? Or God? I’m betting on Locke.”

    He doesn’t know about Jacob yet so yeah, Locke.

    “What’s wrong with that other doctor? He asking about Jack trying to commit suicide in an accusatory tone. I get that Jack was acting crazy and he was incredibly drunk and drugged up, but you can’t go after a suicidal person like that. The odds are high that such a gesture will cause the person to kill themselves.”

    You have a point but a doctor also can’t be wandering a hospital drunk and drugged.

    * I think the island projected itself as Walt so that Locke would listen. He always got along with Walt.

    “I thought that Kate’s “he”, in the future, was Sawyer at first. But eventually I kinda thought it would turn out to be her old husband (Nathan Fillion’s character).”

    At first I thought Sawyer too but it always bugged me how she said “he’s gonna be wondering where I am”…why would an adult man be wondering where his wife/girlfriend just went? It’s obvious now it’s a child because only a child wouldn’t understand where mommy is.

    “I love to watch people’s reactions to the final scene, when Kate walks out of the darkness. It’s great to relive that moment. I like to remember what my thoughts were the first time I watched it. This show is so much fun.”

    Me too, it’s just amazing. I remember thinking they knew each other in the past at first lol.

    “It was a predominantly black neighborhood and no one showed up. Doesn’t that sound like the kind of funeral Michael would have.”

    I think his mother would show up…

  3. 3 Rosie
    December 20, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    “Do the finales seem to get better and better the more times you watch them?”

    It depends upon the finale.

    “I love to watch people’s reactions to the final scene, when Kate walks out of the darkness. It’s great to relive that moment. I like to remember what my thoughts were the first time I watched it. This show is so much fun.”

    I loved it too . . . until I discovered why she was pissed at Jack. After that, I found it pathetic.

  4. 4 Rosie
    December 20, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    “I was so mad when Locke threw the knife into Naomi’s back. It was just so out of character for him, and so final. Also I loved Naomi.

    Not really. It’s just the type of controlling act that Locke would commit. Locke is a lot darker than many fans believe.

  5. December 20, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Rosie, you need to lighten up. 90% of your comments are grim. I’m glad that you like my blog enough to keep on coming back, but seriously, you sound like Debbie-Downer (I actually picture Rachel Dratch when I read most of your comments, it helps me to ignore most of them).
    - izi

  6. 6 Anon
    December 21, 2008 at 1:23 am

    “I loved it too . . . until I discovered why she was pissed at Jack. After that, I found it pathetic.”

    It’s pathetic to be angry at the fact that once she kicked him out for being an irresponsible prick he starts frantically calling her THEN has the cheek to say he wants to keep her child (yes HER child) safe by going BACK to the hellhole island? That child he couldn’t have cared less about, the child he wouldn’t go near for 2 or so years and the child he babysat while DRUNK!

    Kate had every right to be pissed!


Leave a Reply

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

