14
Jan
09

411 – Cabin Fever

411-locke-christian-01

Review:

This episode is another one of those insanely mythologically driven episodes.  It’s mostly about Locke looking for Jacob’s Cabin but it also shows Locke’s life and some stuff on the Freighter.

On the Freighter we see Keamy prepare to carry out the Secondary Protocol.  He also kills the doctor and scares everyone else.  Sayid goes back to the island on the little Zodiac.  Desmond decides to stay on the Freighter.  Michael tries his best to save everyone on the island from Keamy.

In Locke’s flashback we see Richard stalking Locke, trying to recruit him, presumably to go to the island.  In the first instant Richard observes Locke as a baby.  In the second he tries to test him, Locke fails.  In the third test Richard invites him from afar and Locke is too stubborn to accept.  In the end it’s the opposing side (I assume) that gets to Locke.  Abbadon visits Locke and encourages him to go on a Walkabout, if that solves Locke’s problem then Locke would owe him one.  Scary stuff.

On the island Locke tries to track Jacob and his cabin.  Horace visits him in a vision and tells Locke that if he finds Horace he will find Jacob.  This leads Locke to the Dharma Ditch and a map to the Cabin.  Locke find it and is met with Christian.  Christian tells Locke to move the island and Claire smiles.

This episode has almost all of the power players in the show.  Locke, Ben, Richard, Abbadon, Christian, Jacob.  The only one missing is Charles Whidmore.  That makes this episode good.  Also the fact that it deals almost exclusively with the mythological side of the show makes it tops.

10.0/10.0

Character Impressions:

Daniel

-Hey you can hear Daniel’s coded message coming over one of Keamy’s man’s phone.  I guess that’s the time difference.  It wasn’t too far off though, because a few scenes later the doctor is killed.

411-desmond-01Desmond

-I was so scared when Desmond decided to stay behind on The Freighter.  That left him, Michael and a lot of extras.  That’s a dangerous position to be in.  Suddenly he was very vulnerable.  I wanted him to stay with Sayid because I was absolutely sure that Sayid would stay alive long enough to get off the island.

Hurley

-What if Hurley’s theory is right, what if the only reason why Locke and Hurley can see the cabin is because they’re insane(ish)?  That would be depressing.

411-locke-ben-hurley-01Ben

-I love it when Ben says that he’s been following Hurley.  It shows what a terrible group they are.  Ben is the only purpose with any iniative.  Well, Locke is occasionally motivated, but usually for the wrong reasons.

-I love it when Ben says, “I used to have dreams”.  It was so final, indicating that Locke had completely taken over his role.

411-ben-01-I also love it when Ben realizes that Locke is leading them to the Dharma ditch.

-Ben says it wasn’t his decision to wipe out the Dharma Initiative, it was The Hostile’s leaders who made that decision.  Who are these leaders?  $10 says we’ll learn who these leaders are in season 5.

-Ben’s eyes go huge (moreso) when he sees that Locke is searching Horace’s body.

-Ben says the Alex’s blood was all over his hands.

-”Destiny John is a fickle bitch.”  They give Ben the best lines.

-Ben refused to go into the cabin.  I think that was mostly bitterness though.  I wonder if he would have seen through Christian’s trickery if he had gone in.

411-emily-lockes-mom-01Locke

-I said this back in season 1 but I think that they did a great job of casting a young Emily (Locke’s mom).

-No wonder why Locke is so strange, his adoptive family seemed especially crazy.

-So Locke drew a picture of Smokey.  I doubt that means anything more than that he’s special and belongs on the island.

411-locke-01-I don’t see why Richard would be against Locke choosing the knife.  It’s not like Richard is the most peaceful character.

-Locke had a Geronimo Jackson poster in his locker, wasn’t he the one who said he didn’t know who they were.

-I laughed so hard when teenage Locke said that he liked “boxing”.

Jacob/Horace

411-locke-horace-01-It seems so obvious to me now, when I watch this episode, that Horace is Jacob.

-Hurley asks, “Who builds a cabin in the middle of the jungle?”

-Horace a has a nosebleed like Desmond did in The Constant.  Possibly it’s a coincidence, writers like to use nosebleeds to indicate brain injuries.

-I wonder where Jacob was when Christian was in the cabin.  I guess that’s the question of the hour isn’t it.

411-richard-01Richard

-When Richard shows up behind the glass I yelled with delight.  It was just so wonderful to have him back.  It also confirmed (hopefully) that he can live forever.  (Isn’t it great that Cane was canceled?)

-I think it’s agreed that Richard was emulating the Dalai Lama inheritance ritual thing.  If Locke had chosen items that the former “chosen one” had owned then he would have proved that he was the reincarnated person.

411-abbadon-01Abbadon

-Matthew Abbadon’s return was freaky, but not quite as exciting as Richard’s.  I thought that he was the same black nurse guy from “The Man from Tallahassee”.

-I hope that Abbadon gets to come back in season 5, although it seems unlikely since the actor is on Fringe.

-I thought he was going to push Locke down the stairs.

-Did Abbadon orchestrate Locke’s arrival on the island?  He sent him on the Walkabout, but that’s a lot of foreknowledge.

-So Locke’s going to owe Abbadon one.  That could end badly.  Perhaps he’ll kill Locke.

411-christian-01Christian

-I’m sure that Christian is bad now.  somehow I didn’t see that before, but it seems very likely now.  I would really like to know his motivation.

-The fact that he says that he can speak on Jacob’s behalf is obviously evil.  There is no reason why Jacob wouldn’t be in his own cabin to speak to Locke.

-At the end of the cabin scene when Locke asks “how do I save the island?”  Christian looks at Claire in a way that says “he’s fallen into our trap”.

-I wonder if Christian was trying to get Locke to turn the Frozen Donkey Wheel?  That would have been the obvious thing to do.

411-claire-01Claire

-I think that they put Claire in the cabin for many reasons but one of those reasons was so that we’d trust Christian.  Having her sit their happily makes us think that he’s just one of the gang.  I know that the obvious reason is to get her out of the action for a while though.  That was nice of the writers not to kill her (technically).

Sayid

-Sayid looks a little regretful when he sees that Keamy is going to hurt or kill Keamy.

411-frank-michael-011Frank

-I like that Frank tries to help Michael.

Captain Gault

-Good for the Captain for doing the right thing, even if it was too late.

Keamy

411-keamy-secondary-protocol-01-I don’t think Keamy was prepared for Smokey.

-I knew that thing on Keamy’s arm was a dead-man’s switch they had those on Alias quite a few times.  (It looks like a sattelite radio tuner though.)

Mr. Whidmore

-So Whidmore wrote the secondary protocol.

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

411-emily-lockes-mom-02-I love the opening to this episode, but I do admit that it tricked me.  I wasn’t sure if I was actually watching Lost when it came on.  Great song too.

-At this point, and for most of season 4, I was betting that Sayid was in the coffin.  It was wishful thinking though, I just wanted him dead.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-

- Izi

12 Responses to “411 – Cabin Fever”


  1. 1 dan
    January 14, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    [b]I thought he was going to push Locke down the stairs.[/b]
    I thought the same at first, but then it occurred to me that what if Abbadon was basically telling Locke that if he wanted to he could get up and walk right there and then. That’s just the way that I interrupted it.

  2. 2 Anon
    January 14, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    “Ben says the Alex’s blood was all over his hands”

    It’s a metaphor for being responsible for something going really wrong.

    “Locke had a Geronimo Jackson poster in his locker, wasn’t he the one who said he didn’t know who they were.”

    Maybe it wasn’t his locker.

    “I wonder if Christian was trying to get Locke to turn the Frozen Donkey Wheel? That would have been the obvious thing to do.”

    That’s interesting. But then Ben would still be on the island and the island had shunned him by then…

  3. January 14, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    I was just surprised that Ben would admit that he was respnosible at all for Alex’s death.
    And I hadn’t considered that that might not be Locke’s locker. I guess I don’t know the locker stuffing procedure.

  4. 4 Anon
    January 14, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    “I was just surprised that Ben would admit that he was respnosible at all for Alex’s death.”

    I guess he had no choice considering Locke and Hurley were there when it happened.

  5. 5 missscarlett
    January 15, 2009 at 8:50 am

    No wonder why Locke is so strange, his adoptive family seemed especially crazy.

    I know! That poor kid – they are so mean to him and he was so little and cute. Heck, even Richard was really rude with him.
    I wonder if Richard just wanted a leader who would bring peace to the Island? But apparently that Island is always in need of rescuing so…a leader with a knife is handy. But Locke is certainly proficient with knives these days – how much of that was in response to Richard’s reaction? Lots, I’d say.

    Nosebleeds are also common when exposed to poisonous gas! Grim.

    “wonder where Jacob was when Christian was in the cabin. I guess that’s the question of the hour isn’t it.”

    It really is.
    I want Jacob to be someone much older than Horace though. I want the mythology to run deeper than Dharma’s time on the Island.

    “(Isn’t it great that Cane was canceled?)”
    Yes – I love Richard and am glad he won’t have conflicting filming schedules –though I guess it sucks financially for him…

    I was excited to see Richard at the hospital too – though it was kinda creepy.

    Abbadon is just terrifying! I would not want to owe that man anything. I think he might be something much more than a “lawyer” – maybe another Eternal? I honestly have no clue what his deal is.
    I also thought he was going to toss him down the stairs. Imagine how vulnerable to be Locke at that time?
    And once again – Locke is Locke and when a creepy orderly makes a suggestion the next thing you know…he’s doing it.
    He is so malleable! It is really irritating – imagine having that guy as a Father – or as a husband?

    “I’m sure that Christian is bad now.”
    When exactly was he good?
    ;=D

    Could he still be trying to punish Jack? That would be truly mean spirited.

    Interesting theory on using Claire to have us trust Christian. How did Christian get so powerful that he can banish Jacob?
    Maybe there is Jacob and another spirit/person on the Island that is now manifesting itself as Christian to get his way? He has the most links to 815′ers….

    “Sayid looks a little regretful when he sees that Keamy is going to hurt or kill Keamy”
    WHAT?

    Ahhh. Thank you for another picture of Keamy.

    “It was wishful thinking though, I just wanted him dead.”
    Hilarious!
    He is a whiny bugger, isn’t he?

    OK but check out Emily – there is no chance that chick is pregnant enough for 6 months. Come on!

  6. 6 missscarlett
    January 15, 2009 at 8:53 am

    “I guess I don’t know the locker stuffing procedure.”

    ROFL!!!!!!!!

  7. 7 June Daley
    January 15, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    I wonder if he would have seen through Christian’s trickery if he had gone in.

    What do you mean by this? Why would you assume that Christian (or whomever is in Christian’s body) is tricking Locke?

  8. January 15, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Yeah, I think that Christian has taken over Jacob’s position on the island. I doubt he is actually speaking for Jacob, I think he’s just using Jacob’s authority to accomplish his own goals. I have no idea what his goals are though.
    As for the why I think he’s taken over, that scene in the premiere where Hurley goes up to the cabin and looks in, he sees Christian sitting on Jacob’s chair, then Jacob’s eye appears in the window with a panicced look on it, that’s the scene that convinced me.
    I used to believe that Christian was in league with Jacob, but another commenter convinced me that he’s evil.
    Anyone have other ideas?
    - izi

  9. 9 Anon
    January 15, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    The fact that it was Christian who basically “saw off” Michael in the finale says a lot. Now he’s in control of their fate or when they die?

    I wonder what Ben would’ve thought if he’d seen someone other than Jacob in there AND why Locke didn’t let anyone know it wasn’t Jacob.

  10. 10 June Daley
    January 16, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Does anyone have any evidence – clear cut or otherwise – about Christian’s “villainous role” on the island?

  11. January 16, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Nope, that’s what makes it a theory. I’m sure we’ll find out in season 5 though.
    - izi

  12. 12 Anon
    January 16, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    “Does anyone have any evidence – clear cut or otherwise – about Christian’s “villainous role” on the island?”

    No, but there are various clues throughout the seasons to suggest it.

    * Jacob freaking out about Christian in the cabin.
    * Jacob saying “help me” and freaking out at Ben.

    So that’s two instances already where Jacob is a seriously high strung dude.

    *Christian seeing off Michael. “You can go now” – he kinda says it with sarcasm, like “Fine, try to kill yourself, I’ll send you off in the most horrid way possible” :)

    It also means the island is using Christian as its mouth piece, seemingly NOT Jacob anymore. Why?

    As much as Jack found fresh water in S1 cuz of his father, he also led him off the edge of a cliff.

    What grandpa is okay with leaving his baby grandson behind in the jungle?


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

