Archive for January 29th, 2009

29
Jan
09

503 Ratings

Here are the Nielsen ratings for the last episode of Lost:

503 – Because You Left

11.07  million viewers

4.8/11  18-49 viewers

I still believe that the viewership should be closer to 15 million than 10 million, but I admit that this 11.07 number is a good sign.  Almost all the people who watched the premiere came back this week.  That’s moderately unusual for Lost (see old ratings).  After hearing from some of my less young friends and relatives it seemed like the sci-fi portion of the show kinda scared and confused them.  Honestly I would expect that the average Lost viewer would be confounded by the last few episodes.  That doesn’t reflect badly on you or me though.  As a blogger and someone who reads blogs I don’t count myself as an average Lost viewer.  I believe that we make up a very vocal minority.I agree with Darlton’s outlook on this season, it’s risky.   But if they can keep this up then I think I can stop worrying so much about the ratings.

– izi

29
Jan
09

503 – Jughead

503-charlotte-miles-daniel-richard-hostiles-01

Review:

I’m trying my hardest not to be bitter about this episode.  It destroyed my two favorite theories (maybe).  If everything in this episode is to be taken at face value then Jacob is not Horace Goodspeed, and Daniel is not Charlotte’s father.  [sigh]

This episode centers mostly around Charles Widmore (notice, correct spelling of his name).  We see that he has effected more than we ever could have guessed (I presume).  He was on the island as a young man, and he was funding Daniel’s research, he also had connections to Daniel’s mother, who I believe is Ms. Hawking ans also the Ellie that we see in this episode.

This episode has a lot of Other/Hostile goodness.  We get to see Richard in what looks like a leadership role, but he insists that he isn’t at the top of the ladder.  We find out that all the people that we saw in The Lie were Hostiles.  What is conspicuously missing from this episode is the Dharma Initiative.  But in there place were other island intruders, this time it was the American government.  They were trying to test a hydrogen bomb on The Island, this seems almost tame compared to most of the mystrious intentions that people bring to the island.  It’s intensely interesting to watch The Hostiles back then, and I’m sure that seeing Widmore and Ellie (Ms. Hawking) back then was important.

Off the island Desmond and Penny have an unexepcted (for me) child.  They name him Charlie (cute at first, then strange after you think about it for a second).  Desmond tries to fulfill Daniel’s request to find his mother.  He finds out that Daniel was actually a mad scientist (shocking, I know) and that he left a woman unstuck in time.  He also met with Charles Widmore who told him to continue on to L.A. to find Faraday’s mother (1 huge clue towards Ms. Hawking).

For the reasons mentioned at the beginning I want to give this episode a low score, but this episode is chock full of info and I’m really enjoyingthe time travelling tour of the island’s history.  I also especially enjoyed Desmond’s story and the lack of Kate, Jack, Sayid and Hurley and their terribly depressing, unmotivated lives.

What I didn’t like about this episode was the need for a bomb and the inclusion of the American Army, I don’t see the point of those two things.  But I guess they needed some sort of danger.

8.0/10.0

Continue reading ‘503 – Jughead’




January 2009
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other subscribers