05
Mar
09

508 – LaFleur

508-statue-four-toed-01

Review:

Anybody surprised by Sawliet?  It’s not the couple that shocks me, it was the whole “I love you” thing.  I didn’t expect them to be so serious.  And it’s nice that Sawyer swore off Kate, but I think that might have just been a setup for some internal struggle.  [sigh..]

So they’re stuck in Dharma times.  1974-1977, I hope we get flashbacks during that large gap.  What we got tonight was a great setup for a fun little era.  The Dharma era on the island isn’t the most unknown of the islands mysteries, but it’s a large span and we can be sure that a lot will happen.  A lot already did happen, we got to see the dynamic between Dharma and the Hostiles, we saw a few of the Dharma crew at work, and any parts with Horace are fun.  I can’t say that I like the new girl, Amy, but maybe when she stops crying I’ll like her more (it’s very unusual that I’m not liking a new character).

But who really cares about Dharma when we got to see the four toed statue in all it’s glory.  I don’t want to go too deeply into my theories about it here, skip to the end if that’s all you care about.

This episode was a great example of a setup episode.  There have been a lot of setup episodes over the course of the show, and not all of them are good.  They seem to postpone the action and excitement until the next episode.  This episode has a balanced amount of both setup and story development. 7.5/10.0

508-sawyer-01Character Impressions:

Sawyer

-I think “Son of a Bitch” is Sawyer’s new catchphrase.

-Sawyer has enough authority to “speak for Horace”.  That’s impressive.  And the other security guys were actually afraid of him.  It seems like he’s got a pretty good setup there in the Dharma village.

-Sawyer was head of security, but he wasn’t part of the group who worked at The Arrow.  I wonder if he learned any of their secrets.

508-sawyer-juliet-sawliet-01-I’m surprised that Sawyer got over Kate so completely.  His confidence will obviously be tested in the next episode, but I’m still surprised he was able to say that.

-Interesting thing, you know how we think of Juliet as an Other, or at least a source of info about The Others, we can now think of Sawyer, Miles, Juliet, Jin and maybe Daniel as Dharma Initiates, or at least sources of info.

Juliet

508-juliet-sawyer-submarine-01

-I’m surprised that Juliet didn’t see Amy’s trap at the fence coming.  I wonder if she knew that the fence could be turned down, or if she knew about the earplug trick.

-Poor Juliet seems to think that she’s the problem when women die during childbirth.  In fact, it’s possible that Juliet might have lost another mother and child during the three years.

-I am so shocked that Juliet didn’t leave.  I have been steadfastly behind her desire to leave the island.  She was the one person who I expected to leave, and yet when she had her chance she stayed.
On a side note, how great would it be to live in the 70s?  I would have so much fun.

-I’m fine with Kate and Sawyer together, but I really don’t want to see Juliet get rejected again over Kate.  That would hearbreaking

508-juliet-daniel-01Daniel

-Daniel’s grieving is tragic.  You can see his logical mind working against his will.  He doesn’t want to tell Charlotte what he knows he will tell her, that she must leave the island and if she comes back she will die.

-I’m glad finally stopped trying to explain time travel, “Whatever happened, happened.”  They can try to do what they want, it doesn’t really matter.

508-miles-sawyer-01

-I’m very curious about where Daniel went, he never showed up in any of the “3 years later” parts.  We saw him checking out the Frozen Donkey Wheel in the premiere, perhaps he managed to turn it and get off the island.  Or maybe he turned into a crazy hermit, that would be fun.

Miles

-I didn’t even notice that the only two plans were to go to the Orchid or the Beach.  I guess it’s true.

-I’m really surprised that Miles managed to stay sane around that many hippies for so long.

508-sawyer-jin-01Jin

-I wonder what Jin’s job was that allowed him to gallivant around the island looking for the 815 survivors.

-I’m so happy that Jin can speak English, what a relief.

-Jin’s the probably the only person who has seen the four toed foot and it’s full statue.  Maybe Richard too.

Richard

508-richard-02-The Dharma Initiative had alarms for everything, even Richard had his own alarm.

-I would think that seeing Richard would comforting for the leftbehinders.  A constant, of sorts.  (While we’re thinking about constants, Richard would be a great Constant.)

-Sawyer, “your buddy out there with the eyeliner.”  Poor Nestor, he must get really sick of that joke.

-Did Sawyer just con Richard?  He used the truth but he still handled him.

-I’m surprised that Richard didn’t try to recruit Sawyer.

Horace

-It’s great to see Horace again.

508-richard-horace-01-Now that’s how you light dynamite, stick it in your mouth and light it like a cigarette.  (BTW did anyone see that 30 Rock where the kid on the telenovela got his head blown up [offscreen].  That was hilarious.)

-What was Horace trying to accomplish with the dynamite.  Was he trying to break the truce or was he trying to get Smokey to come out.  Perhaps those are Smokey’s trees, maybe he was going to blow them up later.  The point is that blowing up trees is a very specific way of acting out, it’s not what one normally does in a drunken rage, there must be something else going on.

508-horace-01

-So many surprising leaders this season.  First Pierre, then Richard now Horace.

-Horace wouldn’t admit to knowing what the Black Rock was.

-What happened to Horace’s other wife?

Amy

-I really don’t like this actress.  She’s just so sad looking.

508-amy-01

-When the group ran up to Amy and Paul’s picnic I figured it was going to be Ben taking Alex from Rousseau.

-You can really see Amy get suspicious when Juliet recognized the Sonic Fence.  They do look like undercover Hostiles or something like that.

-Earplugs, that’s all they need?

-I think Amy must know the truth about Sawyer and everyone, I can’t see any other reason why she’d want Juliet to deliver her baby.

Paul

-Were we supposed to care about Paul?  I didn’t.

Charlotte

508-charlotte-01

-Charlotte was so close to being safe.  Maybe if she could have stayed alive for a few more hours she might have lived.

-Daniel said that Charlotte moved on and they stayed.  That’s not what I would think would happen.  I would expect them to move on and Charlotte to stay.  I’m not sure if that makes any sense.  But if there was one last time skip then wouldn’t Charlotte’s body have been left in the past?  That’s not really how he phrases it.  Maybe her body was sent to the future, 2004 (maybe 2005 now).

-Charlotte was a very cute little girl, still no sign of her dad though.  It certainly wasn’t Daniel.

Locke

-That’s nice that Sawyer didn’t actually have to think that Locke was dead.  After time stabilized they all believed that he succeeded and was off the island.

-Sawyer told Richard that he’s waiting for John Locke to “come back”.  That would probably really make Richard think Locke was meant to be a leader on the island.

Kate

-There’s no way that Kate went back for Sawyer, right?

Flashes (what we know now):

Four Toed Statue

508-statue-four-toed-01

I think we can all agree that the statue is Egyptian.  This matches the heiroglyphics we see on Ben’s door and at the Temple.  It’s holding at least one Ankh and is in the one foot in front of the other pose.  Also the use of an Ankh as a prop in the show was another obvious hint, I don’t think that it means that Paul was important or anything it was just a clue.
The real question is which god was the statue of.  It’s unlikely that it’s a statue of a man or a woman, it wouldn’t be holding an Ankh if it was, and it’s more likely that the arms would be crossed if it represented a dead human.  So it’s almost definitely a god.  Which one?  I’ve narrowed it down to two.

508-ankh-01

The first and most obvious choice is Anubis.  Anubis is the dead and undead.  He’s the go to guy for mummification and he enjoys bringing people back from the dead.  It seems likely that the writers would want us to think about a god who has the power to resurrect people.  One of the things that makes me think it isn’t Anubis is the lack of ears, Anubis has a jackal head, and Egyptians tended to give Jackals, and therefore Anubis, huge tall ears.  This statue does not have ears.
223-four-toed-foot-01My second choice is Horus, for less interesting reasons.  Horus is more of a character rather than a god.  He is a god, but his story is more important than what he represents, he’s the sun of Isis and Osiris and there’s a huge story about him and his parents and Seth and it’s not nearly as exciting as you would expect.  The reason why I like to think that it’s Horus is that it draws attention to Horace Goodspeed.  As you probably know, I think Horace is important.  It’s a pretty big leap but I think it’s a possible reference.  The statue of Horace wouldn’t have a hawk face, which seems more likely.  Also Horus was eventually made the god of the sky and subsequently the sun.  As the sun god he should have had a huge disk on top of his head.  This statue obviously lacks that.  But what it does have is a bowl shaped thing, when I first saw that thing I thought that it looked like a good place to have a signal fire.
(I still have no idea why the statue has only four toes.)
What do you think?

508-richard-011

The Truce

I never thought the Truce would be so significant.  Dharma has a truce with The Hostiles,  not terribly surprising, but it seems like both Richard and Horace want to break that truce.  Three years ago Richard seemed intent on breaking it, and now Horace is going all crazy and trying to start a commotion.
The truce seems to be, you don’t hurt the Hostiles and they don’t hurt you, Dharma seems to be the weaker group.  Sure they have the Heavy Ordinance, but Horace seemed unhappy to pull the trigger on that one.

Babies

508-mr-doctor-01

Mr. Doctor, with the funny glasses, says that women always deliver on the mainland.  I wonder if they knew something about the baby delivering problems.
That’s all beside the point though, Amy gave birth and neither she nor the baby died.  So I guess it was safe to have children during the Dharma era.  Perhaps the Purge was the point when that changed.  Maybe after that point Jacob, or some other entity, stopped allowing babies.

The Arrow

508-horace-02

When Horace heard that Richard might be able to find the bodies of the dead Hostiles he tells one of the Dharma guys, “Call the Arrow, tell them we’re at condition one, take the heavy ordinance, and make sure the fence is at maximum.”  That’s a lot of vague info.
In the premiere Pierre told us that The Arrow was used to create defensive strategies against The Hostiles.  You could say that they were creating a security system.  Heavy Ordinance could mean any number of things, but putting the sonic fence at maximum seems to imply one thing, Smokey.  Could the Heavy Ordinance be the activation of Smokey?  If Dharma had the ability to control or at least trigger Smokey that would explain how Ben summoned it in season 4.

Radzinsky Watch

I’ve been thinking about Radzinsky for a while now.  He was the guy who killed himself while in The Swan.  I’m worried that it’s going to be one of the people who go into the past.  The most likely, an most tragic, choice would be Daniel.  I could see him going crazy down there and shooting himself.  SO I’m really hoping that we meet someone named Radzinsky real soon.

The Hostiles

All I really want to say here is that I think the leftbehinders would have fit in better with the Hostiles.  They seem more enlightened than the Dharma people.  Also they end up winning in the end, so it might be good to align with the winners.  I guess seeing them murder Paul would have been a turn off though.

Next Week

There’s no new episode next week!  Wow, didn’t we get a promise about that kind of thing?  Nah, I don’t really care, a week off would be nice.

- Izi

24 Responses to “508 – LaFleur”


  1. March 5, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    I thought of Horus and Horace, but never thought of the statue being Horus. To me it looks totally like Anubis, although we’re just looking at the back of it. Could this be a link to Tunisia being the exit point? Could Horus, Ra, Anubis and the rest of the Egyptian have started on the Island only to be “moved” to Egypt? Hard to say.

    I’m also confused on the whole pregnancy = death thing. They die, they don’t die, which is it?

    Faraday is really becoming my one of favorite characters. Seeing him go over the edge with Charlotte’s death was hard. I’m hoping he makes it through. After all, didn’t we see him underground in an earlier episode? Looking at where the donkey wheel was?

    And have you noticed all the new Dharma logos? They seem to have gone off like bunnies to make more. I saw a star on one and a wave on the map. What’s up with that?

  2. 2 lvgirl
    March 5, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    TK-

    I know I may be off, but I think that some accident happened after that time before the time that we see Juliet being recruited that causes women to die like that. Pierre Chang is in an accident that takes away his arm. He talks about an accident in one of the Dharma station videos/films. We saw that people got hurt when they were working to close to the FDW.

    We don’t know what that electromagnetism has done but things like that could cause infertility.

    Just a thought.

    Another- If Sawyer doesn’t stay with Juliet…I really don’t like Kate- she isn’t true to anyone but herself.

  3. March 5, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Hadn’t thought about the accident. But it does fit nicely into the time line.

    And Kate is Chief Engineer on the Crazy Train and Sun is shoveling coal. Sawyer, well, let’s hope he stays with Juliet. If not, then he’s just as crazy for leaving her.

  4. 4 Anon
    March 5, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    “Anybody surprised by Sawliet? It’s not the couple that shocks me, it was the whole “I love you” thing. I didn’t expect them to be so serious. And it’s nice that Sawyer swore off Kate, but I think that might have just been a setup for some internal struggle. [sigh..]”

    I got all teary, I love my SKate =[

    “I think “Son of a Bitch” is Sawyer’s new catchphrase.”

    It has been since like season one lol. Jack tried it on a lot in S4 but he sucks at everything.

    “Sawyer, “your buddy out there with the eyeliner.” Poor Nestor, he must get really sick of that joke.”

    Apparently his eyes are just naturally like that, too. Makes all the comments worse! I didn’t even notice until the fan base went nuts about it.

    “I really don’t like this actress. She’s just so sad looking.”

    Oh, she’s an actress? I thought she was a plank of wood. Thanks for letting me know. :)

    “Charlotte was so close to being safe. Maybe if she could have stayed alive for a few more hours she might have lived.”

    No way, if she’d stayed alive she would’ve come into contact with her child self. She HAD to die then so that the rest of the group could stay in the 70s. Or maybe she died because she was ABOUT to be near her child self.

    “Daniel said that Charlotte moved on and they stayed. That’s not what I would think would happen. I would expect them to move on and Charlotte to stay. ”

    That’s what I thought, too. Her body is probably still in whatever year they were in last before Locke turned the wheel.

    “Sawyer told Richard that he’s waiting for John Locke to “come back”. That would probably really make Richard think Locke was meant to be a leader on the island.”

    Yes! I noticed this too! Cindy saying “We’ve been waiting for you”, Richard saying “welcome home” – lol poor Locke.

    “There’s no way that Kate went back for Sawyer, right?”

    I’m ridiculously biased but she didn’t have much else left in the real world with Aaron gone…

    “I think we can all agree that the statue is Egyptian.”

    The first thing that popped into my head when I saw it was the movie The Mummy. I think there’s a statue like this one at the beginning of that film. Also, Hurley was painting a picture of the Sphinx last week.

    Anyone thinking some of the leftbehinders and O6 might die in the purge? I’m pretty sure they won’t make friendly with Ben if they come into contact with him so he probably won’t try to save them. Maybe there’s a choice to stay or leave and the ones who stay die…which is convenient for when 815 eventually crashes with those exact people on board. Ouch, my brain.

  5. 5 Anon
    March 5, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Also I don’t think Olivia (the other woman with Horace) was ever said to be his wife, was she? She might’ve been a friend or relative.

  6. 6 Anon
    March 6, 2009 at 12:09 am

    And I just read two more interesting things on Jopinionated’s website :

    “New sheriff in town, boys! You all best get used to it.
    James Ford (Episode 2.13, “The Long Con”)”

    That storyline WAS useful for something!

    “Just as Jack instructed the Oceanic 6 to lie to protect themselves off island, Sawyer is doing the same on-island for the Marooned 5 (Faraday, Jin, Juliet, Miles & Sawyer).”

  7. 7 sakurai
    March 6, 2009 at 6:34 am

    man with eyeliner – ancient Egypt hmmmmmmmmm

  8. 8 missscarlett
    March 6, 2009 at 9:48 am

    he never showed up in any of the “3 years later” parts.
    True enough….could he have left on the sub? Nah. But what was he doing?? Good question.

    I’m really surprised that Miles managed to stay sane around that many hippies for so long.
    Hilarious!!
    He does have Sawyer for being sarcastic with…

    I wonder what Jin’s job was that allowed him to gallivant around the island looking for the 815 survivors.
    Maybe that was his job? As in maybe Horace allowed that to be his job as long as the others contributed to Dharma life?

    I’m surprised that Richard didn’t try to recruit Sawyer.
    Sawyer’s just not special in a John Locke kind of way…

    Perhaps those are Smokey’s trees, maybe he was going to blow them up later
    you’re killing me today!!
    I totally think he was trying to piss off Richard – they took Paul’s body after all…

    He had another wife?
    Hello — yeah. I momentarily wondered about her too – maybe we are just supposed to think Dessler is her?

    I can’t see any other reason why she’d want Juliet to deliver her baby.
    Seriously? That med student or Juliet? Juliet was at least speaking medicalese!

    Paul? No I don’t think so — the only thing of interest about him was his Ankh necklace…oh. Unless re-incarnation will be a deal on this Island and then maybe Horace & Amy’s kid is Paul!
    Ahhh the endless circles you can twist yourself in! (btw these are just off the cuff answers NOT theories!!)

    There’s no way that Kate went back for Sawyer, right?
    That would be terrible!

    (I still have no idea why the statue has only four toes.)
    I don’t know why but many statues of Anubis depicted him as having 4 toes — go figure.
    I like the Horace/Horus idea — but I do think it is Anubis. I do understand the shorter ears but sometimes Anubis was depicted in a more human form and there is also Hermanubis — the Greek combo God of Hermes & Anubis. I kinda hope it isn’t the Greek one, only because the name is so lame! BUT check out my post for more info on that guy…

  9. 9 missscarlett
    March 6, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Got distracted by Egypt and missed the rest of your post!

    Could the Heavy Ordinance be the activation of Smokey? If Dharma had the ability to control or at least trigger Smokey that would explain how Ben summoned it in season 4.
    Curious…

    No, no no! Not Daniel. Oh that would be soo soo sad. yes. We better meet a Radzinsky soon.

    Wow, didn’t we get a promise about that kind of thing?
    you dont care?
    I was raving!! an 8 month wait and we still have interruptions — for American Idol? I can’t believe anyone watches that trash.

  10. 10 missscarlett
    March 6, 2009 at 10:13 am

    TK421
    I am wiping away tears!
    And Kate is Chief Engineer on the Crazy Train and Sun is shoveling coal.

  11. 11 dweebie69
    March 6, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    I just have this fear that Juliet will have a tragic death due to love hence her name.

  12. 12 Lostie
    March 7, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I think the statue is TAWERET. This God had only 4 toes, carried a ankh and had a head simliar to this statue. here is a video of the God Taweret statue:

    For all the Skaters out there, I hope Kate takes her Sawyer back and sends Juliet back to Jack.
    I wanna see little skater kids running around in the island, lol.

  13. 13 Cunny
    March 8, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Perhaps I’ve missed a major part of lost mythology out here, but… Who is the baby? When it was born I expected Annie. When they said it was a boy I was just puzzled. I just feel that it’s someone very important.

    I like the Sawliet pairing, I think. Not a fan of Kate any more. She’s too self-serving and she’ll just run away or push her man away in the end, anyway.

  14. 14 dan
    March 9, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    I’m just curious about something: I’m re watching Lafleur on my laptop with headphones on and during the “previously on lost” bit right after sawyer says “come on” there’s a flash and during the flash there’s one voice that sounds like sawyers, but the second voice sounds like it’s backwards dialogue. I went back and listened to it a few times, I’m convinced there’s something there but it just may be blending of the noise of the flash and the left behinders screaming, just let me know if I’m crazy.

  15. 15 Publicola
    March 11, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    One theory is that Horace and Amy’s baby is our favorite Scotsman, Desmond. The age is correct and there really is no explanation as to what makes Desmond so “uniquely and miraculously special”. Horace’s other woman was Olivia and (while I am not certain) I do believe she was billed as Olivia Goodspeed. She tried to save Emily Linus’ life and was Ben and Annie’s teacher on the Island.

    To the extent that a younger Ben is already on the Island when LaFleur et al arrives, it begs the question as to whether a younger Ben interacted with Juliet, the object of his romantic obsession. Juliet is the consummate “other woman” and while I enjoyed her relationship with LaFleur, I do not have high hopes for the relationship. As for Kate, many people believe that she is pregnant herself, with Jack’s baby and this would certainly complicate this love story even further.

    I hope that the next few episodes jump back and forth between the DHARMA life of LaFleur & Co., and the additions of Jack, Kate, Hurley and Sayid and the events of the present day. This of course presumes that Sun, Ben, Locke, Lapidus and our new friends Ilana and Caesar landed safely in the present day. This also keeps Sun and Jin away from one another even longer. I also hope during this time, we learn about the Hostiles, who their leader is (Richard, Widmore) and to the real story behind the Purge. Yes, I also want to learn about the “Incident” referred to by Chang in the Swan Orientation Video. As for Radzinsky, I hope we learn how he became trapped in the Swan, afraid to leave, and why he drew the Blast Door Map. As for the Smoke Monster, it seems to me that Richard & Co. would have a greater claim to its use than the DHARMA would.

    Just my two cents.

  16. March 12, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Search Taweret….

  17. 17 Rosie
    March 16, 2009 at 11:45 am

    One theory is that Horace and Amy’s baby is our favorite Scotsman, Desmond. The age is correct and there really is no explanation as to what makes Desmond so “uniquely and miraculously special”.

    Actually, it’s not. If Desmond had been Horace and Amy’s age, he would have been 19 years old when he was in the Army in 1996. And Desmond had already experienced a lot – including staying at a monastery and falling in love with Penny – before 1996. He’s older than Horace and Amy’s son.

  18. 18 Rosie
    March 16, 2009 at 11:46 am

    One theory is that Horace and Amy’s baby is our favorite Scotsman, Desmond. The age is correct and there really is no explanation as to what makes Desmond so “uniquely and miraculously special”.

    Actually, it’s not. If Desmond had been Horace and Amy’s son, he would have been 19 years old when he was in the Army in 1996. And Desmond had already experienced a lot – including staying at a monastery and falling in love with Penny – before 1996. He’s older than Horace and Amy’s son.

  19. 19 fireball3316
    April 8, 2009 at 3:15 am

    we jsut saw this episode in New Zealand, and it is so the best! thanks for all your recaps and insights! just feeds my addiction!

  20. 20 Thom
    April 28, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Is the statue “Sobek”? Two reasons: Sobek is an anagram of four original elemental gods (early, early Egyptian chronology) of: Ra of fire, Shu of air, Geb of earth, and Osiris of water.

    The Book of the Dead also rpesents Sobek as responsible for calling Isis and Nephthys to aid in the protection of the dead. He was the god from the “Dark Water.” It was believed, in some sects, that Sobek was the creator of the world. These people believed that he arose from the “Dark Water” and put the world in order.

    If the island does hop around from the “donkey wheel,” then its powers emanate from either a fixed location (deep in the island(s)) or something like a power strip (so-called leylines that criscross the earth). Either way, the Egyptians built something there maybe on top of an early culture as denoted by earlier cuniform style scratches around the wheel.

    • April 30, 2009 at 5:31 pm

      It’s possible that the statue is Sobek, but I think it’ll be something less obscure, no offence. That doesn’t really mean much though, I have no idea who Sobek is anymore than any of the gods.
      Interesting thoughts about the “leylines”. There are definitely sources of power under the Orchid and under the Swan. There’s also that power source under the Lamp-Post off the Island. Those power sources would be a good motivation for the Egyptians to build things there.

      – izi


Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

