24
Apr
09

Daniel built the Lamp-Post

506-lamp-post-map-01

I don’t know why I didn’t realize this after Daniel “left”.  When Jack, Sun and co. were down in the Lamp-Post with Ms. Hawking she said a strange little line, she said, “a very clever fellow built this pendulum on the theoretical notion that they should stop looking for where the island was supposed to be and start looking for where it was going to be”.  It seems very likely that Daniel, as a Dharma scientist would build something like the pendulum.  And it explains why Daniel’s mom would call the man a “very clever fellow”. 

I also believe that Daniel some how communicated with his mother in the future, or at least sent her messages, that would explain why she’s so dismissive of Desmond’s message for her.

I don’t understand why Dharma would need to locate the island in 1974.  They must have known where it was by that point.  (I may have just disproved my own theory.)  No, I think it’s still possible and likely.

– izi


6 Responses to “Daniel built the Lamp-Post”


  1. April 24, 2009 at 6:26 am

    I try not to think about the show too much after each episode, b/c well, it just hurts my head. BUT one thing that I can’t shake is this. and forgive me if it has been answered or brought up, just point me to the post and I’ll read it. But if Widmore has been trying to get to the island all these years why didn’t he just go to Eloise to begin with? I mean, he totally knows where she is, as evidenced by him telling Desmond where to find her.

    Also whatever happened with Desmonds flashes after the hatch explosion….they kind of stopped while he was on the freighter right?
    see this is why i try not to think about it! I love your sight though. you do all my thinking for me! thanks!!!

    • April 27, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      I don’t think we know why Widmore didn’t go to Eloise. It’s also strange that he thinks he can’t get back to the Island. Ben got there easily enough. I tend to think that Eloise might have told Widmore that he couldn’t go back and he believed her.
      Desmond’s flashes stopped because he got in contact with Penny, his Constant.
      Thanks April, if it makes you feel any better I’m never really sure if what I write makes sense until people comment and correct me or agree with me. (Sometime when certain people disagree with me it’s rewarding.)
      – izi

  2. 3 Publicola
    April 24, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Great theory Izi! I love it. I suppose we will find out if it rings true next week. If Faraday left the Island in 1974 and helped DHARMA build the Lamp Post perhaps it was associated with claims of knowing the future – knowing that DHARMA would be purged from the Island in the future and need a way to get back. Also, the Lamp Post contained information about the US Army’s short-lived time on the Island. Only Faraday and Hawking (if Ellie and Eloise are the same woman) were aware of Jughead. How would otherwise would DHARMA know about the Island events of 1954?

    Good work!

    • April 27, 2009 at 1:01 pm

      Good point about the US army, it’s easy to forget who knows what. That also explains why Daniel went to see Jughead, that scene seemed a little arbitrary.
      And I think it’s safe to assume that Ellie is Eloise, it might have even been “revealed” in those dumb pop-ups in the reruns.
      – izi

  3. 5 Bones
    April 24, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    “I don’t understand why Dharma would need to locate the island in 1974. They must have known where it was by that point. (I may have just disproved my own theory.) No, I think it’s still possible and likely.”

    This is the key here. I don’t think he built it, because they already know where the island is. The lamp post was used to find it the first time, so it was probably built by someone else. I hope they stick to this story and don’t pull another Jeremy Bentham debacle.

    • April 27, 2009 at 1:28 pm

      I wouldn’t be too surprised if Dharma needed to find the island again. And I don’t think it would be a huge continuity mistake, perhaps Dharma scheduled their trips on and off the island so specifically (every 6 months) because they only knew where it would be at those times. You never know.
      The entire reason why I wanted to write this theory was because of Eloise’s “very clever fellow” line, that’s all that I cared about. You never know, it might have been built by her husband, Mr. Faraday (honestly I’ll bet that’s a fake name).
      And I don’t mean to be confontrational but I don’t think that the Jeremy Bentham continuity mistakes were a big deal. I’ll bet the writers had all of Locke’s stories planned out but when they story-boarded it it ended up being way longer than one episode. So they had to cut, and they cut as much as they could while still having the good parts in there. If you watch the episode again you’ll se that it is extremely compact, there are almost no intros to scenes and every free second is filled with conversations.
      – izi


Leave a comment


April 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other subscribers