Archive for June 11th, 2009

11
Jun
09

Vital Scenes

Sorry for taking an impromptu almost two week break.

I’ve been thinking about what I want to write about over the hiatus.  At first I considered rewriting all my Revlysis, I was going to join the ReWatching LOST thing that a bunch of the other Lost blogs are organizing.  But that’s a lot of work.  Last year I was thoroughly exhausted by it.

This year I want to streamline my posts.  I don’t want to write a thousand words about an episode I mostly don’t care about.  This year I want to write only about the important parts of the show.  So I’m going to write about the “Vital Scenes”, those scenes in the show that still mean a lot.  Perhaps they’ll be about unsolved mysteries, perhaps not.  I wouldn’t mind going back and analyzing some of the solved mysteries.  The purpose is to skip all the useless jungle running and relationship filler that separates the exciting mythology of the show.

I’ll start from the top, going though the first season scenes first, but I don’t want to limit myself, so I might jump around a bit.

Here’s the format I was thinking of doing.

Scene Name

(I’m going to attempt to name all the scenes in a clever way.  We’ll see how that goes.  Here’s an example, “VS – Wet Walt 1″.  We’ll see how that goes, I just want to avoid giving them numbers, live VS95, or relying on the episode numbers.)

Episode:

Episode number and name, with a link to my original revlysis.

Scene Synopsis

A short description of what happens in the scene, who’s involved, what happens in a general sense.  If necessary I will put in a transcript.

Analysis

This is really what matters, this is where I try to apply it to Season 6, or connect it to other scenes in the past 5 seasons.

Comments

I don’t want to have the last word on things.  I need you guys to help me.  By the end of season 5 the comments were coming in fast and furious, it was great.  So don’t stop that.  I will be asking a lot more questions than I’ll be answering in these posts, so I want you guys to try to answer those questions.  (They’re not all rhetorical.)

And that’s that.  What do you think?  Is it a good idea?  Will you read this kind of thing?  I think it will be far easier to read than my unnecessarily long Revlysis’.

- izi




June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.