17
Sep
09

What I’m watching now (fall 09)

The new fall season seems to start tonight, and we just had a stellar summer season.  I’m talking about TV of course, not nature or anything like that.

Spoilers abound below, so if you are behind on any of these shows then probably don’t read the blurb beneath the headings.

This fall I’m watching these shows:

Parks & Recreation 01Parks & Recreation

Thursday 8:30 on NBC

Starts on Sept 17

A lot of people weren’t too impressed with the first season of this show.  To them I say that I wasn’t impressed with the first season of The Office… at all.  I quit watching after that season for almost all of the second season.  But I gave it a second chance and it got better and better.  The main character got more reasonable and likable.  The side characters spun off into interesting directions and the show got to be more renewable.  The same thing will happen to Parks & Recreation.

The reason why I like this show more than The Office is that I used to work in a small town municipal office and the portrayel of the uselessness of city workers is amazingly accurate.  Also I find Amy Poehler to be far more interesting than Steve Carell.

Saturday Night Live 01Thursday Night Live

Thursday 8:00 on NBC

Starts Sept 17

That’s not actually what this show is called, it’s really called Saturday Night Live: Thursday Nights, or something like that.  Apparently it wouldn’t have the same brand recognition if it was just TNL.  Oh well, that’s not the point.

I’m going to watch this show, but I don’t think I’ll enjoy it too much.  I love SNL, I am a firm believer that it’s still a good show.  But I find that ridiculous sketches are a lot funnier after 11:30 pm rather than after 8:30 pm.  Also Seth just isn’t as good without Amy and he isn’t as funny as Tina and Amy and he’s about as funny as Jimmy, but not quite as funny as Jimmy and Tina.  In the end I’d rather watch 30 Rock, so I’ll watch TNL until 30 Rock comes back on in October.

The Office 01

The Office

Thursday 9:00 on NBC

Starts Sept 17

Meh.  I’ve never felt attached to The Office, I watch it and I laugh (more at Phyllis and the other side characters than at Michael, Dwight and Jim).  But I feel no need to promote this show, it’s doing well, and you already watch it so who cares.

Community

Community 01Thursday 9:30 on NBC

Starts Sept 17

I’m proud to say that this is the only new NBC show that I’m going to watch.  Usually I watch 90% of their new shows and I’m always disappointed.  But thanks to NBC’s falling fortunes and their new strategy to save money (Jay Leno) I don’t have 40 new shows that I have to fit into my schedule.

But at the same time the jury is still out on this show.  I have no idea if it’s going to be good or not.  I’m giving it a chance, but I’m not giving it a huge chance.

UPDATE: This show is good, very, very good.  I will definitely watch the rest of this season.

Survivor: Samoa

Thursday 8:00 on NBC

Starts Sept 17

Good ol’ Survivor.  What can I say, I love watching this show.

Fringe 01Fringe

Thursday 9:00 on NBC

Starts Sept 17

This show should really be down in my category for shows I intend to watch.  I am very far behind on this show.  I blame it on my friends because we said we’d watch it together, but that’s just an excuse.  I love this show and someday I’ll watch it, but at the moment I’m just trying to avoid spoilers.

Saturday Night Live

Saturday 11:35 on NBC

Starts Sept 26

Again, I love my SNL.  The casting changes this year were slightly horrifying.  But I’m sure Lorne knows what he’s doing, he’s been doing it for 35 years.  Who am I to question him?

30 Rock 0130 Rock

Thursday 9:30 on NBC

Starts Oct 15

I’m probably most excited about this show.  Did you know that I’ve developed the habit of watching an episode of 30 Rock every night before I go to bed.  I’ve been doing it for six months or so.  This show is just glorious.  It’s inching closer and closer to an Arrested Development level of comedy perfection in my mind.  (It’ll never actually surpass Arrested Development, but it’ll come close to equalling it.)

Family Guy 01Family Guy

Sunday 9:00 on FOX

Starts Sept 27

Family Guy is getting less and less interesting every year.  I’ll watch it out of devotion, but if I don’t get a big laugh between every commercial break then there’ll be hell to pay.

But there’s always that second Star Wars episode that they’ve been dangling in front of our noses for two years now.  We can always look forward to that.

American Dad

American Dad 01Sunday 9:30 on FOX

Starts Sept 27

I actually like American Dad more than Family Guy these days.  Roger is turning into a far better character than Stewie.

The Cleveland Show

Sunday 8:30 on FOX

Starts Sept 27

I’m giving this show a chance, but not because of Cleveland, I don’t like Cleveland.  I’m watching this show because of the the bear neighbors and because the bear wife will be voiced by Arrianna Huffington.  I look forward to watching her say terrible things.

Chuck 01Chuck

Monday 8:00 on NBC

Sometime in 2010

I shouldn’t put this show on my list.  I am very far behind ont his show (I thought it was getting canceled), and I have no motivation to catch up.

Smallville

Friday 9:00 on The CW

Starts Sept 25

Same for Smallville, really far behind with almost no intention of catching up.

Now we’re on to the cable shows.  These shows are the reason why I don’t catch up on my network shows, the cable networks keep on making better shows.

Bored to Death 01Bored to Death

Starts Sept 20 on HBO

Bored to Death stars one of my favorite movie stars, Jason Schwartzman.  He plays his usual character, a neurotic creative/intellectual type who isn’t very creative or smart.  If you think back that describes almost every character he’s ever played.  Anywho, this show looks like it’s going to be very hilarious.  With guest stars like Parker Posey and Kristin Wiig, something is going right.

Project Runway

Some evening on Lifetime (bleh)

On now

Psych 01I don’t fully understand why they moved this show from New York to LA, but I’ll live with it.  Honestly, this show is good, but the Canadian one is better.  Heidi Klum, Tim Gunn and the other judges have nothing on Iman, Brian Bailey and the Canadian judges.

Psych

Sometime on Fridays On USA Network

On now

I love Psych.  The show is so funny in a nostalgic way and the cases seem to be getting better and better.  They used to do just regular old murder mysteries, but now it seems like every episode is based on a classic movie.

White Collar 01White Collar

Starts Oct 23 on USA Network

White Collar is another USA Network show.  This network is getting better and better, I seem to be watching every show they make.  Their formats seem to work quite well.  They are all essentially dramedies formatted like procedurals.  The characters tend to be quite odd, and the dynamics are always fun.  This show is starring Matt Bomer (Bryce from Chuck), Tim Dekay (Clayton from Carnivale), and Natalie Morales (Wendy from The Middleman).  It’s a great cast and I’m sure it will be awesome.

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia

Starts Sept 17 on FX

Curb Your Enthusiasm 01Sunny comes back this season and will no doubt shock us again and again with it’s evilness.

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Starts Sept 20 on HBO

Meanwhile Curb Your Enthusiasm this season is going to be about the original amoral foursome.  The Seinfeld gang is teaming up for about seven episodes of this season.  It should be epic, and I’m sure NBC is contemplating suicide since the reunion won’t be on their network.

Dexter

Dexter 01Starts Sept 27 on Showtime

When Dexter is actually on it’s one of my favorite shows, but when it isn’t I’m always surprised that I’m a fan.  This year’s story seems significantly better than last years Jimmy Smits centric buddy drama was… uncomfortable.  This year is about Dexter’s new baby and John Lithgow’s new character.  Having John Lithgow as a antagonist is genius and going to be creepy and a half.

Over the summer I watched these shows:

Weeds

On Showtime

WEEDS (season 5)Weeds was most definitely my favorite summer show.  Just like Alanis Morisette’s character I’m addicted to the drama of the Botwin family.  I was on the edge of my seat this entire season and I think I laughed more this season than during any other Weeds season.  Many people think the show has lost it’s focus, they think it’s changed so much that it’s not the same show.  I am not in that camp.  I love it when shows reinvent themselves.  I would rather see a show completely change directions and morph into a totally unrecognizable monster rather than seeing it fade into a dull repetition of past successes.  And weeds has totally reinvented itself.  And I love the directions it has taken.  It’s awesome that Celia finally has a purpose in the show, it’s great that Nancy is finally being forced to look in the mirror and see what a terrible mother she is, it’s terrific that Silas has grown up, and most importantly, it is glorious that this show has managed to transform Shane into a murderous monster.

NURSE JACKIENurse Jackie

On Showtime

I hate Nurse Jackie, the person.  I watched this show because my friends insisted, and since I force them to watch so many TV shows I thought I should return the favor.  But I hate Edie Falco’s character going into the show and I hated her more by the end.  She deserved far worse than what she got at the end of the season.  The reason(s) why I continued watching the show was because of Zoey and Dr. O’Hara.  They were entertaining enough to keep me watching

I now know how people who watch Weeds and hate Nancy feel like.  Personally I still like Nancy despite her lack of responsibility and her insanely risky actions.  It’s interesting to see that situation from another perspective.

Burn Notice 01Burn Notice

On USA Network

Burn Notice is great because it takes so little concentration on my part.  The show is too simple for me to watch with two eyes, so I play video games and watch it at the same time.  It’s much better that way.

Also I don’t like Moon Bloodgood, she was around for half the season and I found her exceedingly dull.

In Plain Sight

On USA Network

NUP_109152_0262I find myself liking In Plain Sight more than Burn Notice.  Burn Notice isn’t really based in reality.  Michael, from Burn Notice, does extremely illegal and, at times, immoral things and there aren’t consequences.  And when his clients are in trouble you never really worry too much about them.  In Plain Sight on the other hand has a serious sense of danger.  Mary’s clients could get killed at any moment.  Also the setting is just awesome.  Everytime I watch that intro I’m surprised at what a perfect procedural it is.  For this show you don’t have to suspend your disbelief, US Marshals actually do this kind of stuff all the time.  They work undercover constantly and they deal with people who are actually going to get assassinated.  It’s a genius setting.  (Although Mary McCormack’s upper lip does bother me at times.)

Royal Pains 01Royal Pains

On USA Network

Royal Pains is at the bottom of my list of USA Net shows I enjoy.  It’s meant to be a kind of midrange between Psych and Burn Notice.  It’s not quite a hilarious comedy but it’s not really dramatic or dangerous.  Unfortunately the show hasn’t hit it’s stride yet.  Also Paul Costanzo has some really bad comedic timing.  I don’t know why but he’s always too quick with his jokes.  You don’t even have time to think about what was just said and he’s already done with his zinger.

Shows that I intend to watch in the near future:

True Blood 01True Blood

On HBO

I’ve been avoiding True Blood for quite some time.  I know it’s an amazing show and it’s had unprecedented success and the casting is mostly perfect, and all my friends love it and I will love it… but.. it’s Anna Paquin.  She’s just disgusting.  I can’t describe how much I hate her and her Oscar.  But I think I’m finally giving in.  Fine, I’ll watch your show.

Mad Men

On AMC

Mad Men 01I have less of an excuse for Mad Men.  I know I’ll like it, but it’s just a lot of paying attention.  Someday I’ll get to this show.  (At this point I’m a little embarassed because some of my less educated friends have watched and enjoyed more of this show than I have.)

Top Chef

On Bravo

I was inspired by my favorite WordPress TV blogger Myles over at Cultural Learnings.  It’s a great blog with very insightful reviews of random episodes from very good shows.  Anywho, this summer Myles apparently watched four seasons of Top Chef in the space of a week or something.  When a well educated TV blogger, with great taste in TV, marathons a reality TV show, that’s a sign of quality.

In Treatment 01In Treatment

On HBO

The same goes for In Treatment.  I’m sure it’s a very high quality drama, but it’s a lot of time.  There are a few thousand episodes to go through to catch up.  I mostly want to watch this show to commend the creators for their audacity for creating such a unique format.  Can you imagine pitching a show with five episodes a week to a cable network, and then telling them you want to hire only award winning movie actors?  That’s impressive.

Sons of Anarchy 01Sons of Anarchy

On FX

Maybe I’ll watch this, don’t quote me on this.  I have one single friend that’s pushing me to watch this one.

There are still other shows that I haven’t watched yet, shows like The Tudors, Merlin, Twin Peaks, Six Feet Under etc.  If only we had summers like the old days when there was no new programming, and the cable nets only put out one show a decade.  Ah the good ol’ days, back when I had time.

- izi

characters ten to be quite odd, and the dynamics are always fun.  This show is starring Matthew Bomer (Bryce from Chuck), ___ ___ (___ from Carnivale), and Natalie Morales (Wendy from The Middleman).  It’s a great cast and I’m sure it will be awesome.
4 Responses to “What I’m watching now (fall 09)”


  1. October 9, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    You like the canadian project runway better then the american…weird. I cant stand Heidi Klum but I love Tim Gunn I think its because he reminds me of my father-in-law. I agree with Weeds, Chuck, True Blood, Project Runway, Smallville and Fringe they are great shows.

    • October 13, 2009 at 2:41 pm

      That Tim Gunn comparison doesn’t sound too great. I can barely differentiate between Tim Gunn and the guy in the Canadian one. They both offer the same services and offer a strange mix of fatherliness and femininity. As for Heidi, ugh she’s just awful. I forget how much I hate her until she walks on in every episode. Iman is just so superior, and frankly she’s more impressive. I don’t fully understand why she does Canada, but that doesn’t really matter.

  2. 3 Kyle
    October 9, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    So you’re not watching Flash Forward? I know it’s trying so hard to be Lost but it’s still very interesting.

    • October 13, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      Haha, in theory I’m watching Flash Forward. In actuality I’m waiting for a little while before I jump on board. It’s somewhere below Fringe on my list of priorities so it’ll take me a while to start watching Flash Forward.
      It does look good though.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

