21
Apr
10

613 – The Last Recruit

Review:

I feel like I’m classifying this episode wrong, but this episode really felt like the set-up episode for the finale.  But there’s still three episodes left and then the finale.  Am I wrong or is this going to get crazy fast?

These episodes aren’t my favorites.  In Season 4 it was the first part of There’s No Place Like Home, in Season 5 it was Follow the Leader.  I get the necessity of the episode, but I find this kind of episode to be unmemorable.  No one will ever say this was their favorite episode.  It’s as if the writers had a chalkboard with all the characters and where they are in the beginning of this episode and where they need them to be at the end, and then they write an episode where they get everyone where they need to go. This happened in both timelines.  I actually find the flashsideways more interesting right now because I have no idea how they’re going to get everyone together.  The Island story is fun, but I’m out for blood at the moment, people need to start dropping soon.  Without deaths it feels like whatever happens on the Island is just procrastination.

I did enjoy most of this episode, it’s not that I didn’t like it.  Ilana’s return was nice.  The business with Claire was interesting.  On the Island I enjoyed Jack and Locke’s conversation.  I like Kate’s talk with Claire.  It was all good.  But after three awesome episodes almost in a row it’s hard to sit back and watch this kind of episode.  5.0/10.0

By the way, who’s “The Last Recruit”?  Jack?  Really?  The title was a little confusing.

Analysis

Jack

-I’m wondering about Locke’s “Hello Jack” line.  I wonder if it’s as significant as Claire thinks.  Was that Jack’s final mistake?  Will we look back and wish that he had stayed away from “Locke”?

-Jack asked Hurley’s permission to go talk to “Locke” alone.  Oh how far he’s come.  Remember the old days when Jack just went and made executive decisions all the time?

-“Locke” tells Jack that all he’s ever been interested in was helping him.  Like that time when he chased Jack, Kate and Charlie through the jungle in the Pilot, or when he chased Jack, Kate and Locke through the jungle in Exodus.  Good times, he was probably just trying to get them to do more cardio.

-I really enjoyed Jack’s line, “John Locke was the only one of us who ever believed in this place.”  That made me really happy, and very proud of Jack.  I do miss Locke, but it’s nice to see that his legacy is still there.

-For a second there it looked like Jack was going to put his son up for adoption.  Hahaha.

-Some slight hints as to who Jack’s ex-wife is.  Here’s his conversation with her: “Hey… Yeah, we just got here… Thank you… Uh, I don’t know.  I’ll have him home as soon as I can. Maybe, like, 5:00?.. Actually we might grab a bite to eat afterwards.  So maybe more like 7:00?… Alright… Yeah… I’ll drop him off.”
Well that narrows it down.
My money’s still on Juliet.  Now we just have to wait until evening in the next episode… well, hopefully the next episode.

-As crazy as Jack was for turning back and going to the Island, I think he was right.  It’s not that I have any reason for thinking he’s right, I just can’t imagine how Sawyer’s plan could be right.  So anything against his plan must be in the general direction of rightness.
I wish Jack had had a talk with Hurley before he went back.  Hurley and Jack should probably stay together, I like that dynamic they were developing.

-I see Jack’s plan as just do everything contrary to what “Locke” wants.  All he wants to do is the opposite of what “Locke” says.  That sounds like a good idea.  Of course it will be pretty hard to go against the tide like that, but at least he’s trying.

-Jack apologized again for getting Juliet killed.  I still don’t blame him, but at least he feels some responsibility for that.

David

-This kid is suddenly ridiculously easy-going.

-David’s got quite the strut.  What does a kid aged 5-15 have to strut about.  That’s a bit of an inside joke.  A friend of mine asked how old I thought David was, and I guessed about 7.  Apparently I’m not great at gauging ages.

“Locke”

-“Locke” and Jack’s conversation in the jungle is very similar to the one back in White Rabbit.  Except last time Locke was trying to inspire Jack’s faith in the Island, this time “Locke”‘s trying to destroy Jack’s faith.
Back in that original scene Jack asks Locke what would happen when he caught up with Christian.  Now we know.
That was the same scene that had Locke’s “everything happens for a reason” line and his thing about seeing the eye of the Island and it “was beautiful”.  I still don’t think he was talking about Smokey.

-It’s really not fair for “Locke” to make fun of the Locke.  He said “He was stupid enough to believe he’d been brought here for a reason, because he pursued that belief until it got him killed.”  He might have been brought to the Island for a reason, but “Locke” misled him, he got him killed, he told him that he had to die.  It’s not like Jacob got him killed.

-Our theory about “Locke”‘s cadaver rule was right.  “Locke” needs an actual body in order to possess them.  It was really obvious, but at least it was said out loud.

-Wait a second.  “Locke” tells Jack that he was trapped on this Island because Jacob chose him.  Then he continues on, “But now Jacob’s dead.  We don’t have to be trapped anymore.”  It was pretty subtle but he implies, slightly, that he was trapped on the Island just like Jack, so that might mean that he was chosen by Jacob too.  Maybe “Locke”, or rather Esau, was the first Candidate.
…Or perhaps “Locke” is Cain! oh yeah, I just brought Adam and Eve back into the discussion.  (See below for a fun Adam & Eve discussion.)

-Ooooh, so that’s what that stick was for, crushing the walkie-talkie.  How could he have known to carve that thing!?  Amazing!  (Sarcasm.  I can see why people choose to have podcasts.  Don’t get excited, I’m never making a podcast, I hate the sound of my voice.)

Locke

-Locke’s only line in this episode was “Helen…Norwood. I was gonna marry her.  John… my name is John.”  They’re playing with us.  That was an extremely ambiguous line.  Sure he could be talking about his current life in this timeline, but he could also be talking about his life in the other timeline.  We can’t know for sure whether or not he’s flashed between the timelines.

-Uh, “Late forties?”  I might guess David’s age wrong, but I think I’d be a bit better at guessing Locke’s age.  That guy’s a sixty (I looked it up, he’s 57.  I was close).  Oh I just remembered, they cast Anthony Cooper wrong, that actor is pretty close to the same age as Terry O’Quinn.

Christian

-I was a little disappointed that Christian was Smokey all along.  I was hoping it would be a fun thing, like Christian was a third spirit on the Island.  I know it was stupid of me to believe that for so long, but I was hoping that he would be able to talk to Jack one last time.

-So there’s no explanation for the time that Jack saw his dad in the hospital during the Oceanic 6 time-period.  I guess that was just a hallucination or his conscience.

-Oh yeah, and Ilana was wrong about “Locke” being stuck in Locke’s body.  He changed into Christian to talk to Sun in Season 5.

Kate

-Kate’s not as dumb as everyone hopes that she is.  She could figure out Sawyer’s game pretty easily.

-I really liked Kate’s conversation with Claire.  I thought her little session with Claire in the other episode was pretty good too.  But this time I think Kate actually kinda got through to her.  And Kate said she shouldn’t have raised Aaron.  (I still think it was good that she raised him, but I might be alone there.)  Kate’s speech was very moving, and some of the best acting Evangeline Lilly has ever done.

-I’m not getting any romantic vibes from Kate and Jack anymore.  There was a slight reunion scene with the two of them, but it was no big deal.

Sawyer

-I think “Locke” knew Sawyer was going to turn on him.  I don’t think he’s stupid enough to trust Sawyer with something like that.  Maybe he knew how Widmore would react to everyone just showing up.  Then again, it would be nice to think that “Locke” can get conned by Sawyer.

-Sawyer seems to choose the worst swimming routes to and from the boat.  there’s always some land closer to the boat but they choose to go the long way.

-Sawyer was on fire in this episode.  Frank looking like he came off a Burt Reynolds movie, Claire drinking “Locke”‘s Kool-Aid.  (What the what?  Why isn’t Kool-aid spelled like Kool-ade?  I have no problem with the K, but that aid is just annoying.)

-Couldn’t Sawyer have had his talk with Jack a little earlier in the trip across the ocean?

-Aww, Sawyer had a really hard time watching Sun and Jin’s reunion.

Desmond

-The “previously on Lost” thing with Desmond and Locke was hilarious.  First it showed Locke slowly frowning at Desmond and then a shot of Desmond smiling goofily, then Locke shoves him down the well.

-This refers more to the last episode, but whatever.  Desmond was more than willing to talk to Ben and then hit Locke.  I think he has nothing to lose.  He must have a deadline or something that really matters.

-Desmond’s little Claire steering wasn’t very smooth.  Pretty creepy.  I see what he was doing, and in the end it was all for the best, but his plan was pretty flawed.  If Claire wasn’t such a pushover he would have had a hard time.

-Ugh, Desmond’s just sitting down that well with one foot completely in the water.  That’s just awful.

-I don’t think Desmond had a very strong argument for Sayid.  “What will you tell her?”  I think it’s pretty obvious that it worked but I think Sayid could have easily overcame that reasoning.  After all, he had no problem getting all the Others killed.

Ilana

-I always forget that when you die in Lost you usually show up in the next episode.  It’s a tradition (almost).

-Me and my friends were at a complete loss as to who the lawyer would be.  The best that I could come up with was The Sheriff, thankfully I was wrong.

-Verdansky?  That’s the best they could come up with.  He was some kind of scientist or something.  I’m always quite disappointed with the surname references.  Except for Charlotte’s, that was fun.

-Zuleikha Robinson doesn’t use her accent from the other timeline in this episode.  It’s weird hearing her talk without an accent.

Hurley

-I love Hurley’s Anakin line.  The best line of the episode, in my opinion.  And of course Sawyer’s not even slightly a Star Wars geek.  I mean he was 9 when A New Hope came out and 15 when Return of the Jedi came out, there’s no way that he’s watched it.  (You can tell what generation I’m from, I call Star Wars, A New Hope.)

-Hurley and Claire had more of history that Jack and Claire.  He tried his best to replace Charlie after he died.  But those two didn’t get a special scene or anything.

Claire

-Claire seemed pretty amused with “Locke”‘s masquerade act with Christian.  I think a normal person would be a little pissed.

-Claire and Jack’s reunion on the Island was pretty awkward.  Those two were never really close before he left.  It was more of a doctor/patient relationship.

-Most hilarious part of the episode, seeing Claire stuff mangoes into a tube sock.

-Kate takes Claire’s rifle from her before they get on the boat, but then she somehow manages to procure one before they land.  Let’s keep the guns away from the unbalanced people.

-I like that little lawyer trick they pulled on us, “we’ve been looking for her”.  At first I panicked, but once Jack showed up at the building it was pretty exciting.

Sayid

-Poor Sayid is so lost.  I can’t believe that he doesn’t understand that what he’s feeling are feelings. “I just shot an unarmed man, I needed a moment.”  uh…  A lack of facial expressions isn’t a lack of emotions, it’s just simple dullness.

-When Sayid was walking up to the lip of the well with his gun ready I scoffed and said, “yeah, like he’s going to be right there- oh.”

It was perfect timing.  But that well was surprisingly shallow.

-Sayid thinks that “Locke” brought him back to life.  I don’t think so, but I don’t have any other explanation.  The Infection is a mystery to me.

-I liked the segues between the flashsideways in this episode.  For example Sayid’s was when Sawyer saw his face on the security cam he says “that’s our bad guy then it switches”.

-Sayid tripping over the hose was quite a hilarious sight.

Jin

-It was the big Sun and Jin reunion.  But it didn’t feel very big.  I guess if you like them then it might mean more.  I was more concerned with Sawyer’s red eyes.

Sun

-Sun is pretty afraid when she sees Locke.  I think we all thought the same thing at that point.  She’s crossed over and she remembers “Locke”.  There’s no other reason why she would be afraid of Locke.

-Isn’t it a little crazy that Sun’s unborn baby survived?

-Oooooh, Sun’s mad at “Locke”, but no one noticed because you can’t tell what she’s feeling from her face, and she couldn’t tell anyone what she thought.

-I figured that Sun’s English would have transferred over to the other timeline.  So far we haven’t seen any proof of that.

Frank

-Frank’s Disney character, “it looks like someone got their voice back.”  That’s right Sebastian!  And now it’s time for a song!

Zoe

-Holy Hannah!  Zoe’s extremely brave.  Can you imagine walking into the enemy’s camp and showing off their weapons and then threatening them.

Mr. Widmore

-Widmore must know whether or not that missile thing could kill “Locke”.  I wouldn’t suspect that it wouldn’t kill him, but whatever.  Widmore’s welcome to try.  “Locke” didn’t even seem slightly fazed by the missile shooting over his head at the end of the episode.  He was still standing there calmly after it blew up.

-I think this is an exception to the rule, ‘your enemies enemy is your friend’.  If there’s anyone on the Island who would double cross you it would be Charles Widmore.  I guess first Ben, then Widmore.  I guess I can understand why he did it.  If he’s a Candidate, or if he even thinks he is, then he’ll want to get rid of the competition.  I can imagine he’s pretty paranoid of people usurping his leadership.  It’s happened before.

Colleen

-Remember the Other that Sun shot way back in season 3?  I was wondering if her body was still on that ship.  That would have been a fun surprise.  “Hey Sun, remember that day?”  Yeah, good times.”  Oh yeah, and that episode, the Glass Ballerina, it’s on my list as one of the worst episodes ever.

Flashes (what we know now):

Adam & Eve and their son Cain

Surely someone else has come up with this same theory.  But I’ve removed myself from the general Lost community in order to completely avoid spoilers so I don’t know any better.  Here goes nothing.

What if my nickname for Jacob’s nemesis, Esau, is themed correctly, but wrong by a few generations?  So we have two very dead bodies on the Island.  They were jokingly referred to as Adam & Eve.  Of course my primary theory about these two is that they are Rose and Bernard (not respectively).  But here’s another theory.  What if they are Adam & Eve, like… you know, the real Adam & Eve.  Jacob of course is God.  And here’s the fun part, “Locke” is Cain.  Except instead of being banished like the biblical Cain, he was imprisoned in Eden.  That would be pretty epic.

I don’t really believe this theory, but I really enjoyed writing it.

Untainted People

Has anyone not talked to “Locke” yet?  Maybe Miles.  I don’t know if “Locke” has ever directly talked to Frank, but he’s been around when he’s talked.  The overwhelming theory is that if you talk to “Locke” then you’re powerless against him.  If that’s right then we need to find a loophole.  That loophole could be someone he’s never talked to, or maybe there’s some other way.  So far all we have to go on is the no talking rule.  But everyone’s talked to him except Miles.  Maybe that’s why he’s survived for so long, to take “Locke” down… that would be weird.

There’s Hope

The ending with all our favorite survivors on their knees with a bunch of guns pointed at them seems pretty hopeless, but I don’t think it’s too terrible.  For a brief second I was hoping that “Locke” could come over and save them.  But then I suddenly remembered, there aren’t just two groups anymore.  There’s still a third, pretty effective group out there.  Richard, Miles and Ben are wandering around the jungle, hopefully making their way towards the Ajira plane.  Who knows where they are, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they show up pretty soon.

- izi

43 Responses to “613 – The Last Recruit”


  1. 1 GT
    April 21, 2010 at 3:41 am

    Sawyer is defo a Star Wars fan! From the wiki:

    “Sawyer appears to be a fan of the Star Wars films. On the raft he refers to Jin and Michael as Chewie and Han, in reference to Chewbacca and Han Solo. In “Not in Portland” he mentions The old Wookiee prisoner gag. He also calls Hurley Jabba and Ben Yoda at one point. Also, his second name, Ford, may be a reference to the actor Harrison Ford who portrayed Han Solo in the original trilogy. In “House of the Rising Sun”, in a conversation with Kate about moving to the caves, Sawyer’s line of dialogue: “well, that’s the real trick, isn’t it” is the exact same line Han Solo delivers in Star Wars.”

    • 2 matt
      April 21, 2010 at 6:44 am

      @GT. Sawyer may have been a fan of the original Star Wars, but what Hurley references in this episode would have been from the later ones. it’s possible Sawyer only saw A New Hope.

      • 3 Bones
        April 21, 2010 at 3:23 pm

        No, they mention Anakin specifically in the original trilogy, that’s how we know he’s Darth Vader.

      • April 22, 2010 at 12:28 pm

        Yeah exactly – no-one who is a fan of the OT would have referred to Darth Vader as Anakin – nope, to casual fans it has always been just “Vader”.

    • April 21, 2010 at 11:22 am

      That’s true. I find it funny seeing the two generations of Star Wars fans collide.

  2. 6 Nicholas
    April 21, 2010 at 5:11 am

    I’m pretty sure the last recruit was Claire. Seeing as how she was invited on the boat last.

    • April 21, 2010 at 11:23 am

      Oh yeah, that makes sense too.

  3. April 21, 2010 at 8:01 am

    “Oh yeah, and Ilana was wrong about “Locke” being stuck in Locke’s body.”

    Well, she could have been wrong … or she could have meant from that time on. Maybe because He was fully committed to that form at that point? Or maybe he got stuck in that form once he killed Jacob?

    Or maybe not EVERY sighting of Christian has been Smokey … just some of them.

    Of course, “Locke” could have just be lying to Jack (and Claire). Ever notice how the most interesting characters on this show are the ones you can never trust to give you a straight answer?

    Hmmm …

    Also, I suspect Sawyer is familiar with the Star Wars OT, and was probably too busy with his con-games, hunting the other “Sawyer” and watching “Little House” re-runs to bother with the prequels.

    Oh, I and I totally agree with you that this episode felt like it started as a diagram to shuffle characters around to where they need to be for the final run-up to the finale.

    ~Cheers!

  4. 9 mins
    April 21, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Jack seems to be Jacob’s prime candidate, and therefore, Flocke’s last recruit. What exactly is special about Jack, I don’t get yet, besides the huge character arc. Hurley’s been the more willing follower of jacob. Flocke seems more focused on jack than on anyone else.
    Kinda disappointed too re the Christian thing. Like you said, guess Jack had an actual hallucination of his dad back on mainland.
    Also, the other mystery is, Christian’s body is missing. John Locke’s been buried; Yemi’s is there too.
    David’s strut was almost in synch with Mathew Fox’s. that was…interesting. I think the boy is in his tweens lol
    Hurley’s reference to anakin: a hint that sayid will turn back? Sayid seemed to have the slightest smirk while talking to Flocke after returning from the well. maybe he helped Des get out.
    Other mystery: why did Flocke(as christian) take claire and make her abandon aaron?
    I thought jack and claire would have had a more hearty reunion. Hurley: “hey claire; you look….nice.” lol
    Yes, very weird hearing Ilana speak without her accent.
    Adam/Eve: weren’t the bodies found each with a stone? One had a white stone, the other a black?

    • April 21, 2010 at 11:31 am

      The Jack storyline has always had one possible ending, in my opinion, Jack has to die at the end. I can’t see how Jack can survive the finale. So even although it looks like Jack is the prime Candidate, I don’t think he’ll end up being the new Jacob, I think that position will be filled by Hurley.
      The Christian thing seemed purposefully different from the Locke thing. I think we may have put too much thought into Christian’s situation.
      Sayid will probably turn back, but like Anakin, he’ll do it right before he dies. Sayid doesn’t have anything left to live for anymore, which is why he’s willing to follow “Locke”. Maybe when e finally sees the error of his ways he’ll try to redeem himself.
      It seems like Christian convinced Claire to leave Aaron behind. Then he told her that The Others took him, and she spent three years trying to get him back. It’s a very weird situation.
      Yeah Adam & Eve had black and white stones. Jacob and Esau’s black and white stones are a very obvious reference back to that. So I’m betting those two will have something to do with Jacob’s origin.

  5. April 21, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Another thing …

    When Jin and Sun were running towards each other from opposite sides of the sonic fence, was anyone else screaming at them through their TV to, “Stop! Don’t run into the fence!”

    For a split second there, I was expecting one or both of them to get Mikhailed an bleed out from the ears!

    ~7

    • April 21, 2010 at 11:25 am

      Oh yeah! Everyone I watched it with was cringing. When I watched it again you can hear Zoe telling someone to turn the fence off, but it’s very quiet. That was a little scary.

  6. 13 Lee
    April 21, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Why do these set up episodes bother you? They’re necessary for the story to finish. In writing fiction, you need a set up to send the story on to its conclusion. So, why are you against them?

    • April 21, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      I’m not really against them, I totally understand that they’re necessary. I just know that when I go back and watch these episodes over and over again I’m really not going to want to watch episodes like this. I get that I can’t have Constant-like episodes or Happily Ever After episodes every week, but I can’t pretend that I like both kinds of episodes equally.

      • 15 TheMonkeyKing
        April 22, 2010 at 8:43 am

        I agree with your assessment of the episode. Yeah, I thought this was an “exposition” episode, like in those British mysteries, where there is a lot of talking and character movement to get them all in one place at the same time. Sometimes it can very elegant, sometimes ham handed.

        It’s something similar to those one-off episodes or a single issue story in comic books that you get a one story arc before setting up a big multi-episodic event. It used to be Christmas specials or a comedic April fools or Halloween theme story. It doesn’t do much in telling the overall story but it does reinforce or set up character development.

        With that said, I think Sawyer was trying to browbeat Jack into following his plan. He knew if there was any doubt from the others, Jack could exploit it — give a plausible reason for not leaving — and force Sawyer to stay. I don’t think Sawyer was expecting Jack to jump and when Jack apologized again for Juliet. Jack once again gained power over Sawyer by doing something other than running.

        • April 22, 2010 at 2:11 pm

          Exposition! That’s a great word to describe it.
          Interesting theory about Sawyer. I’m sure he was prepared for the possibility that Jack might jump, but if he’s still treating Jack like old Jack then he would be surprised by the jump.

          • 17 mins
            April 23, 2010 at 9:05 am

            yes, sawyer looked surprised by jack’s jump, and a little stumped by jack’s apology too. Once jack apologized, where can sawyer funnel his anger/grief?
            geek squad is very annoying. at least they had some heart and had the fences turned off so Jin/Sun could reunite. I wonder if their reunion was downplayed on purpose? foreshadowing of not so happy times ahead?
            lapidus is the wild card. his role is still unclear (which sawyer touched on in a way).
            Jack and Locke seemed tied together in both timelines. both timelines ended with them coming together. in the alt, jack is (again) looking in a mirror, but this time, sees Locke’s reflection. constants?

  7. 18 Lee
    April 21, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    ["And Kate said she shouldn’t have raised Aaron. (I still think it was good that she raised him, but I might be alone there.)"]

    Kate was RIGHT. She should NOT have raised Aaron. Aaron did not belong to her and he should have been with his family in Australia.

  8. 19 Lee
    April 21, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    ["And of course Sawyer’s not even slightly a Star Wars geek. I mean he was 9 when A New Hope came out and 15 when Return of the Jedi came out, there’s no way that he’s watched it. (You can tell what generation I’m from, I call Star Wars, A New Hope.)"]

    Sawyer was old enough to remember STAR WARS. And I do recall him calling someone either Chewie or Chewbacca. Either Sawyer is losing it or the writer of this episode made a blooper.

    • April 21, 2010 at 1:46 pm

      Sorry. I was being sarcastic. I didn’t want to put too many /sarcasm tags in one post.

  9. 21 Mint
    April 21, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Izi,

    Hey, I put a comment on the last ep. because this one wasn’t up yet but maybe you don’t look at old posts once the new one is up so –

    I’m still really uncertain about the nature of The Infection.
    You mention here that you are too. Do you have any theories?

    -M

    • April 21, 2010 at 3:12 pm

      Yeah, thanks for the comment sir/miss. I love hearing from long term readers (I’m always surprised to hear that such people exist).
      The infection is a mystery to me. I don’t know if we’ll ever get an explanation of the Infection. I don’t think it involves either Jacob or Smokey, I think it’s just an Island phenomenon. I wish I had a better theory about it. Maybe someone else knows of a good theory. Anyone?

      • 23 Mint
        April 23, 2010 at 12:55 pm

        Oh its Miss – Or Ms. I suppose!

        Yeah, I’m worried we’ll never get an answer either. The infection really doesn’t seem like top priority anymore but it is going to bug me.

        Any thoughts on your post-LOST blogging career (besides trailer tracker)?

        • April 23, 2010 at 2:37 pm

          I’m having a hard time deciding what I want to do post-Lost. I’d like to think that it’ll take me a month to analyze the finale. But I can’t really promise that. There’s a chance that once it’s over it’ll just be done and that will be that. Who knows.
          I’m 100% sure that I’ll need a break from blogging after it ends, which isn’t a big deal since it’ll be the summer and most shows won’t be on. I guess I want to write about other shows that I watch. But a review of 30 Rock or True Blood or any other show won’t be nearly as in-depth as my Lost reviews. So maybe it won’t be as fun. I don’t really know.
          And I think I’m going to semi-retire this blog have to start a new blog. I love this community and I hate to just leave every one behind. But at the same time I think it would cheapen the Lost work that I did if I changed the style of the blog and the subject matter.
          Who knows. I have other ideas but they’re a little farther out in left field.
          I wouldn’t mind starting a Star Wars blog about the books, comics and video games. But I have a feeling that it would be hard, hard work and there wouldn’t be a huge audience.
          I also have another idea of starting a blog about board games and card games. Me and my friends spend hours and hours each week playing games. I don’t know if I would want a blog talking about the us playing the games, or whether I want to just review games.
          We’ll see.

          • April 24, 2010 at 7:07 am

            My Lost blogging only really began this season, so I am planning on extending that well into the future – you are always welcome to guest blog or whatever on my site.

            Anything you go on to do Izi, I will be there reading – Star Wars, board games, True Blood – it all sounds great.

            Here’s to your excellent past, and I hope you continue writing in the future, if you continue enjoying it of course! =D

          • 26 Mint
            April 27, 2010 at 10:07 am

            I think the gaming stories/game reviews could be excellent.
            Enjoy your coming-soon blogging-break in any case!

  10. 27 Bones
    April 21, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    I got a new theory tonight while Kate was convincing Claire. Maybe the whole thing that Aaron had to be raised by Claire wasn’t because Aaron would turn evil, but that raising Aaron would keep CLAIRE from turning evil.

  11. 28 lorenzo
    April 21, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Good point about Locke possibly flashing back, but don’t you think he would have said something about Ben killing him?

    Regarding the Adam and Eve theory, I like it but it doesn’t account for the two boys we’ve seen following FLocke. Given the Greek tapestry and Egyptian mythology I think the Bible might be the wrong place to only look for references. This demigod characteristic of Jacob and MIB make me believe that there is a higher power that put them in their roles.

    I see closer linkages to Egyptian mythology, with MIB representing Apep the serpent god that was described as the personification of all that was evil, stretching 16 yards in length and having a head of flint (which is black). Either way I think the writers are using an amalgamation of deities to confuse or say that they all have a link back to the story of the island

    • April 21, 2010 at 5:58 pm

      I’m not Egyptian specialist, but I do know stuff about the bible. It sounds like you’ve got a handle on some fun Egyptian theories.

  12. 30 mins
    April 21, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    btw, exactly why was it so important for the widmorans to take Jin? Or we’ll find out next month?
    Hurley, the prime candidate huh? I’m still going with Jack, seeing all the energy, interest Jacob has in him. Hurley, to me, is like a richard, a go between. Jack may get folks off the island, die while killing Flocke, and same time, submerge the island.
    Sawyer capturing Sayid, is a, slight, reversal of the time sayid had sawyer tied up and tortured.
    Here’s a funny theory: what if Jin/Sun are Adam/Eve? Also, what if Miles finds the caves and does his mind meld and tells us who those bodies really are? What if John Locke merges with island Locke, and Miles goes to Locke’s grave and gets a message? too many what ifs….

    • April 21, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      I’ll bet we’ll be watching Season 6 for a long time noticing the references to Season 1. It’ll be fun.
      People always say that Jin and Sun could be Adam and Eve, but I just can’t imagine how they’d get them back in time, or why.
      Somehow I never thought about Miles reading the bodies. That would answer all of our questions, wouldn’t it?
      I’d like it if Miles would use his power more often, I’d like to hear some things from dead people. Not really Locke. I believe “Locke”‘s account about what he was thinking before he died. But I’d like to hear what Eko has to say for himself, or Daniel.

  13. 32 mins
    April 21, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    why does the statue have 4 toes?

    • 33 Greg S.
      April 27, 2010 at 8:55 pm

      Because all Egyptian representations of Tawaret show it having four toes.

  14. April 22, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    The last recruit could be Claire.. although it seems Sayid might also be a final recruit.

    Yeah I wish Jack and Hurley woulda stayed. Jack’s reasoning is pretty sound however and it seems only ONE person needs to stay to thwart Smokey, so maybe it doesn’t matter if he makes this sacrifice.

    Ilana never said he was “stuck” until after it was revealed Jacob died. Also, why was Christian on the freighter if Smokey can’t travel over water?

    Your observation of “smart” Kate, of Kate raising Aaron and of Desmond’s “Previously” scenes are all spot-on, but what about “dumb” Kate not catching on to Island Sawyer’s plan. That was pretty silly!

    Your “well” stuff is great. The only explanation I have for ANY of this is loose & crazy (like all good theories) — Dogen was secretly a Smokey agent all along!!!

    • 35 mins
      April 22, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      oh yeah, christian on the freighter! how does that get explained? maybe it never will..like the statue having 4 toes? Or, why there’s an egyptian statue there at all?
      it’s rather surprising how many people are fixated on whether or not sawyer knows his Star Wars. That’s what’s great about this show. There are so many fragments that can be talked about forever.

      • April 22, 2010 at 6:34 pm

        I can’t see how that Christian Freighter scene wasn’t a goof so I’m trying to ignore it.
        This Star Wars thing is a little out of control! I limited myself to one line about Star Wars in my review and it seems to be the hot button issue here in the comments. It’s kinda funny.

  15. 37 LisaMarie
    April 23, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    I really think Jack’s the “last recruit” – only because of the “You’re with me, now.” Smokey line at the end of the episode.

    I love trying to think about the most unlikely twist candidate (“one”). Like what if the final One is Sawyer with his “alone” line? After Smokey gets killed by (Jack?) there will be no more good/evil battle for Jacob… (this is just a dumb idea, I know it won’t be Sawyer, but I HOPE they will surprise us with who it turns out to be!)

    I’d like to look at a list of the numbers of each candidate. Anyone know where that might be online?

    Btw, why does Jacob even need another body (candidate)? That seems a bit too Smokey Locke-ish to me. Maybe the candidate will just become enlightened and lead?

    I like that idea that the two forces are pawns in another’s game… And that idea keeps turning in on itself. Though that wouldn’t account for:
    FREE WILL
    I like thinking about the story being based on free-will, natural rights, and the true nature of man (lots of violent tendencies + wanting to lead others). This makes me think Hurley is not going to be the One.

    tbc…

    • April 23, 2010 at 8:41 pm

      Lostpedia is the best Lost site on the internet. The moderators are so quick, an episode will still be warm and all the info will be on the site. Here’s their article about the Candidates: http://lostpedia.wikia.com/wiki/Candidates
      I think the big difference between Jacob’s Candidates and “Locke”‘s bodies is that Jacob’s Candidates have to be alive. He seems to discount them once they’re dead.

      • 39 LisaMarie
        April 24, 2010 at 7:32 am

        15 – Sawyer = 3 x 5 “Divine perfection through Grace.” Most Holy, indeed. 15 is a TRIANGLE

        8 – Hurley = Resurrection. The start of a new order. The beginning of a new era.

        4 – Locke = Father, Son and Holy Spirit + all together = Godhead. However, 4 usually represents Matter and material things “of this Earth.”

        42 – Jin/Sun or their Child = Ancient Egyptian personification of physical and moral law, order, and truth. In Judaism, the number refers to the “Forty-Two Lettered Name” ascribed to God. In the Talmud The Forty-Two Lettered Name is entrusted only to him who is pious, meek, middle-aged, free from bad temper, sober, and not insistent on his rights. The number 42 is in Douglas Adams’ book The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy The Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything, as calculated by an enormous supercomputer over a period of 7.5 million years.

        23 – Jack = The number 23 causes people search a little more. 2/3 = .66667 (bad). The most commonly cited Prime Number – a number that can only be divided by itself and one. The date 9/11 = The figures in the date (9+11+2+0+0+1) add up to 23. In the Bible Adam and Eve had 23 daughters. Only because most people on this thread this I will include: “In Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope, Luke Skywalker, Han Solo and Chewbacca sneak into detention block AA23 to rescue Princess Leia”. In telegraphers code 23 means “break the line”.

        16 – Sayid = the achievement of material power in Numerology. Christian Mystic “Jacob Bohme” believes this number represents “the Abyss”, or the hell, opposed to the nirvana. In the Bible there were 16 prophets and 16 apostles and evangelists. It is also the sum of the four first odd numbers (1+3+5+7=16) which, by theosophical addition, gives 1+6=7, the sacred number. In the Tarot 6 = Tower Card of Major Arcana.

        • 40 LisaMarie
          April 24, 2010 at 9:01 am

          Oh, and HI everyone! I’m Lisa and I just found your site last night while looking for some theories about what Hurley saw in the draw-string bag. Sorry if somebody already posted a bunch of stuff on the numbers, just checking into it for the first time.

  16. 41 Greg S.
    April 27, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    I was 5 years older than Sawyer when Star Wars (later renamed Episode IV: A New Hope) came out. The name Anakin is not mentioned in either Star Wars or The Empire Strikes Back. He is always referred to as “your father/my father”. He is not referred to as “Anakin Skywalker” until Return of the Jedi.

    It’s quite possible that Sawyer either didn’t see Jedi, or did but didn’t remember Vader’s Jedi Knight name. I think it’s safe to assume that Sawyer didn’t see the prequels. To people who’ve only seen the original trilogy, Anakin Skywalker is not an important name. He only appears for about three seconds at the very end of the film. So I think it is quite believable that Sawyer makes many references to the original trilogy but doesn’t know anything about the prequels. And Anakin is only an important name in the prequels.

  17. March 14, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Jack apologized again for getting Juliet killed. I still don’t blame him, but at least he feels some responsibility for that.

    I agree with you.

    I was proud of Kate for admitting to Claire that she had no business raising Aaron. It’s a pity that many fans failed to appreciate the scene and continued to remain convinced that she had done nothing wrong.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

