24
May
10

617 – The End – Sawyer & Juliet

Sawyer

On the Island

I wasn’t a fan of this situation.  For as long as I can remember I’ve said that Sawyer belongs on the Island.  What does he have in the real world to go back to?  Even Jacob said it in the last episode.  I don’t think he should have left.  It doesn’t bother me too much, because I was prepared for him to die, so I guess this is better.

-Whew, I agreed with Hurley when Sawyer walked away from the group.  I had a very bad feeling about that.

-Sawyer called “Locke” Smokey!!  The writers have had that up their sleeve for six seasons.

-I was quaking in my seat when Sawyer told “Locke” that they weren’t Candidates anymore.  That was quite the risk.  “Locke” could have just killed him there.

-Was there any point in Sawyer little adventure over to the Well?  It didn’t really accomplish anything, I guess they got gun out of it.  Weird.

-I was very conflicted when Sawyer, Kate and Claire were running to the plane.  I knew Claire had to go, but I really didn’t want Kate and Sawyer to leave the Island.  I still think they should have stayed, but Claire needed Kate to go with her and Sawyer couldn’t stay alone.

Off the Island

On the other hand… I can’t even describe my happiness about the Sawyer Juliet reunion.  Oh wait, yes I can.  Jump down to Juliet’s write-up.

As for Sawyer’s character, apparently the Anthony Cooper thing was a red herring.  He obviously got over his Anthony Cooper issues when he killed him.  The only outstanding issue was his unfinished business with Juliet.

-I thought Sawyer called Miles ‘Anus’ on the phone.  He said Enos.   That would have been a… creative nickname.

-Haha, Sawyer checked out Jack in the hospital.  He even did a double take.

-Aww, you poor Americans have to use paper money in vending machines.  What a bother.

Juliet

Off the Island

The writers certainly do listen to us when we ask for things.  There was an overwhelming support for Sawyer and Juliet, no one could have expected it.  I don’t think the writers expected us to be so rabid about it.  So when Juliet died (all three times) it was a major disappointment.  But there was hope.  These two could get back together in the other universe.  Does it change anything that this was the Afterlife and not actually another chance?  I don’t think so.  It was good enough just to see these two get back together under any circumstances.

After Desmond reunited with Penny at the end of season 4 I wasn’t really sure if I’d ever like a couple that much.  Having the writers try to recreate that with Jin and Sun was laughable to me.  But lo and behold, they did it again.  This reunion made the finale ten times better.  After that scene I actually said, “that’s all I needed”.  Apparently I had subconsciously set up a requirement for this episode, I needed to see this scene.  Luckily it happened.

-I did a little squeal when Juliet came to check in with Sun.  Then in the back of my mind I got scared thinking that it would be unlikely that Jack and Juliet wouldn’t run into each other more.  But that was obviously a small hurdle.

-Hey, we were all right about Juliet being David’s mom.  That’s nice too.

-I was almost speechless with annoyance when Sawyer walked off the elevator right past Juliet.  The writers were playing with us.

-It was such a relief when Juliet got called back to the hospital.

-I still don’t really get the “we can go Dutch” thing.  Can anyone explain that to me?

-The entire episode was worth it for the Sawyer/Juliet flash.  I’m willing to say that it was as good as the Desmond/Penny reunion.  And I cried both times I watched it.

- izi

13 Responses to “617 – The End – Sawyer & Juliet”


  1. 1 Noella
    May 24, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    I LOVED the Sawyer-Juliette reunion. When they touched, it was “magical.” My husband said that their reunion was so intense because their parting (Juliette’s death) was so intense.

    Sawyer was such a troubled soul, I loved that in his working through the journey to the other side he got to be the good cop – making up for his cons in his life.

    Actually, the more I think about the whole ending, the happier I am with it.

  2. May 24, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    I think Locke was in shock when Sawyer said they weren’t candidates anymore.

    Re: vending machines: not always. we can use our coins/change too, but sometimes it’s easier to put in dollar bills.

    and I agree, their renunion was AWESOME.

  3. 3 Amanda
    May 24, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    You know, I think that at the moment of death, Juliet is aware of that moment where she and Sawyer reconnect in the Flash Sideways world.

    Because right before, she had just said “It didn’t work.” But then as she’s dying she says the line about getting coffee and going dutch, and that’s when she says “I have something really important to tell you” and dies.

    Later Miles says that Juliet was going to tell Sayer “It worked.” Not saying that the H-bomb is what created the Sideways World, but that at that moment, Juliet saw herself and Sawyer reconnecting in a world that was not the Island.

    • May 24, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      Yeah, definitely. There’s some bleed over there.

    • 5 nOoLiO
      August 27, 2010 at 5:00 pm

      Their reunion almost copied their last conversation word for word:

      from LA X Part 1

      *Sawyer pulls wreckage off of Juliet*

      Sawyer – K babe, I gotcha, I gotcha. Don’t worry

      *Sawyer holds Juliet in his arms

      Juliet – We could get coffee sometime. We could go dutch

      Sawyer – Juliet it’s me

      Juliet – James? Kiss Me

      James – You got it Blondie

      from The End

      *after the flash*

      Sawyer – Woah, did you feel that?

      Juliet – We should get coffee sometime.

      Sawyer – I’d love to but that machine ate my dollar I only got one left

      Juliet – We could go dutch

      Sawyer – Juliet. Juliet it’s me, It’s me baby. I got ya, I got you babe

      Juliet – *laughs* Kiss me James.

      Sawyer – You got it Blondie

      Definitely one of the best reunions during that episode

  4. May 24, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    “Going Dutch” means each person pays his or her own way (as opposed to one treating the other). In this context, because Sawyer was low on cash.

    Enos was a police sidekick on the “Dukes of Hazzard.” A reasonable nickname, except–did you notice Sawyer called Miles “Enos” again on the island?

    • May 24, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      Oooh, I had it backwards, I get the going dutch thing now.

  5. 8 Deb
    May 24, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Re: the “we can go Dutch” thing. When Juliet died, if you listen closely her last words were “It worked”…”We should get coffee sometime”…”We could go dutch” (meaning that they could share the bill for the coffees)

    When Juliet was dying, she was meeting Sawyer that exact moment. It was great writing because when she said “it worked” we all thought that she meant that the explosion worked.

    Its funny, what you said about feeling like seeing them together was all you needed. I told my husband before the episode that if they showed Juliet and Sawyer together meeting each other, even if it was for the first time, that I would be happy with the ending. So, obviously I loved it and I’m very satisfied with the series finale.

  6. 9 Mountain.mom
    May 25, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    I hope that Sawyer reconnected with his daughter when he left the island. And maybe check up on Sun and Jin’s daughter.

  7. 10 missscarlett
    May 27, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I guess they got gun out of it

    Yeah! The gun that killed Smokey!!

    What does Enos mean?? I totally thought he called him Anus 2x!

    I’m glad you’ve got the “go Dutch” thing now. That’s funny. :-)

    I think they were just ramping up the emotion for their reunion in front of that vending machine.

    Sawyer only had $2?! Wow. Cops have it rough.

    They could have gone to the cafeteria or a restuaraunt where hopefully he could have paid with a credit card….

    Their reunion was the highlight of 2.5 hrs of love connections!! I’ve been waiting for it since her 3rd death and it’s endless replay!

  8. 11 mins
    May 28, 2010 at 11:21 am

    The other couple that had me crying buckets, in the finale and in the recaps esp when they showed juliet about to lose her grip on sawyer’s hand and fall down the hole.
    Who ever thought, when Juliet was introduced to the show, that we’d end up loving her so much, plus rooting for her and Sawyer? credits to the writers and actors.

  9. 12 Lee
    June 2, 2010 at 11:36 am

    As for Sawyer’s character, apparently the Anthony Cooper thing was a red herring. He obviously got over his Anthony Cooper issues when he killed him.

    So, committing cold blooded murder is a way to get over a family tragedy, while refusing to face the fact that one’s father was just as responsible? If that was Sawyer’s way of getting over his parents’ deaths, then he has NOT grown as a character, one bit.

  10. 13 Girl
    June 21, 2010 at 9:34 am

    I was extremely sad when they didn’t pair Kate and Sawyer Sawyer truly loved Kate and sacrificed so much for her same thing with Kate. Don’t get me wrong I love Juliet but it was heartbreaking when Kate and Sawyer were together


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

