25
May
10

617 – The End – Ben

Ben

On the Island

Just like with Richard’s arc, I was surprised by what happened to Ben on the Island.  I was looking forward to Ben getting one last ‘gotcha’ moment with “Locke”.  I was secretly hoping he would be able to stab him in the back.  But it didn’t quite work that way.  I still really enjoyed his con of “Locke” even though it didn’t have a huge payoff.

Having Hurley allow Ben to stay and play a major role on the Island was a nice treat.  Ben deserved that, and I didn’t expect him to get it.  Out of all the characters I think Ben and Richard got the happiest endings.

-I shouldn’t complain, but I was hoping Ben would have more fun conning “Locke”.  But he got to have his fun one last time.  That last episode was more his episode.

-Poor Ben had his teeth knocked in by Sawyer.  He can’t go a full episode with getting punched in the face.  And Sawyer probably knew he was conning “Locke” he just wanted the gun.

-I knew that walkie-talkie was going to be trouble.  When you’re undercover with the enemy you don’t want a loud piece of equipment on you.

-Ben and Desmond were lucky they didn’t get shot by Kate.

-Ben saved Hurley’s life from the falling tree.  Wasn’t that nice.  It was also nice of everyone else to try to save him.  They could have left him behind.

-Ben had to sit by and watch Jack give the Guardianship to Hurley.  That must have hurt.  I’m sure he didn’t expect it, but still those moments can get to you.

-I don’t think Hurley even meant to make Ben feel better, but he did an amazing thing when he asked Ben to help him.

Off the Island

I completely understand how Ben felt and why he didn’t go in the church.  He said he wasn’t ready to leave yet.  That guy has a lot that he has to do before he can feel complete.  He still has to help his Dad, Rousseau and Alex flash and probably a lot of other Others, Dharma people and more people that he killed.  Most of the people in that room were only connected to each other, Ben has been connected to a lot of other people.

-That was great, and very unexpected when Hurley and Ben mentioned their time on the Island.  It’s a happy ending, even if it’s still very open to interpretation.  I can’t imagine what it would have been like without that scene.  I think people would still be asking for more Lost material.

- izi

6 Responses to “617 – The End – Ben”


  1. 1 Noella
    May 25, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Ben was one of my favorite character in that he seemed to be representative of mankind as a whole. He was unloved as a child, was a killer, was a protector (the island and Alex), he was a leader; yet he was also vulnerable and felt unappreciated especially by Jacob whom he’d obeyed for years and years. When “Locke” asked him that after all he’d done for Jacob and Jacob still seemed to ignore him, why wouldn’t he “want to kill him?” I’m sure that Ben felt justified in killing Jacob – but I know he was thinking “Oh my God, what have I just done?”

    Ben followed “Locke” for a while because “no one else will have me.”

    I loved it when Ilana responded, “I’ll have you.” At that moment she gave complete forgiveness with nothing expected in return. So like Jesus. As it takes humanity a while to process love and forgiveness, I think Ben portrayed that most (whether the writers intended that or not).

    His sideways experience where he is united with Alex and Rousseau will be a very healing experience for Ben and I’m sure he’ll join the rest in a little bit.

  2. 2 Keith Johnson
    May 25, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Like Jack, Ben’s path to redemption was epic. The major difference is that I also liked Ben when he was a right bastard, and Jack annoyed the crap out me as one of the Oceanic 6.

    My guess is that Ben didn’t go into the church primarily so he could remain with Rousseau and Alex, and not because he has lots of evil deeds in the past he has to atone for. If Sayid got a ticket to the bright light in the church, redeemed Ben could have as well. ;)

  3. 3 hi d
    May 26, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    I agree….I think he wasn’t willing to move on without alex. although what would it be like if Rousseau “remembered” their past?

    • 4 mins
      May 28, 2010 at 10:54 am

      lol that would be something wouldn’t it?!

  4. May 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I loved that Island Ben got to be Number 2 (who does No2 work for?!) to Hurley. It was such an honor and one that he felt keenly. :-)
    I don’t think Ben even wanted leadership by then. It was all too much for him part way through Season 5 I think — though we did get a flash of Old Ben when he was getting into conning Smokey — I regret somewhat that he didn’t get to really shock him — but that was Jack’s place I guess.

    Sideways Ben just needs some time to love and be loved by Alex and Danielle. He needs to take care of his Father and have his Father care about him.

    Hi D — I think Rosseau’s flash would come at a time that would allow her to balance her response to who Ben was and the man he became — although, technically, if you’re dead and living in a place that has no time – are you a man?

  5. May 27, 2010 at 8:42 am

    I loved Ben’s arc, and his ending. It was perfect – probably the best of the whole bunch, except maybe Hugo’s.

    Such a great character … great as a villain, great as a hero.

    Miss Scarlett is spot on about Rousseau & Ben, too, I think.

    ~Cheers!

    7


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

