26
May
10

What Did You Think?

Apparently the finale was a little polarizing.  Some people hated it, some loved it.  Clearly I’m in the ‘loved it’ category.  Now what about you?

You’ll notice that I avoided asking this question until I had my say.  I wanted everyone to know that I enjoyed the episode and why before I let any of you rag on it.  So now that most of the really angry people have left, what’s the word?  Was it satisfying?  Do you still love Lost as a whole or did that episode ruin the show for you?  What were your favorite, or least favorite parts?

(I would put a poll, but I’d rather hear some real words from you.)

- izi

8 Responses to “What Did You Think?”


  1. May 26, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    There were angry people? There are people who don’t like it?

    Meh – can’t please everyone.

    I loved it.
    It was true Lost.
    I think this finale made the whole series beautiful in a way I didn’t expect, and could not have put into words – but it was just what I was longing for.

    I’m a total idealist so…this episode was perfection.

  2. 2 Keith Johnson
    May 26, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I loved it.

    I’m extremely happy that they didn’t turn Season 6 and the finale into an “info dump” where they spent the whole time answering questions to cr*p most viewers haven’t thought of for over four years. (Dharma food drop? Kate’s horse? Ghost Walt? Women dying in childbirth?) Personally, I prefer the setting to not be so detailed that I won’t be able to come up with my own insane theories, although I wouldn’t have complained to have a few more major questions answered. :)

    As for the finale, most of the Island action was fairly hum drum. Jack doing his kung fu leap on MIB on the cliff was laughable, but Kate shooting MIB more than made up for it. I thought Matthew Fox did a great job with Jack, although the following really stuck out for me: 1) telling MIB that he’d kill him, and it would be a surprise; 2) Jack telling MIB that he dishonored John Locke by wearing a great man’s face; and 3) Jack dying a true believer in the island, a true man of faith, finally at peace with himself and his past, glad to see his friends flying away from the Island. Considering how agonizing it was to watch Jack off the island, I was very happy to see this as the culmination of his character’s evolution.

    I was happy to see Hurley (w/ Ben) as the new custodian of the Island. Ben telling Hurley how he can do what he does best was perfect, and I’d pay good money to find out what Hurley’s Island is like in the future. If they ever “reimage” LOST into a new series in the future, let’s hope it’s Hurley’s island. :)

    Ben’s transformation on the show was even more miraculous than Jack’s, yet felt even more believable. Odds are because Michael Emerson is a better actor…

    I could probably babble about it all night, but I doubt everyone would care to hear it. Suffice to say, I went away a very happy LOST fan. ;)

  3. 3 Marli_tharn
    May 26, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    I’m one of those people who hated it. :P
    It’s not just the finale, it’s entire season 6.
    To me it felt like I was watching a completely different show. Every week I was bored to death, because every episode was slow and repetitive. And in the end it made me feel like I’ve watched the previous seasons for nothing. All the mysteries they made such a big deal of didn’t really matter, the whole point was that a bunch of people had a great time on an island and the get back together in the afterlife. To me that felt like a rip off. :(
    Now let the lynching of me begin! :P

    • 4 missscarlett
      May 27, 2010 at 12:27 pm

      All the mysteries they made such a big deal of didn’t really matter

      Let’s look at that: Did they make a big deal out of them — or did the audience?

  4. 5 mins
    May 27, 2010 at 9:24 am

    I loved it. Sure, I wish there were some answers to questions that baffled us for years ( made some new questions in this finale too) but that’s ok. I think they wrapped it up nicely, but also left the door open for fans to debate for a long time.
    I was so glad Jack honored Locke. They were at such odds for so long, and in so many ways, Jack came full circle, and changed for the better.
    Ben’s change touched me even more. He’s the favourite bad guy. The alt. was a kind life for him, and a chance for him to be a genuinely nice person.
    I could go on all day too!

  5. 6 Kard
    May 28, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I’m still musing about the finale and I have a bit of a theory that I will share once I re-play one of the scenes. In the meantime, here is a very profound email from a friend:

    “I know that I expected to have the secrets of the universe revealed, however, that’s quite a burden to place on a network TV show. But I was very serious about investing six years in the show and wanting to come away with some important lessons learned. I was quite satisfied to receive the following pearls of wisdom from the final episode plus the two hour recap. And these were my own personal lessons. If you don’t mind, I thought that I would share them with you as I remember that the reason that I started watching the show in the first place was because someone I trusted and respected, thought enough of me to recommend an interesting and though-provoking new show.”

    Don’t let other people tell you what you are. You have to find out for yourself.

    Life doesn’t have a timetable. It takes as long as it takes.

    Events don’t transform your life as much as your character drives your reaction to the events that take place in your life. In other words, you don’t have to survive a crash landing on a tropical island to develop strong friendships and relationships. You can do that even if your plane lands safely in LA.

    Forgiveness is liberating. Forgiveness transforms the forgiver as much as the forgiven.

    Repentance precedes the acceptance of forgiveness.

    The best quality in a person is the ability to take care of people.

    Maybe the reason that you ran into a polar bear on a tropical island isn’t as important as the fact that you had someone to watch your back when you did run into the polar bear.

    Three people can crawl into an underground cavern expecting three different outcomes from the same action. (This is so true about anything in life).

    People are so afraid and so unwilling to accept help. We all need to hear the words “You’re not alone. Let me help you”, at some point in our lives.

    If we could only put aside our desire to be number one, we could be very happy being number two. There’s an old saying that “it’s the craving that causes the unhappiness”.

    The most often heard words that weaved their way throughout the final episode were “Trust me. I trust you”. “I believe in you”. “I have faith in you”.

    Each of us ends up in whatever place we create, along with the people in our lives with whom we have a relationship.

    Don’t ask “Why are you here?” A better question to ask is “Why am I here?”

    Jack’s last words to Hurley when they were back on the island were “I’m already dead”. It was also his final realization when he met up with his father in the church in LA.

    Often you won’t read a different book or look at something different unless a friend goes out of their way to recommend something different.

  6. 7 Nater
    June 1, 2010 at 11:24 am

    It was a love-hate ending for me. I loved how they dealt with the plot on the island (other than the hokey golden light that looked like something out of a cartoon), but I felt that they took the easy way out with the ‘purgatory’/walk-into-the-light ending. Instead of using a bit more creative genius to weave many mysteries together, they just turned it into a la-la-land, bright-light scenario. Not that it didn’t take creativity to keep the alt-reality (or at least that’s what we were calling it the whole season) going, but to use the ending they did felt like an insult to my intelligence.

    And even though I’m glad they didn’t carry MIB all the way to the finish line, I thought his death was very anti-climactic, given how pervasive and powerful his back-story was. Bang! That’s it.

    All that said, I had to look at this ending as I would any book I read… it’s always the author’s choice how he/she wants to end it. It’s his/her creation and I have to respect that and look at the story as a whole. So to the writers of Lost, I take my hat off in respect, even though I might have done it differently myself.

  7. 8 Matt
    June 23, 2010 at 6:32 am

    Didn’t the ending with Jack going to the multi-faith chapel, where he meets his long deceased father imply that the flashbacks to the mainland for the last six seasons were all something Jasck dreamed up as he was dying? It is a theme earlier explored in a movie starring Tim Robbins that was called “Jacob’s Ladder.” Or earlier by W. Shakespeare; To die, to sleep;to sleep: perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub; for in that sleep of death what dreams may come, when we have shuffled off this mortal coil?


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

