06
Jun
08

season 4 finale: Jin & Daniel’s Fate

So I’ll start out with Jin.  I don’t really like Jin that much, his character doesn’t have a whole lot of room to grow.  And his flashbacks bore me soooo much.  I don’t want to say too much about Sun right now, I’ll leave that for another post but I enjoy her more now that she’s off the island, and it appears that she’s becoming a kind of minor villain.  Back to Jin, I wanted him to die, once I saw his gravestone I was desperately hoping that he was really dead.  At the end of the finale I was sure that he was dead.  As I talked to my friend LC about it, (LC’s favourite character is Jin) he was telling me that his interpretation of Jin’s request to Mr. Whidmore was to help her find Jin who she still believes is alive.  I watched the freighter explosion scene again and I agree with those who say that Jin is not on the deck.  And it really makes sense, if you knew the ship you were on was about to blow up, you saw a helicopter taking off, what would you do?  I would run off the other end of the ship and dive in (I’d subsequently drown, because I can barely swim, but that’s not the point).  So I now believe that Jin is alive.  So then, what happened to him?  He’s still a long ways from the island.  Could he swim back in time to get to it before it quantum leaps or teleports or whatever it did (patience my young padawan, I’ll get to that theory later)?

This is where Daniel comes in.  Daniel is tied to my favorite character, Desmond.  I had never heard of Jeremy Davies before this point, and I have been watching his movies since then (CQ is one of my favorites, it’s kinda like Barbarella mixed with the Life Aquatic).  So in this last episode, Daniel is a little worried.  He apparently is aware of what the secondary protocol is and he doesn’t want to be on the island when it happens.  The more I think about it the stranger it is.  The secondary protocol must have been something like forcing Ben to move to island, thereby forcing him off of the island.  So really they played right into Whidmore hands.  I’ll have to come back to that later, that’s odd.

Anywho Daniel is on a boat on his way to the freighter (with some red-shirts).  While he’s out there, the boat explodes.  If my previous assertion is true, then Jin is also somewhere out in the water.  Could Daniel be there to pick him out of the water and thereby save him?  From a writers standpoint I can think of three reasons to put Daniel in a boat away from the island while it’s being moved.  First is the one mentioned earlier, to save Jin.  Second is to kill the character (not likely).  Third is to force Daniel into that barrier around the island that forces people to go crazy, thereby knocking poor Daniel for a loop and making him need a constant, Desmond, in order to be sane again.  It is possible that both the first and third ideas could happen concurrently.  He could save Jin and go a little crazier.

The point of all of this is that Daniel is in the same general area that Jin was in when we last seen him.  If Jin is alive I’ll bet he’s with Daniel.

A subsequent question you might ask (I’m asking it to myself right now) is where will they be?  After the nearby Island is transported a different time or place, where does that leave a boat which was in sight of the island.  Will they go with the island or will they go part of the way.  Maybe if the island travels forward in time Daniel and (possibly) Jin go half that amount time in the future.  Maybe if they go to a different place Daniel and (possibly) Jin go half that distance, putting them in the middle of nowhere.  I’m really torn about which one I believe will happen, it really depends on in what “direction” I believe the island went.  I’ll think about that and post it next time.

(On a side note, if you look in the boat you’ll see the extra that me and my friends have been calling Sam Roberts, although he looks a lot more like Bret from Flight of the Conchords.  Maybe next season he’ll have a line.  And maybe every Lost viewer won’t hate him for absolutely no reason.  Here’s hoping!)

– Izi

4 Responses to “season 4 finale: Jin & Daniel’s Fate”


  1. 1 missscarlett
    June 6, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Huh. HH doesn’t like Jin or Sun’s stories either. I do. I really want them to be together raising Je Yeon in the end.
    I know it’s for another post but I love the new Sun that is emerging.
    I like the theory of her using Widmore to get back to the Island to find Jin — I do NOT want her to be hunting Ben (or Jack as some online types believe — ummm, hello Jack is pretty easy to find and Widmore knows the O6 earth to theorists!)

    I’m hoping Jin is alive (as much as I’m relieved Michael is finally dead) – with Daniel would be even better.

    I LOVE Daniel. He is heartbreakingly open (even when he tries to lie) and the most real character somehow. I hope in the next season they develop Charlotte enough so that we can see what it is that he loves.

    Aside from that — he is so darn frail. Someone drop off some Dharma Protein Shakes for that poor fellow! He’s so fragile he makes my ovaries ache – that’s how much mothering he needs.

    Yeah – no clue where that would put the boat and the redshirts and (hopefully) Jin. They have got to be caught in the Island’s electro magnetic what-have-you — the whole ‘If anything goes wrong Desmond Hume will be my Constant’ needs exploring.

  2. 2 missscarlett
    June 6, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Heh – maybe your ‘on the outskirts of the Island going crazy now’ idea will lead to the humorous demise of more redshirts next January!

  3. 3 harks
    July 9, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I figured that Jin would be back in some capacity, whether he jumped overboard and survived or came back in a flashback/ghost/smoky monster/Christian Shepherd manner. In the post-Island flash forwards, Sun doesn’t necessarily seem mournful or grief-stricken about him, even at Jin’s grave; she appears regretful, angry, or determined. Jin’s not the most interesting character, but my friend and I are often joking about the shirtless physiques of the male actors on Lost. If/when Jin does come back, I think his character will get much more interesting.

    I like your theory about Jin joining Faraday’s life-raft. And Desmond will have to re-enter the picture somehow when Faraday starts doing the wacky time-travel-in-the-consciousness thing.

    I would really like to hear a Flight of the Conchords song about Lost.


Leave a Reply

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


