12
Jun
08

Season 4 Finale: Kates Rebuttal to Jack’s Idea

“We have to go back”

That was pretty dramatic, and after everything we saw in all the flashforwards, it isn’t probably the best thing to yell at Kate.  Kate got a sweet deal when she got back to the ‘real world’.  She literally got everything she ever wanted.  She got acquitted of the murder of her step-father.  Her mom came on bended wheel, begging to be a part of her life.  She got to settle down and have a family.  And she got Jack.

Now, a few of my friends are Kate haters.  Let me explain why I think she is a good character.  The reason why they dislike her is because of her apparent wishy-washiness.  They say she leads on Sawyer and Jack with no sign of whether she loves one or the other.  Now let me say that this is mostly just good writing.  Having a never ending, will she or won’t she situation, is what keeps females watching the show (note: see comments for a politically correct explanation… sort of).  And let’s face it, it’s a hard decision.  I don’t think that she is acting too oddly for a woman in her circumstance.  It’s true that most women have a preference, Jack or Sawyer, and I’ll bet Kate does too.  What Kate is torn about is that in her mind there is what she thinks she should do and what she wants to do.  She feels that she should be with Jack, the ‘strong’ protective man who will keep her away from danger and likely lock her in their pretty suburban house.  She wants to be with Sawyer, run away from all her crimes and problems and live in a secluded paradisaical setting.  I’m all for responsibility and doing what’s right but in this circumstance I think what she wants to do is the same as what she should do.  I’m all for Kate and Sawyer.  In general, Jack will never be happy, with or without Kate, and Kate could never be happy with Jack.  She is occasionally attracted to him for almost Freudian reasons (I actually know nothing about Freud, maybe someone should tell me if this makes sense or not).  He is like her real father, strong, a leader, and upright.  Obviously this kind of attraction is mostly superficial.  I think that what the writers did this season was to establish that Jack and Kate could never work.  They were together and it crashed and burned quite quickly.

This brings me back to the main point.  When jack yelled to Kate “We have to go back” he showed to her just how outrageous he was.  He was absolutely happy with her and Aaron, and so was she, like I mentioned earlier, she got everything she ever wanted.  And then he self destructs.  And I know that it’s clear the island is messing with him.  But the island is messing with everyone.  He isn’t excused for the way he just assumed that she was cheating on him.  His character is flawed, and go ahead and say that it’s because of his past, his first wife cheated on him and now he doesn’t trust women, or because his father was never there he wasn’t raised properly.  That’s all true but that doesn’t mean I have to like him, that’s the way he is and that’s the way I don’t like him.

I feel that Kate is deep down a good person.  She made one “mistake”, killing her awful step-father, and that in turn threw her life for a loop.  She’s been living with that for years.  She finally got her second chance and she did great with it, she put Aaron first, as far as we know the only other thing we know she did was visit Clementine (I guess we don’t actually know that, but it’s pretty safe to assume).  These aren’t the actions of a wishy-washy woman, these aren’t the actions of a criminal, these are the actions of a truly repentant woman who is trying to restart her life.

Obviously next season will throw her life for another loop as she finds out that she actually does have to go back, and apparently she can’t bring Aaron.  But I believe that after all the rigmarole, Kate will end up with Sawyer.  As I mentioned in my last post I believe Sawyer and Juliet will have a superficial relationship, but I’m sure that it will disappear soon after Kate comes back into Sawyers life.

– Izi

8 Responses to “Season 4 Finale: Kates Rebuttal to Jack’s Idea”


  1. 1 Clayton
    June 12, 2008 at 8:36 am

    The sexual tension and will they/won’t they situation is what made The Office so great. And now that its gone, The Office sucks. I see her with Sawyer more because they are two free spirits. It just makes more sense for her to be doing whatever she wants with Sawyer.

  2. 2 missscarlett
    June 12, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    “Her mom came on bended wheel”

    You cheeky b*stard! That is funny.

    Ummm…this is not: “Having a never ending will she or won’t she situation is what keeps females watching the show.”

    Do you actually believe that?! Wow. I’m speechless. Give your head a shake guy.

    I’ll leave that for now.

    Ok – 1st I don’t think Jack thought she was cheating – I think he knew her ‘secret’ had something to do with Sawyer and he wants her to be honest. Unless we learn next season that Sawyer is off-Island, that isn’t even possible.

    Jack is on a major self destructive path and the 1st step is for him to end his stable(ish) happy relationship with Kate & subsequently Aaron. Now studies have shown that emotional cheating can be as destructive to a relationship – and sometimes more because there is little acknowledgement of broken trust unless sex is involved (aren’t we shallow?) so the wounded partner doesn’t have as much support available. Also – I agree with you, I think Kate wants to love Jack but she loves Sawyer and he knows that (they both know I’m sure) so her ‘betrayal’ is only confirming his suspicion — which is why he is in the relationship with her in the first place because she is not available and his pattern is to engage with women in crisis, to rescue them and then what?

    Anyways. I’m torn myself. I like Kate and Sawyer together – I think he is a much better person when they are together – and that he’s really grown this season. If Kate were smarter she would love Jack, and I think part of her does, if Jack deals with his Daddy issues he would be the ideal mate. Just maybe not for Kate.

    Even though you don’t know much about Freud – you have it right here. But I have to point out that Kate’s real Dad was the shiftless drunk that she blew up. That upstanding man was the man she believed was her father.

    I agree with you that Kate is a good person – I think she is still punishing herself for accidentally causing the death of her childhood sweetheart and if she can get past that…she and Sawyer could be really happy together.

    From a female viewer who somehow is into the more subtle aspects of the mythical scope that is Lost – and not the Jack or Sawyer see-saw.
    You.

  3. June 12, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Sorry for the offending sentences.
    But I should point out that I in no way meant to offend any women reading this blog. People who read this blog aren’t exactly the demographic that ABC is aiming for. They are aiming for people who watch all the commercials and see a swiffer commercial then go and buy one. Those kind of women will be unhappy if Kate ever chooses some one. Lets say that half of those women watching Lost want Kate to end up with jack the other half want Kate to end up with Sawyer. Once she actually chooses one over the other, you can pretty much count on that other half to stop watching the show.
    So when I made such a general comment I didn’t mean to offend, but you may notice I say a lot of things for dramatic effect.
    – Izi

  4. 4 hi dee
    June 12, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    okay MR. Man…..

    the “females” that care that much who she ends up with are watching grey’s anatomy. not lost. but yeah, nice back pedal there.

  5. 5 Aunty L
    June 12, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Izi! What a biased attitude.
    Tsk tsk.

  6. 6 missscarlett
    June 12, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Ahhh. So now I am not ABC’s target demographic. I suppose as a Canadian that is true. But you’re digging yourself in deeper boy.

    (kidding)
    😀

  7. 7 Rosie
    November 5, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    “She got acquitted of the murder of her step-father. Her mom came on bended wheel, begging to be a part of her life. She got to settle down and have a family. And she got Jack.”

    Kate was not aquitted of Wayne’s murder. The charges were dropped because her mother Diane refused to testify against her.

    Anyways. I’m torn myself. I like Kate and Sawyer together – I think he is a much better person when they are together – and that he’s really grown this season.

    I like Kate with Sawyer better than with Jack, BUT . . . I still find her relationship with Sawyer. She may love Sawyer, but she treated him like a stud to keep her bed warm every once in a while. She had no real respect for him, which was why she was able to abuse his feelings for her.

    Even though you don’t know much about Freud – you have it right here. But I have to point out that Kate’s real Dad was the shiftless drunk that she blew up. That upstanding man was the man she believed was her father.

    I agree with you that Kate is a good person – I think she is still punishing herself for accidentally causing the death of her childhood sweetheart and if she can get past that…she and Sawyer could be really happy together.

    The fact that Kate feels guilt for accidentally causing Tom’s death, and no remorse for deliberately killing Wayne due to her own insecurities only leads me to believe that deep down is a VERY DISTURBED AND SICK woman.

  8. 8 Rosie
    November 5, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Do you want to know why Kate chewed out Jack? Here are her words:

    “Who do you think you are?! You call me over and over again for two days straight, stoned on your pills! And then you show up here with an obituary for Jeremy Bentham. (Sighs) When he came to me and I heard what he had to say, I knew he was crazy. But you… you believed him.”

    With the above words, she chewed out Jack for believing Locke that they have to return to the island. Apparently, she seemed to be angry that Jack had changed his opinion about Locke and now wants to return to the island.

    She also said this:

    “JACK: Yes, Kate, I did, because he said that that was the only way that I could keep you safe–you and Aaron.

    (Kate slaps Jack.)

    KATE: Don’t you say his name. I still have to explain to him why you are not there to read to him, so don’t you say his name!”

    Now, she’s pissed off at Jack for staying away from Aaron . . . and her. Regardless of the fact that she should be relieved, considering that Jack had become a pill popping drunk before he left them, Kate is angry at Jack for ruining their little “Happy Homemaker” scenario. Personally, I would be relieved at not having an addictive person like Jack around Aaron. But not Kate. Which makes me wonder about her ability to be a parent.


Leave a Reply

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


