17
Jun
08

season 4 finale: the island moving (part 2)

Icosahedron theory

A while ago J. Woods wrote an article about a 3 dimensional shape called a icosahedron which apparently intersects the globe at special points, some of these points include the North Pole, Fiji, The Bermuda Triangle, Madagascar and North Africa ( I was hoping that Portland would be on the list too but it isn’t.  You can read his post for his interesting/crazy theories.  But he wrote those a long time before moving the island was even a glint in Locke’s eye.  An interesting thing about the icosahedron is that it was mentioned in the official podcast. A fan asked a question about it, they deflected the question, but the mere fact that it was mentioned gives the theory more credence.

So what can we do with the icosahedron? (apart from understanding it because that is way too much to ask for).  I think that I can base a theory around it.  I’ve talked about this theory before.  I believe that the island can move around the world, but it is limited to these points on the icosahedron.  Right now it is somewhere near Fiji (although it drives me crazy that we still don’t know where it was, apparently that little island where Penny dropped off the Oceanic 6 was 2000 miles from where they picked them up).  I believe that at one point the island was at the North Pole.  This explains why there are polar bears on the island.  Likely the four toed statue is from a different part of the world, I don’t think that any culture in that part of the world built statues like that it looks more Mediterranean (correct me if I’m wrong).  My old version of this theory played off Richard Alpert’s line: “We’re not in Portland any more” implying that at one time the island was somewhere in Oregon.  Maybe it’s possible, but it is highly improbable, and there are no spots on North America where the icosahedron hits.  Another hint was in The Constant.  When Desmond sees Mr. Whidmore at an auction bidding on the journal of Magnus Hanso, the captain of the Black Rock.  This journal was found in Madagascar, far from where the Black Rock ended up (maybe).  So I think it is completely possible that the island travels around these spots on the earth.

I want to point out that I have a problem with theories like these.  The crazy, scientific theories are fun to come up with and read, but I don’t think it is possible for them to be right.  There is almost no way that they can explain how the icosahedron theory works on the show.  It is possible that it is correct but there is no way that it will ever be confirmed because the show can’t spend half an episode or even a small part of an episode talking about metaphysics or theoretical anomalies or whatever we are talking about.

In my next post I’ll talk about the other clues and what I think was happening when Dharma controlled the Island

– Izi

3 Responses to “season 4 finale: the island moving (part 2)”


  1. 1 missscarlett
    June 17, 2008 at 9:46 am

    I was hoping that Portland would be on the list too
    Ha! Me too.

    Well…I think they could do a little metaphysical explanation and it could be a quick scene between Faraday and Charlotte or some other science-type.

    I like the Icosahedron theory myself – it gives me a headache like all of J.Woods posts! And it makes theoretical sense — yeah I wonder if they are ever going to tell us anything location-wise. Probably not because then the internet community is going to go nuts pointing out how wrong they are. Not worth it.

    I am finally! getting a Lost post out sometime today. So stinking busy these days.

    Thanks for the potential spoiler! You rotter – I could have avoided it but all things Libby I have to know about. I shared it on the boards right away – why be the only one speculating?


Leave a Reply

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


