23
Jun
08

season 4 finale: who was in the coffin

I was surprised.  They tricked me, quite soundly.

As any of you who really know me will know, I was betting on Sayid being in the coffin.  I was so sure.  I thought that the producers were steering him that way.  We had very little proof of who it would be.  We knew Kate wasn’t to keen on whom ever it was and no one went to his funeral.  Also his funeral was in a dirty neighborhood.  Then there was that newspaper clipping, which I read but I thought it was a red herring, so I dismissed it as such.  My reasoning was that the producers wanted us to believe it was Michael.  I still think that was what they were trying to do.  So naturally I refused to accept the idea.  I thought it was Sayid because I believed the other Oceanic Six found out that Sayid was working for Ben, and hated him for it.  Also the fact that Nadia died, made me think that the writers were going for a tragic end to Sayid’s story.  There’s also the possibility that my boredom with Sayid’s character made me hope that he would die.

Needless to say, I was wrong.  But I wasn’t wrong just that once.  After Ben’s episode (409 – The Shape of Things to Come) in the back of my mind I started to think it would be Ben in the coffin.  I thought that his evil attitude would be the death of him.  Also I was hoping he would die before he got a chance to hurt Penny.  It was also pretty obvious that in the finale Ben was the person we were supposed to think was in the coffin.  I don’t know how you couldn’t think of Ben when you hear some one named Jeremy BENtham was traveling around trying to talk to everyone and convince them to do something.  And I really did believe it.

Then we heard Ben’s voice.

I was suddenly in a state of shock.  At that point I had no idea who it was.  My mind was racing.  I immediately thought of Sawyer.  All season, some of my friends had expressed anxiety that it would be Sawyer in the coffin, I reassured them that the writers would never end the Jack-Kate-Sawyer love triangle so abruptly.  But at that moment I was actually worried.  Then I thought of Richard, one of my favorite characters.  I also thought of what a let-down in would be to see Richard in the coffin.  I was so worried that it would be him that I never even stopped to think it would be Locke.

I was sure, as many of you were, that Locke was safe.  Even though, in retrospect, it seems so obvious that it was him.  I congratulate any of you who figured it out, my hat is off to you, please tell me how you did it.  I probably should have figured it out after Ben showed up in the funeral home, but I think I had a mental block.  I think the mental block was from a certain Emmy last year.

So what does this mean for poor ol’ John Locke?  I think it means that Locke will suddenly become cryptic again.  I’ll try to explain that.

Remember in the first season, Jack was flying back to L.A.  Do we all remember why?  (You probably should.)  It was to bury his father, Christian.  Christian was in a coffin in the plane.  During that first season Jack finds his fathers coffin with no one inside.  But Jack does see his father, and so do we, on the day of the crash Vincent finds an active and upright Christian (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, you need to watch all the Missing Pieces Webisodes).  Jack continues to see his father in the jungle.  We have seen a lot of Christian this season.  I wouldn’t be surprised if John Terry was a cast regular this last season.  The important thig here is is that he pretty much came back to life.  I’m sure that we can attribute this to Smokey or Jacob, I’m betting on Jacob.  Another thing we know is that Christian isn’t actually Jacob.  He still has the memories and personality of Christian, even if doesn’t quite have free will.

Next season Jack will be bringing another corpse filled coffin around the world.  I submit that the same thing will happen.  The will get to the island and Locke will be re-animated.  He will, essentially, come back to life.  Maybe that was part of Jacobs purpose.  Perhaps John Locke wasn’t a good leader for The Others, maybe he would be a better follower of Jacob.  So when I say Locke will be cryptic again, I think he will be the new mouthpiece of Jacob, which will restore the original creepy status he had in the beginning of the show.

From a writers perspective, killing Locke was one of the most dramatic things they could do.  It has really got the Lost community riled up.  But at the same time, I doubt anyone is angry.  There is little doubt in anyones mind that that we will see Locke again.  And even if my theory is wrong and Locke does stay really dead, we’re sure to see some Island flashbacks with Locke or maybe some off-island flashbacks with “Jeremy Bentham”.  So there’s something to look forward to.

Hands up if you can’t wait for season 5.

– Izi

4 Responses to “season 4 finale: who was in the coffin”


  1. 1 missscarlett
    June 24, 2008 at 9:29 am

    CRYPTic?! I submit you are likely correct. 😉

    I was temporarily thinking it was Sayid (incidentally I have been bored with his character since oh..season 1. I like him but come on man! you are a torturer. give up the nice guy/guilt guy veneer. look at the perfect assassin he makes — I still think Ben had something to do with Nadia’s demise – who else benefits?)I momentarily considered it to be Ben — hey I never saw BENtham! nice one — but I thought he was too important to kill.

    I had been thinking it was Locke – but I can claim no intellectual triumph there he was one of 3 guesses. Oh and I had temporarily FEARED it was Daniel but quickly dismissed that because who could muster up the energy/reason to hate that tiny guy? Seriously.

    As soon as I heard Ben talking I knew it was Locke – but again, no triumph there. Now the backstory that includes why his funeral would be in that scuzzy neighbourhood…and why he had a son in his obit and if he hung himself or if Ben killed him…Oh yes. My point (not that I actually had one – I’m rambling on the allergy pills) is that I agree we will see him again and again in the next seasons. He is too important (sad but important) a character. The Island/Jacob needs him. We need to see how he wound up in the coffin.

    Also – since I appear to have no impetus to post on my blog (I can’t think where to start – there is too much!) I will throw out my casket returning theory here.
    I think it harks back to the black/white backgammon thing — you know the whole point of that game is to have all of your pieces brought home! For Ben to ‘beat’ Widmore perhaps he is going to need all his Losties back on the Island. It is also the only way for your pieces to be safe – to have them all returned home and only once they are all together can you begin to remove them from the board.
    So…all the Losties need to be back on the Island before their friends (Sawyer!) will be safe and then they can all go home. Jack. will. not. die.
    No one wins backgammon with a missing piece.
    Those other people weren’t pieces – they weren’t on the lists. (shannon, boone, charlie)
    Discuss amongst yourselves.

  2. June 25, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Where’d you get that picture of Christian in a body bag? I never remember seeing that…

  3. 3 Maze
    May 28, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    Totally agree but my question is why is Micheal so important, I mean if the island doesn’t want him to die he must be playing a pretty big role in the following seasons. But anyway yeah it was a huge shocker that Locke was the one in the coffin! I mean I was totally convinced it would be Sawyer but then again I thought at least Kate would come to the funeral but oh well. Guess I’m just gonna have to wait to see what happens.


Leave a Reply

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


