31
Jul
08

SDCC 08 – Other Conclusions

You might want to go back and read the Comic-Con Q & A that I posted earlier.  I’ll be referring to it a lot.  Here’s the link.  I’ll also refer to the Dharma video that I posted here.  I’ll try to go through the questions in the order they were asked.

Q: When the hatch imploded and the sky turned purple did the island move then? Like it did when Ben moved it (more recently)?
Damon Lindeloff: No. But something happened and that’s an excellent question.

I would have never thought of this question, but it really is clever.  A pretty obvious answer though.

Q: Are Jin and Locke dead?
Carlton Cuse:
Jin and Locke will still be on the show in some form. You’ve not seen the last of either of those characters. You know, dead is a relative term. In the timelines of those characters there’s still a lot of story to be told.

I can see how people might think this is proof that Jin and Locke are only going to show up only in flashbacks or something like this.  I think that this was only cover for the actors to go back to work on the show.  If they had said yes they are dead, and then we heard Daniel Day Kim was shooting a scene, we would have obviously made a big deal about it.  Now it will seem normal.  I’m still sticking with my theory that Daniel will rescue Jin.

Q: Are we going to get a (Danielle Rousseau) flashback? Will you definitively say in front of 6,500 of us that there will be one?
CC:
We will say this: You will see Rousseau’s story. But to use the word flashback would be disingenuous. We’re going to do flashbacks and flash-forwards next season, but we’ll mostly be doing something different.
DL: Danielle Rousseau will be in Season Five.

This is some of the most exciting news ever.  But seeing Rousseau’s story will be different from having a Rousseau story.  It is possible that we might see the story from Ben’s perspective.  It was said that he rescued Alex from an insane woman, It sounds as if he was pretty involved in the story.  I also think this answer implies that there will be a change in the format of the show, but I’ll talk about that later.

Q: Now that the island has moved, what happened to the survivors and Daniel Faraday?
DL:
You refer to the Zodiac boat and the non-line speakers, right? Sadly, there is a monsoon a comin’ for some…

I believe that this is an implication that the non-speaking red-shirts will die.  I have no doubt that Daniel is still safe though.

Q: Flash-forwards, how are you going to limit yourselves?
DL: When Season Five starts, you won’t know where and when you are. The way we’re gonna tell stories is gonna be different too.
CC: We organized a bit differently; if we were constrained by FF and FB that that was not gonna be the best way to tell our stories.

Right after we all watched Jack’s first flashforward we all knew that they couldn’t do flashforwards forever.  This is even more obvious now, at the end of season 4.  It sounds to me as if each episode will be a different time period and they’ll do away with flashes.  Maybe they’ll have an episode in 2007, then and episode in 2004, and then one in 1975.  Who knows, that is a pretty epic change in the format.

Q: How old is Richard Alpert and how many toes does he have?
CC:
That’s a really good question. He is quite old. We’ve hinted that people age differently on the island and people heal. That is hopefully an engaging mystery that will keep you tuning in. You will learn more about Richard Alpert.
DL: You’re gonna see his toes too.

They purposefully kept this question until the end, therefore I think it was more important than it appears.  Now that Cane is cancelled Nestor Carbonell is completely free to join the cast of Lost, so that means we may actually get Richard flashbacks, which would be very interesting.

On to the Dharma video.  I dug up a lot of it on Tuesday, but I mostly focussed on the Daniel part of it because Daniel is my favorite character and I really wanted to get the scoop on that before anyone else.  But there’s more to say.

First of all I think that the baby crying is Miles, that seems extraordinarily obvious, some people seem to think that I believe it is Charlotte, I definitely don’t.  Pierre refers to it as him, so, yeah.. I don’t think I need to explain that.

I tried to look up the Kerr metric solution and the Einstein field equation, but now my head hurts and I didn’t retain any information from the last hour of my life, so I don’t have anything to say about that jazz.  (Some times I think the writers of Lost just want to make me learn stuff, tsk, so unthoughtful.)

Here’s an obvious question, what was the purpose of the video?  I think that the answer is jsut as obvious, the video is meant to be a recruiting aid for the new Dharma iniative.  I believe Pierre is asking Daniel to film it as a favor, unfortunetly not even Pierre fully knows what he is doing.  He keeps on asking us to change hte past and save them.  Daniel, being from the future and flashing back, knows that this is impossible so he keeps on saying that, “It’s useless”.  I don’t understand what he was talking about when he mentioned the “pinhole”, I looked up pinhole and time travel and again, the same results, a headache and a mysterious hour missing from my life.

– Izi

1 Response to “SDCC 08 – Other Conclusions”


  1. 1 missscarlett
    July 31, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Perhaps you have been time travelling yourself?
    The missing hours you describe remind me of the fugue state I find myself in daily — at work!

    MILES?!?! I never even thought about it.
    Of course I just watched the video now – while being interrupted by pesky children every 33 seconds – I’d like to send them travelling…but, in the words of B-Nessa, I digress.

    Daniel as Charlotte’s father. Hmmm…
    Curious. I am just so thrilled he is going to be there – I really love that guy.

    I can’t wait for this ARG to really begin – you playing?
    Me too.
    While I am not househunting and missing.

    I hate that I have no time to blog or watch Lost right now. When I ever find a house I will make up for it! And then some.

    Hopefully more coherent thoughts later.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


