08
Aug
08

116 – Outlaws

Review:

This episode starts with one of the most shocking scenes, when Sawyer’s dad kills his mom and then himself.  That scene is so memorable for me, to see it through Sawyer’s eyes is absolutely shocking.  The rest of the story goes into how corrupted and damaged Sawyer is.

You can see the writers switch gears around this point.  In the earlier episode they tried to get all the actors involved in all the storylines, in the next few episodes they seem to have a really tight focus on one character.  So while this episode is interesting in that we see a lot about Sawyer and there’s a fun off-island connection, the story is pretty indipendent from the overarchign Lost storylines.  So while I like Sawyer and that first scene still impresses me I feel that this episode is lacking the community feel that is necessary to keep me paying hooked.  4.5/10

(Note: I did actually come up with a pretty good theory after watching this episode, but it doesn’t really have alot to do with this specific episode.  Skip down to the bottom if you want to read about it.)

Ratings:

-17.99 million viewers.  One and a half million people didn’t watch this episode compared the last one, and the following episode. That’s really not good, especially since this aired during February Sweeps.

Questions:

-What are the whispers?

-Why can Sawyer hear them?

Character Impressions:

Jack

-How ironic that Sawyer calls Jack the Sheriff.  At this point he’s almost as unlikable as The Others sheriff.

Kate

-I like Kate and Sawyer’s “I never” game.  We actually learned a lot about them.  Sawyer says he’s never been in love, Kate’s never had a one night stand, Kate’s been married, and Sawyer hasn’t.  Then the game ends with both of them admitting that they’ve killed a man.  At this point in the show scenes like this are great because they are full of info.  Of course rewatching these scenes does nothing for me.

Charlie

-Aaaw suddenly Charlie’s conscience kicks in and he feels guilty about killing Ethan.  Not guilty enought to regret it but guilty enough to bury the poor guy.

Boone

-N/A

Shannon

-N/A

Claire

-N/A

Michael

-Michael’s first raft is almost completely built in this episode.  I wonder if they mistakenly scheduled that storyline.  They wanted to Walt to burn one of them down but then there wasn’t going to be enough time to build another one so Michael built half a raft in a day.

Walt

-N/A

Jin

-N/A

Sun

-N/A

Locke

-Locke tells a story about his step-sister Jeannie who fell off the monkey bars and broke her neck when Locke was young.  Then his foster-mother blaimed herself and stopped talking and eating.  Six months after the funeral a golden retreaver comes into their house and stares at his step-mother until she started to cry.  It lived with the family and slept in Jeannie’s bed for five years until his step-mother died, then it left.  The story was meant to make Sawyer feel guilty about the boar, implying that it is the innocent man that he killed in Australia.  They ask Locke whether he thought the dog was his sister and he says no, strangely out of character for Locke.

Sawyer

-Sawyer hears the voices in the beginning of this episode.  Then later when he’s in the jungle the voices seem to warn him that a boar is behind him.  It’s pretty much gauranteed that these voices aren’t The Others, why does he hear them all of the sudden?  (see below)

-It’s sad seeing Sawyer get conned in his flashback.  It was such an obvious con too, the guy simply took advantage of the one thing Sawyer was emotionally invested in.

-Sawyer really does get Kate, he says he knows that she is looking for excuses to hang around with the only other person on the island who doesn’t belong.  And that, in my opinion, is why they belong together.

-Sawyer doesn’t seem to have nearly as hard of a time killing the real Sawyer as the wrong one.  Probably because you could physically sense the evil eminating off of Locke’s dad.

-Sawyer’s still pretty heartless in this episode, he wouldn’t tell Jack about his father.  It’s clear he changes though, becuase it’s not long before he does tell him.

Hurley

-Hurley is great, he tries to help poor Charlie get over his “post-tramatic stress”.  That’s a good sign, when a person has enough empathy to try their hardest to help a friend who is going through something completely foreign to you. 

Sayid

-N/A

Christian

-Christian says that Jack is a great man becuase he does what’s in his heart.  He also says he feels gratitude and pride in what he did for him.  Christian also says he personally is weak.  I can really see why a dead, reformed Christian would want Jack to be a leader on the island.

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-N/A

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-This episode deals with a lot of murder which got me thinking, I wonder if all the murderers on the show like Kate and Sawyer and even Charlie should pay for what they did.  I’m speaking in a moral sense.  As a viewer do you think they should go to jail or die for what they did.  I don’t think so, as long as the characters stay away from civilization.  As long as they stay on the island I think they can get away from any responsibility for what they have done.  My mind immediately jumps to Michael and what he did, am I forgiving him?  I don’t think so, his motivation for killing Libby was so that he could get off the island.  That is what made it wrong, if he had wanted to stay he wouldn’t have been so desperate and Libby would still be alive.  (I don’t mention Ana Lucia becuase, let’s face it, the island is a better place with her dead.)

-It’s funny that although Sawyer isn’t a terribly pivotal character in the show, he is directly connected to the fathers of the two main characters, Locke and Jack.

-Saywer hears the voices in this episode.  What does that mean?  Is it The Others lurking around the camp?  Is it Sawyer’s conscience?  Is it Smokey?  Or Jacob?  I don’t think so.  I think the voices and whispers are the dead people connected to the person.  So if you have killed more people, then you hear more voices.  Or if someone close to you dies you hear them more clearly.  The more I think about this the more I believe it.  I’m going to write this out in a more extrapolated way later.  Stay tuned, and keep an eye on my Current Theories page.

– Izi

24 Responses to “116 – Outlaws”


  1. 1 June Daley
    November 26, 2008 at 10:21 am

    “My mind immediately jumps to Michael and what he did, am I forgiving him? I don’t think so, his motivation for killing Libby was so that he could get off the island. That is what made it wrong, if he had wanted to stay he wouldn’t have been so desperate and Libby would still be alive. (I don’t mention Ana Lucia becuase, let’s face it, the island is a better place with her dead.)”

    The above comment pissed me off in so many ways. One is your comment about Ana Lucia. I realize that you had disliked her and she was one of my favorite characters. But I disliked the snide insult all the same.

    Two, like Sawyer in “The Shape of Things to Come”, you managed to conveniently forget that Michael had killed Ana and Libby as means to free Ben, so that he could get Walt off the island. Michael’s first concern has always been about Walt . . . and you decided to ignore that.

    Three, at least Michael felt so remorseful over his crimes that he came back to the island to help the castaways. Sawyer murdered Tom in cold blood for being shot at twice. Not only did Sawyer failed to harbor any remorse, it turned out that he got revenge against the wrong guy . . . AGAIN. Tom had never shot at Sawyer. Kate had murdered her father in cold blood, because she couldn’t bear the thought of sharing his blood and shattering her illusions about her paternity. She didn’t kill Wayne for the sake of her mother. And she made it clear that Wayne had never touched her. She murdered the guy due to her own insecurities . . . and I bet that you’re willing to make excuses on her behalf, despite the fact that she has yet to feel any remorse for her crime.

    Considering the above, I can only come to the conclusion that your comment about Michael is about as worthless as a pile of shit.

  2. November 26, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Here’s how my mind works:
    I like Libby more than Ana Lucia
    I like Libby more than Michael
    I like Ana Lucia more than Michael
    I like Kate more than her abusive father
    I like Sawyer more than Tom
    I do actually like Ana Lucia and Tom, but they didn’t have a lot to contribute to the show after a while and so their deaths didn’t effect me as much. I really did like Ana Lucia, but “Two for the Road” shocked me because I didn’t see Libby’s death coming. Ana Lucia was pretty self-destructive so her death wasn’t quite the tragedy.
    As for Michael and his motivation. I don’t think there’s too much more I can say about him. I think I’m going to side with Walt on this one. Walt essentially disowned his own father after he heard what he did to free them. Was Walt wrong to do this? Am I wrong to feel the same way about Michael?
    – izi

  3. 3 June Daley
    November 26, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    So, you’re judging the characters’ moral state over who you like more? Oh brother!

  4. 4 June Daley
    November 26, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    As for Michael and his motivation. I don’t think there’s too much more I can say about him. I think I’m going to side with Walt on this one. Walt essentially disowned his own father after he heard what he did to free them. Was Walt wrong to do this? Am I wrong to feel the same way about Michael?

    Michael felt remorse for his actions. Have you forgotten? Two, even Walt had forgiven his father, considering that he demanded to know of Michael’s whereabouts from Hurley. Have you forgotten that as well?

    I don’t recall Sawyer expressing remorse for Tom’s murder. Especially since Tom was not the one who had shot at him in both “Exodus 2” and “The Hunting Party”. Kate murdered her father out of her own insecurities. Frankly, I find that disturbing and seriously believe that she might be a sociopath.

  5. November 26, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    “judging the characters’ moral state”
    I’m watching a TV show! And this is a blog, we’re pretty far from reality here. So to answer you’re question, yes I’m judging these characters based on who I like more.
    I could have sworn that I’ve had this conversation before. Oh well.
    I don’t believe that Walt forgave his father. He checked if her was alive because he’s a nice kid and he didn’t want him to be dead, but he hardly said that he forgave him.
    And I bet you’re right, Kate probably would be a sociopath… if the show was real!
    I do feel bad for Tom, his death was without provocation, but to tell you the truth I don’t care. More important people have died on the show, I don’t have time to worry about dead Others.
    Maybe when I rewatch season 4 I’ll see Michael in a new light and I’ll forgive him, but let’s just wait until then. Honestly, out of all of my friends I defended Michael the most during season 4. That shows how the general public feels about him.
    I was just thinking, it’s a good thing I don’t have a blog about Battlestar Galatica. If you saw how much killing I condoned in that show you would be hysterical… moreso.
    – izi

  6. 6 missscarlett
    November 27, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    “Considering the above, I can only come to the conclusion that your comment about Michael is about as worthless as a pile of shit.”

    Whoa lady!
    Take it down a notch. Or better yet — just click to another page. Eegads.

    I completely disagree that Walt’s wondering if his father is dead or alive = forgiveness. Michael did not have to kill Ana Lucia to free Ben. No one asked him to kill anyone. He made that choice on his own. And then, when alone with his son used his ‘guilt’ over his actions to punish or prove to his son the depths of his love.

    Nothing proves parental love like murder and burdening your child by confessing your sins to them.

    Michael was not driven by remorse to help people on Island. He wanted to die. To end his own suffering. It is not a decision based on love for his child or concern for anyone else. He wanted out of his pain and ultimately, the responsibility for his actions.
    He did what he had to do so that he could get his own way.
    Again.

    And hopefully for the last time! Hear that writers? Don’t bring the dead beat Dad back!!

    I’m not even going to go near your conclusion that Kate committed murder because of her ‘insecurities’.

    Also – have you heard Sawyer express remorse for much of anything in his life? Like shooting the wrong man in Australia? Or walking out on the woman he loved? Or missing out on his daughter’s life? Not in so many words. So how surprising would it be that if he felt badly over Tom’s death we wouldn’t hear about it?

    That’s enough from me for now.

  7. November 27, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Wat ever June Daley says I disagee!!!

  8. 8 tigglypiggly
    November 28, 2008 at 9:13 am

    I LOVE IT I LOVE I ( kicking my leg up) LOVE IT.. I love a good ol’ chin ( or in my case chin’s) wag… I enjoy reading June’s comments and your opinion keep it up it’s no easy task going up against a family!!! The comment on Kate was very interesting…I vaguely remember Kate talking about her dad’s death his death was totally not the point in my veiw, the issue is the mother’s choice her retarded choice of her drunk perverted( “your a mighty pretty girl Kate”) husband over her daughter and for a girl as complex as Kate the only solution was extreme…I don’t even think we would talk about it as much if she were a man making the same choice, which I think is interestign how their created her character as more man-like… what do you guys think?

  9. November 28, 2008 at 9:27 am

    Thanks everyone for backing me up.
    (BTW FOE? I had to look that one up. And Tigglypiggly… good stuff.)
    And it’s true, Kate is pretty masculine, at least in her reactions. I htink that could be why there’s always conflict between her and Jack. Jack want’s to rule her, much like his own father, and there’s no way that Kate will let him.
    I also agree with you about us missing the point. We’re dwelling on Kate, but the ultimate mistake was with Diane. She should have done what was best for Kate even if she loved him.
    – izi

  10. 10 June Daley
    December 3, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I see that this is all about favoritism. Your comments have nothing to do with justice or who deserve what or who has expressed remorse for his or her crimes. Most of you love Kate and Sawyer – especially as a couple. You hate Michael’s character for whatever reasons.

    You don’t care whether Michael had harbored remorse for his crimes or why Walt would be interested in his whereabouts. You don’t care whether Kate or Sawyer has yet to express any true remorse about their crimes. You don’t seem to care about any development or lack of development of any of these characters. It’s all about which character you like or dislike for your own personal reasons.

    Which is why I can only regard your opinions and the article above as worthless.

    Good day to you.

  11. 11 June Daley
    December 3, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I can’t believe this. Many of you actually want to blame Diane Jensen, Kate’s mother, for the murder of Wayne? I don’t know what is sicker . . . that or Kate killing her father because of her inferiority complex. Good grief!

  12. December 3, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    For the love of god June! If you regard our opinions as worthless and see us all as immoral fools, why the hell are you still here?
    You’re not going to change anyones mind. No one on this blog agrees with you. (Perhaps Rosie would, she’s been known to be an annoying commentor too.)
    But seriously, can’t you just leave?

  13. 13 June Daley
    December 5, 2008 at 10:40 am

    No, I won’t leave. I’ll point out something else I found distasteful:

    Sawyer doesn’t seem to have nearly as hard of a time killing the real Sawyer as the wrong one. Probably because you could physically sense the evil eminating off of Locke’s dad.

    Who the fuck cares how evil Anthony Cooper was? All Sawyer did was prove that he can be just as evil as Locke’s dad with that act. Locke proved that he was certainly Anthony Cooper’s son when he egged Sawyer into committing murder.

    I get sick and tired of people excusing the murder – even in a work of fiction – of someone who is judged evil. Fans of LOST did the same with Kate’s murder of her father, Charlie’s murder of Ethan and Ana-Lucia’s murder of Jason McCormick. Thank you for making me realize how truly murderous and hypocritical people basically are.

    Of course such fans would relish in the murder of characters like Anthony Cooper or Wayne Jensen. They need an excuse or a release to act out your aggression without having to commit an actual murder and face the consequences.

  14. December 5, 2008 at 11:22 am

    So, MissScarlett. Amazon sent me an email saying that they’re mailing my season 4 DVDs. So that’s good new eh? Did you want to borrow them? I kinda wanted to keep the special features disc, I thought it’s about time that I check out some of those features.
    BTW, does anyone else want to borrow them? Tigglypiggly? Mr. FOE? I should probably set up some sort of schedule. I’m sure that MissScarlett is at the top of the list though.
    So how’s everyone doing besides that? Life’s good?
    – izi

  15. 15 tigglypiggly
    December 5, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Thanks for the offer I think I might be getting them fromBrad when he gets them in… But i’ll keep you posted..I haven’t even watched the trailers yet for season 5 I’m to excited!!!Ok keep up the good work..and no one fret ( Me thinks she has a problem with God)
    Happiness out!

  16. 16 BouYasha
    December 5, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    okay this comment is relating to the outrageous opinion of a June Daley
    lady are you serious?! this is a TV SHOW it is not real life and so we can like and dislike whoever we want based on what ever reason we want just because it conflicts with yours does it make it wrong? secoundly i would like to bring up again that if you dont agree what is said doesn’t me you have to try and give a lecture on morality it is not needed so just “click” away thank you

  17. 17 June Daley
    December 6, 2008 at 2:45 am

    this is a TV SHOW it is not real life and so we can like and dislike whoever we want based on what ever reason we want just because it conflicts with yours does it make it wrong?

    And yet, fans like you have the nerve to express moral outrage over Michael’s actions. Typical hypocrisy of a LOST fan.

  18. 18 missscarlett
    December 8, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I love that I am top of the list!

  19. 19 missscarlett
    December 8, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Hoo boy.

    You must be lots of fun June! You’re so reasonable and clear thinking, and you express yourself succinctly without having to resort to the lowest common denominator of the small mind: foul language.

    What a pleasure to meet you online. What other bloggers do you harangue/visit? I might need to add them to my blogroll…Do you have a blog yourself? It would be so interesting to learn more about you and your consummate viewpoints.

    Not to be picky but….Hypocrisy: 1: a feigning to be what one is not or to believe what one does not ; especially : the false assumption of an appearance of virtue or religion

    How does BouYasha’s answer fall into that category??

  20. December 10, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    ‘sye’ June Daley why are you still talking?

  21. 21 June Daley
    January 13, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Because I can.

  22. January 13, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    hahahahaha


Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


