11
Aug
08

117 – …In Translation

Review:

Uh-oh it’s another Sun and Jin episode.  These two characters are so outrageously boring to me.  I seriously want to skip their episodes.  But I won’t, I’ll just enjoy them less.

In this episode we get to see Jin’s side of Sun’s flashback in “House of the Rising Sun’.  Oh joy.. their stories overlap.  I have to admit that the writers did manage to change a lot of peoples outlook on Jin in this episode, but I decided that he was a nice guy back in that episode when he was fishing with Hurley.

Booooring.  0/10

Ratings:

-19.49 million people.  Really?  1.5 million people were more interested in watching Jin and Sun than Sawyer last week?

Questions:

-Who were the two associates Jin was delivering watches to in LA and Sidney?

Character Impressions:

Jack

-N/A

Kate

-N/A

Charlie

-N/A

Boone

-N/A

Shannon

-Locke help Shannon forget about Boone, he does it with words this time, as opposed to what he did to poor Boone to get him to forget about Shannon.  He tied him up and left him at the mercy of the island.

Claire

-N/A

Michael

-As usual American culture clashes with everything else.  In this case Michael tries to defend Sun from Jin.  Probably the right thing to do, but you’re better off giving Sun a gun and letting her decide whether or not to defend herself.

Walt

-Michael is trying to impress Walt by telling him about the architecture in New York.  Walt doesn’t care at all.  Clearly he is meant to live on the island.  Which explains why he set the raft on fire.

-Poor Walt immediately tries to put the fire out once he realizes that Jin is going to get into trouble.

Jin

-Sun tells Michael that he doesn’t know when Jin’s capable of.  I think we kind of forget how powerful Jin is, he almost seem complacent now.  It’s easy to think that maybe he’s mellowed out, but remember what he said to Charlotte.  He come out of no where and threatened to kill her if she didn’t get Sun off the island, clearly he is still dangerous.

-I really enjoy the part when Jin is just watching everyone argue and he can’t understand them and they start to speak gibberish.  It reminds me of a great ER episode when Cynthia Nixon was a stroke victim who was brought into the ER and you got to see half the episode from her perspective.

-Jin was supposed to deliver watches to Mr. Paik’s associates in Sidney and LA.  I wonder who they were.  I would say that one of them is Whidmore, but I don’t think he ever leaves London.

Sun

-Again I ask the question: Was it worth it for Mr. Paik to marry his only daughter to a peasant in order to get another henchman?

-Sun says nothing is going on between her and Michael.  That storyline drives me crazy, it has been hinted at for so long that those two have some sort of hidden relationship, but we keep finding out that they don’t.

-Sun: “I’m just as important as his car company,” (referring to her fathers company).  Sun really is a spoiled brat.  I can see how maybe the writers intended to write her as an older smarter version of Shannon, but since poor Yunjin Kim can’t really act so they had to just make her nice. 

-Everyone learns that Sun can speak English now.  Thank god that’s over with.  That little revelation gets really old the second or third time you watch season one.

Locke

-Right after they showed the raft on fire they showed Locke calmly looking at the fire.  I think we were meant to believe it was him who set it on fire.

-Locke: “We’re not the only people on this island, and we all know it!”

Sawyer

-Why would Sawyer be on the first boat off the island?  What does he have to go back to, wouldn’t he have realized at this point how great he had it on the island.  I suddenly have an idea, perhaps he thinks he has to kill the real Sawyer before he can get on with his life.

Hurley

-You can see Hurley winning the lottery on TV in Jin’s flashback, I like when the writers did that kind of thing.

-This is the last episode with Hurley’s annoying walkman music.  I really don’t like whoever that band is that he is listening to, it ruins the mood of the episode.  Somebody, I can’t remember who, said that after this point the show got significantly darker.  So there’s something to look forward to.

Sayid

-N/A

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-I sometimes miss the first season days when they used to be able to tease things without being so subtle.  Hurley on Korean TV, for example, if the writers did anything like that now we would all immediately see it and figure it out.  Their clues have become more and more hidden and vague.  Then again I might have stopped caring about the show if all the mysteries could be easily solved.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-I think I understand season 1 now.  Locke says everyone gets a second chance on the island.  And everyone does start their lives over.  That is except for Jack, he’s the only person I can think of who hasn’t changed for the better since he got to the island, or at least put the past behind him.  Some people screw up their second chance, like Michael, and Ana Lucia, but they still get it.

4 Responses to “117 – …In Translation”


  1. 1 Rosie
    December 29, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Man, your review of this episode is very disappointing. Sun and Jin are two of my favorite characters on the show. I wish I could change the above article, myself. I’ll just settle with not reading it again.

  2. December 30, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Good for you Rosie. That’ll show me.
    – izi

  3. 3 Rosie
    January 16, 2009 at 11:10 am

    My decision had nothing to do with “showing you”.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


