18
Aug
08

120 – Do No Harm

Review:

-I’d say 90% of the Jack episodes are like this one, extraordinarily boring.  This episode does try to become interesting by creating an emergency.  Unfortunately that emergency is completely useless since we all knew that Boone was going to die.  Seriously speaking, there is no use for this episode.  You could skip this episode completely and not miss a thing.  That’s not to say that you should skip it, but comparing this episode to some of the other tangent or unnecessary episodes, it rates pretty low.

1.5/10

Ratings:

-16.49 million viewer.

-This is a gratifyingly low number for such a dull episode.

Questions:

-N/A

Character Impressions:

Jack

-Hey Jack has a friend!  It’s funny how every character can suddenly conjure up a best friend to be their best man (in every movie and Tv show).

-Jack to Boone: “You are not going to die.  I’m going to fix this, OK?  I am going to save you.”  How was Jack ever a practicing surgeon with an attitude like that.  How did he ever deal with losing a patient?  Oh yeah he didn’t deal with anything, he just bottled it all up inside.  “I give the fear 5 seconds”, yeah, that’s healthy.

-Sarah says at the pre-wedding party, that he is the most committed man she has ever met, and he fixed her and he is her hero.  She never says that she loves him.  I’ll bet she got too far into this relationship before she realized she didn’t love him.  Obviously she comes clean in an upcoming episode, but I think that she didn’t love him a lot sooner than when she confessed it to Jack.

-I still find it outrageously outrageous (there are no other words for it) that Jack transfused Boone with his own blood.

-Worst conversation ever: Christian: “Sarah is a beautiful girl,” Jack: “Hell yeah, she is.”  Awww dysfunctional bonding.

-Even Jack doesn’t know if he should marry Sarah, he tells his dad he doesn’t know if he’s only marrying her because he saved her.  That’s probably why he married her.

-Sun tells Jack, rightfully, that he can’t save Boone.  Jack replies: “Don’t tell me what I can’t do!”  That is a strange connection between Jack and Locke, I guess it emphasises their ridiculous thinking.

-Jack says that Sarah fixed him not the other way around, is that referring to anything, or was he just delusional.

-This episode is the start of the Jack vs Locke storyline.  Before this they were fine living together, they pretty much just avoided one another, but now everything that one of them does offends the other one.

Kate

-It’s so cute how scared Kate is to deliver Claire’s baby.  Kinda weird when you know that Kate takes over raising Aaron.

Charlie

-N/A

Boone

-Poor Boone takes forever to die.  They pretty much just torture him in a bunch of different ways until he dies.

-Boone has a Shmi Skywalker moment.  His last words were, “Tell Shannon that I-“.  He could have said anything, we assume that he loves her maybe he was telling her he was a Skrull or something, who knows.

Shannon

-It’s so depressing that Shannon is having a picnic while her brother is dying.  Sometimes it feels like the writers really go out of their way to intensify the suffering of these characters. 

Claire

-Claire nearly had her baby by herself in the jungle.  That would have been unfortunate.

-What’s wrong with Claire, why didn’t she want to have the baby?  She kept on fighting, saying she couldn’t have the baby there.  Do women usually go that crazy when they’re delivering a baby?

-A new baby on the island would be the most exciting thing.  Before it was born I might have given up hope and been suicidal, but knowing that there is a new baby would give me something to do, I would dedicate all my time to making the island a good place for the kid to grow up.

Michael

-N/A

Walt

-N/A

Jin

-JIn is so cute when he’s helping Claire, during her labour.  He’s obviously desperate to become a father.

Sun

-Sun is so surprisingly useful in the “operating room”.

-Good for Sun for pulling the needle out of Jack’s arm.  Jack needs someone proactive to save him from himself, Kate would never do that.

Locke

-N/A

Sawyer

-Sawyer’s hilarious.  Claire comes by and has a normal conversation, after she leaves he says to Michael, “She likes me.”

Hurley

-N/A

Sayid

-N/A

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-I remember cringing so much When Jack went over to that luggage carrier thing, or whatever it is, and started talking about amputation.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-I love the actress who play Sarah (Julie Bowen).  This is really off topic but she’s having a lot of fun these days on Weeds where she is the new MILF in town.  It’s pretty creepy but also very entertaining.

-Boone really plays the role of the red-shirt (same with Shannon in season 2).  They only died to prove that the situation was dangerous.

-People say that Lost has a high mortality rate, but when you think about it, only three out of the original 14 cast members had died up until season 4.  In season 4 they really did go pretty crazy with three dying in one episode (plus Claire, if that even counts).

-Some people have theorized that since Boone died in the same episode as Aaron was born, Aaron is a reincarnation of Boone.  Frankly that isn’t true.  This is one of those theories where I think people are reaching a little too far.  I agree that there is a fair bit of symbolism in that fact that One character died while another was born, but I don’t think they are tied together that closely.

– Izi

12 Responses to “120 – Do No Harm”


  1. August 18, 2008 at 4:39 am

    i like your posts but the constant jack baiting is ridiculous. seriously ridiculous.

  2. August 18, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Yeah, you’re probably right. I really intended to like him on this go around, but I can’t help noticing when he acts like a fool.
    – Izi

  3. August 18, 2008 at 11:32 am

    you’re right he is a fool, in this episode he comes across as ultra intense – the whole amputation thing is just crazy. just once in a while i’d like to hear a warm comment fir the doctor!

    To be fair you cant just be an anti-jack-ite because you give michael so much stick as well:) hope locke gets the same treatment when he blows up the hatch!

  4. August 18, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Oh he will. If I’m anything I’m an equal opportunity hater.
    In all seriousness though, I really think that we were supposed to hate Jack at these moments. There are definately those shining heroic moments, but I find it hard to believe that this episode was supposed to endear us to Jack. But apparently Jack is going to change a lot between seasons 4 and 5. So there’s something to look forward to. I’ll probably like Jack more then.
    – Izi

  5. October 13, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Awwwww, I know, I just bought the dvd set, and it was soo heartbreaking to see boone die. i lov eddddd him. he was my favorite character. i loved him and shannon together. i’m pretty sure he was going to say love her. i mean he did, and like I guess the writers basically just assumeed we would konw what he was going to say, so they didn’t put it in there, for drama….i really loved them, i was looking forward to there realtionship flourishing into something great.

  6. 6 Rosie
    November 5, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    It really must have been hard for you to watch this episode . . . or else you wouldn’t have taken the trouble to dismiss it so blithely.

    And it just occurred to me that this is one of the episodes that really exposed the flawed side of Jack’s nature. It must have been hard for fans such as yourself, who had expected him to maintain the heroic facade of early S1.

  7. 7 Rosie
    November 5, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    “Oh he will. If I’m anything I’m an equal opportunity hater.
    In all seriousness though, I really think that we were supposed to hate Jack at these moments. There are definately those shining heroic moments, but I find it hard to believe that this episode was supposed to endear us to Jack. But apparently Jack is going to change a lot between seasons 4 and 5. So there’s something to look forward to. I’ll probably like Jack more then.”

    Why does Jack have to be likeable or near perfect for him to be interesting to everyone?

    LOST fans are really something. They either demand that certain characters be perfect or near perfect . . . or they make excuses for other characters that are popular with them.

  8. November 5, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I think I’ve changed my mind. I’m not quite the “equal opportunity hater” that I thought I was. I expected myself to hate Locke in season 2, but all I felt was regreat that he didn’t realize his fate/destiny sooner.
    As for Jack, I seriously doubt that we are even supposed to like Jack in season 1-4. I’ve been working on a post that shows that he’s an ass in all of his episodes, but I’m finding it to be tedious to go back to all those episodes that I hate. I really do hope that at some point the character will evolve and I will like him him. But currently I find him to be annoying and a half.
    Maybe I should lower my standards and be more open minded. Nope that didn’t work.
    I really like this quote “Why does Jack have to be likeable or near perfect for him to be interesting to everyone?” I don’t think he does have to be likeable or perfect, but it would help if he was remotely interesting. I don’t think that the three things are linked. Look at Ben, he’s certainly not likeable, or anywhere near perfect, but I do find him interesting. And Desmond is likable and possibly perfect and wonderfully interesting.
    You should know that I tend to dislike the solid, dependable cast members of shows, I never liked Anthony Edwards, or Naoh Wyle on ER. I disliked Jed Bartlett from The West Wing, even though I knew he was perfect. I didn’t like Michael from Arrested Development. Didn’t like Lucious Verenus from Rome. The list goes on.
    But I’m very sleepy now…
    – izi

  9. 9 Kat
    November 6, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Seeing as how Jack is the lead on the show and has had the most screen-time BY FAR of any other character my advice for you is to just stop watching Lost…like now. For the rest of us who don’t have an irrational dislike for the protagonist of the show, we’ll let you know how it turns out in the end. Or not. Since likely the ending will have something to do with Jack. Don’t really know what else you want from him? The guy gives his own freakin’ blood to save Boone. How is that anything except awesome? Are you one of those people who thinks you have to hate Jack as some sort of loyalty litmus for being a Sawyer fan? ‘Cause you don’t. Really.

  10. November 6, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    In a show with however many castmembers (I think 15 or something like that) I don’t really think that my dislike for Jack is a big problem, even if he does have a large facetime ratio. And I think I’ll keep on watching the show. Probably you’re right, my dislike is irrational, but it’s still there, and it’s not going away. And I find that I still enjoy the show even though I make fun of the “protagonist of the show”.
    On a side note: I actually think Jack’s going to die in the end of the show. And I’m really looking forward to that. (haha, I’m just saying that to make you mad, but in all seriousness I believe it will happen.)
    When I started writing this blog I decided that I wanted to focus on the mythology, that’s what I like about the show. But as I started watching these old episodes I found that the mythology parts of tehs show are few and far between. So I decided to start voicing my opinion of the characters, I do it strictly for fun. I couldn’t care less how many times Jack cried in this episode or when Kate fell for Sawyer, or when she fell for Jack. It’s all irrelevent in my mind. But I will write about it because that is a big part of the show. Also I enjoy predicting what’s going to happen to these characters whether I like them or not. So I’m afraid that your bid to make me discontinue my viewing of this show has failed.
    I considered apologising for disliking Jack, but I can’t bring myself to do it. I’m glad you like him, but you have to expect others to dislike him too. I’m sure many people hate Locke, but I find him wonderfully entertaining.
    I think this is part of the show, the writers have created flawed intensely complicated characters. We choose a side and argue about it. If the show was full of absolutely heroic instantly likable characters you wouldn’t be reading my blog, and I wouldn’t be watching the show.
    Thanks for the comment, and know that you’re not the first person who has tried to change my mind about Jack.
    – izi

  11. July 1, 2011 at 12:34 am

    [“I’d say 90% of the Jack episodes are like this one, extraordinarily boring. This episode does try to become interesting by creating an emergency. Unfortunately that emergency is completely useless since we all knew that Boone was going to die. Seriously speaking, there is no use for this episode. You could skip this episode completely and not miss a thing. That’s not to say that you should skip it, but comparing this episode to some of the other tangent or unnecessary episodes, it rates pretty low.”]

    There are only one or two Jack episodes that I truly dislike. One of them is Season 3’s “Stranger in a Strange Land”. The other might be Season 2’s “Man of Science, Man of Faith”. I’m not that fond of those two. Ironically, I can only think of two Sawyer episodes that I like – “La Fleur” and “Outlaws”. As for the other Sawyer episodes . . . meh.

    • July 1, 2011 at 5:02 am

      Oh Rosie. You can change your name but you can’t change the fact that you and I are complete opposites.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


