10
Sep
08

Fringe 101 Revlysis

Fringe episode 1 SPOILERS inside

I don’t want to go too deeply into this show, obviously this isn’t the place, but it was goooood.

I never got a chance to watch The X-Files way back when (I was pretty young, and it was scary) do this show feels like a second chance to go through that experience.

I was especially impressed with the setting that was presented in the pilot.  I’ve watched many pilots, and the majority of them just try to wow you with special effects and huge movie-like stories.  Fringe didn’t do that, it focused on setting up a plausible and renewable story.  So now we have it.  We don;t have to ask how the show is going to keep coming up with more mysteries, we don’t have to wonder why these characters do what they do.  It’s all there on a silver platter.

I think this show is going to be great.  I hope that they are smart enough to make the seasons stand alone.  I’m all for another serial TV show, but for this one to have success it needs to be a procedural with serial elements.  If we could solve one overarching mystery per season that would really keep people coming back for more, but if they hold that single mystery over our heads for too long I think we’ll lose interest.

Apparently Fringe got 9 million viewers, that’s not as good as I would expect.  This is a big show, the biggest that FOX currently has, they’re used to much bigger numbers.  I hope that the word of mouth about the pilot travels fast enough to get some more viewers for the encore on Sunday.  Let’s try to start that right away.

If you didn’t watch Fringe last night, watch it this Sunday on FOX at 8pm.

Now that this show is over with we all have to wait for the next potential cult hit, Dollhouse.  I have no idea if it will be as good, I haven’t watched any of the other Joss Whedon shows.  But fans of his convince me to have confidence in him (there is something wrong with that sentence but I don’t know what to do with it).

– Izi

1 Response to “Fringe 101 Revlysis”


  1. September 10, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    Hehe, yeah I’ve watched Lost. It’s great. Last semester I watched seasons 2-4. I can’t wait for season five! I’m excited to see where Fringe is going. Oh and X-Files is great. I have all nine seasons. I’d recommend it.

    Oh and thanks. I’m glad you like me blog. 🙂


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


