22
Sep
08

209 – What Kate Did

Review:

I Like that the writers weren’t at all subtle about this episode.  We all wanted to know so they promised to tell us and they did in the third scene.

This episode is jam packed full of info.  Obviously we find out what Kate did, but we also find out that her “real” father isn’t her realfather (somehow I had missed that).  Also we find out why Kate can’t commit to Sawyer.  Locke and Eko watch the missing piece from the Swan Orientation film.  Eko also helps Locke to see that not everything is fate or destiny.  And in the last scene, Michael talks to Walt on the Swan’s computer.  Oh and Kate and Sawyer see a horse.

You couldn’t ask for more info in an episode.  And it is very well done.  Also as a bonus they pretty much skip Shannon’s funeral!  Another classic episode 9.5/10

I came up with an interesting new theory about Kate, Diane and Ben.  Read on (it’s at the bottom).

Character Impressions:

Hurley

-Hurley, “So Rose’s husband’s white, never saw that coming.”

Libby

-N/A

Sawyer

-Aaw, Sawyer says that he loves Kate in his feverish sleep.

-Poor Sawyer thinks that they are saved when he wakes up in The Swan. 

Kate

-Does anyone understand the horse that Kate sees?  Even Sawyer sees it.  (see below)

-Was Kate wrong to kill her “step”-dad?  I tend to say no.  Obviously I’m against killing but that was a very bad (and fictional) situation, made worse by her enabler mother who wouldn’t stand up for herself.  If Kate had told the police nothing would have happened.  If she had addressed her mother she would have ignored it.  It was a very bad situation, and I doubt anything else would have resolved it.  Also the house insurance was a nice touch, likely her mother didn’t get her payout though.

-Kate is watching over and unconscious Sawyer, suddenly he grabs her by the neck and asks, “Why did you kill me?”  Was that even real, I tend to think she was imagining all of it.  She goes back to Sawyer and starts talking to him like he’s her father.  She says that she can’t love Sawyer because she’s reminded of Wayne.  That’s interesting.  I always wonder why she doesn’t just admit that she loves him and they belong together, now it makes sense.

-Kate is afraid that she is like her dad (the one she killed).  Even her apparently real father said that he doesn’t have what Kate has, the ability to kill (ironically he’s in the US army).  (see below)

-Kate kisses Jack, completely out of the blue in this episode.  She then immediately regrets it and runs away.  After the kiss she looks at him like she expected him to be someone else, it’s very strange.  I seriously hope that no one found that scene romantic, it really wasn’t

-I wonder what kind of sentence Kate could have gotten away with if she had just plead guilty in the first place?  In Canada she probably would have done a couple hours of community service and that would be that.

-Kate’s “real” dad is not her real dad, who knew.  (see below)

Locke

-Eko tells Locke the bible story of King Josiah and how he found The Book of the Law in the Jewish temple.  Locke says he had never heard that story.  Similarly when Richard puts the Book of the Law in front of Locke he doesn’t recognize it.  Could this have been his second chance, to get on the ins with Jacob?

-Poor Locke thinks that it’s fate that Eko brought the missing piece of the orientation film.  Eko warns him not to mistake coincidence for fate.

Ana Lucia

-Ana Lucia didn’t go to Shannon’s funeral.  I think that was probably a good idea.

Charlie

-N/A

Eko

-Eko gets to see The Swan Orientation film.  Why would he like it so much.  I would never expect such a jaded, strangely spiritual man to care about something like scientific stations.

Jin

-Locke cuts off Jin’s handcuffs, how unfortunate, that would have been pretty cool to have that permanently.

Sun

-N/A

Sayid

-Sayid is digging Shannon’s grave alone.

-Sayid really did love Shannon, even if it doesn’t make sense and it annoys all of us.

Jack

-After Jack hears Sawyer say that he loves Kate he doesn’t seem to want to leave her alone with him.

-Jack goes and drinks with Ana Lucia, maybe they were meant to be together, two alcoholic, depressed, self-loathing character, a match made in heaven.

Claire

-N/A

Michael

-Michael uses the computer to talk to Walt (maybe).

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-N/A

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-Kate and Sawyer see a horse in the jungle.  What is up with that?  I have no idea id this is just a vision of something from Kate’s past or if it actually means anything.  Maybe it is just a horse that escaped from Mikhail’s farm.  If there are any theories out there about the horse, please tell me.

-I never realized that you can’t input the numbers into the computer until the alarm goes off, that really complicates things.

-This was the first time I’ve ever heard that the man Kate thought was her father wasn’t actually.  Both of them think that Wayne, the man she killed, was her father.  (see below)

-The missing piece of the film tells Locke and Eko that they shouldn’t use the computer to contact the outside world, this could lead to another incident.  I assume this is part of the mind-game portion of The Swan.  But what if it wasn’t.  Maybe it’s true, maybe by contacting other members of the Dharma initiative the original two Swan employees/volunteers forgot to press the button and so caused the electro-magnetic pulse to build up.

-Walt seems to hack into the Swan’s computer in this episode.  (I don’t really believe that it was him on the computer, but for the sake of arguement let’s say that it was.)  How could he do that?  Perhaps he just snuck away and got access to a computer but maybe he’s some sort of psychic hacker.  The episode ends with Walt revealing that that’s him, what do you think he said after that?  I can’t even imagine.

-Most, if not all of you are aware of the fact that I believe that Diane, Kate’s mom, is Annie from Ben’s flashback.  See here.  In this episode there is mention of Kate’s ability to kill people.  The man Kate thought was her father says he lacks that ability.  This implies that he couldn’t be her father.  So everyone came to the same conclusion, that Wayne was her father.  But do you think Wayne had the ability to kill people?  Possibly.  But if Diane is Annie, then perhaps Kate has a different murderous father.  Maybe her father is Ben.  I don’t want to put a huge amount of credence in this theory it’s a big stretch, but what if it is true?  Wouldn’t it be appropriately shocking.
Here’s a little story that I’m making up.  Ben and Annie grow up together on the Island.  Ben has no one else on the Island, except Annie, that he likes (maybe Horace, but that’s another story).  As they grow up together they fall in love.  Ben is already in contact with The Hostiles, they are planning The Purge.  Ben doesn’t want to hurt Annie so he sends her off the island, with someone he could trust, Sam, the man Kate believed to be her father.  Ben tells Diane to change her name to avoid connection with the doomed Dharma Initiative.  When Diane came back to the real world she found she was pregnant with Ben’s child, she couldn’t contact Ben.  Sam went to war, came back and found the Diane/Annie had had a baby.  He knew it wasn’t his, he left her, she was left alone to fend for herself.  Wayne came along and took an interest in he and she married him.  Kate grew up, Diane tried to help her by telling her that Sam was her father, knowing full well that he wasn’t.
There is no proof that Wayne is Kate’s real dad, she assumes that once she finds out that Sam isn’t.  Diane never says that she is, and Kate never admits to Diane that she thinks he is.

– Izi

12 Responses to “209 – What Kate Did”


  1. 1 Kyle
    September 22, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    For your theory, if Ben got Diane/Annie pregnant on the island, wouldn’t she die in childbirth?

  2. September 22, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    That’s true. It does throw a wrench in there.
    But I think I can explain it.
    We know (sorta) that Charlotte was born on the island. She’s about the same age as Kate. So perhaps the affliction against pregnant women wasn’t in effect way back then.
    I’ve always thought that pregnant women only died once The Hostiles/Others took over. We actually haven’t seen any evidence that pregnent women died back in the Dharma days.
    – izi

  3. September 23, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Hey Izi,

    Maybe the women dying in pregnancy was “caused” by Ben because he helped Annie/possible child(ren) escape instead of allowing her/them to be “sacrificed” in the Purge? This became Ben’s “mark”, much like Juliet’s physical one, once it was found out. Maybe this was the punishment for his “disobediance”: the constant reminder of his “failure” by the women/babies dying, enhanced by the memory of his own put upon guilt from Roger of his mother’s demise. And because of this, it served as a rif between he and Richard, interfering with more “important” work that needed to be done (according to Mr. Alpert). Thus being the catalyst to seeking for Locke again, bringing us to where we are now.

    Or something like that ;).

  4. 4 Kyle
    September 24, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    The whole this is, as we learned with Sun, that if you conceive your child on the island, then you ‘re gonna die. So even if Ben got Annie/Diane off the island, I think she’d still die. It’s possible Charlotte’s mother got pregnant off-island, or even gave birth to her off-island.

  5. 5 Kyle
    September 24, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    OH wait, Sun did conceive on the Island, and she gave birth fine. Nevermind.

  6. 6 Rosie
    November 3, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Wait a minute. You think that Sam Austen had assumed that Kate was capable of murder, because she may have inherited this tendency from her real father?

    I’m afraid that this does not make any sense to me. Just about anyone is capable of murder, which only tells me that Sam Austen was full of it. He was just as capable of murder as Kate.

    Was Kate wrong to kill her “step”-dad? I tend to say no. Obviously I’m against killing but that was a very bad (and fictional) situation, made worse by her enabler mother who wouldn’t stand up for herself. If Kate had told the police nothing would have happened. If she had addressed her mother she would have ignored it. It was a very bad situation, and I doubt anything else would have resolved it. Also the house insurance was a nice touch, likely her mother didn’t get her payout though.

    You’re actually condoning Kate’s murder of Wayne? Why? Because he was a “bad guy”? I’m sorry, but I find that disturbing. I find it disturbing that human beings will use any excuse to indulge or excuse an act of violence.

    Regardless of Wayne’s true nature, the only reason Kate murdered him, because she hated the idea that he might be her father . . . and that she may have inherited his “bad” nature. She didn’t kill for Diane’s sake. She certainly didn’t kill him because he had abused her in the past. In fact, he DIDN’T. Kate made that clear in her soliquy. Kate had cold-bloodedly murdered Wayne out of her own inferiority complex. That’s it. You find that excusable?

  7. November 4, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I knew this would come back and bite me in the ass. I was literally cringing when I wrote that. The truth is that I am so far removed from this show from a moral point of view that yes I can excuse murder, especially from a main character. Sure she had wrong motives and sure she was selfish but I’m glad that she did kill him.
    And let me emphasize that this is a fictional situation, I don’t support murder of anyone, not even abusive husbands. But I have to say that I do support the murder of ass-hole character on TV. For example, for all of season 4 of Lost I desperately wanted Sayid to die, I was tired of the character and I felt he was a waste of time and space on the show. I literally hoped that at some point Ben would just shoot him out of the blue, you could say that that is ethically wrong for me to hope for something like that and you’d be right. But it is just a show, and in a show like Lost, with a character like Kate in a situation like that (abusive drunk father, enabler mother, no way out) killing is a viable option. Perhaps she should have filed a complaint at the local sheriffs office but I don’t watch Lost to see that kind of thing.
    But in the end you’re probably right, I like Kate so I’m trying to find away to obsolve her of the guilt of a murder. She did do it selfishly, I concede that. But I don’t think that you should be disturbed by my writing or anything like that.
    BTW – I don’t really understand what you were talking about with the “capable of murder” thing. I just meant that she probably would have inherited bad traits from her father. Yeah..That’s all I got..
    – izi

  8. 8 Rosie
    November 5, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    I knew this would come back and bite me in the ass. I was literally cringing when I wrote that. The truth is that I am so far removed from this show from a moral point of view that yes I can excuse murder, especially from a main character. Sure she had wrong motives and sure she was selfish but I’m glad that she did kill him.

    And let me emphasize that this is a fictional situation, I don’t support murder of anyone, not even abusive husbands.

    I’m not glad that Kate killed Wayne. Especially since it was revealed that her reason for killing him had everything to do with her own insecurities. Frankly . . . that makes Kate a bigger monster than her dad. At least in my eyes.

  9. 9 Di
    March 6, 2009 at 10:21 am

    This thoery supports my curiousity as to why Ben stole Alex from Roussoeu – I have always thought Kate and Alex looked shockingly alike. –


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


