17
Oct
08

220 – Two For the Road

Review:

This is the most infamous season 2 episode.  When I think back to season two this is what comes to mind.  That scene still affects me.

As for the rest of the episode, it was mighty good.  The flashback showed a surprising connection between Ana Lucia and Christian.  We had a very large clue as to the connection between Claire and Christian, and subsequently Jack. 

We also witnessed some of the tragedy between Hurley and Libby.  This episode is terribly upsetting but it’s also one of the most memorable episodes ever.  8.5/10.0

Character Impressions:

Hurley

-Hurley has a very minor story where he goofily sets up a date with Libby, so depressing.

Libby

-Libby suggests that Hurley should go get wine, he says, “Maybe if I get drunk enough I’l remember where I recognize you from.”  Libby then gets a terrified look on her face.

-I think what made Libby’s death so terrible for me was the lack of closure.  Ana Lucia got a flashback, a satisfying, interesting flashback.  Libby’s past was hinted at in the most annoying mysterious way, if we had been able to solve her mystery before she died it would have been OK.  Also the manner in which she died was traumatic, Michael didn’t even have intent, he just turned around and shot her.

Ben

-Ben tries to kill Ana Lucia because she killed two of the Others.

-Ben says that Locke is one of the “good ones”, and Ana Lucia isn’t.  I guess you could say that since Ana Lucia murdered someone she is bloodguilty, and Locke isn’t, but The Others have a strange sense of good and bad, so I really wonder if that’s all Ben means by a good one.

-Ben makes some reference to him, “a great man, a brilliant man, but he’s not a forgiving man.”  This is an obvious reference to Jacob.  I wouldn’t be surprised if the writers hadn’t fully fleshed out the character of Jacob at this point.

-Ben says that when he was caught in Rousseau’s trap he was coming to the survivors camp, “coming for you, John.”  Not true, but interesting.

Sawyer

-Sawyer’s reading Bad Twin.

Kate

Locke

-After Jack and Kate come back to The Swam with Michael, Locke has the idea of giving Ben to The Others, he figures that The Others let Michael go in exchange for Ben.  If they had just let Ben go then everything would have worked out fine, Ana Lucia and Libby would have lived and all would be good in the world.  Likely Jack, Kate, Sawyer and Hurley would have still been captured but the important thing is that Libby would still be alive.

Ana Lucia

-I think that Ana Lucia’s flashback shows us that she would have been a good agent for Ben.  She’s willing to kill in cold blood and not feel any regret.  I think I may have liked Ana Lucia as a minor villain, her eventual death would have ben very satisfying.

-Poor Goodwin tried to convince The Others that Ana Lucia was good.  It’s pretty impressive that Goodwin was able to keep three quasi-romantic relationships going simultaneously.

-Right before she got on the Oceanic 815 Ana Lucia apologized to her mother and said she wanted to come home.  They never make these deaths easy do they.

– I said it before when Shannon died, sex is fatal for females on the island, either you get pregnant and die or you get shot.  So watch out Juliet.

Charlie

Eko

Jin

-Jin’s hilarious, I love this scene. 

Sun

Sayid

Jack

Claire

Michael

-Michael’s story is full of holes.  Kate knows the costumes are fake, they know it’s all just an act.  Michael says that he didn’t see the boat or any of the Tailies that they kidnapped.  Very suspicious.  Also his desperation and insistence should have tipped off someone.  (Afterthought: Sayid does figure it out, so at least everyone isn’t clueless.)

Christian

-They draw a lot of comparisons between Christian and Ana Lucia.  Their family members betrayed them (for good reasons), and their lives were turned upside down, they were driven to alcohol and turned their backs on their families, and they both felt regret that they couldn’t express. 

-Christian said he needed protection in Australia.  Why was that?  It seems like Ana Lucia was there so that he didn’t do anything rash to Claire’s mom (or aunt, I don’t really know who that was).

-Christian picked a fake name for Ana Lucia, it was Sarah.  Kinda creepy since that’s the name of his daughter-in-law.

-Christian talks a lot about fate in the flashbacks.  I guess he wasn’t much of a man of science.

-This was the episode when we got our first, and only, clue about Claire being Jack’s sister.  I won’t pretend that I figured it out the first time I watched it, probably because I was distracted by the shocking end of the episode.  But a while after season two I got it.

-I wonder if Christian would have lived if Ana Lucia had stayed with him.

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-This episode is the most emotional episode for me.  I know I’ve said this a few times already in this revlysis, but it’s true, the first time I watched this episode I was hysterically angry.  Up until this point I hadn’t liked any characters, I liked Hurley and that was about it.  After “Dave” I started to see how great Libby was, I finally decided that she was another one of my favorite characters.  Then Michael, my least favorite character shot her.  That was almost it for me.  If there ever was a time when I wanted to quit watching the show, this was it.  Of course I didn’t stop watching.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-During this viewing of season 2 I’m noticing a lot of the tension between Locke and Ben.  By the time season 4 comes a long they are perfect allies/nemesis, but I didn’t really see much of that before.  At this point Ben’s main purpose was to get Jack to remove his tumor.  He likely knew that Locke was an amazing man and Jacob wanted him, but Ben was had a pretty precarious hold on his position of leadership and he was desperately grasping at it.  So he tried his best to undermine Locke.  Ben destroyed Locke’s confidence in the hope that Locke would permanently lose his faith and therefore be useless for Jacob.  It worked temporarily, Locke was delayed in his destiny for another half a season.

– Izi

8 Responses to “220 – Two For the Road”


  1. October 17, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Here’s another “mystery” from this episode : What does Ben whisper before he chokes Ana Lucia?

  2. 2 Jess
    October 17, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    “-Ben says that when he was caught in Rousseau’s trap he was coming to the survivors camp, “coming for you, John.” Not true, but interesting.”

    He might have been. I’m sure he thought Locke would be useful and a good ally, he just couldn’t control his jealousy once the island let him know just how special it perceived Locke to be.

    He even says in The Man From Tallahassee that he desperately wanted to ask Locke all about his paralysis while he was prisoner but couldn’t.

    So I do believe he was partly going there for Jack, partly for Locke. And also to learn as much a he could about the rest of the survivors.

    —-

    I’m surprised you didn’t mention Sawyer bashing into Christian’s car door in the flashback.

    And don’t worry, Libby will appear in season 5.

  3. 3 jagadgurusriji
    October 19, 2008 at 5:48 am

    I remember this scene when my best friend was watching it on her comp. I didn’t even follow the show, but the scene still shocked me. I mean, Micheal shooting people and then that’s it man…dead…

    Thanks for commenting on my blog by the way. See you soon!

  4. 4 Rosie
    November 5, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    “Ben tries to kill Ana Lucia because she killed two of the Others.”

    As was revealed in Season 4, Ben only tried to kill Ana-Lucia in order to escape. He had been hoping that Goodwin would be exposed as a mole and killed by the Tailies.

    While watching Season 4’s “Ji Yeon”, I found it ironic that Sayid raised a fuss over Michael’s murder of Ana and Libby in order to free Ben and get Walt back. I find it ironic, considering that he had done the same thing back in Iraq when he shot that Iraqi soldier (who was trying to keep both him and Nadia restrained aka doing his duty) in order to help Nadia escape. Like Michael, Sayid killed an innocent to help someone he cared about.

  5. November 5, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    I had never seen that parallel between Michael and Sayid, good point.

  6. 6 Cunny
    March 5, 2009 at 7:18 am

    This ep annoyed me, too. Libby’s twist was very compelling (especially because she was a psychologist!) and I liked Ana Lucia. I think they derailed her character from when she was introduced at the airport, though – She was warmer and more flirtatious.

    • 7 Melissa
      July 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      But remember? A couple episodes back, she told Jack that she always tried to get people to like. Maybe that was just her way of trying to get Jack to like her. People do that all the time.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


