27
Oct
08

223 – Live Together, Die Alone (part 2)

Review:

It’s impossible not to compare this season finale with the season one finale.  Last year we ended with a kidnapping, this year we ended with three (and a half).  Last year they got into the Hatch, this year they blew it up (or in).  Last year The Others were coming to attack the survivors (and they didn’t), this year they actually did attack.  Personally, I see this finale as all of what the season one finale was going to be.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved the season one finale, but this one was amazing in so many other ways.

So much happens.  Locke lets the timer run down.  Desmond turns the failsafe key.  Ben gets Jack, Sawyer and Kate.  Michael and Walt leave.  Sayid, Sun and Kin go one a fun Little sailing trip.  Penny and her cohorts locate the island (or at least find out that it exists).

Also We find out how the plane crashed in this episode, maybe not why, but definitely how.  This is a surprisingly big and not well publicized fact.

There were two really great moments in this episode that send chills down my spine.  When Locke is in the computer room of the Swan, everything is blowing up and metal things are flying around, he turns to Eko with a terrified look in his face and says, “I was wrong.”  And in the very end when we get to see what’s happening off of the island, not only is the world still there, but Penny’s in it and she’s looking for the island.  There was just so much hope in that scene, there is rarely a lot of hope in this show, but after that it almost seems like a happy ending.

I’m not going to change my rating from the first half of this revlysis.  10.0/10.0  (I felt a little guilty about giving this episode a 10.0 since I know that all the finales are going to get at least 9.5s but the simple truth is that the writers make the finales as awesome as they are, so why deny it.)

BTW I came up with a new theory after watching this episode, and it involves Charlie (I know, shocking, right).

Character Impressions:

Desmond

-I enjoy watching Desmond when he finds out that Kelvin has betrayed him, he has the feelings that we have almost every week of watching this show, shock and awe.

-I think Desmond should have been pretty sure about the validity of the magnetic anomaly and all that, after watching it almost go off on Sept 22.

-The letter Desmond finds in his book is absolutely perfect.  To call it poetic is an understatement. “I will wait for you always.  I love you, Pen”.  A tear…

-I was sure that Desmond was dead at the end of this episode.  “I’ll see you in another life brother.”

Hurley

-Poor Hurley had the worst job.  Making him go back would be the most horrible thing.  That’s the worst possible survivor’s guilt.

Libby

-N/A

Ben

-Ben came in on the boat, I wonder if the writers had decided about Alcatraz at this point.

-Again, Ben seems shocked and confused when The Swan implodes.  Does he know about it?  Or is he completely ignorant to it.

Sawyer

-N/A

Kate

-Funny thing: In one of the last scenes the Others pick up Kate, Jack, and Sawyer so that they are on their feet again.  Alex is behind Kate and she picks up Kate by the boobs, then she immediately switches her grip.  I really recommendyou go back and watch it, it’s hilarious.  I really wanted to use this picture as the picture at the top of this post but I thought it might be a litte inappropriate.

Locke

-I love the scene where Locke tells Desmond about that night when Boone died and he was banging on the hatch then Desmond turned the light on in the Hatch.  It was a great moment for Locke, he fully realized that his destiny wasn’t to push the button.

-I mentioned this up above, but it bears repeating.  I love Locke’s line, and his face, “I was wrong”.  I think this may have pushed a few fans over the edge, I can imagine that at that point you could hate him. 

Ana Lucia

-N/A

Charlie

-Charlie makes a Doctor Arzt reference, classic.

-Charlie gets the brunt of Eko’s dynamite explosion.  Unfortunately he survived.

-What the hell is happening with Charlie?  I’m pretty sure he has brain damage at the end of this episode.  See Below (Seriously, it’s a good theory).

Eko

-N/A

Jin

-N/A

Sun

-N/A

Sayid

-Sayid’s a Muslim again, and just in time for May Sweeps!

-Sayid gets to break into a few yurts, gorilla style.  I really dislike The Door Dharma station, what the deuce is that place?  It couldn’t possibly serve a purpose, it’s a door.  Hopefully it’s  been blocked off and there’s some kind of fancy station under there.

Jack

-I like the scene when they’re all getting shot by darts, Jack tries to get Kate and carry her to safety.  I find it humorous.

-Jack looks retarded with that gag in his mouth.

Claire

-The scene with Claire, Bernard and the Hatch door is very odd.  I’ve never liked that scene.  The effects are terrible and it doesn’t serve any purpose.

-Claire kissed Charlie, a truly pivotal scene.  (I’m rolling my eyes.)

Michael

-Ben told Michael, “Once you leave you won’t be able to get back here.”

-What could have possibly been going through Michael’s twisted little brain that would make him want to tell Walt that he killed Ana Lucia and Libby?  And how far into their journey did he wait before he told him>

Penny

-Seeing Penny at the end of this episode was one of the most hopeful things that’s ever happened in all of Lost.  It was just amazing.  the best way to end the season.

Kelvin

-So in the last revlysis I asked how much Kelvin knew about Dharma.  And I asked who Radzinsky is.  Well we found out a little in this episode.  Apparently Kelvin turned into a hippie after he left the army and joined the Dharma Initiative.  It seems as thought they put him in The Swan right away.  He also says that Radzinsky was the one who started the map on the blastdoor, and he is just continuing it.  He also referred to The Hostiles, as far as I know, this is the first mention of The Hostiles.  I know some people have theories on who Radsinsky is, I personally doubt that we’ve met him.

Mr. Friendly

-I think the beard and the disguises were pretty important, they must have been a part of Ben’s plan.  He seemed pretty disappointed when he found out Kate knew about the fake beard.  Maybe the Others were going to pretend to be savages for a little while longer.  Perhaps it was going to be part of Ben’s mind game.

-I love it when Mr. Friendly gets mad when Bea tells Jack, Kate, Sawyer and Hurley his real name.

Walt

-Ben, “We got more than we bargained for when Walt joined us, so I suppose this is best.”  So, uh what does that mean?  Is Walt the spawn of Satan?  Is he just annoying?  What’s the deal?  Apparently Room 23 doesn’t work on him, according to the Missing Pieces, perhaps they were just giving up on him.  I have a very small theory that he’s a sleeper agent.  One day Ben will say a trigger word and suddenly Walt will be on his side.  (I don’t really believe that, it’s more of an Alias theory than a Lost theory.)

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-The first time I watched this episode I turned my TV off before the part with Penny and the guys at the North Pole.  I didn’t see that scene until later that summer.  It was terrible.  I do admit that I felt a lot better about the finale after watching that scene, the episode is quite tragic before that moment.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-We know that at the end of this episode Desmond turns the failsafe key.  Fastforward to season 3.  Desmond is acting very odd, he can apparently see the future and he went back in time.  What he sees is Charlie’s death, he sees it in many different ways, he prevents it for a while but in the end fate wins and Charlie dies.
The second last scene in this episode has Charlie walking out of the jungle and acting very strange.  What I was reminded of while rewatching it was the scene in season four when Claire was rescued from her home in Othersville.  At this point many of us believe that she is dead.  I am now going to propose the same thing for Charlie, and in extension everyone who was in the Swan.  I believe that Charlie, Eko, Locke and Desmond all died in this episode.  I believe that Desmond’s path diverges a little.  He may have died, but it seems like he was given a second chance possible by god (Mrs. Hawkins).  Think about it, time has corrected the anomaly, at this point Eko, Charlie, and Locke are all dead.  Desmond is the only one left.
I intend to write this up as a proper theory soon.

-The failsafe is a little hard to understand.  On one hand I’m glad they have it, but there’s always the question, why the hell wouldn’t somebody turn the key?  But I like what Kelvin says, “are you the one who’s gunna pull your finger out of the dam.”  And it’s true that it would take a lot of bravery, but surely someone in the hatch must have been suicidal enough to turn it.

-Kate finds the pile of journals from the pneumatic tubes.  That was such a mysterious moment.  Just when you think you understand that the Swan is a trick, then they show you almost beyond a doubt that The Pearl was the fake station.  I think they throw stuff like this in the show just to keep us off balance.

-“All we really need to survive is one person who truly loves us, and you have her.  I will wait for you, always.  I love you.”  Was that possibly a reference to Desmond’s Constant.

-A compass bearing of 325?  What happened to 305?  How the hell did that work?  Is the “hole” of opportunity moving?  Did the writers just screw up?  Was Daniel wrong?  I’ll bet the “hole” is either moving or closing, maybe both.  I doubt the writers would screw up something so specific, and I really doubt that Daniel could be wrong about something like that.

– Izi

5 Responses to “223 – Live Together, Die Alone (part 2)”


  1. 1 Anon
    October 27, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    “A compass bearing of 325? What happened to 305? How the hell did that work? Is the “hole” of opportunity moving? Did the writers just screw up? Was Daniel wrong? I’ll bet the “hole” is either moving or closing, maybe both. I doubt the writers would screw up something so specific, and I really doubt that Daniel could be wrong about something like that.”

    It was 325 until the purple sky event then it changed to 305.

    “I believe that Charlie, Eko, Locke and Desmond all died in this episode.”

    So…Penny’s now dating a ghost?

    “Ben, “We got more than we bargained for when Walt joined us, so I suppose this is best.” So, uh what does that mean?”

    No, it just means Walt’s powers were too much for them. They couldn’t control him.

    “The scene with Claire, Bernard and the Hatch door is very odd. I’ve never liked that scene. The effects are terrible and it doesn’t serve any purpose.”

    Yes it does. It shows us that the hatch exploded.

    “-Again, Ben seems shocked and confused when The Swan implodes. Does he know about it? Or is he completely ignorant to it.”

    He seems furious to me.

  2. October 27, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    But the sky turned purple before Michael left so if it changed the bearing that means that Michael would have missed the mark.
    Yeah, I’m not to sure about Desmond, it seems like he was reborn or something in season three. I’m still working on that theory.
    I still don’t know about Walt, I’ll be a confused until we know the full scope of Walt’s powers. Doesn’t it seem like The Others gave up pretty easily? What do you think Walt’s powers are?
    As for the hatch exploding. The producers insist that it imploded, how did it go flying? The scene was very contrived, like the writers felt they had to involve Claire in the episode. And you have to admit, when you first watched the episode you must have said WTF the Hatch just exploded and Charlie just stumbled out of the jungle unharmed.
    You’re right, that could be anger, I wouldn’t have thought that, but it’s very possible.

    Thanks for replying Anon, and keeping me on my toes.

  3. 3 Anon
    October 28, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    “But the sky turned purple before Michael left so if it changed the bearing that means that Michael would have missed the mark.”

    Wait, where did the 325 bearing come from? Wasn’t it Des who said that? If so, that was the wrong way to go. Ben knew the right way, I guess.

    “Doesn’t it seem like The Others gave up pretty easily? What do you think Walt’s powers are?”

    I think they put him in room 23 a lot. I don’t think the others are as knowledgable as they say. As for what Walt’s powers are….no clue. lol. I wonder how he’s keeping them contained these days?

    “As for the hatch exploding. The producers insist that it imploded, how did it go flying? The scene was very contrived, like the writers felt they had to involve Claire in the episode. And you have to admit, when you first watched the episode you must have said WTF the Hatch just exploded and Charlie just stumbled out of the jungle unharmed.”

    I guess if the magnetic pressure was enough the door could fly off while the rest imploded. But yeah, I’m still stumped as to how they all survived it. I had a similar theory to yours about them dying. At some point in the show, every character has been close to death. What if they all DID die at those points (for instance Locke being shot by Ben) and are NOW ghosts or immortal or something? It’s hard to explain and there’s plot holes but it’s amazing what the losties have survived (like the helicopter crash in S4 finale – Aaron?!).

    So when Charlie came back he was already dead but the others got a second chance or something?

    “Thanks for replying Anon, and keeping me on my toes.”

    Haha, no problem. I love analyzing this show!

  4. October 30, 2008 at 9:39 am

    At the end of this episode Ben tells Michael to go on a bearing of 325 to find rescue. In season 4 Daniel tells Frank that he has to stick to 305 to get to and from the freighter. As soon as they said 305 in season 4 a little alarm went off in my head.
    Possibly the opening is slowly moving or collapsing, who really knows. We might find out someday.

  5. 5 Jason
    January 1, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    You picked up on a lot of stuff here. As i watch from here on out, I’m going to be trying to see if your theory that everyone in the hatch really died. Also, I hope you’re being sarcastic when you ask what the significance of the dharma doors is. It further reinforces in Michaels eyes that that was where the Others actually lived.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


