19
Nov
08

309 – Stranger in a Strange Land

309-jack-the-tailies-01

Review:

I expected to give this episode a 0.0 but I was surprised when I rewatched it.  It is a bad episode but I had only remembered the awful parts.  the flashback was most definitely irrelevant and annoying.  The Sheriff, Isabelle was a waste of space and has no bearing on the story.  Juliet’s court case was vague to the point of being useless.  And the tease with Cindy and the kids was maddening.

Before I rewatched it I was willing to write this episode off as being non-canon in my mind.

But I was surprised.  What I did like was the parts about Karl and Alex, and I especially like what Tom says to Jack about his perspective on The Others (see the Mr. Friendly section below for more info).  The episode is probably still the worst episode ever, but at least it’s not a zero.  1.5/10.0

309-ben-01Character Impressions:

Ben

-Apparently the Sheriff would listen to anything Ben would say.  I can understand that if Ben says that Jacob told him to say something, but it’s pretty crazy if Ben just has limitless executive power.

Sawyer

309-sawyer-01-I like Kate and Sawyer’s faces when Karl tells them he had a backyard.  Sometimes it’s fun to watch the survivors have the same reactions as us when there are reveals.

Juliet

-It is so foreboding when they move Juliet in Jack’s old room.

309-juliet-01-Ben says that Juliet doesn’t care about Jack.  “She’s one of us.”  I think that was just Ben being jealous of Jack.

-Juliet’s mark is just awful.  I assume it just means she’s a murderer and it’s so that other Others can identify her and avoid her.

Kate

309-friendly-jack-juliet-sheriff-01-I am unimpressed with Kate’s quick turnaround.  I expected her to decide to go back and save Jack at some point, but she changed her mind immediately, they hadn’t even reached the main island yet.

Jack

-The worst part about this flashback is that Jack doesn’t even get his whole tattoo done in this episode.  If the writers were hoping to do more episodes about his tattoo that is just ridiculous.

Karl

309-karl-01

-Karl, “God loves you as he loved Jacob.”  It’s surprising that he actually said that, was he completely brainwashed.

-Kate asks about the kids that the Others took.  Karl says that they took them away and gave them better lives.

-Poor Karl, if anyone ever caught me on the island crying I would really hope it wouldn’t be Sawyer.

309-mr-friendly-tom-01Mr Friendly

-This episode has a great moment.  Jack thinks that Mr. Friendly is going to take him out and kill him and he says that to him.  Tom says, “What kind of people do you think we are, Jack?”  Jack says, “well I don’t know Tom.  The kind of people who would take a pregnant woman, who would hang Charlie from a tree, would drag our people out of the jungle, would kidnap our children.  That’s the kind of people I think you are.”  Mr. Friendly taps Jack’s glass wall, “You see this glass house you’re living in Jack?  How ’bout I get you some stones.”  He’s completely right.  I’ve been saying it for quite some time, the survivors think that The Others are monsters, but statistically the survivors have killed more Others than the other way around.

309-sheriff-01The Sheriff

-This is the worst character they have ever introduced into Lost.  The way she delivers her lines is painful, she has this bored monotone way of talking.  She just drives me crazy.

-At one time I thought that Isabelle was Smokey or Jacob.  This was my way of making her more interesting.  I’m pretty sure that has been proved wrong.

-Some good news about this character, I believe that Darlton said that she died in some sort of off-screen skirmish.

309-alex-01Alex

-Alex asks Jack why he saved Ben’s life.  She actually wanted him to die, or at least she acts like it.

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-Remember how I said that Nathan Fillion was one first times they used stunt casting in Lost and I liked it.  Here’s a time when it really didn’t work.  Bai Ling might have had a good role at one point, she’s very interesting looking, but come on her character was outrageous.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

309-bai-ling-011-They put all of the kidnapped Tailies in front of Jack’s cage.  They appear more than a little dazed.  I’ve been told that they were all brainwashed in Room 23.  I wouldn’t have come up with that on my own.

-Jack and Juliet’s romance is not supposed to be romantic at all.  They were just on parallel paths for a certain amount of time, and they had a lot things in common.

– Izi

2 Responses to “309 – Stranger in a Strange Land”


  1. 1 Guy
    February 5, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    If it’s worst ever, why was fire and water given a 0?

  2. February 5, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Funny thing, I was just about to tell you to go here from that other page.
    The point of this rating is that I’m still open to interesting developments. This story is ridiculous, but I was pleasently surprised that when I ignored Jack and Bai Ling The Others were there to save the day. This episode is bad, but there were things to enjoy, even if they were brief and not worth the annoyance.
    And I gave Fire + Water a 0.0 because I really didn’t like Charlie wasting time. If you watch all the episodes in a row like I did to review them, you see that Charlie’s storyline makes no sense and has almost no bearing on the main Lost stories. And that episode was the peak of the ridiculousness, his actions int hat episode go completely against logic and even his own charatcer, the writers made him self-destruct simply to give him something to do.
    – izi


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


