31
Dec
08

405 – The Constant

405-desmond-01405-penny-01

Review:

I cried the first time I watched this episode, and I cried again when I rewatched it this time.  This episode is glorious and a half.  It manages to mix intense and confusing sci-fi with a perfectly written love story.  Wow, I can’t tell you how much I love this episode.

And not only that but it includes all of my favorite characters.  Desmond was my first favorite character and his love story with Penny was my favorite storyline.  Then Daniel came along and I questioned my complete loyalty to Desmond.  Now that Desmond and Penny’s love story is mostly over Daniel is my favorite character but I still love them all.

I also love sci-fi themes and I love how these writers do it.  They insist on making it logical, which is reassuring and entertaining at the same time.  It’s all great fun.

I also found out a lot by rewatching this episode.  Like Locke’s possible fate, and the importance of nosebleeds.

If I could give it more than 10 I would.  10.0/10.0

405-daniel-01Character Impressions:

Daniel

-Daniel says that sometimes people can experience the “unstuck in time” phenomenon with a time differential of a few hours and sometimes it’s years.  I’ll bet that it all depends upon how much radiation they were exposed to.  Desmond was exposed to a lot, I would suspect that Daniel was too.

405-daniel-02-Daniel asks Desmond the obvious question in the past.  Why wouldn’t he remember their meeting?  Desmond says, “maybe you just forgot,” Daniel responds, “Yeah, right, how would that happen?”  If that’s not foreshadowing then I don’t know what is.  Daniel most definitely has memory problems.

-Daniel reminds us (mostly me) that “you can’t change the future”.  Except that I can think of someone who can, someone very special.  (See Below)

-Daniel says that he wears a lead apron to protect from exposure to radiation, but I don’t think it works too well.  I believe that Daniel was exposed to enough radiation to become unstuck in time if he ever tried to leave the island.  (I don’t know why it wouldn’t effect him on the way in though, I’ll have to think about that.)

405-daniel-notebook-desmond-01-I like that Daniel wears the same outfit in 1996 that he does in 2004.   Hopefully he’s always worn that outfit, it makes those season 5 trailers less worrisome for me.

-Becoming unstuck in time seems like a good thing, besides the dying thing and the insanity that likely ensues.  You would gain all of your future memories in your past body.  You would become a genius, someone like… Daniel Faraday.

-Daniel choosing Desmond as his constant was very reassuring.  It meant that the two characters would always need each other which is fortunate because they are my two favorite characters.  It also means that at some point Daniel will get unstuck in time.

405-desmond-02Desmond

-The first “flashback” was so confusing, I just assumed it was a normal flashback, it seemed like it, but then he was the wrong Desmond, in the wrong time, it was mind-blowing.

-So the reason why Desmond was effected and Sayid and Frank weren’t was because Desmond was in the Hatch when it imploded.  He was exposed to large amounts of electro-magnetic energy.

-Daniel never promises that Desmond will stop having these “flashbacks”.  Even if he has his constant he could still be unstuck in time.

-WHOA!  Hold on, Desmond’s nose starts bleeding near the end of his flashes.  So that is what that means.  Can you think of anyone else who has conspicuous nosebleeds?  I can.  (See below)

405-penny-02Penny

-Minowski says that Penny was constantly phoning the freighter.  She was trying to contact them for some reason.  Likely she found out about her father’s mission and wanted to try to get them to save Desmond.  Or she was trying to find the location of the island too.

-Penny says that she was looking for the island, researching it, and that she knows about it.  I wonder how much she knew?  I imagine if she looked into her fathers past she could get a lot of info.  But she must have other sources.

Locke

-Locke was the only other person who was exposed to the same amount of electro-magnetic energy as Desmond.  So if Locke ever tries to leave the island he will experience the same “unstuck in time” phenomenon.  There’s something to look forward to.

405-minkowski-desmond-sayid-01Sayid

-I feel so sorry for Sayid.  He has no idea what’s going on for this entire episode.

Frank

-Frank tried his best to fly on a bearing of exactly 305, and he was only off by a degree or two by the storm.  That wasn’t the problem, was it?  Daniel said it was because of the large amount of radiation that Desmond was exposed to.

Keamy

-Keamy seems positively harmless in the beginning of this episode.

-Keamy and the doctor both try their hardest to keep Desmond from talking to Daniel.  They probably all think that he’s crazy.  I think that Charlotte was the only person who actually believed in him.

405-minkowski-011Minkowski

-Minkowski seemed like such an important character.  I hope we get to see him again at some point.

-Minkowski when on a raft to go see the island.  Sad.

-This guys neck is so tiny.

Whidmore

405-whidmore-01

-When Whidmore buys the the journal of the Black Rock, they say that no one knows what it says.  It must be an interesting story.

-Desmond asks why Charles hates him so much and Whidmore responds cryptically, “It’s not me who hates you.”  Who could it be, Penny?  Jacob?  God?  Fate?

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-I was very reassured when I saw the freighter.  Hearing that it was there and seeing it were two very different things, and frankly I wasn’t sure it was real until I saw it.

-This episode was exhilarating to watch.  The pace in incomparable, and the ending is perfect.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-I believe that Walt can change the future, which goes against what Daniel said, but Daniel doesn’t know how special Walt is.  See my theory here: Walt’s Powers.  I should say that I believe that Walt can change the past and effect the future, which is the same thing as changing the future, just with more words.

-Later in season 4 we see a vision of Locke’s where he meets Horace, and his nose is bleeding.  Could that signify that he became unstuck in time?  This is all very surprising.

– Izi

9 Responses to “405 – The Constant”


  1. 1 missscarlett
    January 2, 2009 at 11:51 am

    “Daniel says that he wears a lead apron to protect from exposure to radiation, but I don’t think it works too well. I believe that Daniel was exposed to enough radiation to become unstuck in time if he ever tried to leave the island. (I don’t know why it wouldn’t effect him on the way in though, I’ll have to think about that.)”

    But Desmond points out the obvious — what is protecting Daniel’s head — house of his brain — from the radiation?

    On 2nd viewing I love this episode too. I loved Des & Penny connecting at the end – but I was so shocked and excited by one of the next episodes that The Constant was not my fave of the season – though I know it is for most viewers.

    Hmmmm…is Horace unstuck in Time? Good question. I just thought his nosebleed was so Locke would get that Horace was dead (Locke does seem to need BIG clues sometimes)

    So if the future cannot be changed is anyone ever making decisions/choices? Or do they just think they are?

    I’ve never been so relieved to see a character die so quickly – Fisher Stevens is what nightmares are made of. And yes, he has a tiny neck too.

    Poor Des. I can’t believe anyone hates him.

    Sayid. He bores me. But come on – he only needed a minute to fix that communication device! Did you see the wires hanging around? Is Michael that bad of a sabatouer or is Sayid that good of a repairman?
    The mystery deepens.

  2. 2 Rosie
    January 2, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I supposed that this was a first-class episode. But I thought it was a little too confusing for me. Which is why I prefer “The Economist” over this one.

  3. 3 Anon
    January 2, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    What I wanna know is how Desmond forgot he was gonna end up on an island yet still went on Widmore’s race around the world.

    “Minowski says that Penny was constantly phoning the freighter. She was trying to contact them for some reason. Likely she found out about her father’s mission and wanted to try to get them to save Desmond. Or she was trying to find the location of the island too.”

    Nah, it was just because when Charlie stopped the transmission from being blocked, Penny was able to search the area and send out signals. Obviously she picked up on the freighter and kept calling it hoping Des would be there. I think the captain and probably Keamy figured out Widmore’s daughter was on a different (yet similar) mission as they were (or Widmore warned them) and they banned the lesser powerful crew members from talking to her.

    “Desmond asks why Charles hates him so much and Whidmore responds cryptically, “It’s not me who hates you.” Who could it be, Penny? Jacob? God? Fate?”

    Lol, he just meant Penny. You saw the way she acted towards him for this entire episode until the very end (future).

    “When Whidmore buys the the journal of the Black Rock, they say that no one knows what it says. It must be an interesting story.”

    Might have directions to the island…

    “Locke was the only other person who was exposed to the same amount of electro-magnetic energy as Desmond. So if Locke ever tries to leave the island he will experience the same “unstuck in time” phenomenon. There’s something to look forward to.”

    Wow, I never considered this!

  4. 4 Jeremiah
    January 3, 2009 at 12:19 am

    I do love this episode, too. And I’d be a liar if I said I didn’t get choked up when Penny finally picked up that phone. Even my redneck friend I was watching the episode with said after it was over, “That last part gave me a fever.” Who cries over science-fiction? Losties, that’s who.

    Good call on the irradiated Locke bit. Seems like it’s bound to have ramifications in season 5.

  5. 5 Cunny
    March 9, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I assumed Widmore was talking about Desmond hating himself.

  6. 6 Jason
    January 14, 2013 at 6:11 am

    Someone brought up the point that if Desmond knew he was going to be stuck on the island in 1996 that he wouldn’t have done his race around the world. We know from his first meeting from Eloise that even knowing what he does now, either he can’t change the future/past, or he doesn’t want to deep down (I believe The Powers That Be leave that open to interpretation). Or it could be that while Desmond thinks its 1996, it’s more of an alternative reality that isn’t going to “branch” into the reality that brings him onto the freighter. Don’t hold me to this, but this is my third time through ther series and that’s how I’ve made sense of this episode.

    Anon made the point that the Black Rock journal may have instructions on how to get to the island. I’ve never considered this, and have always wondered about what exactly Widmore learns from this book. This time around I noticed that Hanso, that wealthy investor from the Dharma videos is the one who is putting the book up for auction. This leads to many more questions about an important character we’ve never met. Has he actually been to the island? Why is he putting the book up for auction? Is he still alive?


Leave a Reply

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


