05
Jan
09

407 – Ji Yeon

407-sun-hurley-jin-grave-01

Review:

This episode is essentially a continuation of D.O.C. with some fun Freighter activity thrown in.  Sun decides that she doesn’t believe what Juliet told her in that episode and she wants to go to Locke’s camp.  Juliet stops her by telling Jin that Sun cheated on him.  Bernard tells Jin that wives are always right and Jin eventually agrees.  They decide to stay with Jack and try to get rescued.

In the flashforward Sun delivers her baby.  In the parallel, but unrelated flashback, Jin buys a stuffed panda bear.  Sun mourns Jin’s death.  All very sad stuff.  I wasn’t angry at all with the writers tricking us like this.  I thought it was terribly clever.  Apparently other people don’t share my enthusiasm for this kind of trickery.

On the freighter Desmond and Sayid hear Charles Whidmore’s side of the argument about the fake 815 plane.  And they meet little ol’ Kevin Johnson.  That’s right, it’s the return of every ones favorite panic eyed villain, Michael!  It’s unfortunate that word got out about his return, it would have made for a great reveal.

The episode wasn’t bad, the extra trickery in Jin and Sun’s flashback/forward was the shot in the arm that their flashes needed.  And it’s always fun to see old freinds return.  7.5/10.0

407-daniel-sun-01Character Impressions:

Daniel

-Sun confronts Daniel about saving the Oceanic survivors.  He admits that he has no say in the matter.  I imagine that things would have been a lot different if things had gone according to plan and Naomi was the spokesperson of the Freighter Folk.

407-hurley-ji-yeon-sun-011Desmond

-Desmond looks like he’s completely recovered after his fun in The Constant.

-Poor Desmond was very shocked when he found out that Whidmore was the person who hired the Freighter and it’s crew.

Hurley

-Hurley was the only person who went to see Ji Yeon after she was born.  What were Jack and Sayid doing?

407-juliet-jin-sun-01Juliet

-Juliet stops Sun from going to Locke’s camp in a desperate attempt to save her life.  It was probably for the best, it likely saved Sun and Ji Yeon’s life, but I think it was mostly her need/desire to save a pregnant woman after losing so many.

-Juliet says again that she wants to get off the island more than anything else.  “Repetition for Emphasis” (hmm I guess most people won’t get that reference).

Kate

-Kate happily helps Sun get to Locke’s camp.  Apparently she’s willing to let others stay on the island, but she refuses to let herself stay.  Weird.

407-jin-01Jin

-Jin really fits in on the island.  During the normal camp life he seems to enjoy himself.  Unfortunately he has a good motivation to get off, his wife and daughter will die if they don’t, but beyond that I think he was happy there.  Sun is harder to read, so I don’t really know if she would like to live there.

-It’s funny that we really thought that Jin was out buying a stuffed panda the day that Sun was giving birth.  That would have been a very odd flashforward.

-So at the end of this episode we see Jin’s gravestone.  I’m sure that I’m not the only person who thinks that Jin is still alive.  Here’s my theory regarding that: Daniel Saving Jin.

407-hurley-ji-yeon-sun-01Sun

-Sun was watching Expose on TV.  That’s a little grim.

-Sun decides to jump ship and go to Locke’s camp.  I found that very odd.   I get that she was worried about whether or not she will be saved or not, but I doubt that she really believed that she would be safer in Locke’s camp.

Frank

-Frank also tells Sayid and Desmond that they had some trouble in the kitchen so all they had to eat was lima beans.  I don’t think they ever addressed that again.  (Perhaps Michael sabotaged the kitchen too.)

407-regina-01Regina

-It was so strange when Frank found Regina reading her book upside down.  Was she just distraught because Naomi died?  Was she unstuck in time like Minkowski and Desmond?  The captain said that it was cabin fever because of their proximity to the island

-When Regina jumped off the ship she looked a lot like Libby.  I rewound it a few times to assure my self that it wasn’t her.

407-captain-gault-01Captain Gault

-They made the captain out to be some frightening character, he wasn’t all that bad.  Michael warned Sayid and Desmond about him.  It would have been better to say “don’t trust Keamy”.  Maybe they rewrote the characters after the strike.  It does seem like Keamy went evil and the Captain went good in the end.

-I love how easily Gault tells Sayid and Desmond that his boss is Whidmore.

-The Captain was just spewing Whidmore’s propaganda when he told Sayid and Desmond that Ben staged the fake Oceanic 815 wreck.  I firmly believe that it was Whidmore and not Ben.

407-jin-bernard-01Bernard

-This episode has the strangest use of the character of Bernard.  He talks Jin out of leaving Sun.  I guess they would have used someone else, but every other empathetic character was in Locke’s camp.

-Bernard brings up a good point, there are a lot of characters that wouldn’t choose Locke or Jack’s camp but have to go somewhere.  Rose, Bernard, Kate, Sawyer, Hurley, Claire maybe even Jin and Sun would like to stay on the island, and out of those people only Kate has a sense of devotion to Jack.  The rest of them divide into the camps based on goals not on the leaders  themselves.

407-desmond-michael-sayid-01Michael

-Guess who’s back?

– I really wanted Sayid and Desmond to let Michael keep his cover, it made things more interesting.  They do for a little while, but not long.

Flashbacks (what we knew then):

-I was mad at myself for not figuring out that Jin and Sun weren’t in the same flashforward.  The store guy says that it was the Year of the Dragon.  I was born in the Year of the Dragon, in 1988, so I was trying to figure out when the next one was, but then I got distracted by the show and I forgot about it.

-At the end of this episode I figured that Sun thought that Jin was still alive on the island and she was just putting up the pretense of mourning him.  I guess that was just wishful thinking.

Flashforwards (what we know now):

– Izi

4 Responses to “407 – Ji Yeon”


  1. 1 Anon
    January 5, 2009 at 5:20 am

    I feel like this ep suffered cause of the strike. The character’s actions are either weird or left unexplained. And this is the first time Des meets Michael isn’t it?

    “Desmond looks like he’s completely recovered after his fun in The Constant.”

    Yeah, he said at the end of the constant “I’m perfect”. I think a lot of ppl thought he was slowly going to regain his memory, but everything came back the minute Penny answered the phone.

    “Hurley was the only person who went to see Ji Yeon after she was born. What were Jack and Sayid doing?”

    Sun partially blames Jack for Jin’s death (and his horribly cold “HE’S GONE!). Sayid…I think around this timeline is when Nadia died so…

    “Juliet says again that she wants to get off the island more than anything else. “Repetition for Emphasis” (hmm I guess most people won’t get that reference).”

    Yet in the finale she says “I promised I’d stay til I got them all off the island” ARGH! 😀 I guess they needed an “other” to be a left behinder with Ben gone.

    “They made the captain out to be some frightening character, he wasn’t all that bad. Michael warned Sayid and Desmond about him. It would have been better to say “don’t trust Keamy”. Maybe they rewrote the characters after the strike. It does seem like Keamy went evil and the Captain went good in the end.”

    Another weird thing maybe due to the strike…I don’t know why they’d cast Grant Bowler as such an apparently evil man, the dude’s well known here in Australia, he hosted reality shows 😄

    “The Captain was just spewing Whidmore’s propaganda when he told Sayid and Desmond that Ben staged the fake Oceanic 815 wreck. I firmly believe that it was Whidmore and not Ben.”

    Woot! Me too 😀 We’re like the only two though haha

  2. 2 missscarlett
    January 5, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    It’s unfortunate that word got out about his return, it would have made for a great reveal.

    yeah – kinda makes it hard to keep his return a secret when he is listed in the opening credits each week anyways!

    “Repetition for Emphasis” Hilarious!

    re: trouble in the kitchen
    Did Regina already jump? Does Frank not know they saw that happen? Could Regina have worked in the kitchen?
    Could be that whole cabin-fever thing that is taking over all the non-strike team (isn’t that convenient? well, maybe not for the captain)members

    -I love how easily Gault tells Sayid and Desmond that his boss is Whidmore.
    I know right? Compared to Ben’s tightly kept info (don’t you love when Gullible {Locke} says you told me you didn’t know anything about the Smoke Monster – I lied. Yes. Ben lied Locke) that you know even when he is telling people things, he is keeping more to himself than he is sharing.

    I agree – Widmore totally put the fake plane down there. But…who knows. Hey – what if Penny did it to get people out of her grid search for Desmond? Wouldn’t that be something?

    Ummm Bernard, catching a fish is not evidence of Karma.

    I was so sad for Sun when she was calling for Jin and then we learn that the Nurses and Dr. were just playing along so they wouldn’t upset her more.
    Oh their little girl is so beautiful too. Heartbreaking.
    I believe/hope Jin is alive and Sun will get her happy ending — maybe after she kills whoever she is holding responsible for Jin’s death. That would be ugly.

    I am Year of the Ox. Always with the stubborn.
    Can’t escape it.

  3. 3 Anon
    January 5, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    “{Locke} says you told me you didn’t know anything about the Smoke Monster – I lied. Yes. Ben lied Locke.”

    Ben never said he lied about the smoke monster, he just said “You can ask Jacob all about it”. Of course, Locke never did…that we know of…

  4. 4 Rosie
    January 8, 2009 at 11:25 am

    “I wasn’t angry at all with the writers tricking us like this. I thought it was terribly clever. Apparently other people don’t share my enthusiasm for this kind of trickery.”

    I wasn’t angry as well. Actually, I rather liked how I almost got tricked. Good show.


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


