09
Jan
09

The 2008 Golden Globe nominations

So here’s a list of the nominations.  I’ll underline my preferred winners and write a little bit about them (if I care about the category).

benjamin-button-01BEST MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button
Frost/Nixon
The Reader
Revolutionary Road
Slumdog Millionaire

The only one of these movies that I haven’t see is The Reader.  I intend to at some point but I haven’t got around to it.

Benjamin Button is likely my no. 1 movie of the year, I loved it.  The epic romance mixed with the fantasy element (not unlike Desmond and Penny), taht along wiht the incredible style of David Fincher and great actors and actresses and wonderful characters.

Frost/Nixon was interesting but not great.  Revolutionary Road was dull and I only watched it to be truly informed about the movie.  Slumdog Millionaire was way better than I expected, and it deserves the nomination, but I wouldn’t watch it again.

rachel-getting-married-01BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

Anne Hathaway – Rachel Getting Married
Angelina Jolie – Changeling
Meryl Streep – Doubt
Kristin Scott Thomas – I’ve Loved You So Long (Il Y A Longtemps Que Je T’aime)
Kate Winslet – Revolutionary Road

I mostly don’t want Kristin Scott Thomas to win this award. I like Anne Hathaway better, and her acting was good in Rachel Getting Married (even if the movie was less than stellar).  If Kate Winslet won it wouldn’t actually be for this movie it would be for all the times she was snubbed previously.

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

Leonardo Dicaprio – Revolutionary Road
Frank Langella – Frost/Nixon
Sean Penn – Milk
Brad Pitt – The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button
Mickey Rourke – The Wrestler

Brad Pitt did very well in this movie.  I definitely think he deserves the win.  I never saw Milk but Sean Penn does great in everything he’s ever done, I don’t really want him to win.  I can’t seem to cheer for Mickey Rourke, I love Darren Aronofsky but I don’t like the subject of the movie or Mickey Rourke’s face.  Frank Langella did good but only because he avoided doing an impression of Richard Nixon.

happy-go-lucky-01BEST MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Burn After Reading
Happy-Go-Lucky

In Bruges
Mamma Mia!
Vicky Cristina Barcelona

I couldn’t decide between these two.  Burn After Reading was a pleasent surprise but so was Happy-Go-Lucky.  If I thouhgt that Sally Hawkins would win then I would want Burn After Reading to win but I doubt she will.  I don’t think that In Bruges was really a comedy, there were moments but in the end it was depressing.  Same with Vicky Cristina Barcelona the movie was just odd, not Woody Allen’s best and hardly a stand out movie.

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Rebecca Hall – Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Sally Hawkins – Happy-Go-Lucky
Frances Mcdormand – Burn After Reading
Meryl Streep – Mamma Mia!
Emma Thompson – Last Chance Harvey

I wouldn’t be unhappy if any of these people won, I actually like them all.  But I think that Sally Hawkins deserves it because she did  the oddest character.

pineapple-express-01BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Javier Bardem – Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Colin Farrell – In Bruges
James Franco – Pineapple Express
Brendan Gleeson – In Bruges
Dustin Hoffman – Last Chance Harvey

Javier Bardem did good, but he’s a great actor, what else can we expect.  Colin Farrell did fine, his character was slightly funny.  Brendan Gleeson played abig tough lovable character, not too spectacular for him.  And I haven’t seen Last Chance Harvey but I’ll bet he did good.

But I think it would be hilarious and surprising if James Franco won for Pineapple Express.  His character made me laugh harder than any of the other character (in facte he was the only character that made me laugh).

wall-e-01BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

Bolt
Kung Fu Panda
Wall-E

Wall-E will win this, it is just too good.  I tend to prefer Pixar movie to anything though.

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM

The Baader Meinhof Complex (Germany)
Everlasting Moments (Sweden/Denmark)
Gomorrah (Italy)
I’ve Loved You So Long (France)
Waltz With Bashir (Israel)
I am complretely out of the loop regarding this episode.

vicky-cristina-barcelona-01BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE

Amy Adams – Doubt
Penelope Cruz – Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Viola Davis -Doubt
Marisa Tomei – The Wrestler
Kate Winslet – The Reader

This is another category where I like all the nominees.  I think that Amy Adams definitely deserves awards because it wasn’t so long ago when I didn’t think she had a chance at a career and now I’ll buy a ticket to any of her movies.  I don’t like Penelope Cruz at all (her accent drives me up the wall), but she did good crazy/sexy in Vicky Cristina Barcelona.

I really wish that Teraji P. Henson, from The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, was nominated.  She deserves at least a Golden Globe, if not an Oscar.

the-dark-knight-01BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE

Tom Cruise – Tropic Thunder
Robert Downey Jr. -Tropic Thunder
Ralph Fiennes – The Duchess
Philip Seymour Hoffman – Doubt
Heath Ledger – The Dark Knight

If Heath Ledger wasn’t nominated here I would want Robert Downey Jr. to win this award because he managed to make blackface funny.  And when he switched between characters after he tok his wig off I was amazed.  Yeah, he did great.

Buuuut Heath Ledger was nominated, and he deserves to win this.  The Joker was an amazing character and he did insanely good acting.  I believe that he would deserve the award whether he died or not, but he wouldn’t have been nominted if he didn’t die.   That’s one of the flaws in movie awards no movie released before September can even be nominated.  It’s ridiculous.

I really don’t think that Tom Cruise should have been nominated, his character was my least favorite thing about Tropic Thunder.

BEST DIRECTOR – MOTION PICTURE

Danny Boyle – Slumdog Millionaire
Stephen Daldry – The Reader
David Fincher – The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button
Ron Howard – Frost/Nixon
Sam Mendes – Revolutionary Road

David Fincher is gloriously good.  I love his movies and he deserves the attention that he’s suddenly getting.  Supposedly Danny Boyle deserves attention too but I never enjoyed Trainspotters so I’m not in his bandwagon. Ron Howard is a good guy but I don’t think he really needs an award for the movies he makes.  He’s good at adaptions and he’s still cute as a button but I don’t think he needs Golden Globes.

BEST SCREENPLAY – MOTION PICTURE

Simon Beaufoy – Slumdog Millionaire
David Hare – The Reader
Peter Morgan – Frost/Nixon
Eric Roth – The Curious Case Of Benjamin
John Patrick Shanley – Doubt

If Slumdog Millionaire wasn’t adapted from a book then I think it could have been my pick, it was an amazing, unique story.  But I’ve read the original Benjamin Button story and it is amazing what was done with it.

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE – MOTION PICTURE

Alexandre Desplat -The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button
Clint Eastwood – Changeling
James Newton Howard – Defiance
A. R. Rahman – Slumdog Millionaire
Hans Zimmer – Frost/Nixon

I could pretend to care about this category but I don’t I just want Benjamin Button to get more awards.

BEST ORIGINAL SONG – MOTION PICTURE

“Down To Earth” – Wall-E (By: Peter Gabriel)
“Gran Torino” – Gran Torino
(By: Jamie Cullum)
“I Thought I Lost You” – Bolt (By: Miley Cyrus)
“Once In A Lifetime” – Cadillac Records (By: Beyoncé Knowles)
“The Wrestler” – The Wrestler (By: Bruce Springsteen)

The song The Call by Regina Spektor from Prince Caspian should have been nominated, I love that sond.  Since it wasn’t I couldn’t care less about this category.

dexter-011BEST TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA

Dexter (Showtime)
House (Fox)
In Treatment(HBO)
Mad Men (Amc)
True Blood(HBO)

It’s ridiculous that House and True Blood were nominated and Lost wasn’t.  OUtrageous.  Apparently the Hollywood Foreign Press isn’t “down” with Lost.  As it stands I love Dexter and I think it deserves to win.

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA

Sally Field – Brothers And Sisters
Mariska Hargitay -Law And Order: Special Victims Unit
January Jones – Mad Men
Anna Paquin – True Blood
Kyra Sedgwick – The Closer

Anna Paquin?  Seriously?  You could make a drinking game out of how much she twitches.  There is something off about her, and I don’t believe she deserved an Oscar in the past and I don’t think she deserves a Golden Globe now.  I really don’t like this list though.  It’ll be a good bathroom break when they give out this award.

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA

Gabriel Byrne – In Treatment
Michael C. Hall – Dexter
Jon Hamm – Mad Men
Hugh Laurie – House
Jonathan Rhys Meyers – The Tudors

Michael C. Hall deserves many awards for playing Dexter.  He is crazy good.  Jon Hamm is pretty impressive too.

30-rock-01BEST TELEVISION SERIES – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

30 Rock(NBC)
Californication (Showtime)
Entourage(HBO)
The Office(NBC)
Weeds (Showtime)

I especially want 30 Rock to win this award, it will make up for Lost’s lack of a nomination.  It wouldn’t be bad if Weeds won.  I really don’t want Entourage to win.

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES -COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Christina Applegate – Samantha Who?
America Ferrera – Ugly Betty
Tina Fey – 30 Rock
Debra Messing – The Starter Wife
Mary-Louise Parker – Weeds

Tina Fey needs to win this and she will.  She’s glorious.

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Alec Baldwin – 30 Rock
Steve Carell – The Office
Kevin Connolly – Entourage
David Duchovny – Californication
Tony Shalhoub – Monk

Alec Baldwin’s character is too good.  He definitely deserves this award. And I believe he will win.

BEST MINI-SERIES OR TV MOVIE

A Raisin In The Sun(ABC)
Bernard And Doris(HBO)
Cranford(PBS)
John Adams(HBO)
Recount(HBO)

Why the hell do Mini-series still get so much attention.  You could make a mini-series or TV-movie about anything and it would get nominated.

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MINI-SERIES OR TV MOVIE

Judi Dench – Cranford
Catherine Keener – An American Crime
Laura Linney – John Adams
Shirley Maclaine – Coco Chanel
Susan Sarandon – Bernard And Doris

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MINI-SERIES OR TV MOVIE

Ralph Fiennes – Bernard And Doris
Paul Giamatti – John Adams
Kevin Spacey – Recount
Kiefer Sutherland – 24: Redemption
Tom Wilkinson – Recount

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR TV MOVIE

Eileen Atkins – Cranford
Laura Dern – Recount
Melissa George – In Treatment
Rachel Griffiths – Brothers And Sisters
Dianne Wiest – In Treatment

Look at how broad this category is, and these are the nominees?

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR TV MOVIE

Neil Patrick Harris – How I Met Your Mother
Denis Leary – Recount
Jeremy Piven – Entourage
Blair Underwood – In Treatment
Tom Wilkinson – John Adams

I might do something awful if Jeremy Piven wins another award for that role.  He really isn’t that good, and after that first win and the lack of gratitude or even humilty why would they continue to give him these awards?  I want Neil Patrick Harris to win, he’s funny even if his show isn’t (I know it is, but I can’t ignore the laugh track or the outrageous set-ups they give to each and every joke).

So that’s that.  In the end all I really want is for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Happy-Go-Lucky and 30 Rock to win.  Dexter would be nice too.  We’ll see what happens tomorrow.

7 Responses to “The 2008 Golden Globe nominations”


  1. 1 Rosie
    January 10, 2009 at 2:24 am

    I’ve seen both “FROST/NIXON” and “THE CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON”. Frankly, I would give the award to “FROST/NIXON”. It’s not perfect, but it is a tighter movie than “BENJAMIN BUTTON”. The latter is also good, but it has flaws not even seen in “FROST/NIXON”. The main flaw is the movie’s pacing. It’s too damn slow for a movie that is 2 hours and 42 minutes long.

  2. 2 Rosie
    January 10, 2009 at 2:26 am

    I’m surprised that “BURN AFTER READING” was nominated for a Golden Globe award. I think it was a pile of shit. Boring shit that is.

  3. January 10, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    I am going for Batman The Dark Knight All the way. I have seen that movie atleast 10 times and it is still awesome.

  4. 4 Marlene
    January 10, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    I hope that Duchovny takes the globe again.

  5. 5 Anon
    January 11, 2009 at 1:33 am

    “but he wouldn’t have been nominted if he didn’t die. ”

    Sorry, don’t agree. The hype for his acting started months before he died and simply kept escalating. I believe he would’ve gotten all of these lesser nominations if he were alive, but probably not the Oscar. I believe he wouldn’t have gotten an Oscar nom if he were alive, especially after losing the Oscar for Brokeback. If they can look past such a groundbreaking performance as Brokeback’s one why would they award him for playing a clown in a comic book adaptation? This Oscar nom, if he gets it that is, will be a pity award, which is horrible.

  6. 6 Rosie
    January 13, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Because his portrayal of said clown was superb?

    I didn’t buy the hype about Ledger’s performance before I saw the movie. I thought it was a load of crap that stemmed from his death. But in the end, I couldn’t help but be impressed. I thought he was the best thing about that movie, and my opinion of THE DARK KNIGHT isn’t that high.

  7. 7 Cunny
    March 16, 2009 at 7:15 am

    The Oscars tend to give awards retrospectively. If you don’t get the award for something you deserve one year, they’ll give it to you for something that was decent but not Oscar-worthy further down the line. Heath might have got the nomination based on that.


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


