19
Jan
09

413 – There’s No Place Like Home (part 2)

island-disappearing-01413-oceanic-6-raft413-desmond-penny-01

Review:

A recap of this episode would be insanely long, and if you read the last one then you’ll know that it won’t really make sense anyways.  The problem I have with analyzing this episode is that I already did that.. for a month.  I referred readers to my coverage last time and I’ll do it again.  Go here if you want to see all that I said about this episode back in June.  (Note:  I wrote all that jazz way back in June, so I may have changed my mind about a lot of those ideas.  Just don’t hold me to any of the crazy things I said back then.)

But let’s get on with it.

Technically the most important things to happen in this episode are:

-The Oceanic 6 get away

-Ben moves the island

-and Locke is the man in the coffin

All great things, they’ll have a huge bearing on the rest of the show, and especially season 5.  But, to be completely honest the reason why I’ll give this episode a 10.0/10.0 is because Desmond got back with Penny.  I know that it would be just as good without that scene, but that’s the most significant thing in my mind

10.0/10.0

Character Impressions:

Daniel

413-0-daniel-01

-I think Dan and Juliet have more chemistry than Daniel and Charlotte.  (Note: I don’t think these two will ever become a couple.)

-Daniel says that if he leaves Charlotte on the island, she might be stuck there forever.  Is that a reference to living forever?  I believe that Daniel is living forever (or at least longer than usual, ala Richard).  Could he be trying to prevent that same thing from happening to Charlotte?
Or maybe he knows that once you get to the island you’re not supposed to leave.  That’s what it seems like for all the Oceanic survivors.

-It actually looks like Jack and the people on the helicopter were closer to the island than Daniel was in his little boat.

413-desmond-01-Here’s what I think will happen to Daniel out in the ocean: Daniel saving Jin.

Desmond

-I have to say, in general Desmond isn’t very useful.

-I was so relieved when Desmond got out of that bomb room.

-Having Desmond get knocked out in the helicopter crash was so mean.  That was the most stressful part of the episode for me.

413-penny-01Penny

-What would have happened if Penny had got to the island a day or two earlier.  That would have been crazy.

-To say that I wasn’t expecting to see Penny is a huge understatement.  I nearly died, and I did start crying, when Penny came back.  I didn’t care about anything else after that point.  I didn’t care who was in the coffin, what happened to the Oceanic 6 or anything else, that was the “finale” of the episode.

413-hurley-01Hurley

-I forgot that Hurley hasn’t seen Locke since the premiere.  He seems very happy to see him again.

-I don’t like the cut to Hurley’s face when Franks says that he wishes the helicopter was a few hundred pounds lighter.  Hurley’s shame makes me sad.

Ben

413-ben-01

-Ben asks Keamy whether or not Whidmore asked Keamy to kill Alex.  Keamy doesn’t get to answer, that convinces me that the answer is important.   I still believe that Whidmore didn’t want to hurt anyone, I think that Keamy was just crazy.

-So many funny Ben parts in this episode:
The part where Locke doesn’t find the Anthuriums is awesome.
And when he puts the orientation film on for Locke so that he stops asking questions.
He treats him like a child.And when he puts metal things in the chamber.
“That’s dark Jack”.

-I love Ben’s face when Locke asks if this is the magic box.  He’s so disappointed that Locke is still stuck on the “box”.

413-daniel-charlotte-01-Keamy says to Ben, “Where ever you go, Whidmore will find you.  I guess this is a reference to where ever Ben goes after he turns the Frozen Donkey Wheel.  I don’t think he means wherever the island goes, although it could be interpreted as that.

-I really dislike that Ben said that the person who moves the island can never come back.  It makes season 5 seem so impossible.  I hope it wasn’t literal.

Charlotte

413-kate-sawyer-01

-So Charlotte was spending a long time trying to get back to the island.

-She’s also looking for where she was born.  Everyone agrees that she must have been born on the island, right?

Sawyer

-Yeah Sawyer definitely told Kate about Clementine.  After he whispered to her she asks why he told her that.  It seems like a sure thing.

413-juliet-daniel-01Juliet

-Juliet says, “I’ll still be here when you get back.”  Very foreboding.

-Daniel knows that he won’t be coming back for another boat load, but he still lets Juliet stay behind.

-Juliet’s depressed drinking was very sad.  Even more sad after a few viewing because you know that she could have left if she had gone on the boat, or gone on the helicopter any of the times when people left.

Kate

413-jack-kate-aaron-01

-Kate said that when she heard what Locke had to say she knew he was crazy.

-Kate said she has spent the last few years (off the island) trying to forget the horrible things that happened the day they left the island.  I guess she thinks a lot of her friends died.  I guess Locke didn’t tell her that Sawyer survived.

Locke

413-locke-01

-Locke and Jack have a conversation very similar to their argument at the end of season 1.  “It’s not an island, it’s a place where miracles happen.”

-When Locke looks down at The Others it is very similar to how Walt looked down at him in the Dharma Ditch.

Here are some links to what I guessed would happen to Locke after the O6 left: Locke’s On-island problems part 1, part 2, part 3.  In the end I settled on this theory.

413-sayid-01Sayid

-Sayid went to get Hurley after Locke died.  I wonder why there was danger for Hurley after that point.

-I believed the man in the coffin was Sayid until the very end.  It was all just a desire to see him gone though.  I now know that that prediction was ridiculous.  At this point in Lost they would never do something so mundane as to make a big deal about some one like Sayid’s death.  It could only have been Locke (or maybe some other big shot like Whidmore or Christian, but those two are unlikely/impossible).

413-jack-kate-01Jack

-I was very surprised when they continued that scene at the end of season 4.  I’m glad they did.  Seeing Kate tell Jack off was very satisfying.

-How could Jack say “there’s no such thing as miracles” after Sarah’s miraculous surgery.

-I can see why almost everyone else could find a reason to stay on the island, but not Jack.  I don’t know if it’s just a complete mis-reading of his character (I do that a lot) but it seems like he has no place on the island.

413-claire-01-It makes me so mad when Jack says that Locke didn’t move the island.

Claire

-I think it was Rosie (a commenter) who said that Claire spoke in an American accent in Kate’s flashforward.  I don’t know if I agree.

Aaron

413-aaron-hurley-01-I was most concerned about Aaron when the copter crashed (at least until it looked like Desmond died then I transferred all that fear to him).

Jin

-I hate it that Jin stayed in the bomb room.  He wasn’t even doing anything except risking his life.

-The more I watch this episode, the more I believe that Daniel went and got Jin.

413-mr-whidmore-sun-01Sun

-When Sun tells Michael that she’s pregnant I think we were meant to suspect that they had sex.  I suspected it.

-Locke comes out to say to Ben “you killed everyone on that boat”.  If he believes that it makes it all the more likely that he might tell Sun that.

-Sun is really in Shock after the island disappears.  She barely says a word after that point.

Here‘s what I wrote about Sun’s conversation with Whidmore, back in June.  I don’t think I’ve changed my mind about that.

413-michael-01Michael

-You know what’s nice about Michael’s death?  No one killed him.  No one exacted vengence on him, I’m glad of that at least.

-And that’s the end of that.  And we shall never speak of Michael ever again (if only).

Walt

413-walt-01-I was so excited to see Walt.  Even if he was strangely grown up.

-I was so sure that they’d bring Walt back into the show in season 5.  I still hold out some hope (no spoilers if you know anything).  The flashforward story idea gave the writers such a perfect way to solve the actors aging situation.

-How did Walt even know his father went back to the island.  Locke must have told him.

-I doubt Walt really forgave Michael.  He asked Hurley if his father was one of the people left behind on the island and Hurley said yes.  That doesn’t seem like he cares too much, he’s just checking if he was still alive.

413-helicopter-redshirts-01Here‘s what I thought, way back in June, about Walt coming back.

Frank

-It’s pretty awful that none of the redshirts were even given a chance to get on the helicopter.

-I wouldn’t be surprised if at some point Whidmore or some evil character goes after Frank to get answers about the Oceanic 6.

Keamy

413-keamy-01-Keamy asked Ben why Whidmore wanted him so bad.  It’s surprising that he doesn’t know.

After Keamy’s fight with Sayid, and Richard’s subsequent shots to his back I was so scared that everyone on the Freighter died.  What’s wrong with Ben, why didn’t he check his pulse?

Richard

-Richard doesn’t seem to happy to see Ben again.  I guess he really didn’t like him.

413-michael-christian-01Christian

-Oh yeah, Christian was very sarcastic when he said goodbye to Michael.  You can tell that he was laughing at Michael and his fate.  Christian is most definitely the bad guy.

Mr. Friendly

-Who else got flashbacks of Mr. Friendly coming up to the raft in the end of season 2, when Penny’s boat approaches Jack’s lifeboat.

413-pennys-boat-011Flashbacks (what we knew then):

Flashforwards (what we know now):

-How could the island not go into the future?  I know the consensus is that everyone went into the past, but I just can’t believe it.  Pierre says that “although the subject may seem to disappear-” then he gets cut off.  I think it’s very safe to assume that the rabbit went into the future.  The same thing happened to the island, right?  It disappeared, shouldn’t that mean the same thing.

413-ben-frozen-donkey-wheel-01-What I don’t understand about the Frozen Donkey Wheel is why it’s locked up.  Ben must have seen it before but he still had to blow a hole in the back of The Orchid to get to it.  So that implies that Dharma covered it up since it was last used.  That must have been a long time ago.

-Should we be asking how the Oceanic 6 and co. survived the helicopter crash?  We ask how they survived the original plane crash, but no one asks how they all lived through a helicopter crashing in the ocean.

-So who’s left back on the island?  Juliet, Sawyer, Bernard, Rose, Miles, Charlotte, Locke Richard, The Others, and I assume that Daniel and Jin will be rteturning eventually.  There’s no redshirts left anymore, right?  There’s still a lot of nameless Others, but at least they can disappear.  I was really getting sick of all those redshirts and everyones need to save them whenever there was danger.

– Izi

5 Responses to “413 – There’s No Place Like Home (part 2)”


  1. 1 Anon
    January 19, 2009 at 5:54 am

    “Who else got flashbacks of Mr. Friendly coming up to the raft in the end of season 2, when Penny’s boat approaches Jack’s lifeboat.”

    Oh god yes, I was terrfied it’d be pirates and they’d shoot them all or something 😄 Then I only heard the Portugese guy on the boat say “Widmore” not “Ms Widmore” so I was even more terrfied Charles was gonna appear and shoot them all, too! Then when I was crying about Des and Penny, I thought because he “snuck” onto the boat, the crew might see Des and get freaked out then shoot him. Haha, I was SERIOUSLY paranoid in this finale!

    “I forgot that Hurley hasn’t seen Locke since the premiere. He seems very happy to see him again.”

    Jack?

    I thought he looked uncomfortable. He looked more happy to see Sawyer.

    “When Locke looks down at The Others it is very similar to how Walt looked down at him in the Dharma Ditch.”

    True, never noticed that.

    “Seeing Kate tell Jack off was very satisfying.”

    Hell yeah! I jumped up and down when she slapped him.

    “It makes me so mad when Jack says that Locke didn’t move the island.”

    Technically Locke didn’t haha, but I know what you mean, and I’m glad Hurley spoke back to him.

    “I think it was Rosie (a commenter) who said that Claire spoke in an American accent in Kate’s flashforward. I don’t know if I agree.”

    I don’t think she did. I’m Australian and the “r” in “dare” is pretty rounded for me too. I think it’s more accentuated when you’re yelling like Claire was.

    “Sun is really in Shock after the island disappears. She barely says a word after that point.”

    Wow, never noticed that either.

    “When Sun tells Michael that she’s pregnant I think we were meant to suspect that they had sex. I suspected it.”

    I do, too. No wonder she was desperate to know if Jin was the father, she had THREE potential baby daddies!

    “Oh yeah, Christian was very sarcastic when he said goodbye to Michael. You can tell that he was laughing at Michael and his fate. Christian is most definitely the bad guy.”

    I hate Christian, hope he dies in S5 or S6 😀

    “There’s no redshirts left anymore, right? There’s still a lot of nameless Others, but at least they can disappear. I was really getting sick of all those redshirts and everyones need to save them whenever there was danger.”

    I literally never notice them unless they’re in big shots like Locke killing Naomi in S3. Then I’m like “Who the hell are they?? Oh…” 😄

  2. 2 el bocha
    January 19, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    “There’s no redshirts left anymore, right? There’s still a lot of nameless Others, but at least they can disappear. I was really getting sick of all those redshirts and everyones need to save them whenever there was danger.”

    The promos show that there are still a couple of redshirts on the island, unless they belong to another group but I don’t think so…

    TWO MORE DAYS, I CAN’T WAIT!!!

  3. July 11, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    [“You know what’s nice about Michael’s death? No one killed him. No one exacted vengence on him, I’m glad of that at least.

    -And that’s the end of that. And we shall never speak of Michael ever again (if only).”]

    Why do you hate Michael so much?

    • July 11, 2011 at 5:20 pm

      Oh Rosie. Your dedication would be commendable if it wasn’t so ridiculously annoying.

  4. 5 Lee
    November 19, 2011 at 10:56 am

    After watching this episode, it occurred to me that Michael had finally found peace. This is why I never understood Cuse and Lindehof’s decision to allow Michael to be stuck as one of the ghosts on the island. I guess they were simply kowtowing to fandom’s hatred of him. It seemed a shame that it took so long for castaways such as Kate, Sawyer, Locke and Sayid to feel any guilt or remorse for their crimes. Sometimes, I think that many fans forget this, when they are so intent upon bashing MIchael.

    “It makes me so mad when Jack says that Locke didn’t move the island.”

    Why? It makes a lot of sense for Jack to react that way. Both he and Kate wanted to get off that island so badly that they ignored Charlie’s warning about Naomi. And both were determined to label Locke “crazy”, because they wanted to forget what happened on the island or pretend that nothing strange or supernatural ever happened.

    I wasn’t that impressed by Kate’s rant at the L.A. airport. By that time, she still believed that Locke was crazy. And even more than Jack, she didn’t want to acknowledge how special the island was. I guess living a life of illusions was easier for her and (to a lesser extent) Jack.


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


