04
Feb
09

504 – The Little Prince

504-group-01

Review:

This episode is the new version of the old running through the jungle episodes.  The majority of the episode is running around in panic, rather than serious story development.

Off the island things were mostly about Kate and her trouble with the law (how new).  Kate is trying to find some way to keep Aaron away from whomever is trying to separate them.  Through a flashback and time travel we are reminded why Kate feels so strongly about Aaron.  Her love for her adopted son is truly touching.  Seeing her at Aaron’s birth and now in modern times really made me believe in the destiny that they’ve been talking about.  It was a little sad to see Claire’s mom, but I think it all ended well, as long as she doesn’t know about Aaron she’s happy.

On the island it’s more stumbling through jungles and time.  Nosebleeds abound and Daniel offers a slightly satisfactory explanation.  They also seem to travel to the future (post-Donkey Wheel turning).  In the future they find some outriggers and water bottles.  This is the first mention of Ajira airlines, and I’m sure it will be very important in the future, that definitely felt like a set-up.  They are also shot at by these new island residents (I’ll call them the Ajira Assemblage?  It might catch on).

Jin returns!  More importantly Rousseau is back, and this time she’s making sense.  It looks like we might actually get some info from her in the next episode.  Huzzah!  (I’m not trying to ignore Jin’s return, but it was so obvious that I don’t feel the need to make a huge deal about it.  Yes I’m excited too.)

(Note: you can ignore all that crap in the second paragraph about Kate and my feelings.  I’m just screwing with Rosie, a frequent commenter.  She is obsessed with the custody of Aaron, and she hates Kate.  I couldn’t care less about that storyline.  Although I will say that I knew it was Ben behind the lawyer.  The reason why I wrote all that was to see how much of my revlysis she actually reads, I’m betting that I angered her enough with that paragraph to send her straight to the comments.)

All in all this episode was underwhelming.  Kate and Aaron bore me, and the Oceanic 6 storyline almost became engaging when Sun got a gun, but the exciting part seems to be delayed until next week.  Nothing really happened to the main group on the island, they just stumbled around and bled from their noses.  Not a big contribution.  It’s great to see Jin again, and glorious to see Rousseau, but I think the payoff for those two appearances will be later.  And the Ajira thing was also hopeful, but it’s all future excitement.

3.0/10.0  It’s not that I hated this episode, it just didn’t have much to offer.

Character Impressions:

504-hurley-01Daniel

-Daniel is still hiding more about the nosebleeds.

Hurley

-So Hurley’s in the lockup.  But Ben still seems completely confident that he can get him.  I guess that lawyer has some good points, but that picture of him with the gun is pretty damning.  Maybe Ben just needs a “temporary” release.

504-lawyer-ben-01Ben

-My money was on Ben hiring that lawyer.  1 point for me, anyone keeping track?  I think I’m at a solid -300.

-How far was Ben going to take the maternity test thing?  Did he really want to take Aaron?  I figured he just wanted to scare Kate, make her nice and desperate, then swoop in with a nice alternative… going to the island.  But the lawyer was confident that his client was going to take over custody.  That could have just been misdirection, pointing to Claire’s mom.  Or it could have been true.  Perhaps Ben thought that he could get Aaron and use him as bate for Kate.

-Ben led everyone down to the dock.  Does he expect to get everyone to the island on a boat?

504-juliet-01-Kate brings up a good point, was it just a coincidence that Claire’s moms lawyer was the same as Ben’s?  It could have been simple misdirection to make us suspect Claire’s mom.  But it’s a bit of a crazy coincidence.  Is Ben somehow involved with the Oceanic settlements or with Oceanic itself?

Juliet

-Juliet’s nosebleed (see below).

504-charlotte-daniel-011Charlotte

-Charlotte wakes up with no memories.  I wonder if her mind reverted to some earlier time.  It didn’t last long though, I’ll ignore it for now.

Sawyer

-Sawyer still doesn’t get the time travel thing.  He suggests that Locke go warn his past self not to make the same mistakes.  Tsk.

504-locke-charlotte-01Locke

-I’m surprised that Locke is so willing to leave the island.  He comes up with the idea to go back to the Orchid and convince everyone to come back.  I’m surprised they came up with that so fast.

-It’s funny that Locke believes that the light from The Hatch was important again.

Miles

504-miles-daniel-01-I found it very comforting when Miles’ nose started bleeding.  It makes it far less likely that anyone will die.  (see below)

-Miles doesn’t seem to know that he was on the island before.  I take it that this is proof that Miles is Pierre’s crying child.

Sayid

-Sayid is making me very curious (I never thought that would happen).  What made him turn on Ben?

Kate

504-kate-01-Kate knew that Claire was flying to L.A. to give Aaron up for adoption, that’s how she justified keeping him.  They even flashed back to Dues Ex Machina to prove to us that Claire was unsure about having Aaron.

-Kate to Jack, “I’ve always been with you.”  Except in a certain cage.

-I was surprised that Kate figured out Ben’s trick so quickly, that’s very unusual for this show.

Aaron

-Aaron is the easiest kid to look after.  I might “adopt” him too, if I were Kate.

504-claires-mom-01Jack

-So Jack knew from the beginning that The Lie wasn’t going to sit well with the Oceanic 6.  He had to get assurance from Kate that she would back him up.

-How much did Jack tell Claire’s mom?  Surely she would have been pretty suspicious after Jack just burst into her hotel room.

Jin

504-jin-01

-Jin was only missing for three episodes, but it certainly seemed like a longer time.

Sun

-My cousin almost convinced me that Sun was the person behind the lawyer.. almost.

-What is Sun’s plan?  She’s just going to walk over to Ben and shoot him.  The next episode’s going to be fun.

504-rousseau-01Rousseau

-They gave us this story pretty quick, how comforting.  I can’t wait for next week.

-When Rousseau’s group landed they checked their walkie-talkie’s and heard the iteration thing.  So what was the message before Danielle changed it?

-Does anyone have a link to a translation for Rousseau’s crew?  It seemed important (although I think I heard something about a baguette).

504-jin-rousseau-crew-01-Rousseau’s crew is surprisingly sane (and stylish, seriously, she landed there with two male models).

Flashes (what we know now):

Nosebleeds

The nosebleeds are from confused internal clocks.  It sounds like you’ll get the nosebleeds if you have a history on the island.  That would explain why Charlotte, Miles and Juliet are effected.  I’m guessing that the longer this goes on the more people will be effected and for a longer time.
I’m still confused as to why Juliet flashed with everyone else, this nosebleed situation threw another question into the mix.

504-juliet-locke-01Beach People

The Zodiac is gone, and so is Vincent.  Very strange.  The only other characters that we know that are flashing through time are Rose and Bernard (and Jin, but he’s accounted for).  Would they have taken the Zodiac away?  Seems strange.

Ajira

504-miles-sawyer-locke-charlotte-01What happened with that Ajira Airlines ARG thing?  Did that lead to any info?  I figured that Ajira was the airline that Ben would take the Oceanic 6 on to crash on the island.  But that seems unlikely now.  Those people could be other Ajira survivors, but then where did they get those canoesfrom?  The canoes are “old,” could they be Other’s paraphernalia?  I doubt it, Juliet showed no recognition.

Time Paradoxes (paradoxi?)

504-jin-rousseau-01I thought i understood this time travel thing, they could go back in time and do whatever they wanted, except that couldn’t contact anyone who knew met them later.  This would make their future meeting not make sense.  They can’t change anything in the past either.  So how did Jin talk to Rousseau?  I can understand Locke talking to Richard, he’s special.  But Jun seems to have broken the rules.  I’ve decided to stop asking these kind of questions though.  They can do anything in the past as long as it wasn’t caught on camera.  So the past is completely alterable unless it happened in seasons 1-4 or in flashbacks.  And that’s that.

– Izi

13 Responses to “504 – The Little Prince”


  1. 1 jcm
    February 5, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Best line from the episode:
    “Whose boats are these? Other-others?” – Sawyer
    I’m not sure of the exact wording of his phrase but “other-others” had me laughing pretty good. This line ranks up there with Charlie saying in Season 1 “I don’t know my bloody blood type!” or Hurley saying in Season 3 “Bear, is that you?”. Classic.

  2. 2 Guy
    February 5, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I really don’t understand your ratings system. 3 out of ten for an episode that was necessary build up to the following episodes, was relatively enjoyable, and you seemed to find okay. What the hell? 3 out of 10 is a terrible score!

  3. February 5, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    @ Guy
    I wasn’t really feeling very charitable last night. (conspiratorial whisper: to tell you the truth I don’t really focus on my ratings, I wouldn’t pay too much attention to them.) When I rate the episodes I look for a few things, mythological developments, epicness, and when the story focuses on characters that I find intriguing. When I did revlysis’ for the old episodes I gave set-up episodes higher scores because I could see the payoff and I appreciated the great set-ups. But right now Ajira is just a word, Jin was only back for a few seconds and this wasn’t the long awaited Rousseau episode. So.. yeah.
    I’ve actually been meaning to set up a poll to see what you readers would rate the episodes, but I can’t get the polling app in WordPress to do that kind of stuff. Sorry.
    – izi

  4. 4 Anon
    February 5, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    “-Kate to Jack, “I’ve always been with you.” Except in a certain cage.”

    Lmao, so true. Judging by next weeks promo, “YOU’RE CRAZY! JACK! DONT!”, she’s not so with him anymore.

  5. 5 missscarlett
    February 5, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    My cousin almost convinced me that Sun was the person behind the lawyer.. almost.

    Was that me? Did I try to convince you when I wasn’t convinced? Hilarious — if it was an Other cousin – please disregard.

    laughing at your reference to the cage — i did that too!

    ithought I heard baguette myself!

    and doesn’t look like anything is going on with the ajira arg — could it still develop? not likely given the whole dharma volunteer game
    is it just me or are these guys losing interest themselves??

    liked ‘paradoxii’! good new word

  6. 6 missscarlett
    February 6, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Here’s a translation link:

    http://nikkistafford.blogspot.com/2009/02/lost-504-french-translation.html

  7. 7 Rosie
    February 12, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    “Kate knew that Claire was flying to L.A. to give Aaron up for adoption, that’s how she justified keeping him. They even flashed back to Dues Ex Machina to prove to us that Claire was unsure about having Aaron.”

    I think that my opinion of Kate had sunk to an all time low in this episode.

  8. 8 missscarlett
    February 15, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Rosie: I didn’t know you had any positive views on Kate to lose!
    You’re a trickster.

  9. 9 Jeremiah
    February 17, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    There are certain requirements for booking a flight on Ajira. It’s sort of complicated but the gist of it was that there were 10 adults flying from L.A. to Guam on one-way tickets, flight 316. In the process, you got glimpses of a couple new characters and a new Dharma station logo. @Miss Scarlett, I think this year’s ARG was scaled back due to budget cuts more than lack of interest.

  10. October 8, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Hahaha, I can’t believe someone actually fell for that. I don’t believe any of that little trick. I was just messing with a commenter who, like you, hates Kate. If you had read down a little farther you would have discovered that.

  11. October 8, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Wait a minute… this totally is Rosie, isn’t it?
    Oh you’re very clever dear.


Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


