12
Feb
09

505 – This Place is Death

505-smokey-rousseau-crew-01

Review:

Apparently I had very low and narrow expectations for this episode.  I expected to get Rousseau’s story, so when I got that before the second commercial break I was a little surprised.  This episode had it all.  I still can’t even believe it.  Smokey, Christian, The Frozen Donkey Wheel, The Temple, Charlotte’s death, Charlotte’s backstory, Mrs. Hawking, Desmond.  All I wanted was Rousseau, this is like buying a bag of chips and finding money inside (whoa, that was a weak simile, I really shouldn’t write these things so late.)

So we got to see what happened to Rousseau, it was surprising, and satisfying.  I expected to see more, but I can fill all the blanks in.  I wouldn’t mind seeing Ben take Alex, but that was hinted at in this episode so I guess that’s enough.  Did anyone see Smokey coming?  I never factored him (it?) into her story at all.  And the Temple!  Really shocking and interesting developments.

Charlotte dying was unfortunate.  Ironically I am accepting this death well.  I don’t even know if it’s definite, but it really felt that way.  The recurring guest star thing was way too much of a tip-off.  But I’m glad she told us her true backstory.  It’s something that we can guess about for a long time now.  I doubt we’ll be getting many answers, but it’s fun to have these guessing games.  (Why am I so OK with her death, I held out hope that Rousseau was alive for a long time, I even came up with many theories to keep Nikki and Paulo alive.  And now Charlotte dies and I don’t even care, I really liked Charlotte too.  I’m weird.)

The Sun and Jin jazz was pretty good too.  I actually felt bad for Jin, he just got back to the land of the living and he already laid his own life aside to protect Sun’s.  Sad.

And suddenly Mrs. Hawking is the last hope for mankind, everyone converges on her at once.

This episode was intense, and I won’t be forgetting it soon.  I’d have given it a high score for the first 15 minutes, but it just kept going and going.  And a huge improvement from the last episode.  10.0/10.0

(Note: This is one of those prolific episodes that you can base a lot of theories on, not unlike “The Man Behind the Curtain” or “Cabin Fever”.  If you have any theories about this episode, or if you know of any good theories about this episode on other sites please tell me about them in the comments.)

Character Impressions:

505-rousseau-robert-01Rousseau

-So Rousseau did see Smokey.  She says she doesn’t believe in monsters, maybe that’s just because she saw Smokey so clearly she recognized that it wasn’t the monster that the Oceanic survivors believed it to be in the beginning.

-It was tragic to see Rousseau go from being an innocent, friendly character to a crazed, murderous woman.  I didn’t really expect them to be able to show that so well, but it came across easily.

-Rousseau shouldn’t have been willing to go to the Temple when Ben sent her there in season 4.  I guess we can explain that, and most of her other inconsistencies, with her craziness, she probably just forgot about all of that in her insanity.  How conveniently vague.

505-crew-montands-arm-01Montand

-So that’s what happened to Montand’s arm.  I didn’t see that coming.  There’s confirmation that Montand was Pierre, in case anyone still believed that.

-Does anyone else recognize the voice saying the Numbers?  I wouldn’t have been surprised if it was Sawyer or Miles or any of our characters.  If we ever do see the origins of the Numbers then I’ll bet we’ll see who recorded that.  I doubt we’ll get any background info on the Number though.

-Rousseau’s crew was mighty brave to go chasing after Montand like that.

-I had flashes of Will Farrell’s character in Austin Powers when Montand was yelling up from under the temple.

505-robert-011Robert

-I could recognize a French Canadian accent like Robert’s anywhere.  Perhaps they’re not so French after all.

-I still can’t believe that Robert tried to shoot Rousseau.  I knew it would happen, and yet it still shocked me.

Smokey

505-smokey-01-If you ask me, Smokey sounded more like a Polar Bear at first.

-“It’s a security system guarding that Temple.”  Well that was simple.  Let’s all go to the Temple please.  That’s where we’re going to get Smokey info from.

-For some reason I found it significant that Nadine died in the same way as the pilot in the premiere.

Daniel

505-daniel-01-Daniel doesn’t seem to expect things to change once everyone is back on the island.  That’s not encouraging.  How odd that his mother is the source of that theory (I assume).  Where’s Richard, he could explain it.  Richard and Daniel together, imagine all the info we could get from them, if only they would say more than just sentence fragments.

-So Daniel needs to find Charlotte when she’s younger and tell her that she needs to not come back to the island, that seems odd.  He knows he can’t change anything in the past, why would he try to tell her something like that?  Perhaps he goes crazy, that would explain why she was afraid of him.

505-mrs-hawking-01-Daniel has a lot of faith in his mother.  I guess she’s probably their best chance.

Mrs. Hawking

-“I suppose it will have to do for now.”  Can she send these two/three; Sun, Jack and perhaps Desmond; to the island?  I presume that she only knows the way, I doubt she can actually get them there.  She has a location and a plan, I doubt she has a means.

505-desmond-01Desmond

-I really wanted to see Desmond’s reaction to Mrs. Hawking.  Does he even remember her?  Desmond stared a little, but that could have just been because he was surprised that Daniel named a test mouse after his own mousy looking mother (hahaha, I’m really tired).

Ben

505-ben-01-It seems obvious to me that Ben wanted to scare Kate with that custody stuff to get her to want to take Aaron to the safety of the island.  But when she asks him why he says, “because he’s not your son, Kate.”  Should I just assume that was a fake reason?  Or does he really feel the need to take Aaron back to Claire.  Maybe he was saying that Aaron should go back to the island regardless of what Kate thinks because she’s not his mother.

505-jack-ben-sun-01-I was so desperate to hear what Ben’s proof of Jin’s life was.  Obviously there wasn’t anything that could prove it until Jin gave Locke his ring.

-It was great when Ben knocked Sun and Jack down a notch.  It was all an act of course, but he needed to do something to make them stop treating him like an expendable character.  It was an amazing act of self preservation disguised as human feeling.

-I don’t think that Ben knew that Daniel was Mrs. Hawking’s son.  That was a very interesting reaction when he did found out.  Will he be angry that she didn’t tell him?  He hasn’t actually met Daniel yet, he’s only researched him when he found out he was from the Freighter.

505-group-012Charlotte

-When Charlotte revealed that she could speak Korean, I was slightly relieved, I thought she had a reason to stick around.  I was wrong.

-Some of Charlotte’s lines were hilarious, I think the writers did that to ease her death.
Apparently she can speak Klingon.
“I know more about ancient Carthage(?) than Hannibal himself.”  I think it’s her face that makes this line funny, she just looks so self-satisfied.
“Oh turn it up, I love Geronimo Jackson.”  I presume that’s an on-island flashback line, Geronimo Jackson seems to be one of the few albums on the island.

505-charlotte-01-“This place is death”, I really disagree with that.  I really like the island.  I want everyone to want to go back there, lines like that really don’t help.  (This is not an example of one of Charlotte’s funny lines.)  But in all seriousness this is my ideal outcome, everyone getting back to the island and living a nice happy life there.

-Here are some of her more revealing quotes:
“Why can’t Daddy come with us?”  At first I disregarded this line, but it seems to be about her mom leaving her father on the island.
“You know what my mom would say about you marrying an American.”  That could easily be Charlotte talking to/about someone we know, perhaps she said that to Penny, or maybe even that girl that Daniel tested on.  It must have been some non-American.  Maybe it was someone marrying one of our characters.
“Look at the well, you’ll find it at the well.”  It’s surprising that she knew anything about the Frozen Donkey Wheel.  Maybe she was just omniscient at that moment, one of those all-knowing moments that the characters sometimes have..

505-charlotte-02-When Charlotte told Jin not to bring Sun back that was just her trying to prevent other people from suffering from the same fate as her…right?  I don’t think it’s the same as the way Hurley tells Jack not to raise Aaron, or how Claire tells Kate not to bring Aaron back.   On second thought, perhaps it is the same thing.  Maybe Claire didn’t want Aaron to go back before the island stopped skipping.

-Charlotte telling Daniel everything was pretty crazy.  Her story made almost complete sense.  Her mom brainwashing her was a surprising development.  Now we’re left to guess who her father is.  I guess Widmore is the best guess.  It can’t be Ben, or Richard.  It could be Horace, or maybe Ben’s dad (gross).

505-miles-01Miles

-So if Charlotte was born on the island and stayed long enough to kill her, and Miles was born there, but he’s barely effected (he’s had a nosebleed for a while, but he hasn’t slowed down yet) then I guess that means that he didn’t stay on the island very long.  He must have left while he was still a toddler.  It explains why he had no memory of his origins there.

Sawyer

-I really enjoyed Sawyer’s slight racism towards Miles.

-Sawyer popped his nosebleed cherry (eww, that’s really not a pleasant metaphor).  I guess everyone is at risk now.  I was hoping that the Oceanic group would be immune since they’ve only been there a few months.

505-locke-frozen-donkey-wheel-02Locke

-I never expected people on the island having a problem with Locke and Ben’s plan to get everyone to get back the island.  Jin and Charlotte’s protests towards his plan surprised me.

-It’s outrageous that Locke was so willing to leave Charlotte behind in the jungle.

505-locke-01-I’m glad that Locke kept his word to Jin.  He didn’t tell Sun the truth.  So now Ben is left to be the guilty one, which is what he’s good at.

-So now everyone left on the island believes that Locke is dead.  That’s nice.

-Why did Locke have to have such a nasty injury?  Why can’t legs just be broken without the jutting bone.

-Here’s another time when Locke completely accepts his fate.  He’s completely willing to leave the island, the one place that he was happy, to die in the real world, all of that to bring his friends back to the island.

505-christian-01Christian

-Christian didn’t seem to hopeful regarding Locke’s death.  I would have thought that if anyone was going to be encouraging in the whole “being dead” thing it would be Christian.

-Still no sign of Jacob.  Christian even implies that Locke went looking for him.  It’s a complete coup.

505-christian-02-I’m kinda surprised that Christian couldn’t even help Locke.  After we saw him holding Aaron I was pretty sure that he was a solid being.

-Christian knows who Mrs. Hawking is, and he trusts her.  I didn’t expect that.  Perhaps everyone, good and bad, relies on her to get to the island.

-My least favorite thing about Christian is his shirts.  Why can’t he leave his top button undone?

Sayid

505-jin-locke-01-Sayid’s throwing random threats around.  He said that he would hurt both Ben and Jack next time they met.

Jack

-I think this episode settles the whole, Sun blaming Jack thing.  She kinda blamed him, but not really.  And he apologized.. and he’s alive so the issue is over.

Jin

505-ji-yeon-01

-It’s so nice that Jin is bilingual now, mostly.

Sun

-Sun didn’t seem to want to talk to Ji Yeon, perhaps it was just because she was expecting to murder someone in half a second.

Ji Yeon

-Look, Ji Yeon is real, and she’s cute.  Of course it’s always cute to watch little kids speak a foreign language.

505-group-the-well-01-Did Ji Yeon just get set up with Aaron?

Flashes (what we know now):

The Well

The Well is pretty mysterious, it appears to be the same stonework as The Temple and Ben’s door, that makes it pretty ancient, I wonder if it was covered up after it was discovered or perhaps they flashed into the past before it was made.

505-locke-frozen-donkey-wheel-01The Frozen Donkey Wheel

The Wheel was off it’s axle.  Was that it?  Is the skipping done with?  Why does everyone need to come back still?  I hope the skipping isn’t over, I’d like to see more of the island’s history.

Smokey and the Temple

So Smokey is still a security system, but now it just protects the Temple.

505-rousseau-jin-temple-01

Smokey also seems to be very persuasive.  Once people go down into it’s underground lair they appear to become under It’s will.  They kill without thought, and they can emulate human emotions but not feel them.  This sounds a lot like The Others.  Could part of their orientation be The Temple?  Ben seemed to treat the Temple like a refuge.  The Others would go there to escape danger.  Does that mean that The Others would be under Smokey’s protection if they were at the Temple?  It would seem so.
505-temple-011Back to Smokey’s persuasiveness.  As soon as Montand got under the Temple he called up saying that he was fine and asking the others to go down there too.  Do you think he changed immediately?  If I had just lost my arm and been dragged underground by a mechanical cloud of smokey which just killed my friend and took me back to his underground lair, I think I would be more panicked.  Maybe that’s me.  And what about Robert.  He completely changed characters, he still remembered Rousseau and he still knew how to affect her emotionally, but he was completely unattached.  He was willing to kill her.  That’s some quick and effective brainwashing.  I’m pretty sure that this is part of The Others orientation.
What that implies is that those who wouldn’t pass Smokey’s test and turn into his pawns would simply be killed, that could explain his scanning.

Hijack: this is so far beside the point that it’s ridiculous.  During the show my favorite commercial was on, I don’t watch commercials except on Wednesdays.  It’s the Jack in the Box commercial where the office workers are trying to guess what’s in the bowls.  At one point some one yells out “Curds and Whey”.  I don’t know why but that got me laughing hysterically the first time I heard it.)

– Izi

24 Responses to “505 – This Place is Death”


  1. 1 Bones
    February 12, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I’m actually glad Charlotte’s dead. She was getting more useless by the second. Kind of like Charlie earlier. However her past is interesting. She knew Daniel from her childhood. If they stop moving through time now, he’s gonna have to go back and hang out with Dharma at some point. Oy.

    Now, the wheel is a very interesting thing at this point. Ben turns it and apparently knocks it off its axis (axle?) in 2005, causing the island skipping. Yet when the island jumps through time, the wheel stays that way much like the survivors we’ve been following. It was obviously a special object/location, and this property makes it even more so. Also will they be sent back to 2005, or stay in whatever time they were in when he turned it?

    As far as Christian being a ghost or non-physical form, I don’t think he is. He was holding Aaron and a lamp for one. I think what he meant by not being able to help Locke is that Locke had to do these things himself. This was his task and his struggle. Compare this to helping a moth emerge from its cocoon, the same metaphor Locke used to help Charlie get off the horse. Locke had to do this himself.

  2. 2 hi dee
    February 12, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    great recap, great episode.

    what surprised me was how quickly Danielle’s team “got infected”. When we first heard old Danielle’s story it seemed like it was an event that took a period of time. interesting. well, to me anyway.

    loved when Ben flipped out at Jack and Sun. Hilarious!! I cannot wait to find out his “Real deal”…..

    Jin was never a favourite of mine. the whole sun/jin story. meh, can take them or leave them. but I enjoyed Jin last night. poor guy. finally learns enough English to get by and now he’s stuck with Frenchies!! can’t cut a break! oh, and Sawyer assuming Miles could communicate with him. pure hilarity!!

  3. 3 Anon
    February 12, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    It was sad when Charlotte died, as its sad when anyone dies and especially since she seemed to be a child in her mind when it happened. But I wasn’t AS affected by it as I was by someone like Boone or Ana and Libby, I think because Charlotte dying was just one of like 3030044 things that happened this episode.

    I didn’t see Ben’s tantrum as fake. I think the real world is starting to grate on him. All his life he’s been the leader of a little “fake” world, never really having to deal with real people issues. Now he’s been thrown into the real world and was alone for most of it. Once he started seeing the O6 again, he started realising how lying doesn’t work as well off island. When he asked Sayid why he decided to save Hugo, that’s Ben wondering how friendship works. How loyalty works. Then he tried it out with Hugo but of course his reputation is set in people’s minds. Then to hear Sun and Jack talking about him in such a disposable way, with no island to keep him from being killed, made him furious that they couldn’t just accept him trying to help them and seeing HIM (here we go!) as just a pawn. The tables have been turned and Benry doesn’t like it one bit. Or at the very least, he doesn’t understand it yet.

  4. February 12, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    @Bones, I liked Charlotte as a person, but I’m not devestated that she left. The fact that she was an Anthropologist was interesting and I believed that we would get to see a lot about the island because of that. But it turns out there’s no need to look at the ruins on the island when you can go back in time. I actually found the actress to be hilarious in her interviews, which surprised me.
    You may be right about the Donkey Wheel’s axis, that makes more sense than axle (apparenlty I’m a little deaf).
    @Anon, that’s a very interesting take on Ben. I enjoy watching his conniving so much that I don’t take anything he says at face value. But you’re right, he’s out of his element and it likely is very disturbing for him.
    – izi

  5. 5 Rosie
    February 12, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Why didn’t Ben and Jack just take Aaron? They wouldn’t be kidnapping. Kate, Jack and the Oceanic Six had already committed that act. What was the point of Charlotte’s death in the story? We had to wait until after Rousseau’s death to learn about her backstory? How did Jin survive the freighter’s destruction and get caught up in the island’s time jumps? Has anyone noticed that the whole time fracture scenario resembles an episode from a certain TREK series?

    What is this series about?

  6. 6 Rosie
    February 12, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    “On second thought, perhaps it is the same thing. Maybe Claire didn’t want Aaron to go back before the island stopped skipping.”

    Or perhaps that dream was Kate’s imagination?

  7. February 12, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    @Rosie, You done yet?
    “Why didn’t Ben and Jack just take Aaron?”
    I don’t think I’d like to see a cold-turkey Jack, and a cold-hearted Ben kidnap Aaron. That might make for some awkward and uninteresting “two men and a baby” episodes.
    “What was the point of Charlotte’s death in the story?”
    Charlotte died as a redshirt, to prove that the situation was dangerous. If she didn’t die then there would be no danger from the skipping. Our group would just enjoy their tour through history, but now they know that they are all in mortal danger if these skips keep happening. Now their’s urgency, sure the noebleeds were threatening, but that wasn’t REAL enough. Now the urgency for everyone to come back is amped up. And Charlotte specifically died mostly because she was a recurring guest and not a full star. Her character had a single purpose, to study ruins on the island, and that was made moot by the skipping.
    “We had to wait until after Rousseau’s death to learn about her backstory?”
    It doesn’t matter that Rousseau died before we got her story, we got it. That’s exciting enough. It would have been a little odd if Rousseau has survived was running through the jungles while the island was skipping. And besides, she would have died like Charlotte too, she was on the island for longer (I presume) 16 years.
    “How did Jin survive the freighter’s destruction and get caught up in the island’s time jumps?”
    Jin survived because we didn’t get to see him die in slow motion with sad music, that is the only kind of definite death that Lost ever gives. I guess there’s also the slow and quiet way, but that doesn’t happen often.
    “Has anyone noticed that the whole time fracture scenario resembles an episode from a certain TREK series?”
    No I haven’t noticed any resmblence to a TREK series. But that’s because I don’t watch any TREK series (the costumes are ill-fitting, and that bothers me).
    “What is this series about?”
    It’s not only about Aaron’s custody confusion. It’s about many complicated sci-fi things. Maybe it’s not your cup of tea.
    “Or perhaps that dream was Kate’s imagination?”
    I’m not sure if this is really a question. Maybe? I doubt it, hallucinations don’t really progress the story along.

    I have a question for you Rosie, did you read ALL of my “The Little Prince” revlysis?
    – izi

  8. 8 Anon
    February 13, 2009 at 2:23 am

    We didn’t get Rousseau’s back story until now because JIN IS A PART OF IT!!! He always was, how exactly would they have explained that until now? DUH!

  9. 9 Rosie
    February 13, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I don’t think I’d like to see a cold-turkey Jack, and a cold-hearted Ben kidnap Aaron. That might make for some awkward and uninteresting “two men and a baby” episodes.

    Considering that the previous episode showed Kate claiming Aaron as her own for very selfish reasons and viewing Carole Littleton as a kidnapper, despite the fact that the latter had a better claim on Aaron, I really didn’t see the problem with Jack and Ben simply taking Aaron.

    Charlotte died as a redshirt, to prove that the situation was dangerous. If she didn’t die then there would be no danger from the skipping. Our group would just enjoy their tour through history, but now they know that they are all in mortal danger if these skips keep happening. Now their’s urgency, sure the noebleeds were threatening, but that wasn’t REAL enough. Now the urgency for everyone to come back is amped up. And Charlotte specifically died mostly because she was a recurring guest and not a full star. Her character had a single purpose, to study ruins on the island, and that was made moot by the skipping.

    They could have done more with her, considering that she was introduced discovering the remains of a polar bear in Tunisia. How sad.

    Jin survived because we didn’t get to see him die in slow motion with sad music, that is the only kind of definite death that Lost ever gives. I guess there’s also the slow and quiet way, but that doesn’t happen often.

    In other words, Cuse and Lindehof left the issue of Jin’s “death” questionable for some contrived drama. I get it.

    No I haven’t noticed any resmblence to a TREK series. But that’s because I don’t watch any TREK series (the costumes are ill-fitting, and that bothers me).

    Too bad, because this whole time fracture storyline reminds me of an episode from “STAR TREK VOYAGER”.

    It’s not only about Aaron’s custody confusion. It’s about many complicated sci-fi things. Maybe it’s not your cup of tea.

    I’m beginning to think you’re right. In fact, I’m beginning to wonder if Abrams, Cuse and Lindehof knew what the hell they were doing when this series was created.

  10. 10 lvgirl
    February 13, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    It’s always bothered me how the Others can so easily take lives and now after seeing (well sorta seeing) what happens to people after they have been down in that temple answers a few questions. It seems obvious to me that Rouseau’s team other than her and Jin were “brainwashed”. She called it a sickness for perhaps lack of terms because how do you say all my friends including my husband turned on me and tried to kill me. It looks to me like she had to kill them in self defense.

    All others including those kidnapped from 815 seem to have this oneness- every other except for Juliet. She knows all the “other” stuff- latin, dharma stations, but she doesn’t have a oneness with the island and she is the only other that is skipping around in time with the losties.

    Why are the other immune to the skipping? If being on the island the longest causes the nosebleeds, then they would all be dying or have died. Questions get answered and more questions come up.

    I love it when Ben gets cranky at people…it just for a second shows a bit of his humanity.

    PS Rosie- quit complaining…be thankful there is such a wonderful thought provoking show as Lost out there. The rest of Television pales in comparison past and present.

  11. 11 Rosie
    February 13, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    PS Rosie- quit complaining…be thankful there is such a wonderful thought provoking show as Lost out there.

    One, I dislike it when someone tells me to stop complaining. I find it just as irritating as you find my complaints.

    Two, I no longer think that LOST is a wonderful and thought provoking show. I think it tries to be . . . but as I’m finally beginning to realize, it is overrated. I feel that it will never achieve its true potential, due to the flaky writing supervised by Cuse and Lindehof.

    I’m sorry, but I had to let it out.

    People keep telling me to stop complaining or that LOST is the creme de la creme on television. Yet, know one seems capable of telling me what this series is truly about. And it will end in a little over a year from now.

  12. 12 Rosie
    February 13, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    The rest of Television pales in comparison past and present.

    You have got to be joking. That is the funniest sentence I have ever read.

  13. 13 Anon
    February 13, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Rosie, do us all a favour and either stop watching the show or stop posting here. You’re nothing but a waste of space now. You have nothing valuable to contribute and you’re considered a joke amongst us here at NCJL. Find something useful to do with your time. Continually hating on a fictional tv series is utterly pointless and tragically pathetic.

  14. February 13, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Oh thank god. Virtual high five to lvgril and Anon. I am so glad that other people are annoyed by her. I thought that my mocking of Rosie would scare away other commenters.
    I don’t understand you Rosie. Who has time to watch a show or read a blog about a show that they don’t enjoy? And not just any blog, this blog. My blog involves a lot of reading (I should probably write smaller posts). How can you let yourself read and then comment on this blog? I checked back at some of your other comments, you’ve been reading this blog for four months, and you’ve commented 72 times! Within the first week you grew outraged at my opinions and I asked you to leave. Who the hell has the time to keep coming back to a blog that they don’t enjoy? And how do you have the audacity (I love that word) to keep on commenting here?
    You may have noticed that I have never blocked your comments, I could, but I won’t, I would consider that extremely rude. So in the politest possible way I ask you, PLEASE LEAVE.
    – izi

  15. 15 Anon
    February 14, 2009 at 12:13 am

    “I should probably write smaller posts”

    Long posts FTW!

  16. February 14, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    this is like buying a bag of chips and finding money inside

    Thanks for making me laugh out loud!

    But did Rosseau know that place was the Temple? (nevermind!) Or could the difference be that she believed because it was Ben that was sending her that they would be ok?

    I had flashes of Will Farrell’s character in Austin Powers when Montand was yelling up from under the temple.
    Why don’t I even know what that means??

    if only they would say more than just sentence fragments.
    Precisely what I was thinking when you described the possible conversation between those two.

    Daniel doesn’t seem to expect things to change once everyone is back on the island.
    Does he now believe it? I thought he said “and that is where we leave science behind” – indicating the move towards faith. He did have faith that things could change for Charlotte but..that didn’t work out. 😦

    He knows he can’t change anything in the past, why would he try to tell her something like that?
    Does he? He’s already tried once to save her – I think like Ben, once his emotions are involved he is no longer thinking logically.

    “Daniel named a test mouse after his own mousy looking mother”
    You are so mean! And funny!

    It was an amazing act of self preservation disguised as human feeling.
    Interesting take – I didn’t look at it that way at all.

    “Look at the well, you’ll find it at the well.”
    I thought she just knew the Orchid was located over an ancient well.

    I must be the only person who was not curious at all about who her parents were!

    So now Ben is left to be the guilty one, which is what he’s good at.
    Really? I would say he is good at being the indifferent one!

    Here’s another time when Locke completely accepts his fate.
    What doesn’t Locke completely accept? On the rare occassions he disagrees with what he is being told brace yourself for Don’t Tell Me What I Can’t Do!

    You know Christian didn’t say he Couldn’t – he just said No.

    Did Ji Yeon just get set up with Aaron?
    They would be the saddest Adam and Eve ever! Keep them off that Island!

    Curds and Whey
    that makes more sense than confetti!

  17. 17 missscarlett
    February 15, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    ROSIE

    Thank you for making me laugh out loud until my stomach hurt!

    Here’s your joke:
    Izi – It’s not only about Aaron’s custody confusion.
    Rosie – I’m beginning to think you’re right.

    Don’t ever let anyone say you are not a quick study!

    still laughing….

  18. February 17, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    “I don’t watch any TREK series (the costumes are ill-fitting, and that bothers me).” Ha-ha and sorry about the troll.

    I think when Charlotte said that “this place is death” it was an Underworld reference. (OK, so I can’t find my evidence now, but there was some ancient book I connected it with. Anybody know what I’m talking about?) I’ve been under the impression that this whole thing ends badly since “Through the Looking Glass”.

  19. February 17, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Oh, and maybe in the future you should avoid putting the words “Jin” and “jazz” right next to each other. It can lead to some unfortunate misreadings.

  20. February 17, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    haha, that’s hilarious. I’ll watch my use of the word Jazz in general.
    You have to admit that there’s something going on with the Star Trek costumes. The shows seem to lack moderation in the costume department. Almost everyone is swimming in their outfits and then there’s people like Seven and whats-her-name in the last one who wear spandex, and yet everyone has to have a tight collar. I normally don’t care about costumes but I can’t get past that for some reason. And it’s all made out of that same boring fabric. Except the klingon stuff, those costumes are interesting. I really shouldn’t have started on this subject.
    But I want to say that I love your blog Mr. Jeremiah. I read it every week, I’m sorry that I don’t comment, I’m running out of internet time these days and I’ve been neglecting the WordPress community.
    For anyone who’s still reading, Jeremiah’s Lost blog is: http://wearelost.wordpress.com I’ts splendiferous, check it out.
    – izi

  21. 21 Rosie
    March 16, 2009 at 11:52 am

    I really enjoyed Sawyer’s slight racism towards Miles.

    Why? Has Miles shown any sign of racism?

  22. March 16, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    What the hell are you doing Rosie? You’re going back to all the old posts looking for things to complain about.
    “I really enjoyed Sawyer’s slight racism towards Miles.” That was a joke, in the show, and here.
    – izi


Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


