21
Feb
09

Hijack: The 2009 Oscar Nominations

Here’s the list of the Oscar nominations for tomorrow night.  I’m bolding the winners that I would like to see.  In case you don’t want to read it all, here’s a overview: I want The Curious Case of Benjamin Button to win everything, I know it won’t (it might not win anything) but that’s what I want.

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-01Best Picture

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“Frost/Nixon”
“Milk”
“The Reader”
“Slumdog Millionaire”

You should know that I’m expecting to be disappointed this year.  I desperately want Benjamin Button to sweep the night, but I know that Slumdog Millionare will.  I actually really enjoyed both movies, but I don’t think I will want to watch Slumdog Millionaire in a year or ever again really, I want to watch The Curious Case of Benjamin Button over and over.  Well that’s that.

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-04Actor

Richard Jenkins, “The Visitor”
Frank Langella, “Frost/Nixon”
Sean Penn, “Milk”
Brad Pitt, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
Mickey Rourke, “The Wrestler”

I don’t think I want Mickey Rourke to win, it’s nice that he’s not slowly killing himself with drugs, but it’s not like he’s going to suddenly be a versatile actor after this point.  There’s only so far you can go with that face.

rachel-getting-married-01Actress

Anne Hathaway, “Rachel Getting Married”
Angelina Jolie, “Changeling”
Melissa Leo, “Frozen River”
Meryl Streep, “Doubt”
Kate Winslet, “The Reader”

I think it would be great for Anne Hathaway’s career to win an Oscar right now.  I don’t think it would really effect any one else in this category.  Then agian  I wouldn’t be unhappy if Kate Winslet won.  BTW I really don’t want Melissa Leo to win.

the-dark-knight-01Supporting Actor

Josh Brolin, “Milk”
Robert Downey Jr., “Tropic Thunder”
Philip Seymour Hoffman, “Doubt”
Heath Ledger, “The Dark Knight”
Michael Shannon, “Revolutionary Road”

If Heath Ledger wasn’t nominated I would be literally praying for Robert Downey Jr. to win.  He was so impressive in that movie.  But there’s no getting around it, Heath Ledger did an amazing jab as the Joker.

Supporting Actress

Amy Adams, “Doubt”
Penelope Cruz, “Vicky Cristina Barcelona”
Viola Davis, “Doubt”
Taraji P. Henson, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
Marisa Tomei, “The Wrestler”

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-02Taraji P. Henson was just so cute in that movie.  Last time I saw her she was playing spunky lawyer on Boston Legal, that was a huge change in direction for her.  I wouldn’t be unhappy if Amy Adams won, just because she’s so cute.  And although I hate Penelope Cruz as an person she was fun in Vicky Cristina Barcelona, for once her awful accent made sense (ugh, I hate that accent).

Director

David Fincher, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
Ron Howard, “Frost/Nixon”
Gus Van Sant, “Milk”
Stephen Daldry, “The Reader”
Danny Boyle, “Slumdog Millionaire”

I love David Fincher, his movies are consistantly glorious.  But this is an extremely rough category, look at those name!

Foreign Film

“The Baader Meinhof Complex,” Germany
“The Class,” France
“Departures,” Japan
“Revanche,” Austria
“Waltz With Bashir,” Israel

No preference here.

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-03Adapted Screenplay

Eric Roth and Robin Swicord, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
John Patrick Shanley, “Doubt”
Peter Morgan, “Frost/Nixon”
David Hare, “The Reader”
Simon Beaufoy, “Slumdog Millionaire”

If you’ve ever read the original short story for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button then you know how great that story is. 

WALL¥EOriginal Screenplay

Courtney Hunt, “Frozen River”
Mike Leigh, “Happy-Go-Lucky”
Martin McDonagh, “In Bruges”
Dustin Lance Black, “Milk”
Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon and Pete Docter, “WALL-E”

I was really torn between Happy-Go-Lucky and Wall-E for this one.  Eventually I chose Wall-E because it was so out of the blue.  I can’t imagine coming up with that kind of stoty.  Also it wouldn’t hurt for Pixar to win in categories besides animated film.

wall-e-02Animated Feature Film

“Bolt”
“Kung Fu Panda”
“WALL-E”

No contest.

Art Direction

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-05“Changeling”
“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“The Dark Knight”
“The Duchess”
“Revolutionary Road”

It would be incredibly disappointing if they didn’t win this one.

Cinematography

“Changeling”
“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“The Dark Knight”
“The Reader”
“Slumdog Millionaire”

This one too, but to a lesser extent.

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-061Sound Mixing

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“The Dark Knight”
“Slumdog Millionaire”
“WALL-E”
“Wanted”

Sound categories, the bane of my existence, I really dislike these categories, no offense to the Sound mixers out there, I just don’t notice this kind of stuff.

Sound Editing

the-dark-knight-02“The Dark Knight”
“Iron Man”
“Slumdog Millionaire”
“WALL-E”
“Wanted”

Apprently Benjamin Button’s sound mixing was good enough to get nominated, but it’s sound editing wasn’t better that Wanted.  Hmmm, I understand these categories less and less.

Original Score

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” Alexandre Desplat
“Defiance,” James Newton Howard
“Milk,” Danny Elfman
“Slumdog Millionaire,” A.R. Rahman
“WALL-E,” Thomas Newman

I wish I could have seen Defiance, I’ll bet it was good.

slumdog-millionaire-01Original Song

“Down to Earth” from “WALL-E,” Peter Gabriel and Thomas Newman
“Jai Ho” from “Slumdog Millionaire,” A.R. Rahman and Gulzar
“O Saya” from “Slumdog Millionaire,” A.R. Rahman and Maya Arulpragasam

Whoa, is that M.I.A.’s full name, whew.  I am unhappy that the song “The Call” from Prince Caspian could have been nominated, I loved that song.  And there was room, they only nominated three songs.

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-07Costume

“Australia”
“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“The Duchess”
“Milk”
“Revolutionary Road”

The Australia costumes were pretty impressive, but I also think that it should have been nominated for a lot more than this category.

Documentary Feature

encounters-at-the-end-of-the-world-01“The Betrayal (Nerakhoon)”
“Encounters at the End of the World”
“The Garden”
“Man on Wire”
“Trouble the Water”

Encounters is a beautiful movie.

Documentary (short subject)

“The Conscience of Nhem En”
“The Final Inch”
“Smile Pinki”
“The Witness — From the Balcony of Room 306”

I can’t pretend to care about these categories.

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-08Film Editing

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“The Dark Knight”
“Frost/Nixon”
“Milk”
“Slumdog Millionaire”

The usual.

Makeup

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“The Dark Knight”
“Hellboy II: The Golden Army”

They’ve gotta win this one.

presto-01Animated Short Film

“La Maison en Petits Cubes”
“Lavatory — Lovestory”
“Oktapodi”
“Presto”
“This Way Up”

I brought my 6 year old nephew to see Wall-E, and Presto was on before the movie.  My nephew was literally hysterical.

Live Action Short Film

“Auf der Strecke (On the Line)”
“Manon on the Asphalt”
“New Boy”
“The Pig”
“Spielzeugland (Toyland)”

the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-09Does anyone out there care?

Visual Effects

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“The Dark Knight”
“Iron Man”

Guess who I want to win.

0 Responses to “Hijack: The 2009 Oscar Nominations”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


