03
May
09

The Island is Killing its offspring

daniel-03charlotte
222-alex-01109-ethan
502-aaron-01miles-01

After Daniel’s death I got the inkling of a theory: The Island appears to be killing the people who were born on it.  We know that the Island stops letting women give birth on the Island after a certain point, but it now seems as though it’s doing some retroactive killing.

Think about it, we know of six people born on the Island; Ethan, Daniel, Charlotte, Miles, Alex, and Aaron.  Out of those 6 only 2 are alive right now.  And if you recall Claire made sure that Aaron wasn’t brought back to the Island.  That leaves only Miles.  So the big question is, when will Miles die?  When I was writing my revlysis for The Variable I came to that same conclusion, that Miles was going to die, for different reasons.

This also calls into question what will happen to the Third Party if this theory is true, and the members of that group were born on the Island.  It wouldn’t surprise me at all if Bram and Ilana knew that they had signed up for a suicide mission, they’re the type of people who would happily die as martyrs.  That kinda leads me to my another theory, I think that Ilana and Bram are trying to find Jughead to do what Daniel couldn’t, blow up the Island.

– izi

12 Responses to “The Island is Killing its offspring”


  1. May 4, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Interesting idea. I think I’ll need more time to see how it turns out, but I like it.

  2. May 4, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Hey Izi,

    This is a pretty terrific theory. At by end of the series, there might be more “natives” than we knew. 🙂

    I think there’s another child you should be able to add to the list (although there wasn’t “official” confirmation of his island birth) : Karl.

    • May 4, 2009 at 1:48 pm

      I knew there was someone I was missing. It hasn’t been confirmed that he was born on the Island, but his age implies that.
      I’m surprised that none of the Oceanic survivors were born on the Island. A few months ago I would have put money on Kate, now I wonder about Jack. We’ll see.
      – izi

  3. May 5, 2009 at 8:22 am

    good plausible theory but i don’t think it has been 100% confirmed that Daniel & Charlotte were born on the island

    i put the theory forth awhile back that all of the 06ers had a previous connection to the island, either there as babies (but not necessarily born there) or their parents spent some time on the island

  4. 5 Suzanne Gagnon
    May 5, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Huh. I’m not sure that we know for certain that Daniel was born on the island, do we?

    • May 5, 2009 at 5:39 pm

      We know that his mother was there when he was after he was born, so unless she left had him and then came back I think it’s a pretty safe assumption.

  5. May 5, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Nice call. It makes sense, if you think about it. With no babies being “allowed” to be born on the island.
    The question is: why doesn’t the island want people to be born there?

  6. 8 Anon
    May 5, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    “why doesn’t the island want people to be born there?”

    Because “This place is death”.

    No wonder Locke is “alive”…

  7. 9 Bones
    May 6, 2009 at 6:30 am

    “We know that his mother was there when he was after he was born”

    How do we know this? I just thought she had the kid after she shot him and left the island.

    • May 6, 2009 at 6:12 pm

      Ugh, I hate doing this kind of math. I’ll try to keep it simple.
      In 1996 he was a professor in Oxford. Even if he graduated from Oxford in record time that still would make him a 19 year old professor. And that would mean that his mother left The Island in 77 and had him very quickly. It’s far more likely that he’s older than even Charlotte.
      But if I’m wrong with this sequence, or the writers are bending the timeline, I could still put this theory out there.
      – izi

      • 11 Kyle
        May 6, 2009 at 7:13 pm

        Figuring out ages based on dates went out the window a long time ago with this show, even before the Charlotte fiasco.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


