27
May
09

Juliet: Dead or Alive

116031_280

After some hardcore commenting after the finale, and a lot of thought I’ve finally come to the conclusion that Juliet isn’t dead.  Don’t get too excited, I have no proof, I have some ideas but no real proof.  First I want to talk about Juliet. 

The Character

juliet-01I love Juliet (I tend to love all the later additions to the cast).  Juliet has been entertaining since the beginning.  Her story was just so unique.  I was emotionally attached to this character in a way different from most of the other cast members (Desmond is the exception).  None of the other characters have had a story-arc like hers either.  She was on a mission to get off the Island and see her sister again, to get away from the depressing and futile science the Others had her do.  All the other characters are motived by love, or hate , or… absolutely nothing.  It was great to have an exception to the rule.  And the character has been in the background of the show for a very long time.  She drove the story along in her first seven episodes, but after that she’s mostly just in the shadow of Ben or Jack or even Sawyer.  But somehow she always kept my attention.

Relationships

508-sawyer-juliet-sawliet-01As for her relationships, well that part of the show is off in my periferal that it hardly matters to me.  I really don’t like blogging about it, it’s not worth the arguements.  If you must know I was a Skater (Sawyer + Kate) for most of the show, but that’s less from a desire to see Kate and Sawyer happy and more to do with my desire to see Jack suffer.  As for Jacket (Juliet + Jack) that was hardly a relationshop, it was just what happens when two desperate people, with a lot in common, work together for a period of time.  It didn’t mean anything, it was a flash in the pan.  But when Saywer and Juliet hooked up this season I found myself strangely intrigued.  It’s very much a Han and Leia type relationship, it lacks romance, but makes up for it with chemistry and gun fights.  These are two of the most functional and reasonable characters on the Island, paring them together was genius, and surprisingly effective.

Death

516 - Juliet 01Anywho, back to her death.  Juliet’s death scene(s) were emotionally exhausting (it was so much worse for me becuase I was trying to get good screen0shots from the scenes, so I had to watch them over and over in slow motion).  That scene was heartbreaking.  The fact that when Sawyer was holding on to her hand she still wanted to live really hurt me.  If she had just accepted her death it would have been so much easier.  But I really shouldn’t dwell on that scene, it’ll make me depressed.

Her actual final scene is the important one.  This is the entire point of this post.  That scene with Juliet down in the Swan is reminiscent of the scene at the end of Season 2 with Desmond under The Swan.  He too had decided to blow up that station, and he too was successful.  The main and obvious difference is that she had a Hydrogen Bomb and he had the still mysterious Failsafe.  

223-the-swan-failsafe-01I think the what we should be concrentrating on is the effect.  The effect of the Failsafe was surprising, it set Desmond back in time, and then somehow transported him back to the Island, naked.  It then gave him the ability to see the future, slightly, but that doesn’t really matter. 

I think we can all expect Jughead’s explosive blast under the Swan to do something similar.  It will undoubtedly effect time.  I believe it will transport all the nearby people back to their proper present, 2007.  But what about Juliet?  Is she the exception?  Will everyone else be safely transport to the past and she won’t, or she will and then die a painful suffocating death?  I expect her to survive and be reborn in a similar way as Desmond was.  Perhaps she too will go back in time and get a chance to change the past.  Perhaps she’ll be able to choose whether or not she wants to go to the Island with Richard, or maybe it’ll be a different decision. 

This is what I’m choosing to believe, it may be delusional, but it’ll help me over the hiatus.

What do you think?

The rest of this post might be considered a Spoiler, depending on whether or not you read casting news or the such.

The Actress

116113_9854As far as Elizabeth Mitchel is concerned, she’s completely set.  Whether she’s dead or not she’s got a new job.  She’s now the star of a new ABC sci-fi show, V, check out the trailer on my other blog.   It’s a remake and looks pretty good.  I will definitely watch it when it airs (I’ll also secretly be hoping that it sucks and is promptly cancelled though).  But even if the show is a new smash hit I still hold out hope for the character.  Since it’s the final season, I expect Darlton will be pulling no punches when it comes to plot twists.  And getting Elizabeth Mitchell to come back and film a few episodes would be stellar.  It would make for a glorious ending to Sawyer’s mostly sad story and another epic love story for this show.

Couldn’t you just see that happening?

Come on.

– izi

14 Responses to “Juliet: Dead or Alive”


  1. 1 Clayton
    May 27, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Last week, I happened to be looking on her Wikipedia page or Lostpedia page… one of the two… and it said that Elizabeth Mitchell will guest star in the final season. Now whether that is as a full character, or just a ghost, who knows.

    • May 28, 2009 at 9:53 am

      I heard this too, and it’s very nice to hear, but I don’t want to put too much faith in it. They won’t be filming Season 6 until late 2009, so casting news at this point is more of a hypothetical contract thing.
      – izi

  2. May 28, 2009 at 6:05 am

    I think she’ll survive, just like Desmond did when he turned the key. I’m guessing that the blast will be just like when the Swan blew up and that’s what pushes them back into the present next to Sun and the rest of the Others.

  3. 4 Bones
    May 28, 2009 at 8:42 am

    She’s been everywhere, she’s still standing tall. She’s seen a million faces, and she’s rocked them all.

  4. 5 lvgirl
    May 28, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Izi,

    You know that I want Juliet to be alive. I have loved her character and I loved her and Sawyer together. Watching her go down into that hole was heartbreaking. It’s funny because I’m not a big fan of Jack or Kate and if Kate could have been killed this season, I would have been relieved. She is just one of those characters who never changes, she never learns from her mistakes. The only good thing that she has done in five seasons is give away Aaron to his Grandmother. Okay, this is about Juliet not Kate…Fade to white was a new thing and perhaps a sign of being reborn…hopefully, Juliet’s sacrifice will not be in vain and she will live.

  5. 6 lvgirl
    May 28, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Also, the other day, I was kind of reminded of her namesake- Juliet of Romeo and Juliet. She loved so much that she was willing to die for it- Just like Shakespeare’s Juliet.

    • 7 Bones
      May 29, 2009 at 9:18 am

      This is an interesting thought, I don’t think many have made that connection.

  6. 8 Anon
    May 29, 2009 at 2:33 am

    “If you must know I was a Skater (Sawyer + Kate) for most of the show, but that’s less from a desire to see Kate and Sawyer happy and more to do with my desire to see Jack suffer.”

    LMAO! I love it.

  7. May 29, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Oh my poor girl. This is driving me crazy and will continue to do so until we finally get to see what happened to her.
    I think they’ll be extra mean to us and wont show her in the first couple of episodes.
    I’m just going to hold out hope that she’ll be alive. I did that with Jin too, and look how well that turned out!

  8. 10 Paige
    June 27, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    The very last mili-second of the season finale was a shot of someones eyes – they looked a lot like Juliet’s eyes – the person was laying down. All you could see was the eyes but my guess is that Juliet was transported to Tanzania(?) like Locke and Ben were when they turned the donkey wheel. I haven’t read anyone else mentioning the eyes at the end, but I distinctly remember seeing them. I watched the show as it was broadcast (I also recorded the show on my DVR from cable – I didn’t watch it online). Maybe that scene was only shown on the first broadcast on air as a little hint but not included anywhere else. Did anyone else see it?

  9. 11 VCJF (very confused juliet fan)
    August 6, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Im realy confused (hence the name)
    when juliet fell in the hole (aka the swan station)
    it looked like she had a few injuries but alive none the less.
    to me she looks as dead as the others… if they arent dead why should she be??
    She traveled in time too why shoudnt get a chance to change her past as well…?
    she was maybe a few feet closer to the bomb when it exploded but does it realy matter?
    I mean it wasnt a suicide mission was it??
    Id be happy if someone explain thanks P-;

    • August 6, 2009 at 11:38 am

      It’s all guesswork at this point. If Daniel’s plan works and they “erase” the past then she will get another chance. But if all they do is travel back to the future then she’s in trouble, she’s very deep underground. Remember what almost happened to Locke when he was going down that well and they traveled in time? It could be like that.
      Also I think we were meant to believe that her injuries were pretty life threatening.
      Best case scenario: Juliet gets saved and appears naked in the jungle, just like Desmond in the beginning of season 3.

      • 13 VCJF (very confused juliet fan)
        August 21, 2009 at 3:58 am

        thanks!

    • January 2, 2010 at 4:16 pm

      Amen. How can she be any deader than everybody else on that island?


Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


