15
Dec
09

The 2009 Golden Globe Nominations

Here are the nominations for the Golden Globes this year. I got these from Zap2it.

TV

Best Television Series (Comedy or Musical):

“30 Rock”
“Entourage”
“Glee”
“Modern Family”
“The Office”

If you know me well you’ll know I want 30 Rock to win.  I guess The Office comes next.
I haven’t watched the two new shows, Glee and Modern Family.  I’ve heard only great things about them, but I’ve avoided new network shows.

Best Television Series (Drama):

“Big Love”
“Dexter”
“House”
“Mad Men”
“True Blood”

No Lost, how unfortunate.  If Lost ever does win awards I hope it’ll pull a Return of the King and just win everything in one year to make up for the other losses.
If I can’t have Lost I would usually hope Dexter would win, but season 3 was pretty weak.  I’m watching season 4 and it looks better.
So if Lost can’t win, and Dexter was disappointing, then I guess I hope that True Blood or Mad Men win.  I’m a new recruit to both shows, and while I would choose True Blood over Mad Men, season 3 of Mad Men was the best season yet.  I’m a little torn.

Best Actor in a Television Series (Comedy or Musical):

Alec Baldwin, “30 Rock”
Steve Carell, “The Office”
David Duchovny, “Californication”
Thomas Jane, “Hung”
Matthew Morrison, “Glee”

Of course Alec Baldwin deserves this.  Steve Carell is good, but I’ll always think Alec Baldwin is better.
I watched Hung, and I thought it was pretty good, but nothing too amazing.
I intend to watch Californication at some point, but it’s going to be a while before I have any free time.

Best Actress in a Television Series (Comedy or Musical):

Toni Collette, “The United States of Tara”
Courteney Cox, “Cougar Town”
Edie Falco, “Nurse Jackie”
Tina Fey, “30 Rock”
Lea Michele, “Glee”

Probably this will be a repeat of what happened at the Emmys, Toni Collette will win.  Tina Fey is great, my favorite, but Toni Collette is a powerhouse.
I kinda liked Nurse Jackie, but not Edie Falco.
Courtney Cox is an odd choice, and I don’t know who Lea Michele is.

Best Actress in a Television Series (Drama):

Glenn Close, “Damages”
January Jones, “Mad Men”
Julianna Margulies, “The Good Wife”
Anna Paquin, “True Blood”
Kyra Sedgwick, “The Closer”

I think January Jones is a beautiful human Barbie.  It’s ridiculous how perfect she is.  But I don’t think she’s a great actress.
The Good Wife is a complete mystery to me.  As a long time ER fan I love Julianna Marguiles, but has anyone heard anything about this show… at all?  Did you know it’s once of most popular shows on TV?  It’s number ten of the top ten most watched shows of 2009 according to this.  Isn’t that crazy?
Anna Paquin is just nasty.  I actually think she’s cast quite well as Sookie Stackhouse, but that doesn’t change the fact that she’s quite an awful actress.
I want Glenn Close to win this, she completely deserves it.  Damages and the role of Patty Hewes was literally made for her.

Best Actor in a Television Series (Drama):

Simon Baker, “The Mentalist”
Michael C. Hall, “Dexter”
Jon Hamm, “Mad Men”
Hugh Laurie, “House”
Bill Paxton, “Big Love”

I’d say Michael C. Hall deserves this.  No matter how dull the storyline of Dexter season 3 was, he was still great.
Jon Hamm is a close second, but mostly because of the writing.
I think it’s a little perverse to compare Simon Baker and Hugh Laurie to Michael C. Hall and Jon Hamm.

Best Supporting Actor (Television):

Michael Emerson, “Lost”
Neil Patrick Harris, “How I Met Your Mother”
William Hurt, “Damages”
John Lithgow, “Dexter”
Jeremy Piven, “Entourage”

Here’s our single Lost nomination.  I hope Michael Emerson gets it.  He totally deserves it, I think most people would agree with that.
Possibly John Lithgow deserves it, I haven’t watched much of the season,  but so far it looks good.
None of the other actors compare.  NPH is clever and at times he can make me snicker but it’s hard to compare what he does to what Michael Emerson does.  William Hurt definitely doesn’t deserve it, he was extremely dull on Damages, and Jeremy Piven should never be given any recognition.

Best Supporting Actress (Television):

Jane Adams, “Hung”
Rose Byrne, “Damages”
Jane Lynch, “Glee”
Chloe Sevigny, “Big Love”
Janet McTeer, “Into the Storm”

Ew, Jane Adams, gross.  I actually didn’t hate her in Hung, but that doesn’t change the fact that she’s Jane Adams.
I’d say Rose Byrne should get this, she should also gain some weight, but that’s beside the point.
But I do love Jane Lynch too.  I’ve never seen her on Glee, but she tends to be hilarious in all she does.
In theory I’m a Chloe Sevigny fan, but I rarely ever watch anything she does.

Movies

Best Motion Picture (Drama):

“Avatar”
“The Hurt Locker”
“Inglourious Basterds”
“Precious”
“Up in the Air”

This is the thing about the Golden Globes, they tend to nominate the same movies as the Oscars, but usually it’s before anyone has seen the nominated movies.  But we’ll ignore it because it’s still fun to watch celebrities get drunk and give speeches.
I guess I want Avatar or Inglourious Basterds to win.  But I’m quite indifferent.

Best Motion Picture (Comedy or Musical):

“(500) Days of Summer”
“The Hangover”
“It’s Complicated”
“Julie & Julia”
“Nine”

I guess I want Nine to work, but this the problem with the Golden Globes, I have no idea what I’m talking about.  Oh well.
I’m sure It’s Complicated will be funny too, Julie and Julia was good, and I really enjoyed (500) Days of Summer.  So in the end it’ll be hard not to be satisfied with these nominations.

Best Director for a Motion Picture:

Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”
James Cameron, “Avatar”
Clint Eastwood, “Invictus”
Jason Reitman, “Up in the Air”
Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”

I would have liked to see Duncan Jones get nominated for Moon, but that was unlikely.  There are a lot of big names here.  James Cameron will probably win.  But Jason Reitman has built a good reputation.  Quentin Tarantino is entertaining, but I don’t think what he does is direct a film, he kinda just fantasizes on the screen.

Best Screenplay for a Motion Picture:

Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell, “District 9”
Mark Boal, “The Hurt Locker”
Nancy Meyers, “It’s Complicated”
Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, “Up in the Air”
Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”

I really think Neill Blomkamp should get this one.  District 9 was very, very well written.  (My apologies to Terri Tatchell for not knowing who you are.)

Best Actress in a Motion Picture (Comedy or Musical):

Sandra Bullock, “The Proposal”
Marion Cotillard, “Nine”
Julia Roberts, “Duplicity”
Meryl Streep, “It’s Complicated”
Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”

Oh Meryl Streep, I wonder if she means to take over the awards season every year.  This year was pretty light for her, two comedies, usually she’s in a ridiculously dramatic movie too.
I would like Marion Cotillard to win.  I wasn’t thrilled when she won her awards for Le Vie en Rose, I like it when English movies win.  But I do realize she’s an amazing actress, and I’d love to see her win for Nine.
I think it’s pretty funny that Sandra Bullock got nominated for The Proposal and The Blind Side.  Ironically she probably stand more of a chance for The Proposal.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture (Comedy or Musical):

Matt Damon, “The Informant!”
Daniel Day-Lewis, “Nine”
Robert Downey Jr., “Sherlock Holmes”
Joseph Gordon-Levitt, “(500) Days of Summer”
Michael Stuhlberg, “A Serious Man”

This is a very good list.  I don’t know who I want to win.  They all deserve it!

Best Actor in a Motion Picture (Drama):

Jeff Bridges, “Crazy Heart”
George Clooney, “Up in the Air”
Colin Firth, “A Single Man”
Morgan Freeman, “Invictus”
Tobey Maguire, “Brothers”

This category is less impressive.
Probably Colin Firth deserves it, but most likely Goerge Clooney or Morgan Freeman will win.
I’d hate to see Tobey Maguire win, how I loath him.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture (Drama):

Emily Blunt, “The Young Victoria”
Sandra Bullock, “The Blind Side”
Helen Mirren, “The Last Station”
Carey Mulligan, “An Education”
Gabourey Sidibe, “Precious”

I don’t care about this category.

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture:

Matt Damon, “Invictus”
Woody Harrelson, “The Messenger”
Christopher Plummer, “The Last Station”
Stanley Tucci, “The Lovely Bones”
Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”

CHRISTOPHER WALTZ.  That’s the man who should win.  He was amazing in Inglourious Basterds.  Even if you hated the rest of the movie for very normal reasons you have to admire his acting.
Unfortunately this category does have other deserving actors.  Christopher Plummer and Stanley Tucci will probably be very good too.

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture:

Penelope Cruz, “Nine”
Vera Farmiga, “Up in the Air”
Anna Kendrick, “Up in the Air”
Monique, “Precious”
Julianne Moore, “A Single Man”

I love Julianne Moore, and I’ll bet that’s a pretty rough role.
The Up in the Air girls might be good, but I doubt people are going to notice them when George Clooney will be winning everything.

Best Animated Movie:

“Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs”
“Coraline”
“Fantastic Mr. Fox”
“The Princess and the Frog”
“Up”

I just saw Fantastic Mr. Fox again last night and I still thing it is the best.  Up was amazing too, it’s great to watch a Pixar movie that makes you cry for the first act, but I’m slightly more attached to Wes Anderson and a lot more work went into Mr. Fox.

Miniseries/TV Movie

Does anyone care about these still?  I want Grey Gardens to win, that’s all that matters.

Best Miniseries or Made-for-Television Movie:

“Georgia O’Keeffe”
“Grey Gardens”
“Into the Storm”
“Little Dorritt”
“Taking Chance”

Best Actor in a Miniseries/Made-for-Television Movie:

Kevin Bacon, “Taking Chance”
Kenneth Branagh, “Wallander: One Step Behind”
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “Endgame”
Brendan Gleeson, “Into the Storm”
Jeremy Irons, “Georgia O’Keeffe”

Best Actress in a Miniseries/Made-for-Television Movie:

Joan Allen, “Georgia O’Keeffe”
Drew Barrymore, “Grey Gardens”
Jessica Lange, “Grey Gardens”
Anna Paquin, “The Courageous Heart of Irena Sendler”
Sigourney Weaver, “Prayers for Bobby”

Best Foreign-Language Film:

“Baaria”
“Broken Embraces”
“The Maid”
“A Prophet”
“The White Ribbon”

1 Response to “The 2009 Golden Globe Nominations”


  1. 1 missscarlett
    December 21, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    What the What?
    You’re watching True Blood??!

    And now you’re liking madmen? You better call HeidiHo about that 2nd bit.


Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


