25
Mar
10

608 – Recon

Review:

10 second recap: Sawyer is a cop, he dates Charlotte, he’s still looking for Anthony Cooper, there’s a new girl name Zoe, Widmore is against “Locke”, Smokey had a bad mother, Sawyer isn’t on anyone’s side, Kate and Claire are BFFs.  I think that covers just about everything.

Sawyer gets a new name to add to his collection.  The flashsideways was pretty good, the reveal was suitably surprising so I was satisfied.  I enjoyed seeing Charlotte again, but I was mostly reminded how much I miss her.

We got some Kate and Charlie teases in this episode.  I think the writers might be overestimating how much we care about the other timeline.  I am a little curious, but I don’t foresee great things happening with Kate, and I don’t think Charlie’s going to be doing much of anything.

We finally get to find out which side Widmore is on.  That’s been annoying me for a long time now.

“Locke” was strangely forthcoming about his past.  Apparently he had a crazy mother, and that’s why he is the way he is.  Of course he still thinks that he’s right about everything, but at least he has someone else to blame when he does crazy things.

They’ve added a new character, Zoe.  It’s pretty late in the show for new people, but I’ll gladly welcome any female characters that they add to the show.  The male to female ratio on Lost has always been pretty off-balanced.

A pretty good episode.  The Sawyer parts weren’t extremely special, but they were OK.  I’m happy that he isn’t blindly following “Locke”.  I’m quite interested in the Widmore situation and the “Locke” backstory, so this episode was pretty fun for me.  All in all a pretty good episode.  7.5/10.0

Analysis

Sawyer

-Hey Sawyer, got a haircut.

-Jimmy’s a cop.  That was a fun reveal.  I didn’t see that coming.

-I hope we might get to see Anthony Cooper some time this season.

-Sawyer says he’s not on anyone’s side.  Then seconds later the guy he’s following around admits that he’s Smokey.  Shouldn’t that be enough to make you want to take a side?

-That scene with the locked room on the submarine felt a little forced.  It’s not really that unusual that there’s a locked room on a private submarine.  Saying that, I still do want to know what’s inside there.  Hopefully it’s not Desmond.

-I was thinking back to the season premiere, and how Sawyer acted.  I guess it makes sense that he would warn Hurley about waving his fortune around, maybe he might have conned Hurley in the other timeline.  But I don’t really understand what he was trying to pull with Kate in the elevator.  Surely he saw the handcuffs.  Maybe that why he did his signature “son of a bitch” when he caught her in the alley.

-I think this episode guarantees the Kate Sawyer ending that I’ve always envisioned.  There was no reason for Sawyer to visit the old sex cage, except to reminisce.

Miles

-Off the Island Miles has a girlfriend.  I’ll bet it’s Naomi.

-“Do you wanna die alone?”  I love when they do that.

-I don’t think Miles is a Ghost Whisperer in this timeline.  He doesn’t seem too special.

-The odds of having a Miles flashsideways are pretty slim, methinks.

-The Miles/Jimmy relationship off the Island isn’t as fun as the Miles/LaFleur relationship.  Having Miles idolize Sawyer was fun.

Charlotte

-Charlotte works with Pierre at the Museum.  Interesting.  Or maybe Miles’ Dad isn’t Pierre.  Maybe his Mom remarried.  This doesn’t really mean anything anymore, but Pierre was at The Swan when it blew up.

-Charlotte and Sawyer hooking up, didn’t see that coming.  Of course I didn’t see Sawyer and Ana Lucia or Sawyer and Juliet coming either.

-I love that Charlotte is immune to Sawyer’s charm… well, the second time.  I miss her and her sassy ways.

Zoe

-That pile of bodies was smelling and I didn’t see one gunshot wound.  I think that means there were just random dead people from the plane, or maybe Smokey came back and killed all the redshirts over there.

-You know you have Lost withdrawal when you completely trust newly introduced characters.  I didn’t watch Lost for 16 days and it became quite clear when I immediately liked and trusted Zoe.  I think it might have been those glasses and the lack of defined facial features (honestly, look at this girl, she barely has a face).

“Locke”

-I love “Locke”‘s logic.  “They (The Others) think they’re protecting the Island from me, when all I want to do is leave.  So it’s either kill or be killed.”  Uh, they weren’t trying to kill him, they don’t even seem to know how to kill him.  I think the majority of The Others would be fine with Smokey leaving.

-I awkwardly stared at my TV after “Locke” struck Claire.  Sure she’s crazy, but that’s not alright.  That was completely inappropriate.

-Mommy issues.  That’s new.  It’s very strange that they would introduce another origin story this late in the game.  I think it would have been enough to just have “Locke” be evil and not go into his backstory.

-And what was “Locke” implying about Aaron?  “Aaron has a crazy mother too.”  So Aaron’s going to end up like Smokey?  Is that a warning?  Surely “Locke” sees himself as righteous, why would he say something like that?

-Smokey’s Mom was a disturbed woman.  And at one point Esau was a man.  I guess this is confirmation that Jacob and Esau were at one point human.

-When “Locke” first started talking about his mother I was hoping that he was talking about Swoosie Kurts, I would have liked to see her again.

-What are the growing pains, and problems that “Locke” is trying to work his way through?  His lack of logical thinking, his bloodthirstiness, or maybe the fact that he can randomly turn into a pillar of smoke?

Claire

-Now that Kate and Claire are good buddies maybe Kate can give Claire a make-over.  Hopefully a haircut, or maybe just a good wash.

-Is “Locke” insane?  I dare you to go back and rewatch the scene where “Locke” explains why he lied to Claire about Aaron.  It’s is pure insanity:

KATE: Why would you tell her that?

LOCKE: Have you ever had an enemy? Someone that you needed to hate? Very powerful, isn’t it? Claire was devastated without Aaron. She needed something to… something to keep her going. So, I gave her something to hate. And then… when you told her the truth… all those feelings, all that anger that she’d been holding on to for so long… it had to go somewhere.

From Lostpedia.
Fortunately Kate wasn’t even paying the slightest bit of attention to what he was saying.

Kate

-Kate never put that dress back on?  What was she wearing?

-I think Kate might have felt the same way about “Locke” hitting Claire as I did.  She seemed quite shocked about it.  Hopefully shocked enough to do some more killing.

Sayid

-Sayid is wallowing in his own guilt.  How endearing.

Sun

-Sawyer promised Jin that they wouldn’t leave the Island without Sun.  But Sun knows about the Candidate thing.  I wonder what she’s thinking these days.  I doubt she wants to stay on the Island.

Mr. Widmore

-Finally we find out who’s side this guy is on.  He’s probably on his own side, but at least he’s not on “Locke”‘s side.  I think since we know this we can extrapolate a little.  See below.

-Widmore sees right through Sawyer’s act.  There’s no way he’s going to trust Sawyer.

-I wonder what kind of history Widmore has with Smokey.  Surely during all that time Widmore was an Other Smokey tried to tempt or kill him.

-Oh no, after rewatching the episode I’m suddenly reinterpreting everything.  Sure he was putting up those sonic pylons, but he was very coy with Sawyer.  He agreed to his fake little plan, but during that conversation he said, “It’s sad really, how little you actually know”.  I wonder if when “Locke” and Widmore actually meet it’ll be a happy reunion.  That would be pretty scary.

Flashes (what we know now):

Ajira 316

Not once did I think that the plane was still flyable, after the crash.  Is it possible to fly a huge plane without a windshield?  Surely that would be pretty unbearable for poor Frank.

And speaking of Frank, maybe this is his purpose in life?  Maybe that’s why he came back to the Island.

Sides

This episode shows that Widmore isn’t with “Locke”.  I also think it’s safe to assume that he isn’t on Jacob/Ilana’s side.  He didn’t seem to know about Ajira 316.  Therefore Ms. Hawking is not on his side either.  And since she was the one who insisted that Jack bring Locke’s body on the plane, and Locke’s body was the tool Smokey used to kill Jacob, it’s very possible that Ms. Hawking is on Smokey’s side.  Or maybe she had no idea what she was doing.

– izi

6 Responses to “608 – Recon”


  1. March 26, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I think Widmore knows far more than we give him credit for – or far less.

    He may just be setting up the pylons to protect himself – then again, they looked different from the Dharma pylons, not just in size but in colour too – perhaps they are anti-Jacob / anti-Candidate pylons?

    I think Sawyer assumed far too much, and is making an ass out of u and me in the process – don’t read too much into the Widmore / Sawyer exchange until we see further evidence of Widmore’s thoughts.

    I too was too shocked by Locke.

    The “mother issues” storyline plays into both the “Smokey is ESAU” theory and “Smokey is becoming LOCKE” theory 🙂 excellent line for us theorists.

    Finally, welcome back – I could re-iterate all I loved in your post, but then I would just be repeating you. Can’t wait to read Ab Aeterno 🙂

  2. 2 mins
    March 26, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    welcome back!
    I was confused by the mother issues too especially since real Locke had a crazy mother (went to same mental hospital as hurley). I wondered if Flocke was using John’s real life as his own to mess with Kate. But the enhanced version said Flocke was talking about himself.
    Ok, he has issues. But after so many centuries, he’s still “working thru them”??? That’s not very encouraging for the average normal human life span folks.
    Widmore gives me the chills. He wants the island. He’ll likely fight with Flocke. Would be very chilling if he was on Flocke’s side. His comment about how little sawyer knows made me think of Flocke constantly telling richard et al, how little jacob told them. I don’t think Flocke is telling the big picture,despite his seeming compulsiveness to tell the “truth”.
    He’s trying to put a wedge between kate and claire again by telling kate claire’s crazy-not so good for aaron. Now that claire knows the truth about aaron,his scheme with claire ran out of gas. Just why did he (christian) take claire that night, and where????

    • March 27, 2010 at 12:40 am

      I think he was trying to tell Kate that Claire is an unfit parent so that Kate would think that perhaps she should be raising Aaron again. Again, he’s offering people what they want the most.

      • March 27, 2010 at 6:09 am

        Indeed, and in the flash-sideways Kate helped Claire keep Aaron, so I guess we know what side she chooses in the end?

      • 5 mins
        March 29, 2010 at 8:29 am

        I never thought about what kate wants the most. I didn’t think she wanted to be a parent so much. MIB always hits the vulnerable side,tells you what you want to hear, so it will be interesting if kate does start to think she should be raising Aaron again.
        MIB is playing the long con.

        • March 29, 2010 at 2:56 pm

          Except he is messing it up with crossed-promises – he’s promising Claire Aaron, and Kate Aaron. He’s promising everyone that they are all leaving and everyone else will die, yet promising Ben that he will be saved to protect the Island. Eventually, they will all see through him, I think.


Leave a Reply

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


