31
Mar
10

610 – The Package

Review:

Yay!  A character that I like is back!  Poor Desmond is having a pretty rough life.  That’s what he gets for having a happy ending before the show ends.  I knew that was a bad idea.

Widmore and “Locke” have their fateful reunion.  It was surprisingly early, but that’s forgivable.  I’m sure we’ll see a lot more from these two.  (I’m also betting that Widmore will be dead sooner than we might expect.)

Meanwhile, on the beach, Richard finally realizes that he’s smart so he comes up with a plan.  He decides that they have to destroy the Ajira plane so that “Locke” can’t leave.  Of course their plan will change once Widmore gets involves.

It’s possible that this was the most entertaining Jin and Sun flash (be it -back, -forward or -sideways).  That’s not saying much though.  I was happy to see Mikhail again… heh heh heh.

I’d say a third of this episode was totally useless so I’ve give it a 6.5/10.0  that’s pretty good for a Kwon episode.

Analysis

Richard

-Huzzah, Richard’s back in town.  And he knows what to do.  See, he just had to think about it for more than a second.

Ilana

-Yay!!  Ilana got changed, and her new outfit is great.

-Last week Ilana’s faith in Jacob was commendable.  This week it just sounds desperate.  I hope she’s willing to improvise.

-Haha.  Ilana said “until” wrong.

-Ilana’s arm is bandageless in this episode.  I take it my healing theory from the last episode was wrong.

Sawyer

-For the first time ever someone had an off-screen conversation of some importance.  Sawyer told Jin about the names on the wall in the cave.

-If Sawyer feels so secure of his position in “Locke”‘s camp then he needs to communicate that better with the people he’s with.  Kate and Jin had no idea what side he’s on.  Well I guess they do, but still, he could handle it better.

-Couldn’t Sawyer have called Widmore Chuck or Chas?  Calling him Charlie is just odd.

“Locke”

-I’ll bet “Locke” thought Sun would be the easiest mark.  All he had to do was promise the Sun/Jin reunion, and he could actually deliver that.

-I wonder what “Locke” was thinking after Sun knocked herself out.  I can just see him standing over her body.  ‘Oh, this looks bad.’  He couldn’t exactly bring her into his camp.  ‘Look Jin I have an unconscious gift for you!’

-“Locke” pulled a little Ursula trick in this episode, he stole Sun’s voice.  Can’t you just imagine “Locke” singing Poor Unfortunate Soul.  That would be great, and definitely Emmy material.

-I loved watching “Locke”‘s reaction to his camp being completely knocked out.  It’s nice knowing that he’s not all-knowing or all-powerful.  He can still be hoodwinked by a bookish lady with no idea what she’s doing.  There’s still hope for Jack.

-There we go.  Finally “Locke” admits to someone that he has evil intentions.  He says that Claire can kill Kate once he’s done using Kate to influence the other Candidates.

-“Locke” can’t get over the the Hydra Island as Smokey.  I wonder if that’s because of the Sonic Fence or about the water.  I wouldn’t be surprised if he can’t get off the Island.  It would be weird seeing Smokey flying across the water.

-Widmore says that if “Locke” gets off the Island then everyone off the Island will “cease to be”.  Pretty crazy.  If I was Jin I might have asked for more of an explanation than that but whatever.

Miles

-Miles and Frank, what a comedic duo.  Miles criticizes the ridiculousness of the aphasia and Frank brings up the fact that Miles can speak to the dead.

Claire

-Sayid says that he doesn’t feel anything.  Supposedly Sayid and Claire have the same “infection” but Claire certainly still feels a lot of emotions.  She’s all over the map.

-I really enjoyed that conversation Claire had with “Locke” about her name being on the wall.

Sayid

-Wouldn’t someone who doesn’t “feel anything” not really care about not feeling anything?  I think Sayid might be projecting his condition.  He was told he’ll turn evil so he’s doing it subconsciously.

-“Locke” says that “maybe that’s best”, that Sayid doesn’t feel emotions anymore.  Perhaps Sayid is going to be the means by which “Locke” kills all the other Candidates.

-This might be the first time that Sayid has recovered from unconsciousness and not gone into that knee-jerk attack mode.

-What the Hell Sayid?  Why not just free Jin?  He’s not going to attack you.  You’re not supposed to be an ass in this timeline.

Kate

-I hope Kate spent all this episode figuring out what “Locke”‘s up to.  All she does is sit around staring into space.

Jack

-Jack’s job is a lot harder than “Locke”‘s.  “Locke” can make all kinds of crazy promises and then ignore them.  Poor Jack has to make everyone do what they don’t want to do for no reason.

Jin

-Jin’s leg isn’t healed yet, but it seems to be in pretty good shape.  Maybe I was wrong about the lack of healing on the Island.

-I don’t think that in the original timeline Jin was delivering a watch to Keamy specifically.  But I wouldn’t be surprised if the original plan was to get Jin killed.

-It was pretty cute watching Jin looking at pictures of Ji Yeon.

Sun

-I was very surprised by the “no marry” thing.

-Sun wasn’t great at expressing herself even when she could speak English.  She doesn’t like Ilana’s plan so she toss her fruit down and stabs the table.  Probably that was the moment when she should have said something.

-Sun doesn’t care about the Candidate thing, probably much like the many Lost viewers who don’t read blogs like this.  I guess I should care what Sun thinks, or what people who relate to Sun think, but… I really don’t care.

-The writers were smart enough to switch to the flashsideways after Sun clothes-lined herself on that tree.  I laughed but it wasn’t as ridiculous as it could have been.

-Of course Sun gets shot.  Another thing in this other timeline that I have to care about.  Except I don’t really care.  And the “I’m pregnant” line.  What’s up with that?  (Oooh Weee, what’s up with that, what’s up with that.  Hahah, it’s really late).  Jin was infertile off the Island, so I guess that’s different.

Mr. Widmore

-I was disappointed when Widmore only took Jin.  I wish they got Kate and Sawyer too.  Sawyer would have been useful.

-Widmore’s such a great liar.  Even if he has nothing to gain from lying he still tries.  He pretends to know nothing about “Locke” and I’ll bet he knows more about him than anyone alive.

-It’s nice knowing that Widmore has a very precise plan that got screwed up a little by Zoe moving too fast.  At least someone knows what they’re doing.

-Widmore says that he knows what it’s like to be kept apart from a daughter.  Yeah but Penny’s an adult, and Charles isn’t exactly a great father.

Zoe

-Zoe says, “Maybe you should have put a mercenary in charge instead of a geophysicist.”  We know how that ended.

Mikhail

-I was far more excited to see Mikhail than for Keamy.  And they made his appearance so ordinary.  Having him work for Keamy was pretty dull.

-Was it irony that Mikhail got shot through the eye, I think it was just unnecessary.

Keamy

-I freaked out when Keamy was taping Jin up.  He says, “I’m going to strap you in here, just in case you figure out what’s about to happen to you.  I can’t have you freaking out.”  But I was sure he said “just in case you figure out what’s about to happen to the Island.”  Was I the only one who heard that?

Desmond

-Not exactly a triumphant return for poor Desmond.  Oh well, I’m just glad he’s back.  After all, he was my favorite character for more than two seasons.

-It sounds like Widmore’s plan involves electro-magnetic energy and Desmond.  You know what happens to Desmond when he’s subjected to that kind of radiation, he travels through time.  I think Widmore is planning to change the past.
Hopefully he’s not trying to change Desmond’s relationship with Penny, that’s just awful.

-It doesn’t actually happen but Widmore tells Jin that he’s going to tell him how he plans to stop “Locke” by means of “the Package”  that package is Desmond.  I wonder what he’s going to show him.

-I’m not sure what I want to hear from Desmond.  I’m 100% sure that Penny is somewhere safe, but it’s very clear that Desmond is on the Island against his will.  So what’s going to happen.

-Henry Ian Cusick has been on the credits all season.  It was announced that he wasn’t a regular, but I guess he still is a star.  Who knows what’s going on behind the scenes.  Lost is a strange beast.  There are so many stars and recurring guests that I’ll bet their payroll people want to shoot themselves.

Flashes (what we know now):

Room 23

Hey an explanation!  Dharma was doing subliminal message testing in that room.  I guess The Others adapted their beliefs into the films.  That’s cool too.  It’s fun when you turn into your enemies.

All the Candidates

“Locke” tells Jin that to get off the Island he needs all of the remaining Candidates.  This doesn’t really make any sense.  Why would the Island make it possible for all of the Candidates to leave?  I figure he’s lying and he just wants to get them all together to kill them all.  If he kills one or two of them that would probably alert the others.  Plus it would be weird if main characters died halfway through the final season.

Staying on the Island

Sun freaked out when Richard mentioned destroying the plane.  But you’ll notice she’s the only one that seemed to care.  Hopefully that means everyone else is fine with staying.  I’ve always said that the Island is the best place for these fools, I hope they see that now.

Mirrors

Sun spends a little bit of extra time looking at herself in the mirror.  The mirrors in the flashsideways are getting very noticeable.  I get the “Through the Looking Glass” reference, but it must mean more than that.  So far all of the characters have spent conspicuous amounts of time looking at themselves in the mirror.  I wonder if they’re close to crossing over into the other timeline when they see themselves.

War is.. here

“Locke” says that the promised war has commenced.  This is going to be a lot of fun.  The lines are literally drawn in the sand.  People have generally chosen then side, and “Locke” has a huge advantage.  It’s going to be awesome.

– izi

11 Responses to “610 – The Package”


  1. 1 Damion
    March 31, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Ha – I also thought Keamy said ““just in case you figure out what’s about to happen to the Island.”

    Strange, eh?

    Also – am I the only one who thinks “Locke” is lying about being smokey?

    • April 1, 2010 at 11:39 am

      For a brief second Keamy was extremely interesting. But then I checked the close captioning.
      I think you are alone with that theory. That would be very interesting. I guess we have no proof except what he tells us. Interesting.

    • 3 mins
      April 1, 2010 at 12:05 pm

      that’s very interesting. why do you think that?

      • 4 Damion
        April 1, 2010 at 7:50 pm

        It seems to me that “Locke” goes way out of his way to tell everyone that he’s smokey. Nothing in this show has just been given to us like that. I sort of think that the “rules” prevent “Locke” from killing anyone – not just Jacob. So he tells people that he’s smokey so they have a reason to fear him. He would have a much harder time getting his way if it was known he was harmless (so to speak).

        I think smokey is a separate entity, there to guard the island (or some part of the island). “A kind of security system”, “Cerberus” from the blast door map, and all that.

        • 5 mins
          April 3, 2010 at 9:43 am

          So, when Flocke told Ben in the statue’s foot “I’m sorry you had to see me like that.” (or something like that) he was just implying he is smokey? Come to think of it, did we really see him turn into smokey? Or we just saw from Ben’s view that smokey came and Flocke wasn’t there? all interesting theories. 🙂

        • 6 Bones
          April 3, 2010 at 4:06 pm

          We saw that scene from his point of view traveling around the island as Smokey, then changing into Locke where he stopped. Also where did he go when he changed into Smokey in LAX?

    • April 13, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      AMAZING!!

      I really hope you are right, that would be genius!

  2. 8 mins
    April 1, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Sun! watch out for that….tree! Literally knocked the english out of her. I almost expected Flocke to turn into Smokey(just so we could actually see that) and chase her that way. Why did the writers introduce this aphasia hurdle? there goes miles, being the audience voice. She can’t speak english but Jin can now; a reversal of past seasons. What is with the mirrors, reflections? surprised there’s no epsiode titled “smoke and mirrors”.
    Sun is pregnant..opposite of original timeline. I wonder if the baby tomato jack showed her could signify that Ji Yeon survives? Does Miles telling Frank to “play his card” really a hint at Frank’s future role?
    Hey…a shirtless, underwear model Jin!!
    For Mikhail to lose the same eye in the FS timeline..does that strengthen Eloise’s mantra that whatever is meant to happen, will, and course correction etc?
    I mis-heard Keamy’s remark too, and apparently several others too. But he didn’t say ‘island’. Subliminal messages? lol
    I’m annoyed about how messy claire is. it’s overdone. there are rivers, springs, and the whole ocean to clean up in. no one else looks like that, or has ever looked that bad, not even rousseau.
    Jack becoming a more gentle….shepherd? Maybe hurley’s shirt is really a red herring.
    Flocke remained on the one side of the pylons. crazy, amphibious sayid is just scary. no reaction to seeing poor desmond. I think the “constant” thing will be back and hope that brings back daniel. Does widmore’s “Cease to be” mean, no existence, or soulless, or a whole new timeline…?
    Some funny moments with Sawyer asking why Flocke can’t just turn into smoke and go over the water to Hydra. But the funniest for me was Ben telling Ilana he had nothing to do with Sun’s condition. “For the 4th time, I was picking mangoes! I didn’t do anything to her! Why won’t you believe me?!” Ilana: because you’re talking. LOL

  3. 9 mins
    April 1, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    sorry for posting again but just thought of some things.
    – jack told sun he’ll get her and jin off the island on the plane
    -richard says they have to destroy the plane to keep MIB on island
    -keamy’s “godzilla” joke. ouch.
    – does the FS timeline and its version count on island? If it does, then ‘kwon’ candidate means only Jin. Some said only candidates flashed to Dharmaville, and why Sun, Frank etc did not.

    Evangeline Lilly a new covergirl for Loreal commercials.

  4. 10 Bones
    April 3, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I really don’t understand how they think the plane’s gonna work.

  5. April 13, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    FYI you’re not the only one who heard “The Island”. The online/Twitter community was buzzing for a good few days about it, I’d say about 97% of people heard it the first time, but it obviously wasn’t what was said. Whether Kevin Durand was told to specifically say that or it was just his general pronunciation, who knows?

    lol @ the payroll line – no doubt the admin staff at ABC must *hate* Lost and Darlton.


Leave a Reply

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


