07
Apr
10

611 – Happily Ever After

Review:

Desmond spent this episode revisiting all the people who affected him in the other timeline.  I could write a huge review for each of those reunions, but I don’t want to put all of that in the review, so look at each of the characters for blurbs about that jazz.

Daniel and Desmond are probably my favorite characters in this show.  So you can imagine that this was probably one of the best episodes of the season for me.

The Desmond and Penny are the ultimate couple on this show.  They’re the Ross and Rachel, the Mulder and Scully, the Gaius and Six of this show.  As much as the writers try they can never make us care more about another couple (see: the Kwons or Kate and whoever).  So when there’s a Desmond episode the stakes are high.  This episode did a great job with those two.  It almost reached the same level as the scene in Catch 22 when they originally met.  (If you’ve got a spare minute I recommend watching that scene at the end of that episode, it’s worth it.  Then again, why not watch all the Desmond episodes, they’re all awesome.)

On the Island it was pretty hectic.  Desmond is forced to cooperate at the beginning of the episode.  Then at the end he’s a willing follower of Widmore.  He seems totally at peace even when he seems to switch sides.  It’s going to make for a very exciting end.

Off the Island there was a very interesting ending, for once.  I’m fine with all the cute stuff that’s happening off the Island, but I never really care to see the stories continued.  For the first time ever I’m dying to see what happens next.  Desmond wants to get all our charatcer together so that he can share something, presumably it’s the other timeline.  That’s perfect, just what I want to see.

Let’s just count the reasons to love this episode: Daniel coming back, Desmond and Penny reuniting, Desmond finding his purpose on the Island, Eloise spouting electrifying insanity, the Oceanic Manifest reunion party; it was a very exciting episode for me.  This season is starting to feel very final to me and I’m loving it.  9.5/10.0.  It only just didn’t get 10.0 because of Charlie and because it doesn’t quite compare to Flashes Before Your Eyes or The Constant.

Analysis

Before each character I’m going to put a little blurb about what I thought about their reunion with Desmond.

Desmond

-It’s amazing how little time has passed.  Evidently not much has happened to Desmond and Penny since the last time we saw them in the hospital after Ben shot Des.  At least he got to miss most of the insanity of the Island.

-They really shouldn’t have let Desmond see Mr. Crispy.  Then, to make things worse, Widmore takes that sheet off the guys head again later.

-Desmond was all over that Blackberry in the bar.  Weird.

-Thank God Charlie turned the car into the harbor, that conversation was getting very dull.  Something exciting had to happen.

-“The button?”  That was a good line.  The MRI tech gave Desmond the panic button thing and called it the button.

-It’s really hard to know what Desmond’s plan is at the end of this episode when he goes with Sayid.  He seems almost all-knowing now.  Possibly he knows about the whole two timelines thing, and he seems to know all about Widmore’s plan and his own specialness and purpose.  So therefore I assume he knows what he’s doing.

-I’m very excited about the Manifest Party that Desmond’s going to throw.  It’ll be crazy to have all these people in one room again.  Finally something to look forward to in the flash-sideways.

Mr. Widmore

The Widmore/Desmond dynamic off the Island was interesting, mostly because of what was happening in the main timeline.  I’m sure we all really enjoyed it when Desmond got to share that fancy scotch with Widmore.  That was quite gratifying, after all this time.

-Desmond reacted to Widmore pretty well when he woke up.  I mean he got pretty angry when he heard about the Island, but at first he was pretty calmly talking to Widmore.

-Widmore says that he’s going to ask Desmond to make a sacrifice.  I don’t think he’s told him yet what that sacrifice will be.  And he’s never promised Desmond that he will see Penny or Charlie 2 ever again, he’s only said that they’re both safe.  I fear for Desmond’s life.  Also, this episode felt a lot like Greatest Hits.

-Widmore mentions that same thing about everyone being “gone forever” if they fail to stop Smokey.  This total oblivion thing is kinda frightening, but not really comprehendible.  I get that “Locke” is scary, but this threat is very vague, his escape still seems harmless.

-Desmond working for Mr. Widmore was not even slightly surprising.

Charlie

Charlie mostly got on my nerves in this episode.  I don’t mind old Charlie from Season One, I don’t like Season two and three Charlie, and I did like ghost Charlie in season four.  But this version was just classic annoying self-destructive Charlie, I have not patience for that iteration of the character.  The thing that made the Charlie/Desmond relationship fun before was the fact that Desmond might not save his life.

-Whoa, Charlie’s hardcore.  He dropped that empty bag on the ground!  And he walked across the street without looking!  What a rebel.

-I wonder if Charlie was seeing himself and Claire in the other timeline in 2004, on the beach.  That would make sense.  We all know those two didn’t end happily ever after so he certainly didn’t see the future in the main timeline.

-I don’t think I was alone in thinking that Charlie was about to declare his love for Kate during that story of his.

-Ugh, I hate “You All Everybody”.  Such a terrible song.  Of course I don’t hate or envy the poor writers who were given the task of writing a fake hit song back in the first season, but I’d still rather not hear it ever again.

Ms. Hawking

Desmond got to meet with Ms. Hawking.  That was a lot of fun.  As usual, she inexplicably knows information that she really shouldn’t know.  She fell back into that prophetess-warning mode very easily and well, and I loved it.  I’m totally fine with the fact that we’ll probably never know the source of her knowledge.

-How could Charles and Eloise been married for so long.  That’s amazing in and of itself.

-I love Ms. Hawking’s, or rather Mrs. Widmore’s, face when she meets Desmond.  Frightened for half a split-second then completely fake happiness.

-Fionnula Flanagan had quite the hair in this episode. I think I like that weird mullet bun thing more than the strangely huge old lady fro.

-Here’s Ms. Hawkings’ little rant.  (It’s always important to pay attention to what she says):

Eloise: Stop talking Hume.  I’ve heard what you’ve has to say.  Now you listen to me.  I want you to stop.

Desmond: Stop?  Stop what?

Eloise: Someone has clearly affected the way you see things.  This is a serious problem.  It is, in fact, a violation.  So whatever you’re doing, whatever it is you think you’re looking for… you need to stop looking for it.

Desmond: Do you know what I’m looking for, Mrs. Widmore?

Eloise: I don’t know why you’re looking for anything.  You have the perfect life.  On top of it, you’ve managed to attain the thing you’ve wanted more than anything, my husband’s approval.

Desmond: How do you know what I want?

Eloise: Because I bloody do!

Desmond: I need to see that list, or you need to tell me why I can’t.

Eloise: Because you’re not ready yet, Desmond.

Desmond: Ready?  Ready for what?

I think Eloise thought Daniel had got to him.  No doubt she knows what Daniel’s been thinking lately and she doesn’t like it.
That line about the violation is the craziest thing. I presume there’s rules against crossing between universes.
Of course this whole thing could have just been an evil stepmother thing.  Maybe she just doesn’t want Mr. Right meeting Penny.

Daniel

Then there was Desmond and Daniel.  My two favorites.  Daniel spouted off some gibberish and thrilled me.  I wish we could have seen more of him, but I’ll be happy with what I got.  You can tell the writers know that this duo is a fan favorite.

-I’m very glad that Widmore felt the need to mention that Daniel died for the Island.  At least Widmore hasn’t forgotten about that.

-Widmore seems surprisingly affable about his musical son.

-It was way too exciting seeing the Daniel teases.  First we see him surreptitiously playing background music for a scene, then we see him from behind seeing Desmond for the first time.  I was going wild.

-Here’s Daniel and Desmond’s fun little convo:

Daniel: Do you believe in love at first sight, Mr. Hume?

Desmond: (laughs) Excuse me?

Daniel: The first time I saw her, I was walking through this museum a few weeks ago.  She- She works there.  She was on her lunch break.  She was eating a chocolate bar.  She has these incredible blue, blue eyes, red hair.  And as soon as I saw her, right- right in that moment it was like… (sigh) it was like I already loved her.  And that’s when things got weird.  That same night after I saw that woman I woke up and I wrote this.

Desmond: So what is it?

Daniel: I’m a musician.  I have no idea.  So I took it to a friend of mine at Caltech.  He’s a math whiz.  He said this is quantum mechanics.  He said these equations are so advanced that only someone who’d been studying physics their entire life could have come up with them.

Desmond: So… So what do they mean?

Daniel: Okay, Imagine- Imagine something terrible is about to happen, something catastrophic.  And the only way to stop it from happening was by releasing a huge amount of energy.  Like setting off a nuclear bomb.

Desmond: You want to set off a nuclear bomb.

Daniel: Just listen.  What if this- all this, what if this wasn’t supposed to be our life?  What if we- we had some other life, and for some reason, we changed things?  I don’t want to set off a nuclear bomb, Mr. Hume.  I think I already did.

Then the rest was about Penny, and it wasn’t quite as important.  Daniel just says that Desmond felt love too, and it’s doing the same thing.
The important thing is how much Daniel knows.  The way I see it, Daniel knows a lot more than he says.  I think he knows all about what happened with Jughead and the plan to change the past.  But of course he’s not great at expressing himself so it’s a very fractured account.  But he seems to know that he wanted to change the past, he would use a bomb, and that it worked, but that doesn’t mean he should have done it.

-It’s so cute that Daniel fell in love with Charlotte again.  The poor guy’s competing with Sawyer this time.

-I hope Desmond invites Daniel to the Oceanic reunion, he’s going to need him to explain things.  Plus I would love to see more Daniel.

Penny

-Penny’s last name in the flash-sideways is Milton.  I take it that’s her mothers name, either than or she’s flirting with adultery.  Haha.  Seriously though, she better not be married.

-I wonder if Penny is training for a sailboat race.

-Penny’s as cute as a button, just so charming.  I think anyone would fall in love with her.

Minkowski

-Well Minkowski’s pretty unnecessarily gross

-I think Fisher Stevens is the first Oscar winner on the show.  Well Michael Giacchino has an Oscar (and he really deserved it).

-Poor Mr. Stevens must have to get shirt collars specially made for that neck of his.

Claire

Desmond’s meeting with Claire was a little awkward.  Not really important or anything, but that could describe his entire relationship with Claire.

Jack

-From the extremely brief Jack moment in this episode I gleaned that Jack might be ready to be a Man of Faith in this timeline.  When Desmond said that Charlie was in the hospital Jack was more interested in the coincidence/fate that led three people from Oceanic 815 to the hospital at the same time.

Jin

-I don’t really see why Jin is along for the ride.  He’s not really doing much of anything with these people.

Sayid

-Mr. “I feel nothing” decides to let Zoe live for purely logical reasons.  Of course a man with no feelings would feel pity on a random villain and let them run away.  Sayid is too stupid.  How can he not see that he still does have feelings he’s just repressing them?

Ethan

-I can just imagine Desmond’s reunion with everyone on the manifest, then Ethan shows up, “Hey I was on the plane.  I’m Canadian and stuff.”  Then he hangs Charlie for no reason.  Hahaha.

Flashes (what we know now):

Catastrophic Survival

Widmore says that Desmond is the only person that he knows who has survived a catastrophic electro-magnetic event.  Hmm.  I could name a few.  First of all Locke, secondly Charlie and Eko.

And I’m not really sure if these people count, but Sawyer, Jack, Kate, and everyone else who was at The Swan during the Incident survived something pretty catastrophic.

This thing is, these other people didn’t flash back to the past or get flashes of the future after that.  And of course, Desmond is special.

I’m guessing the flashing of the Constant was related but not relevant to this.  Sure that was as a result of the electro-magnetism, but Minkowski, possibly Regina, Eloise the rat and Theresa; Daniel’s old girlfriends; also suffered the same thing.

Solenoid Room

So that thing they did to Desmond in this episode was just a test.  You would think they could have taken it easy on him.  Maybe that thing charged him up.  Maybe now he HAS THE POWER!

The Hostiles

In this episode Charles and Eloise gave no indication that they were ever on the Island.  Roger said that he was on the Island as a member of the Dharma Initiative.  Plus there was the Dharma shark and the Barracks on the underwater Island.  So there’s no doubt that the Dharma activities on the Island went almost according to what we know.  But so far there is no sign that the Hostiles were ever around.

Crossing Over

I’m trying to think about the moments when our characters have crossed over into the other timeline.

First of all there’s the mirrors.  I think they all come close when they look in the mirror, but not too close.

It also seems to happen when they die or have near death experiences.  Juliet evidently saw that Jughead “worked” when she was dying.  And Charlie seems to think that he saw his destiny or possibly another timeline where he was happy when he was about to die.  Then Desmond saw Charlie from the other timeline when he was underwater.

And then there’s Desmond. Desmond seems to have completely crossed over once he touched Penny.  Of course that could have something to do with the electro-magnetism in the other timeline.  It also could have something to do with the electro-magnetism from the MRI. Whatever the cause, there’s no doubt that Desmond is special, so what happens to him probably won’t happen to everyone else.

Or it might come when people have contact with their Constant.  But judging from Daniel’s experience it has more to do with people meeting their destined love one, Desmond with Penny, Jack with Kate, Charlie with Claire, and Daniel with Charlotte.

I hope that it’s not all connected to love.  That would be OK, but I’d rather have it happen when people connect with people from the other timeline.  If that’s right then Desmond’s planned reunion is going to start something big.

– izi

21 Responses to “611 – Happily Ever After”


  1. 1 mins
    April 7, 2010 at 9:49 am

    How does widmore know all the things he’s revealed in this episode? All knowing Eloise? (why is she so all knowing? Is that her Jacob gift?) And thru her, he’s understood, Desmond is the key to do the course correction? So widmore had to put away his dislike for Des to save mankind. Daniel talked about course correction by way of the bomb, only that ended up making a timeline that isn’t meant to be.
    I wonder if we’ll ever be told why the island is on a slightly different time (clock)? ( the episode just before the island was moved…and why it had to be moved?)
    That physics stuff Daniel wrote down …the only thing I understood was what was written at the bottom : “Real space Imaginary time”
    The Losties were so obsessed with changing events so that they do not end up on the island. But see what happened? The island time is meant to be, not the alternate. In comes hero Desmond to save them all.

    Widmore has a painting of a giant, balanced, scale with black and white stones.
    Cute Daniel. his gibberish, his awkwardness, his intense sincerity. loved every moment. and cute Des/Penny moment. awww….
    Jack/kate destined love? I hope not.
    Yes, why the commando team to take Jin to the sub? Why’s he important to them?

    • April 13, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      “Intense Sincerity”

      What perfect words to describe Daniel and why we all love him.

  2. 3 jojolost
    April 7, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Great recap. I’m sorry to say that Penny is married but to someone named Mark. Tee hee. Yes Marc from FlashForward. Just kidding. Love your recaps and I agree, have been waiting so long for a reunion of all the castaways. Been too long since they have been all together. Hope they have the Manifest party. Thanks for your posts.

    • April 7, 2010 at 5:30 pm

      Thanks you for the comment.
      I still haven’t seen Flashforward. I feel bad about that, but it’s not like I’m sitting around watching dumb shows so I really shouldn’t give myself a hard time. Someday, once I hear about renewals, and maybe after Lost ends, I’ll sit down and watch all of Flashforward and V.

      • 5 Bones
        April 10, 2010 at 4:49 pm

        I watched a bit of an episode of V, it’s really poorly done and tacky.

        • April 12, 2010 at 5:30 pm

          How reassuring. Thanks for that.

      • April 13, 2010 at 2:29 pm

        I’d say Flashforward is definitely worth the time. It’s no Lost, and Dom’s acting might really bug you (the change in him from Season’s 1-3 “Hobbit” to Season 6 “melancholy” is due to his character in FF I believe), but it is one of the best TV shows of recent years.

        I think the best shows would probably be Lost, Heroes SEASON 1 ONLY, Prison Break SEASONS 1 & 3 ONLY, and Flashforward so far, are a cut above the rest imo. Kidnapped and Threshold are also worth checking out, as is Tru Calling, but all three were killed after the first Season – I think given time to breath they could have grown into great shows in a second Season.

  3. 8 Cunny
    April 8, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    “Widmore says that Desmond is the only person that he knows who has survived a catastrophic electro-magnetic event. Hmm. I could name a few. First of all Locke, secondly Charlie and Eko.”

    True, but they’re all dead.

    You mentioned Desmond seeming all-knowing. I agree. “Locke” was like that too. It would be interesting if Desmond turned evil…

  4. 9 Audrey
    April 8, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Good lord, you really hate Charlie. He’s my favourite character but I just bite down on my lip while reading your reviews. hoping for at least one positive thing. Haha. No but I really do enjoy reading them and I hardly have to deal with your Charlie hatred now-a-days! And I agree, You All Everybody needs to die. Like why do they have to be playing that damned song in every flashback/sideways of Charlies!? It’s so annoying.

  5. April 9, 2010 at 4:53 am

    But judging from Daniel’s experience it has more to do with people meeting their destined love one, Desmond with Penny, Jack with Kate, Charlie with Claire, and Daniel with Charlotte.

    You might be on to something here. But when you mention Jack and Kate, do you mean the scene in LA X where they bump into eachother, and then right afterwards Jack looks in the mirror, wondering where he got that cut on his neck? Because I can’t think of another occasion in which one of them flashed to the other timeline?

    As always, interesting analysis. And I, too, loved this ep. It was one of the better ones this season, in my opinion.

    • April 9, 2010 at 7:47 am

      Yeah, I was thinking about Jack and Kate’s meetings compared to Sawyer and Kate’s and the Jack ones were very fateful seeming. When Sawyer saw Kate it was just the usual. I imagine when he meets Juliet it will be more significant.

  6. 12 lorenzo
    April 9, 2010 at 7:52 am

    How do you think that Manifest reunion is going to go over with people like Frogurt, Michael, Arzt, and all the other people who died? I’m interested to see how they get around Desmond figuring out who is important in the non-side-flash world. It took him a while to piece things together last time he got a magnet blast to the face so it would be kind of cheap to have him be “all-knowing” now in both universes. From what they showed it seems like what he knows is contained to having a kid with Penny, waiting for her boat to show up, and that Charlie will like to swim with things written on his palm. How he goes from that to knowing that Jack and Sawyer are more important to talk to than that traitorous flight attendant seem like a tall task for the Lost writers.

    Now I pose this question to you – If you were Desmond wouldn’t you want to live in the flash-sideways universe? I know if I were in his present situation I’d jump down the hole that swallowed juliet and say hello to a very luxurious lifestyle (with Penny there too!). Desmond’s my favorite, so I’m hoping that if he has to sacrifice himself to save the island that he at least gets to live out his life in that flash-sideways world.

    One last question – So Eloise stayed with Widmore even while he had an love-child (Penny) with another woman?

    • April 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      I think that when Desmond sends out invites, only the interesting people will show up. Everyone else will just ignore it. Actually when I think about it, maybe only Jack will show up.
      I don’t know if I would choose the flashsideways universe if I was Desmond. I think Charlie 2 would convince me that all the suffering was worth it. Plus he might have done some terrible things as Widmore’s man.
      I don’t think Eloise and Charles have a particularly romantic relationship. It’s more of a mutually beneficial agreement rather than a loving marriage.

  7. April 9, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I had this post named as episode 311 instead of 611 for four days and no one said anything! Hilarious.

  8. 15 Greg S.
    April 10, 2010 at 12:00 am

    It’s interesting that Daniel and Charlotte are included as “great loves” when from everything we saw, it seemed to be completely one sided. Though Charlotte certainly seemed to not dislike Daniel, I don’t ever remember her showing any indication of having a “great love” for him. Or even the beginnings of romantic feelings for him. I suppose you could argue that she would have fallen in love with him if the time sickness hadn’t prematurely killed her, but I’m surprised they didn’t put in a little more of an indication that she leaned that way if that’s what they wanted to imply. Her reactions to Daniel just seemed to give off so much more of a sister/brother vibe. Maybe this is significant and will figure in the denoument. Or maybe it’s nothing, but I certainly found it odd.

    • 16 mins
      April 10, 2010 at 8:08 am

      To add to this, the enhanced version of ‘recon’ said Charlotte had a crush, or liked Daniel in the original timeline. That surprised me as we only ever knew Daniel’s crush on her. Maybe charlotte ‘hid’ her feelings before dying? But the writers never made her liking for daniel obvious to the viewers.

      • 17 Greg S.
        April 10, 2010 at 10:10 am

        That’s interesting. I never saw the enhanced version of “Recon”. Sounds like Charlotte’s crush was a victim of the writer’s strike maybe.

  9. 18 mins
    April 12, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    No enhanced versions of Richard’s episode onwards.

    WHERE is Rose & Bernard???? Why aren’t they in the island episodes? What happened to Vincent?

    • April 12, 2010 at 5:24 pm

      Well at the end of the last season Rose and Bernie said they weren’t taking sides anymore, and since this season is all about taking sides then that might explain why they aren’t out and about.
      … but I still think they’re Adam and Eve.
      And Vincent will be back before the end of the season. Don’t you worry.

  10. April 13, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Why DID Desmond seem so happy to be switching sides? That was weird. And also the whole returning to the Alt storyline after he crossed back to the Island scenes seemed weird too.

    “The Button”. I didn’t even catch that. Oh how amateurish I feel now 😦

    I got a definite “Greatest Hits” vibe from this episodes – I wouldn’t be at all surprised if Desmond has to drown sometime soon.

  11. March 29, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    That Desmond/Daniel conversation was so perfect. I was just missing Daniel when this episode came out, and Desmond was getting slowly more awesome as the season went on.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


