27
Apr
10

Nothing New

No new episode tonight.  Yay!  I get to sleep tonight.  It’s very exciting.

We only have three more regular episodes on Tuesdays and then the two hour finale on Sunday May 23.  How does everyone feel?  Are we ready for the end of all this?  Does anyone still want another season?

I, for one, am still very happy that the show is ending now.  I think I’ll miss the thrill of the new episode, but I’d rather not see the episode without the original crew or some kind of spin-off.  In June I might feel differently.  I think it’ll hit me then that there’s no new season coming.  And then next January or February it’ll probably hit me again.

I anticipate that no other show will ever be able to replace Lost.  I’m sure I’ll be able to enjoy many other shows once it’s gone.  But no show will whip up this same kind of fervor in me.  It’s like Arrested Development.  When it ended people made declarations that we had to accept The Office as it’s successor (I reject and slightly loathe The Office because of that).  At one point I even considered thinking of 30 Rock as it’s equal.  But now I see that when you build up a show like Lost or Arrested Development in your mind, when you grow up watching it, or spend hours blogging about it or trying to save it, it becomes a permanent part of you.  It sounds pretty ridiculous, but it’s true.  I know many people feel the same way about Seinfeld, The Wire, The X-Files and many other shows.  Even when it’s over Lost will still be around.

– izi

7 Responses to “Nothing New”


  1. April 27, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I love LOST, but it’s time for it to end. I’m sad, but glad we’re getting answers and it’s coming to a close now.

  2. 2 Bones
    April 27, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    This is more than just a Yes or No question.

    I voted yes just because I don’t want to stop watching new Lost. I love the anticipation, I love the thrill of watching a new one, and I love dissecting and discussing everything that happened. I don’t want those feelings to end, and I doubt any other show would fulfill that.

    But, at the same time, I understand it’a a finite story arc and the story needs to end. I don’t want it to be drug out just for the sake of it, that would cheapen the whole thing. We know what that was like in the beginning of season 3.

    • April 27, 2010 at 8:44 pm

      I thought everyone would choose “other” so I had to limit it. It’s true that I’ll miss it but I’m still glad that it’s almost over.

  3. 4 mins
    April 28, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Yes, I wish it would go on for one more season, but at the same time, i wouldn’t want it to fizzle out like X-files did, in its last 2 seasons. It’s good Lost is ending with a bang, keeping it exciting and engaging to the end.
    On another note, the enhanced Ab Atereno was on last night. Did we know richard was a field labourer? And, it said the doctor was giving richard fake medicine just to con him out of whatever money he had. Now, how would we know that in the normal version of the episode?
    It also confirmed Tawaret, and that it was destroyed by the ship during the storm. And that it is the symbol for protection, birth and fertility. Didn’t explain the toes, or if the destruction of the statue caused the pregnancy problems.
    It also explained the “richard” ‘ricardo’ ‘ricardus’. Richard is the english of ricardo-his actual name. ricardus is the latin that the Others used believing latin to be the language of the enlightened. so all 3 uses were acceptable and not errors by the writers.
    looking forward to your usual great recaps next week!

    • May 16, 2010 at 6:02 am

      This kind of thing needs to be released in some kind of official format!!

  4. May 3, 2010 at 6:21 am

    I guess I’m another fence-sitter.

    As much as I feel like I’m READY for it to end, and finally get some closure on these story lines, there’s a part of me that will really miss it, so I could stand another season.

    ~Cheers!

    7

    (And for the record, I voted “yes” in the poll.)

  5. May 16, 2010 at 6:01 am

    Lost, like other great cult shows (Buffy & DBZ for instance), will live on in the hearts and minds of its fans.

    There are still many active Buffy and DBZ fan sites going, and stuff keeps coming out – Buffy comics and novels, DBZ “Kai”, etc.

    I for one will continue blogging, analysing and writing about Lost for years to come. There is plenty here to warrant many re-watches. That’s why I haven’t conducted too many “proper” re-watches between seasons – I was leaving it until the end of the series.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


