24
May
10

617 – The End – Desmond & Penny

Desmond

On the Island

I was a little disappointed that Desmond wasn’t as Special as I’d hoped.  I didn’t really know what to expect from Desmond on the Island, but I kinda fell for the same thing that Jack did.  I thought that since Jacob wanted him there he had some insanely important thing to do.  And I thought he was infallible.  All that confidence he had before seemed well-founded.  But it turns out he was just not afraid of death.

I guess I was hoping that he would cross over to the other timeline and save things like that.  But having Desmond in what appeared to be an important role was pretty much just a favor for us from the writers.  They know we love him so they gave him a central, if unfulfilling, role.

-The way I saw it, on the Island Desmond was very wrong.  He thought that pulling the plug would send everyone over to their ‘other life’.  I guess that’s because he saw some glimpses of himself living there and he believed that it was real.  There didn’t seem to be complete unity between the two Desmonds in this episode.  (see below)

-I’m so glad Desmond didn’t get his suicidal wish.  He was very willing to die and go into that Afterlife, but he still have Penny and Charlie 2 out there somewhere.  I wanted to see that reunion, but it doesn’t really matter.  Just knowing that Hurley was going to make it happen was enough.

-Hurley and Ben might have been a little too disappointed to see Desmond when they pulled him up.  Poor guy, not the best time to feel rejected.

Off the Island

I think Desmond was the first person to flash because he had the simplest life on the Island.  He only had a few things happen to him, he pushed the button, he pined for Penny and he saw Charlie die (over and over).  So he connected fast and completely.  All it took was Penny’s touch and he was completely convinced.

It’s a credit to his character that he helped everyone else flash.  He really didn’t have to do that.  In fact I wouldn’t have even expected him to.  But he felt the need to share the truth with everyone.

-In the Afterlife Desmond seemed fully aware of the whole being dead thing.  Kate asked him why she was there and he mysteriously said he couldn’t tell her.  And he was desperate to move past this life.  He probably knew more than anyone else, except Christian… maybe.

Penny

Off the Island

-I don’t think it’s really fair that Penny didn’t even get a line.  She just smiled at Jack.

– izi

11 Responses to “617 – The End – Desmond & Penny”


  1. 1 Noella
    May 24, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    I get that Desmond helped everyone to “flash” as you call it, I’m not sure though what Eloise had to do with it and why did she not want Desmond to do what he was doing?

    • May 24, 2010 at 2:18 pm

      Aah. I have answers for you. I’ll probably be posting my Ms. Hawking post tomorrow morning (PT).

  2. May 24, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Ooh! I am looking forward to your Mrs. Hawkings post. I was wondering the same thing with her and Desmond.

  3. 4 Mint
    May 24, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    I wanted to know why Charlie 2 didn’t exist in the afterlife.
    I guess he couldn’t because Desmond’s thing that he needed to work through was having Widmore’s approval?? What did Penny have to work through?

    • May 24, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      Logistically it would have been challenging for Penny to pop out a kid that fast even if it wasn’t true reality.
      We were lucky that Penny was even invited to that reunion. It was almost exclusively the original cast, and she was the only person who was there who was never on the Island. I tried not drawing attention to that because it could make someone ask questions like: why wasn’t Nadia there? Or even your question.
      Penny presence there was like an inedible garnish on a plate. You might ask yourself, “why is that there?” It’s there because it looks better that way. Plus the chef wouldn’t be happy that you’re doubting his plating skills. Haha, I love my deranged similes.

  4. 6 mins
    May 25, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I agree. Also, Penny has always been Desmond’s constant, and soulmate,true love,etc. He needed her to flash in this season, and in the season where he was flashing all over the place.
    Nadia was a great love of Sayid’s but never his soulmate, never meant to be. In real life you can have one or more great loves, but they aren’t meant to be. He didn’t know shannon very long, so that’s a little puzzling,but it’s about the connections on the island i guess, so i’m ok with it.
    TV is boring again.
    I’m glad Izi, you are still writing for a few more days!

    • May 25, 2010 at 11:00 am

      Good point about Penny being Desmond’s Constant, I forgot about that.
      There are still hundred of hours of good TV to watch. It’s true that Network TV is dull these days, but have you checked out Showtime recently? It’s pretty great. Someday soon (not extremely soon) I’m going to start recommending other shows to watch. Stay tuned.

      • 8 mins
        May 25, 2010 at 3:39 pm

        ok; will do!

        btw, where are you from? your vending machine comment had me laughing, and wondering. i’m in canada, so I can relate to that comment.

        • May 25, 2010 at 4:20 pm

          Yep, I’m from Canada too, BC specifically. I don’t know how they stand all those useless little bills.

          • 10 mins
            May 26, 2010 at 8:35 am

            hahaha
            I’m in AB.
            hello neighbour.

  5. 11 Bones
    May 28, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Desmond is special though. Widmore said a few times Desmond is special because of his resistance to electromagnetic energy (for whatever reason that may be). He was the only one that would be able to go down and resist the energy long enough to pull the plug.

    Also, in a way, pulling the plug WOULD send everyone to the alternate timeline, since if the island crumbled they’d all die.


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


