24
May
10

617 – The End – Naming Names

Names

I am so glad the writers didn’t feel the need to name Smokey or the Island.  I know some people wanted that, but I couldn’t have wanted that less.

What could Smokey’s name have been?  If it was Esau I would have about two seconds of validation, then it would have been dumb.  If it was something ordinary it would just sound ridiculous.  It might have been John, and that would have been ironically ironic.  It’s better that we all got to name him.

As for the Island.  Naming it would have diminished the mystery or it would have pigeon-holed it.  If it was something religious like Eden or Avalon then one group of people could claim it as special to them.  I would have enjoyed either of them for very different reasons, but both would have been disappointing.  Eden would have been validation of the Bible, and Avalon would have been too Pagan for Christians.  And anything else would have either been too unrelatable or else just lame.

Defining mysteries is not a good idea.  Look at Midi-chlorians, the ultimate example of lameness.

– izi

6 Responses to “617 – The End – Naming Names”


  1. 1 Keith Johnson
    May 24, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I can’t imagine the writers giving the Island an official name. It’s been “The Island” for six seasons, so calling it Shangrala or New Jacobland during the final hours would have driven me postal. 😉

    As for the Man In Black’s name, according to Dark UFO the writers named him Samuel, but apparently they opted against revealing it. Honestly, I’m glad he wasn’t given a name, but I’m definitely glad it wasn’t that one. Clearly it would be a Bible reference I don’t even remotely see how the biblical Samuel would correspond to the behavior of the MIB. Then again, it’s not like Desmond, Russeau or Locke ever acted like the philosophers they were named after…

    • May 24, 2010 at 10:24 pm

      I just heard about the Samuel thing. I think I’m going to ignore it. It was decided against, so technically it didn’t happen.

  2. 3 GT
    May 25, 2010 at 8:12 am

    You’re right, those questions weren’t important. These ones are.

    http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1936291

  3. 4 mins
    May 25, 2010 at 9:50 am

    In the end, his name wasn’t so important. Keeping it from us kept us glued to our TVs.
    It’s the whole story that mattered more.

  4. 5 missscarlett
    May 27, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    I just thought it was tedious — if he had been revealed as Samuel I would have been fine with it.
    As long as it was revealed when he first appeared – not a season later!

    The Island should never be named.
    I didn’t even like Hydra Island having a name. But whatever.

    Mostly I can accept Samuel because I have never recovered from seeing Samuel Jackson like this: http://www.rankopedia.com/CandidatePix/25861.gif

    I couldn’t find the real pic — there is a scene where that corpse hair is backlit and he is holding a gun to a man’s head. It is the scariest image BAR NONE I have ever seen.
    And it was all because of that hair.

    incidentally a lady we both know had that exact hair, only blonde, and when I saw her backlit with it — I nearly had a stroke!

  5. 6 missscarlett
    May 27, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    whoops — forgot to say that it was this hair alone that could have made the name Samuel work for me as a rep for evil personified!


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


