25
May
10

617 – The End – Rose & Bernard

Rose & Bernard

On the Island

I know it’s not really possibly for me to understand what a 60+ year old couple feels like, but I can’t imagine living on that Island not caring at all about what’s been happening.  I hope they were okay with socializing during Hurley’s reign.

On the other hand, their life is exactly what I wanted for Kate and Sawyer, just more platonic.  I wish those two could be happy living in the jungle.

-I guess these two just assumed that “Locke” wasn’t Locke.  That still would have been pretty disturbing for them.  But I guess neither of them really liked Locke for the last little while anyways.  As I recall Rose wasn’t impressed with him in Season 4.

-I was pretty scared for the two of them when “Locke” was threatening them.  I was sure that Desmond would go with him, but “Locke” could have just swiped them across the neck at any moment, Zoe style.

Off the Island

Here’s the strange thing.  These two would no doubt flash on each other.

That means they might have been aware of their past life the whole time.  These two might feel the same way off the Island as they do on it, they just want to avoid the drama.  That’s a little crazy.

This might be a goof, I think the writers just wanted to have them in that last scene without explaining it.

– izi


7 Responses to “617 – The End – Rose & Bernard”


  1. 1 Noella
    May 25, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Rose and Bernard were never my favorite couple, on island and off island, they both seemed to be just a little too smug, a little too satisfied with themselves. I don’t think they especially thought they were better than anyone else, just too happy to not be involved. Sometimes we NEED to be involved with what’s going on around us and if we’re involved in a problem we NEED our neighbors to be involved WITH us.

    I’m glad they were there at the church, but I wonder if the writers were just being politically correct in placing them there.

  2. May 25, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    They seemed very much like peacemakers… it was comforting knowing they were there in the background if something was ever to happen.

    They’re way too minor of characters to spend time showing their flashes and give background as to how they got to the church, I’m glad the writers just had them there without any background – it was kind of obvious, and I think any background/foreshadowing would have bored me.

    • 3 Keith Johnson
      May 25, 2010 at 11:39 pm

      IMO, the comment about them being minor characters is really important. Frank, Ilana, and Miles were all main characters who were largely scenery behind the other characters this season. Heck, even Desmond (who was a reoccurring guest star) had more of an impact than any of those three. With that in mind, flashbacks or explanations about Rose and Bernard’s motivations wasn’t necessary. I really enjoyed their flashback back in Season 3, but there were way more important things to cover in Season 6.

  3. 4 Keith Johnson
    May 25, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    On the Island: I think Rose and Bernard figured out the best way to survive on the island after surviving the flaming arrow attack: stay away from drama, those surrounded by drama, and live your life peacefully. It doesn’t appear that the Hostiles ever bothered (or noticed) them, so beyond ducking Jin’s patrols, it would be pretty easy to live their life in peace. By the time the two of them met up with Kate, Sawyer and Juliet in 1977, not even death would compel them to break their non-intervention rule.

    Unfortunately, this changed when they broke that rule and helped Desmond, which in turn led to MIB & Ben walking into Rose and Bernard’s camp and threatening to kill them. That probably cured them of ever wanting to break that rule again. 😉 I imagine they would have gone out Jin & Sun-style if the island had managed to sink beneath the waves.

    Off the Island: I think Rose and Bernard were like Ms. Hawking/Widmore, having already “awoken” to what is going on in the flash sideways/afterlife. At the very least, that explains to me Bernard’s odd conversation with Jack a few episodes ago, and Rose’s conversation with Jack on the plane and with Locke at the job placement center.

  4. May 26, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Well….I don’t know.
    I wouldn’t be able to just duck out of life like that – but I can understand the appeal. I guess they were so self sufficient as a couple + Vincent, that they didn’t need other companionship — but really, didn’t they argue a lot?

    I wonder if it was a time constraint? commercial time that is! and it will appear on the DVD?

  5. May 27, 2010 at 8:35 am

    I think Rose & Bernard had already “Let Go” so they were ready to move on before anyone else, I expect. It fits with the sort of Buddhist/Taoist theme running through the show, anyway.

    ~Cheers!

    7

  6. 7 ladylavinia1932
    March 5, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    [“Rose and Bernard were never my favorite couple, on island and off island, they both seemed to be just a little too smug, a little too satisfied with themselves. I don’t think they especially thought they were better than anyone else, just too happy to not be involved. Sometimes we NEED to be involved with what’s going on around us and if we’re involved in a problem we NEED our neighbors to be involved WITH us.”]

    Why do we NEED to be involved with others? I don’t see the point. If Rose and Bernard wanted to remain separated from the other castaways, they simply wanted to. I had no problems with it.


Leave a comment


May 2010
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other subscribers